Mhari Scott Photography Reviews

27 | Portland, OR
See photos, pricing and details

27 Reviews for Mhari Scott Photography

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

27
Order by:
  • MS4

    Meredith · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't thank Mhari enough for making wedding photography a simple, enjoyable process. She's a master at putting people at ease and conveying professionalism and compassion with a bright sense of humor! Mhari accommodated our budget by tailoring one of her standard packages and never made us feel any pressure at all. She was glad to explore Portland with us for our engagement shoot, and she made my parents' back yard seem magical. Even Mhari's assistant Andrea was charming and easy going while she helped herd the cats that are our extended families! I really couldn't imagine a better experience and I will be recommending her to friends and family for any photography they might need.

    Sent on 10/13/2015
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 08/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are SO happy we chose Mhari to do our wedding photos! We found her through another friend who had her shoot their wedding because we loved how beautiful and candid their photos were. And of course, our photos are just as perfect. She did such a sweet job at capturing our special day. Her and her assistant were awesome the entire time, from the first time we met for a consult she was easy to work with, understood what we wanted, and thorough in her preparations. I HIGHLY recommend her to other couples!

    Sent on 09/25/2015
  • User6901262 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mhari was AMAZING!!!! We did our engagement shoot on a sailboat and Mhari was very adaptable to the changing settings. The photos turned out beautiful and she made my fiancé and I feel really comfortable, so we knew that she would also do a great job with our wedding day and she definitely did. We are absolutely THRILLED with our wedding photos. She really has an eye for capturing special moments with candid photos. She helped me a lot with planning the timeline for the wedding day and gave great input about what would and wouldn’t work. Mhari is calm and organized—she not only got all the shots I wanted, she also helped make the day run smoothly! I would highly recommend her to everyone!

    Sent on 06/29/2016
  • W

    Walter · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This review is long overdue!

    We hired Mhari earlier this year to take photos of our wedding reception. We'd gotten married in a friend's backyard a few months previous, but wanted to have a party for friends & family, and really had no idea about what we needed to do. Mhari came highly recommended, and we couldn't be happier with the outcome.

    Mhari took time to explain to us all the different options, what we could expect, and reminded us of stuff that we might have forgotten otherwise. She and her assistant showed up early, and were so unobtrusive, that people didn't realize she was there most of the time. We have some awesome "in the moment" photos that came out of the event, just genuine people having a good time.

    It came time for our personal photos, and we were whisked away to a few private areas of the grounds for the photos. Mhari is quite visionary, and can tell just from the mood and feel how things should work out. Even though our photos were "set up", they don't have a staged feel at all.

    One last bit... I absolutely hate having my picture taken - like many people do. But the thing is, Mhari was able to capture us in the moment, and I absolutely adore the pictures she took of us - even of me.

    Because we had such a good experience, and because neither of us have the gift that Mhari has, we asked her to put together a wedding book for us. She ran with it, and it came out perfect.

    Thank you, Mhari, for the incredible work, and for making our day memorable!

    Sent on 08/24/2015
  • A

    Amber · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mhari was a pleasure to work with, and we couldn't be happier with our photos!

    Our wedding photographer criteria: professional and friendly, timeless photo-journalism style, allows us to own the digital copies of our images for distribution as we please for a super reasonable price. Mhari met this criteria and more!

    Professionalism & Personality: Mhari was so easy to work with from the moment I contacted her, and she made me and my wedding party feel so at ease on the big day. I was 100% confident in her ability to capture all of our special moments. We felt like she was part of our group that day, and really enjoyed her company. I wish she would just take LONGER editing our photos so that I would have more reasons to keep reaching out to her :).

    Style: She doesn't over-process your photos with tons of blur/fade/Instagram-esque effects that so many photographers are using these days. Instead, you get clear, crisp, beautiful images that showcase your best self, not an airbrushed Photoshop version of yourself that will feel dated in a few years. Also, she took so many amazing candid photos that bring back the happy memories of our wedding and really capture the excitement and emotions of the day!

    Photo Ownership & Price: Mhari fit within our budget and made it really easy to add extra hours the day of. We also loved that for such a reasonable price, we own all the digital images (so many good photos!) and can post them as we please. So many photographers we looked at have weird rules about digital photo ownership. I love that she created an online gallery, sent me a zip file, and sent me a physical drive of the photos! She also got our photos back to us about a month after the wedding--I've seen it take much longer for friends who worked with other photographers, and I know she took a lot of care in editing our images.

    I absolutely recommend working with Mhari if you're in the Portland or Seattle area. She's a fantastic photographer and an all-a

    Sent on 12/03/2014
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 09/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mhari was very calm and professional which helped me to relax and enjoy the day. After the staged pictures I really hardly noticed she was there and we came away with a tone of wonderful pictures! Many people referred to our photos as editorial or magazine shots. They were perfect, personal, and just what we wanted!

    Sent on 02/20/2015
  • M

    Maryam · Married on 08/30/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mhari was absolutely incredible! She captured the magic and love on our special day. Truly a joy to wok with.

    Sent on 09/05/2015
  • K

    Kara · Married on 05/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mhari was wonderful and amazing!! Her calm approach to the day helped keep us calm and relaxed, which made for great photos. Many of our guests and wedding party members commented about how great she was, how she was just in the background but always there at the right moment.
    Before the wedding she helped us figure out a "medium" size package that fit our budget and our hopes for the day (although I'd do the "full" package if I could do it over again). She has an online payment method that is really easy. She asked great questions that made us think about things we hadn't even considered, and the answers helped shape our day. She met us at the venue a few weeks before the wedding to discuss everything and scout out where to take the photos...our stress level went down about 10 notches after that meeting.

    "Stellar" is a great way to describe Mhari!

    Sent on 05/25/2014
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 08/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the most important things to us was to have a photographer that could capture every moment of our big day. Mhari did just that! We absolutely LOVE our photos and could not be any more pleased with how they turned out. It has been very difficulty selecting only a few for our wall! Besides Mhari's great photography skills, she was so great to work with. She met with us often and was very timely in getting back to us through emails or phone calls. We highly recommend Mhari to anyone!!!!

    Sent on 07/13/2014
  • Caitlyn

    Caitlyn · Married on 07/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mhari Scott made our wedding such a beautiful reality, I can not really express in words how valuable and wonderful her addition to the wedding was. The photographs we have from that day not only capture the beauty as I was looking for, it really captured the emotions and important moments. Every time something unexpected occurred, Mhari was right there; my mother-in-law even commented on her amazing presence during every special moment. My husband and I can not imagine having anyone else responsible for our wedding photography, and in a heartbeat I would recommend Mhari to anyone.

    Sent on 08/16/2013
  • K

    Kaitlyn · Married on 10/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We planned our wedding from across the country. After our planner recommended Mhari, we both fell in love with her photos and crossed our fingers that she was available. From first confirmation to final disc, Mhari was enthusiastic, professional, friendly, and an outstanding photographer. Even all my guests loved her.

    She was upfront about pricing, which was also an absolute plus. Though she was the biggest budget item on our budget (though, honestly, we had a low budget wedding) it is among the best money we could have spent.

    The best advice I could give to someone who is even thinking about Mhari is look at her blog and see for yourself. I've honestly turned to my new husband and said, "So, is living closer to Mhari for future photo opportunities a good reason to move to the Pacific Northwest?" :)

    Sent on 12/30/2012
  • K

    Kaitlin · Married on 09/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Mhari for our engagement and wedding photos and it was unbelievable how well they turned out! We both consider ourselves very unphotogenic and there was no trace of that in any of the photos Mhari took- she has a keen eye and truly talented spirit. Not only were the photos great but she also was very reachable and communicative through the whole process- she would keep us updated on the editing process and let us know immediately when they were ready. You can't go wrong with her- we HIGHLY recommend her!!

    Sent on 12/19/2012
  • R

    R · Married on 08/04/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mhari was fabulous to work with and our photos (wedding and engagement) came out wonderfully. I would absolutely recommend her as a photographer.

    Sent on 09/07/2012
  • M

    Mariko · Married on 05/04/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we were looking for a wedding photographer, we wanted these things: somebody who would listen to and understand our vision, somebody that was professional and reliable, and somebody who would produce great photographs.  We are glad that we worked with Mhari for our wedding this past May because she delivered on all these aspects.  She really took the time to meet with us and get to know us, and she worked with us to find a package that worked with our budget.  At our engagement shoot and at the wedding, she came early and worked so hard that I wondered whether there were 2 of her since she seemed to be everywhere at the same time.  And as a result, the photographs are so wonderful and left us speechless. We would recommend her to anybody.

    Sent on 06/06/2012
  • Caitlin

    Caitlin · Married on 07/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot imagine anyone having done a better or more professional, fun and quality job than Mhari. Our engagement pictures were fantastic. I have received so many compliments and more importantly, we absolutely love them. She did such a fantastic job of capturing the essence of 'us.' She was such a joy to work with. Her communication regarding schedule and other logistics arrangements were efficient and clear. She responded promptly and answered all my many questions. Mhari is friendly, professional and does superior work.

    I cannot wait to see our wedding pictures, I know they will be amazing!

    Sent on 08/21/2011
  • M

    Sara · Married on 05/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mhari was a dream come true. I was married in Seattle but live in Arizona. I never even met her until the wedding day! However, she did offer a sit-down before hand. It was just a swamped weekend!
    She cares so much about her clients and wants to give them the best experience on the wedding day. She took amazing pictures! She created a beautiful album as well. It tells a great story and I will treasure it the rest of my life.
    She was so easy to get a hold of and responded quickly to all my comments and questions. When I first called her, I called her cell phone. She was driving and busy. But she pulled over and took the time to talk. She didn't make me feel rushed.
    This is a complete gush-fest, but she really was amazing and I want everyone to use her.

    Sent on 01/06/2012
  • A

    alison · Married on 08/07/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm so glad that we hired Mhari to be our photographer. She was so easy to work with on the day, we wanted someone who we wouldn't necessarily notice for most of the event - and she was perfect in this way. We also requested a limited number of posed pictures, these were executed beautifully, but didn't take too much time, again, exactly what we were looking for.

    Mhari is completely professional, she came prepared for the weather (rain) and was able to take some really fantastic photographs despite some of the less than desirable conditions. It's also worth mentioning that she has a really nice presence about her, very calm and composed, which is a great asset on an otherwise hectic day.

    We've had lots of positive feedback from friends and family about how the pictures turned out, having read the other glowing reviews and speaking with Mhari on the phone beforehand I had a feeling that they were going to be good - I was however pleasantly surprised to have my expectations surpassed. I really could not have asked for more.

    Sent on 08/24/2010
  • C

    Cassie · Married on 09/19/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have been more satisfied with Mhari's professionalism, and her overall work. She took absolutely wonderful photos on my wedding day. What I found extremely helpful was the months before the wedding she took the time to ask what type of photographs you want, and she takes the time to get to know you. Figure out your personality so the photos match your style. Everyone was amazed with how well she blended herself in, you barely even realize she was there. My sister used her services also for her big day, and her friend had also introduced her to Mhari. All of us have nothing but great things to say about her work,and just the person she is. I hope you future brides out there find this helpful! You will not be disappointed in the least bit. I, along with many others I'm sure, highly recommend Mhari Scott Photography. You'd be passing up a great opportunity if you didn't. Blessings!

    Sent on 08/27/2010
  • T

    Trisha · Married on 09/12/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mhari was GREAT to work with, professionally and personally! She captured so many great moments from our wedding day and the pictures came out beautiful and just what i wanted!! We had such a big selection of pictures to choose from at the end that i ended up picking a ton for our wedding album! Everytime i look at our wedding pictures, i can remember each moment in the day that each picture was taken, which i love being able to do. I would recommend Mhari and her work to any future bride!!

    Sent on 07/05/2010
  • S

    Siobhan · Married on 09/06/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mhari was great to work with at our wedding in Montgomery County, PA. She took beautiful photos, captured some really priceless moments, was easy to contact when we had questions, and extremely kind during the hectic process of planning a wedding. I would definitely suggest her to anyone looking for very artistic view of your wedding. Her price is extremely reasonable, mostly because her package does not include an album. However, she signs off on the rights to all 2,000 photos that she provides to you on DVDs. You can then pick and choose what you want to include in an album and have one made on your own. I believe she will also make an album for you for an additional cost.

    Sent on 11/17/2009
  • S

    Rachael · Married on 08/21/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mhari did seriously AMAZING work for us on our wedding day. My husband and I had very high expectations based on the work she had shared with us when we first met, and our own photos exceeded them.

    Booking:
    Before finding Mhari, we had a really difficult time tracking down the perfect wedding photographer. My husband himself is a photographer, so we had the highest standards in mind with regard to that aspect of our wedding. But we also had a tight budget as we were paying for everything ourselves, and anyone who was remotely decent was asking really exorbitant fees.

    But then we found Mhari. An amazing photographer with a portfolio to kill. Her pricing was SO reasonable taking into consideration her great level of talent. And she was the ONLY person we spoke with (more than) willing to work with us to create a custom photo package that wasn't only something we could afford, but was exactly what we wanted. And she discussed all of this with us in person over a cup of coffee. She didn’t put any pressure on us to make a decision on the spot.

    I think all of a day later we told Mhari that we’d love to have her as our photographer. Her contract was only two pages long and was very straightforward, honest, and easy to understand. She even included her contingency plan, should something unexpected happen with her scheduling the day of our wedding (though, thankfully, nothing did ).

    Pre-Wedding:
    Mhari's communication in the months leading up to the wedding was fantastic. She was friendly, easy to get a hold of, and fast to respond. She took her time working through even the smallest of all details with us. I think that’s how we knew that everything would turn out perfectly the day of the wedding—and it really did, despite a rainy day!

    Wedding:
    I thought the rain was going to put a huge damper on the day, because the location/photos were, to us, the most important detail of the entire day (aside from getting married, of course!), but she made it all work—beautifully.

    Mhari was extremely flexible and willing to take any and all of the different shots we requested, despite the weather. She wasn't afraid to pull out her equipment and let one of our friends tag along as her official umbrella holder.

    Our guests also paid Mhari plenty of compliments: they observed that she was always everywhere she needed to be to capture both the traditional and the unexpected moments, yet she was completely unobtrusive at the same time.

    Post-Wedding:
    Mhari kept excellent communication with us even after the wedding and mailed our photos within a matter of weeks. The DVDs of our photos arrived in a uniquely and beautifully-wrapped package, and were inserted in a custom-made disc holder. The discs themselves were even lightscribed with one of our own photos!

    We remember Mhari whenever we look at our photos, and I have no doubts that that will be the case forever. I'm only sad that she's moved away from the Philadelphia area—we won't have an opportunity to recommend her to any of our friends here. But hopefully this review can help anyone in the Seattle area make that decision!

    Sent on 07/19/2010
  • J

    Julie · Married on 07/11/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mhari was one of the first vendors that we booked for our wedding. We were immediately impressed by her work and photography style, but also appreciated how comfortable she made us feel during our initial meeting and subsequently at the engagement shoot and wedding. Mhari was attentive to the details of the day, took the pictures we had asked for, and captured beautiful moments that otherwise may have gone unnoticed or slipped from our memories. Her prices are affordable, and being able to reproduce the pictures whenever we like has been wonderfully convenient.

    Sent on 07/02/2010
  • T

    Teresa · Married on 06/27/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mhari is incredible - hands-down the absolute best photographer I have ever worked with. I put on a lot of events in my professional life, so I've worked with a number of photographers. Mhari understood exactly what I wanted (candid shots that really captured the moment); she was beyone flexible (stayed on with the smaller group of us who went out after the reception); she was completely unobtrusive (I never knew she was there. My husband and I were at a wedding recently where the photographer kept interrupting conversations to ask people to pose so she could get a shot. We kept saying to each other, "Mhari would never have done that!"). And the quality of the shots she got... I don't think I could say enough about how amazingly beautiful the photos were. On top of it, her price could not be beat. Mhari was an absolute pleasure to work with, and I would recommend her to everyone (I wish she hadn't moved out west, so I could recommend her to my friends here in NYC!).

    Sent on 08/01/2010
  • T

    Thomas · Married on 11/07/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mhari is a true professional - approachable/easy to work with, accommodating/cooperative, pleasant/caring, unique/creative, talented/experienced, detail-oriented, etc., etc. I would highly recommend her!

    Sent on 07/05/2010
  • R

    Rickiesha · Married on 05/24/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mhari is a very creative photographer. She does excellent work! Her photojournalistic approach allowed me to get almost 1000 candid pictures that I never would have gotten from still pictures alone. The pictures she had taken from my wedding completely told the story if you did not attend. On top of that, I almost didn't even notice she was there the whole day! She is completely affordable and you even get a personalized picture CD of your photos (both edited and unedited) and she places your photos on a website for you to share at your own discretion. All I can say is...EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT!

    Sent on 07/25/2008