Dave Donovan Photography Reviews

24 | Thousand Oaks, CA
See photos, pricing and details

24 Reviews for Dave Donovan Photography

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

24
Order by:
  • B

    Bianca · Married on 08/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave Donovan was simply the best wedding vendor we both interviewed or hired. I also really felt that Dave gave a personal touch to his services. He didn't treat us as a side business or just another client. He seemed genuinely concerned and wanted to make sure that we were enjoying our wedding and that our day was special and that we enjoyed it. Dave's services were extremely affordable and he was extremely flexible. He showed up on time and was extremely accommodating with a lot of our last minute changes. The photos came out amazing and better than I could have ever dreamed. My family was extremely happy that he included an online gallery of our wedding photos in our package, enabling us to easily share all of the photos with extended family. My family had not taken a complete family photo in over 10 years, so they were beyond thrilled that we could share this with them. Many of the photos on Dave's website are from recent weddings, so what you see is really what you get. Also, we found his blog to be very helpful as well. There were many things I had not considered such as a first look and a shot list that Dave brought up in his blog. I was also very impressed that he spent time answering all our many questions and making sure we really understood our contract and what we were getting. If you're reading this and looking for a wedding photographer, I would encourage you to look no farther and book with Dave. For those using wedding wire to find a photographer, Dave does travel and traveled out to Southern California for our wedding.

    Sent on 10/20/2016
  • S

    SIAM · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You can have the best camera/s in the world but just get DAVE! and you will be all set.
    By far one of the best people I have met in any business and his personality is even better!.
    Dave is so great and patient, he made us relaxed from the first meeting. Cannot say enough but he makes you feel great, extremely respectful and professional and pictures!, I should not say anything about, since they do the talking themselves. As they say a picture speaks a thousand words so Thanks a Million! Dave, as we have talked about you ever since and miss you my friend . Thank you for making such a special day so memorable for all of us. You are the BEST! in the west and the other 3 Cardinal directions as well. We wish everyone the best on their special day/s, so get DAVE! :)

    Sent on 09/03/2016
  • R

    Robin · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot begin to express how happy we are to have chosen Dave Donovan as our wedding photographer!

    Having worked for more than a decade with fashion photographers in Europe, I was determined to find the perfect photographer for our big day! After countless hours of viewing online portfolios, I had a very good feeling that Dave would meet our expectations... When we met him in person, we knew that he would! Not only did his talent strike us but he was engaged, friendly, flexible, and understanding from the very beginning of the process. He was promptly responsive to my emails and telephone calls and easily put things into perspective for me with his time line and questionnaire.

    In the midst of chaos, extreme heat and overwhelming emotions of our wedding day, we were able to completely trust in Dave and his vision. He quickly adapted to our nontraditional ways and captured those special moments with ease and a keen eye. Not only was he incredibly professional and dependable but he was so friendly and inviting, that he was truly an anchor of positivity during a very stressful time. We will cherish our wedding images for a lifetime and can't recommend Dave enough... He's an absolutely wonderful person and a fantastic photographer as well!

    Sent on 09/03/2016
  • C

    Charlotte · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was a fabulous photographer to work with! He was easy to get in touch with, and amazing to work with on our wedding day. We are thrilled with our photos and would definitely choose him all over again!

    Sent on 09/28/2016
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave did an incredible job on our big day! He really listened to what we did and didn't want, made recommendations that were extremely helpful to managing the hours before the ceremony, and made all of our family and friends comfortable and helped have a great time. We were absolutely thrilled with our photographs as were all of our friends and family. Extremely professional, friendly, and easy to work with! Strongly recommend.

    Sent on 06/27/2016
  • J

    Jennie · Married on 10/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have used Yelp for really long time but this is my FIRST review on yelp. I guess I had never felt the burning desire to write a review till my husband and I found Dave:) Dave is our Engagement & Wedding photographer. He went way above and beyond our expectation for a photographer.

    When I found Dave on wedding wire, I really liked his portfolio and was really surprised by his reasonable prices. Brides-to-be and grooms-to-be, if you are reading my review now, RUN, DON'T WALK, before Dave gets booked out.

    After our engagement session with Dave, we already knew we were in good hands. Dave is super fun, easy going, dedicated and professional. He made us feel at ease and provided us with a little bit of coaching, and I'm so glad he did! He also managed to send us our best engagement pictures in 3 days because I told him we needed some nice pictures for the slideshow at our wedding reception.

    During the whole wedding planning process, I always got quick replies from Dave whenever I had questions. Just by reading his wedding questionnaire, I know I don't need to worry about missing any details on our wedding day. Dave also took time to check on us when we were two weeks and one week before our wedding and worked with us to finalize the timeline.

    On our wedding day, everything went smoothly. Dave did a fantastic job! He never got in the way or in our faces, and yet he took some of the most incredible, up-close and intimate pictures I've ever seen. He was like having another great friend at the wedding and who managed to capture every moment with even more beauty that you thought possible. His photos came out absolutely beautifully and we could all not be happier. All my guests, friends and coworkers were amazed by my wedding pictures.

    My husband and I felt so blessed to have Dave as our Engagement& Wedding photographer! Thank you, Dave!

    Sent on 11/03/2015
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Drew and I are so happy we chose Dave Donovan Photography for our wedding! I'm a former photographer, and photography was the most important wedding investment for me. I was really picky in selecting a wedding photographer. Dave wasn't the first photographer we considered. But, everyone else didn't feel right. When we met with Dave and saw his work, we knew he was the photographer for us! We've been married just over a month, and I've lost count of how many times I've looked at our photos online. There are so many beautiful images of great moments, and I'm thrilled that we will have them over the years. Dave was also always professional. He made us comfortable and responded quickly every time we contacted him.

    Sent on 11/15/2015
  • User6177823 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We've now been married for a few months and I am so grateful to be able to pore over beautiful, priceless pictures from that special day that Dave captured for my husband and me. We hired Dave for our wedding and an engagement shoot. He's an amazing photographer with a keen eye. I loved the naturalness of our photos that made them feel genuine and not overdone, especially the candids at our wedding. I really appreciated his manner: he was responsive to all of our questions in a timely way and on top of deadlines and planning which eased our burden at having to manage many details. He was also adept at working with my husband's evident dislike of being photographed in a it's-not-a-big-deal way and he was kind, warm, and funny. We had a backyard wedding at our home and Dave was also great in helping me think about the particulars of photographing in that setting and was clearly comfortable navigating a, perhaps, less typical setting as well as being responsive to our unique needs and situation. I can't recommend him highly enough.

    Sent on 01/09/2016
  • K

    Kim · Married on 09/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave is amazing. He did my engagement shoot and wedding and was above and beyond our expectation for a photographer. When my fiancé and I originally met with him I was not sure because his prices were so reasonable. Aren't I suppose to pay and arm and a leg for a photographer? Does price equate with quality?

    But we really liked his portfolio and he was super cool during our consultation and we decided to follow through. Boy was that a smart decision. Dave's prices are extremely fair AND he's a great photographer!

    He met us in Muir Woods for our engagement photoshoot and we had a great time. Dave makes it easy to be comfortable around and made the shoot relaxing and enjoyable. And our pictures turned out awesome! We've received an endless amount of compliments to our engagement pictures.

    Our wedding was last weekend so we don't have those photos yet but I know and trust Dave did them well.

    He worked well with my other vendors and everything went smoothly. Not to mention he was available for meetings, was down to visit our wedding venue with us and was super communicative with us throughout the whole process.

    I definitely recommend Dave for your photo needs. He's awesome!

    Sent on 09/09/2015
  • R

    Rufino · Married on 06/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have asked for a better photographer than Dave. He was responsive, flexible, and so friendly. He made everyone feel so comfortable and fit in perfectly with our friends and family, moving seamlessly, catching amazing photos all throughout the day and night.

    Sent on 07/05/2015
  • Y

    Yuki · Married on 01/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave Donovan Photography was such a pleasure to work with all around! Aside from being always on top of things - responsive, responsible, and very professional, his photo sessions (we had both engagement and wedding photos done by him) were fun and light, and natural. His direction is super.
    The photos that came out were exceptional; everyone loved them and commented on how beautiful they all turned out. He has an eye for capturing that special moment - in the look and the feeling of his subjects. We get to relive our special day by looking back at those pictures that Dave took. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 03/13/2015
  • K

    khader · Married on 01/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is my to go to guy . When it comes to photography, he has the eyes that sees what we don't notice.
    Amazing personality

    Sent on 03/13/2015
  • Y

    Yuka · Married on 01/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If I could give Dave 10 starts I would! Dave is a professional photographer with warm,kind, joyful heart. He was a great listener, great in communication , fully understood my needs, accommodate with all family requests and all pictures were so beautiful and full of great energy ! On the wedding day you want to have a fun also want to have someone to ease you with tight schedule, He is professional in every way!!! I recommend him to every single couple who needs wedding photographer!

    Sent on 03/13/2015
  • User4893203 · event on: 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved my photos! Dave is so talented and professional, I had a thousand things to worry about that day, but how my pictures were going to turn out was NOT one of them. I knew they were going to be beautiful, and they were! I highly recommend Dave Donovan Photography.

    Sent on 03/19/2015
  • K

    Kandace · Married on 11/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was great, his low light long exposure pictures on the beach at sunset turned out amazing. He was flexible and able to make the most out of our weddings unexpected surprises.

    Sent on 03/14/2015
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 08/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave Donovan Photography was the best choice for our pictures. Not only was Dave very professional, you could tell that he truly enjoyed his work. He helped us to get past our anxiety on our big day, always smiling and very positive. He had a great eye for detail and the techniques that he used were superb. I would highly recommend him to any couple getting married.

    Sent on 03/27/2015
  • K

    Kristib · event on: 06/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave is so personable, respectful, and mindful of the clients visions. He works with clients, not just for them. His dedication to quality work and professional product is outstanding.

    Sent on 03/19/2015
  • Danielle

    Danielle · event on: 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave has such a talent for many types of photography! I've shot with him multiple times; he's shot several of my sporting events, as well as taken prom pictures, and senior portraits of me and my friends. He specializes in weddings and fashion, but has an eye for all different types of photography. He is a very laid-back, has a great sense of humor, and is overall fun to be around. He takes great pride in his photos, and his passion shows in his work. Would highly recommend!

    Sent on 03/13/2015
  • D

    Daniel · event on: 05/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave Donovan is a professional photographer who focuses on providing his clients with high-quality images that creativity captures the heart, soul, and emotions of everyone he shoots. It was a pleasure working with Dave, and I highly recommend Dave Donovan Photography.

    Sent on 06/30/2015
  • T

    Tiffany · event on: 04/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave photographed my family for family portraits. He was totally professional and accommodating with all of our expectations such as: time, location, and setting. He offered his opinion and direction, but also took into account what we envisioned and wanted. He really has an eye for everything from lighting to poses. We have small children and he was patient and so great with them! The photos were beautiful and exceeded our expectations. I would recommend Dave Donovan photography to anyone!

    Sent on 03/27/2015
  • User4910479 · event on: 01/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a lot of fun shooting with Dave! He's such a nice guy and really great to work with!

    Sent on 03/25/2015
  • angelacolls

    Angela · Married on 03/21/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so grateful we had our photos taken by Dave Donovan. We explained what we wanted and he did exactly that. He also made a lot of wonderful suggestions that never occurred to us. There were so many photos to choose from that it was almost impossible to choose our favourites.

    Sent on 03/19/2015
  • M

    Melissa · event on: 03/13/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    He took a wonderful photo of my sons and I that I still treasure.

    Sent on 03/30/2015
  • J

    James · Married on 04/16/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave is a true professional! He was never late to any of our sessions and he always made sure he touched base with us on everything. He did a phenomenal job and most importantly the pictures came out amazing! Our friends and family were impressed with the quality and beauty of the pictures! Dave really does have an eye for pictures. My wife Lam was so happy with the sessions. Dave is also very reasonable priced! You can tell he loves what he does and the committment he has to making sure he gives us the best experience possible. Thank you Dave and looking forward to having you in the future for our babies pictures! That includes the dogs also! :)

    Sent on 05/17/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review