Diane Askew Photography Reviews

24 | Sonoma, CA
See photos, pricing and details

24 Reviews for Diane Askew Photography

Recommended by 99% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

24
Order by:
  • J

    Jorge · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm not sure a day has gone by since we received our May 13th wedding photos that I have not admired Diane's talented work. Her candid, photojournalistic style perfectly captured the magic of our day at Landmark Vineyards. Leading up to the wedding, Diane was very responsive and a pleasure to work with. We planned our wedding remotely from Boston, and Diane was able to fit in an engagement shoot and do a thorough venue walk-through while we were in California on a very tight schedule. Choosing Diane (and her amazing assistant Paulina) was arguably one of the best decisions we made for our wedding. We couldn't be happier with our photos and hope to have an opportunity in the future to work with her again.

    Sent on 04/02/2018
  • K

    Katelin · Married on 04/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diane Askew was wonderful for our wedding!

    We are thrilled with the results of our wedding photos from Diane and her partner! They were the perfect photographers for our small, vineyard/home wedding. They were prompt and so respectful of all our wishes. The photos turned out beautifully, especially our sunset pictures. I thought the online planning before our wedding was so easy and gave me a great chance to tell them what I wanted. They were also so quick to get the photos back to us! It was easy to save them so I could have them with me forever. I happily recommend Diane for your wedding!

    Sent on 11/03/2018
  • L

    Liz · Married on 10/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We asked Diane Askew to photograph our wedding as we were married in Sonoma CA, and she is a local photographer who was recommended to us. She did not disappoint. We really appreciated how flexible Diane was, how she made us all feel relaxed, and really made the experience joyous and fun (because getting married can be a little stressful)! We are so happy with the photographs!

    Sent on 12/09/2015
  • M

    Maisie · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diane was phenomenal. Diane was able to capture the very essence of our wedding, a small, light hearted, happy affair. We brought together families who had never met, friends from near and far, and each image captures the rare beauty of such a gathering. The moment in time it represents.

    In addition to her keen eye and outstanding skill, Diane is a diplomat, polite yet firm, so that each image that we requested came to fruition, and even a few we didn't think would be possible. I was pleased and honored to have her photograph our wedding.

    Sent on 11/30/2015
  • B

    Barbara · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diane and her assistant did a fantastic job of capturing our Sea Ranch Wedding from pre ceremony through dancing. The photos not only captured the festive spirit and happiness that everyone was feeling, but the beautiful scenery as well. We engaged Diane for her artistic approach and discerning eye and were extremely pleased with the end result. We would engage Diane again in a heartbeat!

    Sent on 11/30/2015
  • A

    Andraya · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were going to use our friend, who is a photographer, but the week before the wedding she ended up on crutches.
    I heard about Diane, called her, and she by fluke happened to be avalible for our wedding following weekend! Miracle #1.
    The she and her assistant, Paulina, did a kick ass job of taking photographs of a wedding at a location they had never seen with a guest list of 200 people! They even got all 100 (ish) relatives together for an amazing whole family group shot. Miracle #2.
    The quality of her work and easy nature made me so glad that we had connected with her.
    Without Diane and Paulina we would have had some nice shots from friends and family but when looking through the ones they took my husband and I agree that nothing compares to the work of a professional. Well worth every cent!

    Sent on 12/05/2015
  • A

    Angela · Married on 05/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diane was the best! She was so fun to work with and really captured the look of our wedding that we were hoping she would. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 11/30/2015
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 04/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diane took amazing photos for our wedding day and was so easy to work with! I loved her portfolio on her website, and we were not disappointed. We got almost 1000 pictures, and ALL of them were good.

    I also especially want to mention Diane's assistant, Cathy, who took a ton of great and silly photos of my husband and his groomsmen while Diane was taking pictures of the girls. Getting all of the boys to stand still long enough to take photos is a feat in itself, and she managed to get a bunch of really nice shots.

    Diane also offered us off-season rates, which NO other photographer did, and that meant we spent almost $2000 less than we would have with our second choice (and Diane was our first choice! We definitely did not pick her based on the price.) I very highly recommend her.

    Sent on 11/30/2015
  • L

    Liese · Married on 11/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm not sure which thingsto rave about frst -- probably the incredible pictures which truly flattered us and were not the same-old tired compositions -- or the fact that Diane is just so flexible, easy to work with, patient, fun and more. We are so impressed with her shots and the family is, too. She maks everything look positively magical. No need to review dozens of photographers. This is the one you want. We are perfectly happy and the pictures are -- breathtaking!

    Sent on 12/17/2014
  • P

    Prashanta · Married on 10/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things about Diane. She was so patient and simply amazing with all the changes in wedding plans due to bad weather. She even came in super early in the morning to get family pictures out of the way. Our pictures look amazing. All I can say is you made me look like a princess in my wedding pictures and captured every moment and every expression beautifully. When I look at the pictures now I can remember every emotion of that day because you captured us in our moments beautifully.

    Sent on 12/22/2014
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diane did an amazing job capturing the magic and joy that surrounded our wedding day. She was a great communicator leading up to the big day. We did not get to meet prior to the day because we had a destination wedding and only arrived a couple days before the wedding. She arrived at our tiny 14 person event and fit in with everyone. My husband and I were not used to having professional photography and were nervous about that part of the day. She was very assuring and comforting. I had several ideas of pictures that i wanted and Diane was able to translate them into amazing pictures. She also had so many great ideas of her own. My dress was a little unusual and I loved it. Diane understood how I felt about it and worked really hard to get fabulous pictures of me in it. After the wedding, Diane rushed my pictures because I was having a reception at home since our wedding was so small. They arrived well in advance of when I needed them. The pictures were amazing!!!!!!!!!!! She was able to capture the intimacy and joy in our small wedding. She got fantastic shots of me and my husband. The pictures were very interesting and showed the character of our wedding and the town where we were married. We could not be any happier with her personally or with her photography. I would highly recommend her.

    Sent on 12/17/2014
  • C

    Catherine · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am sorry I can't give Diane more than 5 stars! I interviewed 7 (!) photographers. She was less expensive than most of them, and her photos seemed to be as nice or nicer than all of them...at any price. Some of the prices were in my opinion exorbitant! Diane was easy to work with before the event. She made us feel beautiful and relaxed during all the many shots she took of us during the event. Finally, you would not believe how many people have remarked that the shots she took of us are the best wedding photography they have ever seen! Thank you Diane...wait until you see the 3 Wedding albums we made from your beautiful images!

    Sent on 01/22/2014
  • C

    Cecily · Married on 07/09/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diane and her assistant were amazing! They captured moments I didn't even know happened. The photography was absolutely stunning.

    Sent on 12/09/2011
  • A

    Amy & Tom · Married on 10/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diane and her associate were so easy to work with. While remaining professional at all times, they made us feel relaxed and natural which shows up in the photos. They have a great sense of color, background and style which matched with desire to balance "formal" with "relaxed". Interestingly we NEVER felt their presence during the ceremony or reception. They worked with us on the formal pictures by setting up a process for our guests to take individual group photos. Everyone loved the photos and we have since seen SEVERAL of the individual photos show up on Christmas Cards!

    After the wedding, Diane delivered the photos, proofs, etc. ahead of schedule and without incident, while keeping us well informed along the way.

    Amy and I highly recommend Diane and her team!

    Sent on 12/15/2010
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 06/13/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love Diane and her crew they were awesome. My photos are so beautiful, my husband and I love looking at them all the time. They really captured the feeling of our wedding in our photos.

    Sent on 10/02/2010
  • D

    David · Married on 10/18/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What would you want in the perfect wedding photographer? Seriously, make a list.

    My fiancée and I wanted someone who cared about us, who had excitement and a sense of fun about what we were going through, and who listened well enough to understand both the big picture (no pun intended) and the smallest details of our special day.

    We wanted someone who was willing to do for us everything we knew we wanted, while offering options we would never have thought to ask about. We needed expertise and guidance.

    We wanted a photographer we could trust to capture every aspect of our wedding day - every tear, every smile, every hug - someone who could be everywhere all at once, yet be unobtrusive.

    We needed someone who could be patient with us.

    We wanted value.

    We wanted photographs we could cherish for a lifetime - evocative, beautiful photographs capturing not only what happened, but the emotions of the day as well.

    Diane Askew provided all these things and much more. Her professionalism is unparalleled; her artistry with the camera breathtaking.

    When we first met, we liked Diane immediately. She listened much more than she talked, asked questions, answered questions, and showed genuine interest in us as people. When Diane showed us examples of her work, I was ready to hire her at any price, and I was pleased to discover that her rates are extremely reasonable. For the quality of service and beauty of the final product, Diane's pricing is a great value. Shop around - you'll see.

    I highly recommend Diane Askew to you. She exceeded our expectations in every way; she'll do the same for you, I'm sure.

    Feel free to call me if you'd like to speak personally about Diane's great service. Dave 707.799.6138

    Sent on 10/29/2010
  • M

    Melinda · Married on 05/27/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0



    A destination wedding in Sonoma was my daughter's dream. Organizing everything from a distance was a bit frightening. Finding a photographer for the special occasion was daunting. Luckily, we found Diane Askew of Caswell and Askew Studio. What a treat to have such a professional touch for this very important aspect of the wedding. Diane handled everything in an easy manner. She was very easy to work with before, during and after the wedding. I had heard horror stories of pushy photographers for weddings and did not want to experience that. Diane was anything but pushy. On the contrary, she was helpful through the entire process. Her pre-planning with me made for a very smooth wedding day and the photos she took of the wedding were spectacular. She had prior experience at the venue which was helpful in taking advantage of the beautiful property. Lighting and background expertise set off the photos in a spectacular fashion. I would highly recommend Diane for any event. She is calm, extremely talented, and a did a fantastic job. Thank You, Diane!!

    Sent on 10/28/2010
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 05/26/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't recommend Diane Askew enough. She did a superb job photographing our wedding. Her pre-wedding planning and communication was excellent, as was her post-wedding work. She responded to last minute requests and was utterly professional...prompt, attentive to detail, and easy to work with. I found her prices to be an incredible value to boot. There are photos she captured of my ceremony that still make me cry with emotion; I couldn't believe she got all those shots. She LOVES doing photo-journalism style, so make sure you don't do too many of those portrait shots...utilize her skill of capturing you in the moment! And have a great wedding!!

    Sent on 10/29/2010
  • G

    Ginni · Married on 11/05/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diane did an absolutely fabulous job. She was easy to work with during the pre-wedding planning stage and did a great job during the wedding ceremony. I loved her low-key presence and her tolerance of my relatives' cameras. And the finished photos are just perfect. The noon glare that showed up in my family's amateur pictures is nowhere evident in Diane's photos; her arrangements of our group photos turned out beautifully; and the portraits of me and my husband make us look gorgeous. Diane's prices were reasonable as well. My family "complained," though, that there are so many great shots that they all ended up ordering lots of photos!

    Sent on 11/03/2010
  • User3820162 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Diane is an amazing photographer. We absolutely love the shots she took for us-- she really listened to what we wanted and delivered! A few weeks before the wedding, Diane spent over an hour with me at the ceremony site, which was so generous of her. In fact, she even helped us pick the ceremony site. Thanks again Diane!

    Sent on 01/15/2014
  • J

    Jill · Married on 06/23/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diane did a wonderful job with our photography. We enjoyed working with her and Kathy. They made our wedding day perfect with the shots and emotion they captured. We would recommend them to any one getting married. Our pictures came out beautifully.

    Sent on 02/29/2012
  • M

    Mary · Married on 10/23/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Five stars for Diane Askew! Her photos of our wedding in October '08 were very special. Diane is a talented photographer with an artistic eye. She also has a talent for making her subjects comfortable. My husband and I almost forgot she was there until we received the beautiful photos. Thank you, Diane, for the beautiful keepsakes of our special day in Kenwood!

    Sent on 10/29/2010
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 10/27/2012

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diane is an artist. The quality of her photos speaks for itself. More importantly, Diane is a pleasure to work with. She is genuinely interested in getting to know her clients before their big day and does all she can to ensure she takes the kinds of photos her clients want (for example, more candids or preference for posed portraits). She also has a very caring and relaxed demeanor which is wonderful on your wedding day. No one wants an overly intense photographer ordering them around! While she was great about keeping us on schedule and making sure we slipped away from our reception to get the sunset shots we wanted, she orchestrated everything with total grace so we didn't feel rushed or ordered around. And, in the end, we could not be more thrilled with our wedding photos. We have 850. And they're all framable! Diane beautifully captured all of our guests; the most tender moments of our ceremony; the prettiest details of our reception; and the overall spirit of love and joy that pervaded our day. We are thrilled and could not recommend Diane more highly. She also took fabulous engagement photos a few months before the wedding. It was wonderful to have a session with her beforehand so we all felt comfortable together on the big day. And we had an album of engagement pics at our wedding for our guests to sign. The best keepsake for years to come!

    Sent on 01/21/2013
  • F

    Liana · Married on 05/08/2010

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Diane and her co-photographer Greg were so easy to work with; my husband and I are notoriously camera-shy, but I actually found myself enjoying posing for them. We also received many compliments from our guests about how professional, polite, and creative our photographers were. I was referred to Diane by another photographer, and I think that indicates how well-regarded and talented she and Greg are.

    Sent on 10/30/2010