Skip to main content
Weddings

Coastal Events Reviews

Coastal Events

Coastal Events

Camarillo, CA
View more information

76 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

76
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

22 User photos

  • N
    Nicole K. Married on 09/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing and Caring

    COVID-19 continued longer than I think anyone expected. Our August wedding seemed so far off when the world shut down in March, we thought we were in the clear. When the uncertainty only continued, we started to stress. We had all of our deposits down, and worried if we would lose money AND vendors due to lack of understanding of the current situation. With James, that was absolutely not the case. I called James, nervous about what his response would be, and he could not have been kinder or more understanding. Coastal Events serves as the perfect example of taking care of clients. COVID has been a stressful time for everyone (especially brides), but James handled the situation with such care, patience, and kindness. He hasn't even worked our wedding yet, and I would already recommend him 1000 times over just based on this situation. Thank you James/Coastal Events for your understanding and flexibility in this crazy time!
    I will report back with a follow up review after our wedding finally happens ;)
  • A
    Aimee B. Married on 11/27/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Knowledgeable and helpful

    Our venue turned out absolutely beautiful, transforming the outdoor area and barn into a festive celebration. Working with James was very easy, and he was even honest enough to let us know that certain lighting was not needed. He and his team are expertS at what they do - true artistic talent and no oversight needed.
  • Shell
    Shell Married on 09/15/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    What can I say except everybody had the most amazing time because of Coastal events! My timeline was on point, all of our favorite songs got played at the right time, everything was a huge success. I would highly recommend this company to anyone looking to make their party a huge hit!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Ammie
    Ammie K. Married on 01/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful experience!

    James and his team were wonderful to work with. James was always available for any questions and had very timely responses. He was able to bring our vision to life and guide us with recommendations during the planning process for the rehearsal dinner and wedding. We had to make location changes along the way and he was always available to lend a helping hand, which helped ensure a smooth transition. He is very kind, thoughtful, and generous. We highly recommend Coastal Events.
  • A
    Alexandra Married on 09/05/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I have nothing but good things to say about coastal events! Mr. Reed was so awesome and easy to work with . He knew exactly wanted I wanted and they succeeded my expectations! I would recommend them for any events . I had market lighting and the photobooth and it was exceptional ! My guest loved the photobooth!!!
  • Jessie
    Jessie E. Married on 09/05/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Covid-19 Cancellation + Response

    My finance and I are due to get married on 9/5/2020. Due to Covid-19, we made the difficult decision to cancel our large reception and hope to get all our deposits back. James was extremely responsive and worked with us to return our money in a timely manner. He was easy to get a hold of and a wonderful communicator. With all the unease due to the virus, I was very grateful that he was so understanding and will look to book him for future events.
  • Molly
    Molly L. Married on 09/01/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Coastal Events is detailed, creative and goes the extra mile!

    I'm the venue rental manager at Camarillo Ranch Weddings and have had the opportunity to work with Coastal Events many times so it was an easy decision to have them do the lighting for my own wedding! They found the perfect chandelier for my barn ceremony and had helpful suggestions on additional lighting.
  • Nicole
    Nicole V. Married on 08/08/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Look no further!

    James and his team were absolutely incredible for making our wedding day perfect. The moment we met him we knew we wanted James to be our DJ and MC. His bright personality and flexibility through the entire planning process made it such an easy process that we didn't have to worry about a single thing. From start to finish, he took our song choices and preferences and was able to edit songs to the very second of what we wanted. We also used his photo booth and it was a huge hit, he also gave us several options of color printing and backdrop to match our wedding colors. His advice throughout the entire process was invaluable and his expertise was evident. Our favorite part was on our wedding day after the ceremony we had a few minutes of down time and he even came up and offered to grab us a drink and allowed us to enjoy some special moments together without having to worry. He is a one-stop shop and was the best choice we made for our wedding day!
  • D
    David Married on 04/29/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A word about James Reed..

    I have known James for a little over 6 years now. I know many people who have either gotten married or been involved in his winnings in everyone is always happy. More importantly every time there is any local disasters whether it be fires or floods or the like he is always the 1st person of post on Facebook offering a hand. I've seen him offer his vehicles his business even is home to those in need. Please support this company they are genuinely great people
  • John
    John K. Married on 04/29/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Won’t say no

    I have had the pleasure to witness several events managed by Coastal Events. James and his crew have never said no to any requests and made everything look just as requested. His knowledge and ability to beyond expectations is worth every nickel.
  • Cynthia
    Cynthia A. Married on 02/29/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    University Donor Event

    I work for a University and one of our requirements is to use an approved vendor so we tended to go with the same person. Well, that person starting overcharging because they received a lot of business from us. I knew James from the wedding industry and wanted to bring him on board. He came out to check the venue and provided a competitive quote. Then we started the long and arduous process of getting him approved to be on campus. He responded quickly and we got him approved just in time for the event. He helped me turn a basketball gym into a beautiful event space for 350 donors and their guests. Thank you, James, for helping to bring my vision to life!
  • Katie
    Katie P. Married on 11/03/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Right Person For The Job!

    James was recommended to us both as a DJ and for Lighting Design at our venue. The moment I spoke with him on the phone I knew we had the right person for the job! James always spoke with such excitement and enthusiasm, you could tell how much he loves his job and wanted to make our day the best it could be! He was quick to respond to calls and emails, had great suggestions for both music and lighting since he had worked at our venue many times before, was open to our ideas, and was very personable as well as professional. The pricing for both DJing and Lighting was very reasonable and we were very impressed with the results the day of! James and his team were also kind enough to offer help to our other vendors and set-up crew, which was very much appreciated!
    We highly recommend Coastal Events for DJ and Lighting for your next event! You won't be disappointed!
  • Megan
    Megan Married on 09/21/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply the best!

    We can't say a bad thing about James and Coastal Events. James was a pleasure to work with! Extremely responsive anytime we had a question which was so important during the hectic time of planning a wedding. He was flexible and happy to meet or do walk throughs at the venue. I also appreciated his honesty in what decor we really needed, and he never tried to sell us on adding more lights or decor that he didn't think was necessary. It turned out beautifully! And the most important part is that he was a killer MC and the thing we were most worried about was having great music at our wedding and he kept our dance floor full the ENTIRE wedding, young and old alike. We couldn't be happier with our decision to work with James and I highly recommend him and Coastal Events to anyone looking for a vendor for lighting and decor, and/or a DJ. They were AWESOME!
  • ASHLEY
    Ashley T. Married on 09/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best vendor EVER!

    James was the best! After our initial lighting person canceled on us two months before our wedding, we reached out to James and he responded right away. He offered to meet with us at the venue to map out the lighting and was able to provide a lot of the details that we wanted (chandeliers, generator, and refrigeration). We also had him MC our wedding- literally the best MC you could ask for! He helped tremendously with our timeline of events, worked with our DJ to make sure everything would go smoothly, and really engaged our wedding guests. Throughout this whole process, he continuously checked in with us to make sure all of our needs were met and constantly reassured us that he will make our special run smoothly. James seriously relieved us of a lot of stress and we are so thankful that we went with him! And on top of that, he made our wedding come out so beautifully. Hands down best vendor we’ve ever worked with!
  • Catherine
    Catherine Married on 05/25/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best decision we made was to have James & Coastal Events do our wedding!

    Hiring James & Coastal Events as our DJ and lighting provider for my wedding was the best planning decision I made! I guarantee you will want James at the helm of any event you throw. I got married at the Camarillo airport hangar, which I was really excited about since it was so unique but I was nervous about how to pull off a wedding there and make it look romantic. Enter James - he had so much knowledge of the space, has the technical skill and the crew to do big things like rig up amazing lighting and fabric panels, and he also knows how to DJ and host a great party that is both fun and classy, so he immediately made us feel at ease and turned what seemed like a daunting project into the most amazing and unique celebration! He was such a responsive communicator, he really listened to my family's ideas and made sure to incorporate them, but also had a strong sense of what he knows works well from his own experience.

  • O
    Ora Married on 08/26/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    James was amazing to work with and our wedding would not have turned out as well as it had without his help and professionalism. He worked with us and gave us exactly what we needed even adding additional lighting for us just to make things easier for both of us. He was even able to add a song I requested on the spot at the wedding which made me extremely happy. Working with him was very easy and he made the whole DJ, Lighting and Photo booth process extremely easy and we didn't have to worry about anything during our wedding. I would strongly recommend him and his team for all of your DJ, Lighting and Photo booth needs!
  • Chrissie
    Chrissie Married on 09/24/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Coastal Events was amazing from the first meeting we had with James. I had attended a good friends wedding about a year before I got engaged and new from the moment wedding planning started that I wanted to have James Reed and his team at my wedding. James and his wife Rebecca are great people and are very responsive when sending emails or reaching out to them. Me and my now husband felt taken care of the entire wedding planning process. Our day went off without a hitch. I can't recommend Coastal Events enough!
  • T
    Taylor Married on 09/16/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    we had James Dj our wedding and he was beyond amazing! From the moment we sat down with him we knew we wanted him as our Dj. He was so fun and had such an awesome personality while still staying professional. Having a great Dj is honestly so important and i didn't know that until planning all of our music out. He is really with you through the entire night and a great Dj can make or break any wedding. He also got back to me very fast everytime i emailed him and had questions. When i gave him all my music that i really wanted him play he did an amazing job at looking at my list and adding in songs that would go great. I was blown away at how great he was. Im still getting texts about how amazing of a Dj he was. He was honestly worth every penny! I know a lot of people want to go the cheap route when finding a Dj because they think they don't do much but thats not true. i can't thank him enough for doing such an outstanding job! He's truly the best! I promise you won't regret it!
  • A
    Adam Married on 08/06/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The music and lighting James and his company provides is of the highest quality. From the discussion of the timeline of the event, to the lighting of the venue, then finally to the song list and execution of the evening. James and his staff offer the best in the business. Cant wait till I have another party to be able to use them again! Thank you Coastal Events for making my wedding amazing!
  • J
    Jenn Married on 07/23/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    James was the best DJ ever! We had been to a lot of weddings and saw many times that the dance floor was empty or it wasn't until late into the night that people were on it, this was definitely not the case with James. He has the party going from our grand entrance and right after our first dance there were at least 150 people out of our 225 on the dance floor right away. He is a great communicater and really knows exactly what kind of music to play to make the party go all night. I cannot tell you how many people came up to tell us how good he was. He also did our ceremony and cocktail hour music which is exactly the kind of music we wanted. He did the up lighting for the reception room and it looks spectacular! I would highly recommend James and Coastal events to anyone getting married. He was very reasonable too! We will definitely be using this company again when my sister gets married!
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 07/02/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    James was fantastic! He made sure to play all the songs we asked for. It was a joy to have him as our DJ! Highly recommend.
  • M
    Maria Married on 06/10/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Great DJ! Our guests at our small wedding were a bit hesitant to get on the dance floor but James got them going. Switching the music and trying new things.
    He also was accomadating with our meetings prior to the wedding considering I (Bride) was not from the area while my husband is.
    He was flexible with the time schedule and worked well with our photographer.
    I suggest getting the atmosphere lights, they really set the tone once the lights and sun go down.
  • K
    Kathryn Married on 12/29/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Coastal Events was AMAZING! They did the lighting and DJ'd my wedding and I was so impressed with how well everything turned out! They were prompt, professional, and flexible. James did a great job as DJ- he kept the night running smoothly without taking over the event. The sound quality was great and his transition from song to song kept the dance floor full the whole evening! I would use Coastal Events again in a heartbeat!
  • M
    Melanie Married on 11/07/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    James at Coastal Events is by far the best decision we could have made for our DJ. Not only is he open and friendly, but his knowledge on how to create a fun wedding environment in unparalleled. Everything ran smoothly and without a hitch. The lighting was beautiful, the music great, and all our guests have complimented his performance. I didn't have to worry about anything to day of the wedding because I was confident that James would take care of everything, and he did. Great service overall!
  • S
    Sam Married on 10/20/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Coastal Events was amazing. They made sure I didn't have to worry or stress about anything that they were able to control. It made my night so much better. Very professional in everything. I don't think I will ever refer anyone other than Coastal Events to anyone I know!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message