Skip to main content
Weddings

McKay's Photography Reviews

McKay's Photography

McKay's Photography

Rochester, NY
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 30 Reviews
View more information

30 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 30
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner
  • Natalie
    Natalie B. Married on 10/23/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Best Photographer!

    Heather is simply the best. On the day of our wedding, she mentioned that she had made a decision to only do small weddings in the Adirondacks and then we had reached out to her the next day to photograph our small wedding in the Adirondacks! Not only is Heather extremely friendly and professional, she also brought beautiful weather with her. She blended right in with our families and was a total delight. She also brought some example albums with her to show us before the wedding (she lives in Rochester and we live in Buffalo, and we didn't coordinate a meet-up beforehand to review that sort of stuff. It sounds like it would come off as a weird sales pitch, but it was actually super casual and really helpful for us to see and feel what her products look like). Heather is just the best, and we're so lucky that we could have her for our wedding!
  • A
    Audrey Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Heather McKay is the best wedding photographer ever. When we saw her portfolio, we knew she was the one for us. Heather perfectly captured the details of our event and she is a great person to work with as well. Our wedding wouldn’t have been nearly such a success without her help. Thank you Heather!

    We were so happy with Heather's work that we have recommended her to our closest friends. My husband and I continue to rely on McKay's Photography to document our growing family.
  • K
    Katie Married on 05/20/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Heather is an amazing photographer and we could not be happier that we decided to work with her for our wedding. She was professional, fun, and made sure our entire wedding day ran smoothly! She somehow managed to capture everything during the day including all the little details and special moments we didn’t even notice happening. Even just a few days after the wedding, she had a bunch of beautiful photos from the wedding ready for us! I would highly recommend her to everyone!!
  • K
    Kelly Married on 10/22/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Heather helped make our day run smoothly and seamlessly. She is an enormously talented photographer, the photos from our day are absolutely stunning. She was al soso kind and helpful ( she did so much besides take amazing photos! like bustling my dress and helping kids with shoes!). We just received our pictures and she is a true artist! We can't wait to see our beautiful heirloom album! highly recommend!
  • J
    Jacqueline Married on 08/20/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Heather is true talent. She has this ability to capture people's joy in her pictures in a way that I've never seen before. And for me, that was what I loved so much about her work. On top of that, she was so easy to work with and actually made the photography sessions fun. I can't even express how happy I am that we chose Heather because every time I look at my pictures I'm just taken right back to the amazing moments of my wedding. My wedding was epic, but my pictures are even more epic. Heather is worth every penny, and I can't imagine having anyone else capture the most amazing day of my life. THANK YOU!!!
  • L
    Laura Married on 05/21/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Heather was the "behind the scenes" glue to our wedding day - meeting with her, having her guide us through not just shots that we would want taken, but how to navigate our wedding day as a whole. Heather had the whole thing down! The guidance and tips she gave us for the day, were spot on. She made us feel completely comfortable and relaxed, and we were just able to sit back and enjoy the day knowing our memories and moments of the day were being captured by a total professional. We had a blast and it was tons of fun, and Heather couldn't have steered us any better to make sure our day was phenomenal.
  • M
    Merri Married on 05/24/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were so happy that we chose McKay's Photography for our wedding. Heather is a seasoned professional and amazing photographer. She was a pleasure to work with throughout the entire process and totally understood exactly what we wanted for our big day. Our entire day was captured better than we could have imagined. All of our guests fell in love with heather and continuously complement us on our gorgeous photos.
  • T
    Tabitha Married on 08/11/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We couldn't have had a better experience working with Heather. She was so fun and really helped us with every aspect of the day. We were thrilled with the beautiful photos she took and would recommend her to anyone! Thanks, Heather!!!
  • T
    Thomas Married on 09/24/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Choosing McKay's Photography for our Wedding was one of the smartest decisions we made. Heather was professional, courteous, and very attentive to detail. The thought process that goes into her photos sets her apart from the standard wedding photos that people typically have done. Her journalistic approach really helps to tell the story of your wedding and it really pours forth in the album. I would not hesitate to recommend her to anyone else looking for a creative and fun wedding photographer!
  • G
    Ellen Married on 05/28/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We're so glad we went with Heather as our photographer - she was helpful every step of the way, fun to work with, and recommended several other vendors for us that were also great. We've lost track of how many people have raved about our engagement and wedding photos!
  • P
    Pete Married on 05/28/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Thanks for the great job. We love our pictures!
  • J
    Julia Married on 09/11/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Heather was and is absolutely amazing in all meaning of the word. She is professional and easy going-she has a calming presence amongst the stress of planning/preparing a wedding. My husband an I would recommend Heather for any type of photography need. She is fun, down-to-earth and beyond talented-she captures moments in a way that makes them sublime. She is an incredible photographer and person. We are so grateful that she was able to be a part of our wedding. Without a doubt, Heather has inspired me. We never had to worry if she was capturing the moments we hoped for-she's totally trustworthy! We couldn't have asked for more!!! Thank you so much Heather!!!!
  • M
    M Married on 08/07/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Talking with Heather was one of my favorite parts of the process from beginning to end. I have nothing but gratefulness for her kindness and professionalism. She is truly an artist! I haven't even seen the images yet (the wedding was 2 days ago) but trust they will be gorgeous. She is someone you can rely on. Hiring her was one of the best decisions I made.
  • J
    Jerry Married on 06/12/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Heather was not only a fantastic photographer but her experience with weddings in general was a tremendous help. I would not hesitate to hire Heather again for my photo needs.
  • StefNY
    Stefani Married on 05/22/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Heather is an absolute dream to work with! We were married on Saturday and she had photos of our wedding on her blog by Monday afternoon! I honestly can't praise Heather enough! She even helped my mom bustle my dress! She captured images that I never even saw her take! She flowed seamlessly among the wedding guests. She made everyone comfortable and I heard praise throughout the night about how wonderful our photographer was and how friendly she was being to everyone. She captured special details that other photographers often overlook. She captured candid moments that are absolutely priceless! My husband and I recommend Heather with no reservations whatsoever! We look forward to having her photograph our family throughout the years! What an absolute pleasure!
  • V
    Vincent Married on 08/09/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Heather was amazing. Our wedding coordinator quit right before our wedding but Heather stepped up and helped us coordinate the wedding her self. She adapted to our very creative needs and shot just the most amazing photos. She was a joy to work with I can't recommend her enough.
  • C
    Carol Married on 07/18/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Heather McKay was wonderful to work with. She captured the day completely from beginning to end and didn't miss a thing. Her quality of work was so impressive that I highly recommend her to everyone I meet. There were so many fantastic casual and formal shots throughout the day. Her talent and creativity added so much to the event. Each time I look at my album I feel like I am reliving the day.
  • S
    Stacy Married on 06/20/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved Heather's work from the minute we saw it, and from the few photos we have seen from our day, we absolutely love them! She did a great job,and is just a fun person! We would recommend her to anyone!
  • M
    Maggie Married on 03/07/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Thank you Heather for everything! You did an amazing job!
  • E
    Elaine Married on 08/16/2008
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were so excited to have Heather as our wedding photographer. I have always loved Heather's work and I knew that our wedding photos would be spectacular!! Now when we look at our amazing photos, we can't even pick our favorites, there are just too many. :) Not only did we get amazing wedding photos but we had a great time taking them!! I couldn't believe how much fun we had. So far we have had our engagement portraits, wedding photography, and a family portrait session with our puppies!! And the comments we hear from our family and friends about our photographs is just Great!! They love that they see Matthew and I as we are.

    We would and do recommend Heather to everyone!! And Matthew and I will continue to have Heather capture our lives together and are grateful to have Heather as our photographer and friend.
  • J
    Julia Married on 07/26/2008
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I just went to a wedding not too long ago, and I was looking at the photos their photographer took. Needless to say they were not even close to the perfection you gave us almost 4 years ago. I sill go back and look at our album every couple months and think how lucky we were to be able to have you photograph our wedding. I always talk about how amazing you were at our wedding and how beautiful our album is. I would recommend Heather for any event that you want to capture flawlessly.
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 06/07/2008
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We do not have enough good things to say about Heather!! From our first phone conversation, we knew that she was exactly what we were looking for. She is friendly, fun, resourceful, and has an amazing eye for capturing (not posing) the most important moments. Not only did we get incredible photographs to remember our wedding day by, but we also gained a new friend. We absolutely adore her! We would (and do) HIGHLY recommend Heather!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 10/26/2007
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot say enough wonderful things about our experience with Heather! She was fun and professional from start to finish. She kept all of our guests (and us!) at ease and laughing the whole time! Everyone that has seen our pictures has commented on how beautiful they are. We need to buy a bigger house so we have room to hang all of her amazing work.
  • J
    Jodi Married on 10/06/2007
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Heather was exactly what we were looking for. She was extremely flexible, answered all of our questions and did a beautiful job with our wedding. Her passion and dedication was very apparent.
  • M
    Michael Married on 06/30/2007
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great to work with, wonderful energy. Very flexible. Have recommended to others