19 Reviews for Rose City Mobile Music

4.9
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Consultation (3)
Do-Not-Play List (3)
MC (3)
Microphones (3)
One Event Per Day (2)
Sound/PA System (2)
Liability Insurance (1)
Uplighting (1)
19 Rose City Mobile Music Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

Steve from Rose City Mobile Music was a FABULOUS DJ at our Indian-American wedding. He was so attentive to detail, easy to communicate with, and also just a fun guy too! He took a lot of stress off us by selecting great music for the cocktail party and dinner with basic themes that we gave him. He was also great about accommodating us having a bollywood & bhangra party, and added new music to his library just for us! I highly recommend Rose City Mobile Music for your special event.

Profile Picture Katie, 7/28/18, 7 Reviews
Category: DJ
Services Used: Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, MC, One Event Per Day, Microphones, Sound/PA System, Uplighting
5.0

We used Rose City Mobile Music for our daughters wedding. I would highly recommend Steve. He was very professional, responsive, on time, and overall really made the wedding flow. I never realized how valuable a great DJ is to an event. Steve had such great creative ideas to keep the event rolling from the start of the ceremony, to the end of the celebration. He was friendly, fun and professional. A great value!

Profile Picture Kimila, 8/12/17, 1 Review
Category: DJ
4.9

Steve did a great job helping us plan the day - our Wedding (something I'd not expected from a DJ), he had great ideas of things that we could do and was flexible in allowing us to make it what we wanted it to be and not telling us what we should do which I appreciated. His website enabled us to pick our own songs was very useful and easy to use. We had plenty of time to come up with a list which was great. It is clear that Steve has a great amount of experience in this industry and I'd recommend him! Thanks Steve, you're the man!!

Profile Picture Alex, 9/24/16, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

Steve with Rose City Mobile Music was amazing to work with! He was so organized and helpful! He provided two sound systems, wireless mics for the ceremony and great music for our wedding. He did a wonderful job with the crowd, and set the right tone during the ceremony and reception. We would absolutely recommend Steve!!

Profile Picture Leigh Anne, 9/10/16, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

I interviewed many DJ's before selecting Steve. Right from the start I knew that I wanted to work with him because he asked me the right questions. It wasn't what he could do for me but rather what was it that I wanted and through every step he ensured me that my wedding was going to be very special. The ceremony music was played exactly to my specifications and with expert timing. The flow of the day was seamless and his professionalism was impeccable. The reception was a fun and amazing time- our guests were dancing up until the very end.

Profile Picture Rosemarie, 8/13/16, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

Steve was an awesome DJ! We decided very last minute to have a DJ, and Steve was really accommodating, fast, and helpful in making it happen! He met with us ahead of time to pick songs, had a great program which allowed us to choose songs which we generally wanted to be played, and he was full of great suggestions. On the big day, he was calm, flexible, and did a great job of getting people on their feet dancing (which wasn't easy, since it was a lunch wedding!). His fees were very fair for this area and he was willing to work with us to get the services we wanted for a price we could afford.

Profile Picture Katherine, 7/24/16, 6 Reviews
Category: DJ
Services Used: Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, MC, Microphones
5.0

We are so thankful that we hired Steve for our wedding day! He went above and beyond our expectation. He was very flexible, willing to accommodate our requests and was a pleasure to work with. He helped make our day absolutely perfect!

Profile Picture Janelle, 7/9/16, 3 Reviews
Category: DJ
4.5

He did a great job getting our guests dancing and letting them know when something is going to take place. He kept on schedule, for the most part. After the toasts we were going to go straight into the garter and bouquet toss, but music started playing and everyone started dancing. We didn't want to stop the dancing just to do the garter and bouquet toss, and honestly my husband and I kinda forgot about it. It was our wedding coordinator that had to remind us. She was a little more upset then we were.
The one thing that I wasn't to happy about was that we did say that we didn't want our guests to take song requests because I had spend a lot of time, effort and thought into putting together our priority song list that we wanted played. He did take requests and played more of those songs then what was actually on our song list. Songs that I would have never chosen just because of the grandparents and other people that were there. So songs that my husband and I were really looking forward to hearing didn't get played, but some of the songs we had on the secondary list got played.
Oh well, like everyone says, however the wedding goes, at the end of the day your married to your best friend and that's all the counts.

Profile Picture Ashley , 6/11/16, 2 Reviews
Category: DJ
5.0

Hands down the best vendor we hired for our wedding. I can't say enough good things about Steve. He was an awesome MC. He had a wonderful program for custom introductions that our bridal party loved. His MC throughout the whole night had us on schedule with our timeline and kept us going. It was a huge help because once the reception starts going, you forget about having certain things to do and he helped keep us on track while making sure the the music was perfect for each section of the night. Steve was the perfect DJ because we just gave him the songs that we had to have played and then told him to roll with the crowd and he did that. He took requests but also made sure that the music was keeping everyone pumped up. I could continue to go on. From our first meeting with Steve to the days right before, he made everything happen and he was a great DJ.

Profile Picture Ashley, 10/3/15, 5 Reviews
Category: DJ
Services Used: Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, Liability Insurance, MC, One Event Per Day, Microphones, Sound/PA System
4.8

To me, planning the music was one of the most important aspects of our wedding, especially for the ceremony. Steve met with us in person months before our wedding and then we met a few times again via conference calls (we married in OR, but we're from VA) to coordinate the soundtrack of our wedding. Each time we worked with him he showed nothing but professionalism. I had a wide variety of music requests, some songs were pretty obscure, and Steve was able to locate and play those songs during the wedding. I was very pleased with how flexible and accommodating he was.

He also did a great job entertaining the crowd during the reception by encouraging them to select songs. My relatives loved this! I think we have at least two or three pictures of family members behind the DJ booth picking out songs. I'm pretty sure one of the songs that was requested, "Rocky Top," he purchased from iTunes and downloaded it on the spot. Anyways - the dance floor was packed with sweaty, happy people! I definitely danced my feet off!

The only pitfall, and I think this may have been my fault - he forgot to introduce my Dad before he gave the blessing. Make sure that if you make any last minute changes (this was one on my part), that you inform him. There's so much going on, and so many moving parts, nothings perfect!

I would definitely recommend Steve. He's professional, has professional equipment (definitely not an amateur), and is extremely flexible and easy going.

Profile Picture Kristie, 11/8/14, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

Steve Strain ROCKS. He was very very flexible on what times he could meet with us and even drove to near where we live. He knew all the right questions to ask, had an awesome online tool to use, and gave us a really fun party. He was sure to stay in communication with us during the wedding to make sure we were on time for announcements and to check on a few specific songs. He kept things going the whole night. We booked him after seeing him at a friends wedding. His price is a great deal and totally worth it!

Profile Picture Meghan, 9/13/14, 8 Reviews
Category: DJ
5.0

Joel did a fantastic job at our wedding. He had everyone up and dancing throughout most of the night, got out and showed everyone how to do certain line dances (which were a big hit), and he kept us at ease as far as timeline goes. He let us know when it was time to do everything as far as grand entrance, eating, cake cutting, traditional dances, etc. goes. We are so happy we used Rose City Mobile Music for our big day.

Profile Picture Roxanne, 8/23/14, 5 Reviews
Category: DJ
5.0

He was fun and creative! The different introductions and recordings made our wedding unique. The bride's mother said that he "was just like one of the family." He helped our night flow well and adjusted accordingly to the changes that were made during the reception. I would hire this DJ back again for any future event and I highly recommend him!!

Profile Picture Heather, 11/9/13, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

Steve was great, and also helped MC! Played great music based on the crowd/guests mood. I honestly can't say enough good things! The best ever! And the price? The price can't be beat! (This is one case where the phrase "you get what you pay for" does NOT apply. You get WAY more than those expensive DJs will provide you!
He even put together a wedding remix we asked for within just a few days, and even revised it several times base on my needs. Always communicated in a timely matter!

Profile Picture Stephanie, 7/20/13, 3 Reviews
Category: DJ
5.0

We looooooooooooooooooooooooved Rose City for our DJ choice!!! Joel was our DJ for the night and he was out dancing with the crowd, teaching them dances & getting them going, everyone LOOOOOVED that he was involved so much!!!! He played EXACTLY the music we wanted & did it with a smile on his face!!! We definitely recommend them for your DJ, their value is amazing, they did everything I wanted & more!!!! I appreciate them sooooo much for all they did!!!

Profile Picture Meghan, 7/21/12, 5 Reviews
Category: DJ
4.8

Steve was awesome! We needed a true MC and that he was! He kept everything flowing and on time and we really enjoyed everything. He truly has so much insight and advice on how to do certain things and the sky was the limit. He really worked with us and we can't thank him enough!
Breanna and Kyle Gustafson
9/10/11
Oregon City, OR

Profile Picture Breanna, 9/10/11, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony Music, DJ
5.0

Steve was excellent! We wanted him to help coordinate the flow of the night, and he did a great job! He's very personable and has a great sense of humor which is perfect for us. The music was perfect with only a minor glitch and he made everything right by not charging us for the last half an hour because of the earlier problems. He even made us a CD with our song requests on it! I love that he had a "do not play" list, and allowed the guests (and encouraged them) to make requests for songs. He even put out request papers on every table so guests would know that was an option.

Profile Picture Jamilyn, 3/20/10, 5 Reviews
Category: DJ
3.8

RCMM was very nice to work with (very flexible and tried to be accommodating), and I think for some events they're probably terrific, but I'm not sure I'd necessarily recommend them for an event for people in my age group who are into music. They have an enormous collection of music but not a whole lot of songs have been added since 2006 or so, so quite lacking in current popular music. Maybe it was just a difference of opinion of what constitutes "old standards like Frank Sinatra and Cole Porter" but the dinner music definitely veered sharply into instrumental muzak, which was sort of horrible, and at one point a guest even asked if we were listening to the Weather Channel soundtrack (quite embarrassing). RCMM is definitely less expensive than other area DJs and I thought it would be a decent way to save some money, but I'm afraid it kind of showed. We had provided a specific song list for the dancing portion, and once he started playing that list everything was fine. I've definitely been to tons of weddings where the DJ was worse. And on the plus side, he was super professional, the sound was good, great equipment, showed up on time, got all the "first dance" songs right, and kept the event flowing nicely from introduction to dance to cake cutting and so on.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Elizabeth, 8/15/09, 7 Reviews
Category: DJ
5.0

They did a great job and they were on top of things.

Profile Picture Kendall , 6/28/09, 6 Reviews
Category: DJ