Maddalena's Catering Co. Reviews

23 | Grand Rapids, MI
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Maddalena's Catering Co.

Recommended by 97%

23
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7
Sort by:
  • A

    Anne · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so thrilled that we hired Maddalena's as the caterer for our wedding! Right off the bat, I was impressed with the choices on their menu and with our contact at Maddalena's, Amy. I cannot stress enough how amazing Amy was to work with. She was very quick to respond to emails and very thorough in her responses. She was easy to work with and had a ton of great ideas! At our tasting, she suggested some really fun ideas around the cocktail hour and late night snack. One thing you should know is that you are not necessarily limited to the menu that is on the website. Amy helped us customize some of the meals and also sourced special items, like popcorn for our popcorn bar and donuts and cider, from vendors around Grand Rapids. We found the pricing to be very reasonable compared with other caterers in the area and the quality of the food was excellent. Our guests raved about the food and felt that it really made our day unique. On the wedding day, everything went exactly as planned and not a single detail was missed. I sincerely cannot recommend Maddalena's highly enough.

    Sent on 11/13/2017
  • S

    sue · Married on 03/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amy and her staff are awesome to work with. Amy wanted our event to be perfect and it was. The Wraps and Sangria were both delicious. Numerous color schemes to choose from to make decorating a breeze!

    Sent on 02/07/2017
  • K

    Kim · Married on 02/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Maddalena's Catering for bar service only (no food) for our wedding at the Cheney Place. Amy is AMAZING to work with. Her excellent customer service combined with the value and fair pricing in their bartending service is the reason we chose to go with Maddalena's. Amy was incredibly friendly and helpful through the whole process. She answered so many questions for us via email and met with us in person to help iron out the final details. Choosing all your bar options can be overwhelming but Amy made the process so smooth and always made us feel welcome to ask as many questions as we needed. We received several compliments on how friendly and quick the the whole staff was on the night of our wedding. I HIGHLY recommend them for their bartending services. Their prices are affordable compared to the other quotes we received, and working with Amy as well as the excellent service from the whole team just tops the cake!

    Sent on 02/27/2017
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 11/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best part about my wedding was the food & drinks and that is all thanks to Maddalena's! Amy has been a dream to work with - she was there for me every step of the way. She was always available when I had questions and helped me to create my dream wedding menu. She was so personable that I felt like I was working with a friend. Our wedding was at The Cheney Place and Maddalena's has tons of experience catering there so cocktail hour and dinner service went absolutely perfectly. We had a nice assortment of appetizers for cocktail hour (get the bacon wrapped scallops, you won't regret it!) and a three course meal for dinner. We had almost 300 guests and service was so smooth that we felt like we were in a fine dining restaurant. A couple months prior to the wedding, I had my bridal shower at the new Maddalena's banquet hall in Standale which was also a plated meal. It is an adorable space. I highly recommend it for showers, birthday parties, rehearsal dinners, etc. I cannot say enough good things about our experience with Maddalena's. Our wedding guests are still raving about the food and drinks weeks later! Thank you for everything!

    Sent on 11/21/2016
  • L

    Laura · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had Maddalena’s cater the food and provide bar service for our wedding, and we couldn’t have been more thrilled with the amazing job they did! All of our guests commented on how delicious the food was and how much they enjoyed it. Every detail was taken care of and everything went perfectly! We felt that their prices were extremely reasonable, and we loved that our buffet package included appetizers served during cocktail hour, table service, cake service, and linens. We also appreciated being able to customize our bar package and add signature drinks to show off our personalities.

    Their catering coordinator, Amy, was an absolute DREAM to work with!!! Partnering with her was our favorite part about hiring Maddalena’s, which is saying a lot because the food was delicious! She was extremely knowledgeable, professional, and helpful, which allowed my fiancé and I to feel completely confident that everything was under control. She went above and beyond to help us in so many ways: she created a separate kids’ buffet for our younger guests, customized our bar package so we got exactly what we wanted at a great price, and stepped in to avoid us having the wrong color table linens when the linen company goofed up (without me even knowing about it until afterwards!) We can’t recommend Amy and Maddalena’s outstanding food and service enough!

    Sent on 09/06/2016
  • E

    Emily · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From start to finish everything was great. Danielle made planning and preparation easy and stress free. The food and service was right on time and friendly. It was a good experience overall.

    Sent on 12/24/2013
  • User3770206 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We liked that... they created a delicious chicken entree for the bride and her wedding guests. The chiefs were awesome! The food was perfect ! We liked that... the bar was billed on what your guests consumed.

    Sent on 01/01/2014
  • C

    Caryn · Married on 07/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Peppinos provided fantastic service and made the planning process so easy. We did not have to worry about anything the day of the wedding and everything was exactly what we had ordered. The food was delicious and our guests loved it. I will definitely use Peppinos for any other catering needs I might have in the future. Danielle was specifically helpful in planning the even and was easy to contact and communicate with.

    Sent on 12/23/2013
  • K

    Kaitlyn · Married on 07/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Peppino's Catering was fantastic. We received nothing but compliments on the food, which was delicious, and we were all very pleased with the flexibility and professionalism of the staff. I would highly recommend Peppino's to anyone looking for catering for a wedding or other special event. Thank you Peppino's for being a part of my wedding.

    Sent on 01/02/2014
  • S

    Susan · Married on 07/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Peppinos Catering for our wedding and we were very pleased with the service we received. From the beginning, we were impressed with the help of staff and flexibility of the catering service. The days leading up to our wedding as well as the day of our event, everything went smoothly and Peppinos made our day very relaxing and enjoyable for all of our guests. The staff covered all the details and went out of their way to make it a great experience for us. The food is delicious and there many options and selections to choose from. I would definitely recommend Peppinos catering to any bride and groom looking for excellent service and great food!

    Sent on 12/24/2013
  • User2985995 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Peppino's was extremely accommodating to all of our needs, the food was wonderful, and we were so happy with how everything turned out!

    Sent on 01/15/2013
  • A

    Alli · Married on 08/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What fantastic service Peppinos provided on our wedding day this August 10, 2012. They were excellent in all categories. They worked with us on our menu options and the food they provided was delicious--we had SO many compliments. Danielle whom we worked with was professional, diligent and easy to work with. She did a wonderful job representing Peppions. I would recommend their services to anyone looking for a caterer.

    Sent on 09/12/2012
  • F

    Fred · Married on 08/04/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Peppinos did an amazing job the food was the best I have had at a wedding in well over 30 years of going to weddings. The steak was awesome tender juicy med rare...AWESOME and the chicken got rave reviews from many in attendance. The hors derves were also
    amazing ...the stuffed mushrooms...to die for!! The wait staff was great....everything GREAT I truly felt I had put on one of the best wedding dinners ever...truly impressed!!!
    I would highly recommend Pepinos to anyone looking for a great reception dinner at a more than reasonable rate.. Thanks Peppinos you helped make our day special
    a GOLD MEDAL performance

    Sent on 08/06/2012
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 07/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone did a wonderful job. The servers went out of their way to do everything they could for us. The food was amazing and everyone loved it!

    Sent on 08/20/2012
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 07/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone was kind, portions were great, food was hot and yummy!

    Sent on 01/02/2013
  • C

    Catherine · Married on 07/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Peppinos has been a fantastic vendor. They have been easy to work with and have given lots of options for meal planning. The choices were amazing, the portion size fantastic. Everyone I talked to at my wedding said that the food was fantastic. I was even thanked for having GF meals available.

    The coordinators, Danielle and Leigh, were very helpful. Staff was always visible and available for assistance when needed. My reception went very smooth and was a blast. Thank you so much for all that you do!

    Sent on 07/31/2012
  • User2726791 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So helpful! We asked for different things with our food and appetizer set up, but they were very flexible and helpful!!

    Sent on 07/29/2013
  • User3897420 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Peppino's was very easy to work with and willing to go above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. Danielle, especially, was extremely responsive, helpful, and knowledgeable. She was extremely patient with my questions and made me feel comfortable that everything would go according to plan.

    Sent on 02/11/2014
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 08/23/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Peppino's Catering provided the food and bar service for our reception in late summer 2013. The staff was professional and friendly, and they wanted to help make our reception a success! We received ENDLESS comments from our guests about how great the food was, including the late night pizzas! We couldn't have asked for anything more! I highly recommend Peppino's Catering!

    Sent on 12/23/2013
  • User3761601 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were overall very happy with Peppino's for a catering company for our wedding. The food was wonderful and the portions were very generous. There were just a few things that were issues but these were mostly resolved when it was brought to their attention; initially some of the pop at our bar was flat but they quickly got new pop and there was some confusion with how the bar made the bride's signature drink. Even with these few problems, we would still recommend Peppino's Catering.

    Sent on 12/29/2013
  • A

    Alexis · Married on 11/02/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Reall great to work with. They were a little slow with serving the cake, but other than that they were great!

    Sent on 01/02/2014
  • W

    W · Married on 06/16/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Did a fantastic job. Food was great. They had kids menu available. They also did gluten free meal for one of our guests.

    Sent on 07/20/2012
  • User2519815 · 2+ years ago

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    Our quality of service was a bit poor because we happened to be working with them when their current head of catering was leaving staff. Communication was a little slow, but in the end the food was good and so was the price.

    Sent on 07/03/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review