Skip to main content
Weddings

Chicago Makeup Artist - City Lights Makeup Artist + Hair Stylist Reviews

Chicago Makeup Artist - City Lights Makeup Artist + Hair Stylist

Chicago Makeup Artist - City Lights Makeup Artist + Hair Stylist

Chicago, IL
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
50 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
92% Recommended by couples

Awards

50
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • N
    Neelam Sent on 05/17/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Paula did an excellent job. My skin looked flawless and the eye makeup was just awesome. I llooked like a different person. Loved it. Loved the way she did my hIr. It looked full and sexy
  • Alexandria
    Alexandria Sent on 07/17/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Had a great experience getting my hair and makeup done for my boudoir shoot! Makeup lasted all day and looked amazing!
  • J
    Jane Sent on 08/14/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I cannot recommend City Lights Makeup and Paula Heckenast highly enough!!! The best part of our weekend was having my makeup and hair done for our special event by you! How could you possibly make me look so fantastic in such a short period of time? You are truly the most talented makeup artist in the world! Everyone at the event noticed my makeup right away and was talking about lovely it was the whole night!! I felt like a "star, " and it was all because of you! I can only say that if anyone is looking for the best makeup artist in Chicago, it is definitely Paula Heckenast. Go with her, whether it is for a wedding, other special event, or just an evening out on the town! You won't regret it. She is delightful, honest, kind, true to her word and exquistly and superbly talented!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • L
    Lori Sent on 07/16/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Paula is a joy to work with. Not only is she an experienced and gifted makeup artist and hairdresser, but she makes the whole experience fun. She really listens to your needs and transforms you into the look of your dreams. So glad I was able to find her. If you are looking to look amazing on your special day, City Lights Makeup is the place to call.

    Chicago Makeup Artist - City Lights Makeup Artist + Hair Stylist's reply:

    Lori, thank you so much for the glowing review! It truly was my pleasure. Can't wait to see you again in a couple weeks!
  • A
    Anna Sent on 07/20/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Paula was a delight to work with. My makeup looked perfect, and it stayed the whole duration of the event. It was completely worth every penny to hire Paula! She is incredibly skilled at what she does.
  • M
    Monique Sent on 08/12/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Paula was so easy to work with and extremely accommodating of my small bridal party size. She put me into contact with Jerilyn Novak who is absolutely INCREDIBLE. The talent and artistry that Paula employs is top notch and I am so incredibly grateful that she introduced me to Jerilyn! She will definitely be my main makeup artist from here on out!

    Chicago Makeup Artist - City Lights Makeup Artist + Hair Stylist's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind and thoughtful review Monique! We are sincerely looking forward to providing flawless makeup artistry for all of your future events!
  • User2938326 Sent on 01/04/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Paula always does a great job doing the makeup for all of our girls. It is a pleasure to work with her and she is always flexible to changes!
  • A
    Abigail Sent on 04/13/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I loved working with Paula for my wedding in February! She was very professional, and courteous. I booked both my hair and my makeup through her and when my hairstylist fell through, she quickly found a replacement and made sure I had a hair trial the week of the wedding. She made me feel so at ease on the actual day of the wedding, and made me, and my bridesmaids feel gorgeous.

    Thank you Paula!

    Chicago Makeup Artist - City Lights Makeup Artist + Hair Stylist's reply:

    Abigail you were a dream bride! I am so happy to have met you. Please keep in touch! I'd love to provide beauty services for all of life's beautiful events. Congratulations again!
  • S
    Shannon Sent on 08/27/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I did a boudoir shoot recently and Paula did my make-up and hair. She was so talented and really was able to bring out my best features without making me look over done or like someone else. I have never gotten so many compliments on my make-up or hair and I felt like an absolute movie star.

    The pictures turned out amazing and I loved everything about the experience. Paula made me feel and look great – I cannot say enough good things about her! Whether you are looking for a photo shoot, a wedding, or some other special day – please do yourself a favor and work with Paula. She will make you look and feel your absolute best.
  • R
    Ron Sent on 05/30/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Paula did my makeup for a comic convention. Quality and professionalism is top notch. Would definitely recommend.
  • T
    Tonya Sent on 06/03/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Paula is one of the best makeup artists I've ever had the pleasure of working with. She did makeup for myself and 2 of my best friends. Last minute, I asked her to style my hair to save me time. She was flexible, professional, and made us feel very beautiful!
  • J
    Jennifer Sent on 06/06/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I have never felt more beautiful in my life! Paula did a wonderful job!
  • User2088601 Sent on 04/06/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I recently used this company for my hair and make-up for my boudoir photoshoot. Paula was such a pleasure to work with! She really listened to the style of make-up and hair styling that I was looking for, and she pulled it off flawlessly! I absolutely loved my make-up, including my smokey eyes, as well as my hair. I would highly recommend using this company for any hair or make-up needs!
  • J
    Jeri Sent on 01/04/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I really wish I could give Paula and City Lights more stars. They went above and beyond for me during a family crisis and I will always remember them not only for their INSANE talents.. but for the genuine kindness instilled in this company.

    I had an early call time, 11 people for hair and 16 for makeup! City Lights sins miss a beat. We were are very VERY happy. Even my snobby step sister who wanted to go elsewhere for a hair appointment ended up having Paula's team REDO her hair and makeup because it was better than what she got at the salon. City Lights Makeup is a truly a gem in Illinois. I also loved that they take credit card so my entire bridal party could get glam-o-fied.. I was afraid of having some people done and some not... We all looked famous. It was just perfect.
  • P
    Pamela Sent on 10/10/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I worked with Paula from City Lights Makeup Artistry for my maternity photo session. Paula is extremely talented in her art form, and also organized as a business woman! We were able to pick a date, and from there I was sent email confirmations, contract, and even handouts with how to ensure I would have the best possible experience. What a great first impression.

    Paula arrived to our location on-time and brought all professional items with her - including this light that would guarantee application was done correctly no matter the light source of the location. We talked a bit about what look I wanted for the maternity session and Paula’s style. (I highly recommend you take a look at her portfolio of work - it is amazing!)

    I loved my look - both makeup and hair. Honestly, I felt flawless and my picture proofs show this.

    I know people go back and forth between "just doing their own makeup" or paying for a professional to do it. I can’t stress enough that paying a professional is worth every cent. Not only do you look amazing, but you also get a unique opportunity to learn from a professional what looks best on you applied where.

    Without a doubt, I highly recommend City Lights Makeup Artistry for your next special occasion - you will look like your best you!

    Chicago Makeup Artist - City Lights Makeup Artist + Hair Stylist's reply:

    Hi Pamela! It was a mutually wonderful experience for me! I am looking forward to next time! :)
  • K
    Kat Sent on 03/19/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had 4 bridal trials.. 4!! They were all terrible until i found City Lights. They have the style and experience I was searching for. I am very lucky to have such beautiful makeup and hair locked in my beautiful wedding photos forever! Thank you!!
  • T
    Tonya Sent on 07/31/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Paula's work is incredible. From the minute we met, she put me at ease and created a look I never thought that I would be able to achieve. She is a true professional with natural talent. I recommend her work enthusiastically! You won't be disappointed!
  • A
    Annie Sent on 09/27/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had the pleasure of working with Paula for my Boudoir shoot recently and she was amazing. I loved my hair and makeup she definitely made me feel like a model that day. She was friendly and accommodating asking me what I liked and catered to that. I loved how my makeup turned out in the photos and how the colors just popped. I absolutely loved working with Paula and would definitely use her services again for any other events that I have. Thanks Paula for making me feel like a "bombshell"!
  • J
    Jenna Sent on 12/04/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I used City Lights Makeup for boudoir pictures. I was extremely pleased with both my hair and make-up. The make-up artist was great to work, she was very friendly and professional. I would highly recommend using them for any event!

    Chicago Makeup Artist - City Lights Makeup Artist + Hair Stylist's reply:

    Thank you Jenna!
  • V
    Vanessa Sent on 08/14/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    They did an absolutely amazing job on our makeup and hair for our event. We all felt flawless.
  • K
    Karen Sent on 05/22/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Paula really knew what she was doing and she did it SO well! I was very happy with the results.
  • User1065639 Sent on 01/11/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Used City Lights for a recent holiday party. They were very professional and did an excellent job. My hair and makeup looked gorgeous and I got many compliments on both. In addition, both looked very good in photos. I will definitely be using them again for my next event.

    Chicago Makeup Artist - City Lights Makeup Artist + Hair Stylist's reply:

    Thank you Alice! We love working with you!
  • User1043966 Sent on 12/13/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I worked with Paula on a boudoir photo shoot. It was a gift to my partner. She did an amazing job and was incredibly professional and friendly. Not only did she do quality work, she was fast and efficient. I was never uncomfortable and suprisingly, with a full face of make-up on, didn't feel like I had a painted face. I felt glamorous and incredibly beautiful. THe makeup and lashes stayed on all day, and when I went home at the end of the day to wash it off they came off very easily. So all the way around a great experience. I highly reccommend her!

    Chicago Makeup Artist - City Lights Makeup Artist + Hair Stylist's reply:

    Thank you! You both were a blast! Please keep in touch!
  • C
    Courtney Sent on 12/08/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Paula was extremely talented and wonderful to work with. She made us feel comfortable while working quickly to produce hair and make-up that looked fabulous! It was clear from the minute she started applying the make-up that she was truly an artist and a professional. I would definitely recommend her services and will use Paula and her company for future events!

    Chicago Makeup Artist - City Lights Makeup Artist + Hair Stylist's reply:

    Thank you Courtney, the both of you were a pleasure! Please find us on Facebook & keep in touch!
  • J
    Josh Sent on 12/04/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I contacted Paula to do hair and make up for one of my fashion shoots with BMG Models. Her and her assistant Kate both did an amazing job with the hair and make up! Both of them understood exactly what direction I wanted to go with for the shoot and exceeded my expectations. Both Paula and Kate are professional and easy to work with ! I would strongly recommend them and cant wait to work with them again!

    Chicago Makeup Artist - City Lights Makeup Artist + Hair Stylist's reply:

    Thank you Josh! The photos are amazing, we had a blast working with you. You're very talented!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message