The Castle at Maryvale
    30 Reviews
11300 Falls Road
Lutherville, MD 21093  | map
Services: Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 200
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (30)   FAQ   Map    
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.2/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.2/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.2/5.0)
Value:
 (4.4/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (3.4/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I could not have dreamed of a better location to have our wedding. Words cannot express how beautiful this venue is - so breath taking and unique. Our guests will not stop raving about how goregous it was. In my opinion, you cannot choose a better place! Perfect in every way.
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
We had our wedding at the Castle at Maryvale in June. The castle provided a gorgeous setting for our special day. One nice thing about the castle is that you don't really have to decorate if you don't want to or can't afford it because it already has so much character and beauty on its own. The staff was great and we got so many compliments from our guests on how unique and beautiful the castle was. I highly recommend the Castle at Maryvale to any bride looking for a stunning venue!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The castle was a dream come true
All our guests said it made our day seem like a fairy tale
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Maryvale Castle -- The Perfect Wedding/Reception Venue
Everything about our wedding reception at Maryvale Castle was absolutely perfect. The staff, especially Maria, was attentive, accommodating, and professional. The venue was storybook -- from the exceptional architecture, authentic furnishings, and striking stained and beveled glass windows and doors, to the manicured lawns and lush flowering trees and plantings. The preferred vendors were intimately familiar with the venue and equally flawless: Signature Catering (Kelly), Lasting Impressions DJ & Limousines (Kim & Ron), Rettberg Photography (Mary Ellen), Petal Pusher Florist (Debbie), and SugarBakers Cakes. Our guests raved enthusiastically during and after the event. Thank you Maryvale and Maria for making our special day unforgettable! I hope others get to enjoy a day as beautiful as ours at "The Castle".
Wedding: 09/05/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I received so many compliments on the beauty of the castle. From the get-go, dealing with Maria and Trish was easy and enjoyable. They responded quickly to every one of my requests and were friendly and courteous throughout the process. Allison, who was on staff the night of our wedding, told the kids the lore of the castle - what great entertainment! We had a wonderful time and our guests were enchanted by the magic of the castle! I would highly recommend Maryvale.
Wedding: 06/27/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The castle was part of a beautiful fairytale. Family and friends are still commenting on its beauty. Maria was a pleasure to work with, always very responsive and flexible. I would definitely recommend Maryvale.
Wedding: 05/30/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 6 Reviews
If you are looking for a unique, elegant and beautiful venue Maryvale is the place. We had our wedding here recently and it was amazing. Many of our guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been to. The only drawback is the size of the venue. It can only accomodate 80 or so inside for dinner...and you will have to factor in the extra cost of flaps and heaters to accomodate folks outside. They also only allow 2 caterers on site...but Linwoods is amazing esp Sherri. And Maria at Maryvale was wonderful to work with. Between those two powerhouse women I did not need a wedding coordinator. If you are thinking about booking Maryvale I recommend you do it...you will not be dissaponted.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Maryvale was a breathtaking venue. They were professional and responsive, however, due to the venue being a private school during the day, there were certain limitations and restrictions that were a challenge to work around.
Wedding: 11/11/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 5 Reviews
This venue is absolutely stunning! Maria was a pleasure to work with. There are a few constraining rules, but it is understandable given the history and age of the location. The "home" atmosphere made our wedding seem even more personal and intimate. I can't wait to come back in 10 years to celebrate there again!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
The Castle at Maryvale is a picturesque location that is perfect for the fairytale wedding. Maria is amazing and full of great ideas to really make the most of the space. My guests were so impressed with the venue that we are still getting compliments. We fell in love with the space the moment we laid eyes on it, so happy we became husband and wife there.
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
The Castle at Maryvale was a beautiful location for our spring wedding. It is a lovely, historical location for the perfect romantic wedding. I myself had no problems with Maria as other reviewers have mentioned. She was always very courteous and helpful when we spoke. We used Linwoods as our caterer, and Sherri was fabulous with answering questions that may have had. She knows what can and cannot be done at the castle. I was very understanding of the limits and restrictions that were in place at the castle. When choosing most any historical venue for a wedding there are going to be restrictions. The only thing I wish had been different was when we were there on Saturday for our rehearsal, the lawn in back was severely over-do to be cut. Being that we were married on a Sunday, holiday wkd, it was not going to be done before the wedding. The rope lighting under the awning also needs to be replaced as there are several sections that are out. A main section right over the center of the terrace where the ceremony took place was the most obvious. And because there was a little wind the day of the wedding, the section of the awning that would have covered the lights had flipped over, exposing the sections where the lights were out. It just wasn't attractive in our photos. All the exposed rope lighting had to be Photoshopped out. And these 2 things are minor issues in the end. We would not have changed our venue for anything. Our guests could not say enough about our "Fairytale Castle Wedding." So, thank you!
Wedding: 05/29/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
I could not have asked for a more beautiful setting for our wedding day. Maria was awesome to work with, and attending their open house helped me secure mast of my vendors I needed. It is on the pricey side and there are restrictions on what you can and cannot do because it is a historic place, but I would pick no where else!
Wedding: 10/10/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
I fell in love with the Castle at Maryvale as soon as I saw it and we had a fantastic Wedding experience there. Unfortunatly, the Castle only allowed 3 caterers at the time and the one we chose, Mt. Vernon went bankrupt with our $5,000 deposit. The team at Maryvale were extremely attentive and worked with us to save the situation. We ended up with Linwoods and it was perfect. The Castle is beautiful and a wonderful venue. The rules are a little inflexible but I completely understand why they exist (no red wine which can stain the ornate rug) etc. but it is a historic mansion and Religous school so it is understandable. If you are interested in a unique venue this is perfect. We had a phenomenal wedding and enjoyed every minute there. It is a little pricey but again you are paying for a wonderful experience. One downside, they could use more restrooms for the guests. Otherwise, you should def. check it out!
Wedding: 05/22/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

crazy223 5 Reviews
I did not want the traditional ballroom for my wedding so when I found the castle I knew it was perfect. You have to like vintage and historical things to like this venue. The only bad thing about the castle is that they do have some rules that you can not change. Such has speakers are not allowed to be outside. However, if you get a good DJ they can work around this. Also, none of the furniture can be removed from the room that it is in. So again you have to like historical things because they are staying there if you like it or not. However, you get the whole castle for your reception which is always a plus!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
I loved the Castle! It was a wonderful venue, my guests had a wonderful time and Maria was so helpful. The pictures were beautiful! The only reason I didn't give it a full 5/5 was the catering situation. You only have two options, one is outrageously priced, the other is more reasonable but the service was not excellent. We went with the less expensive option, the food was okay, but the service was not what we expected. We were unhappy with the caterer, and felt there should have been other options for catering. But the castle itself was wonderful!
Wedding: 10/01/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
Perfect place for a fairytale princess wedding! The only castle in Maryland. The staff at Maryvale were very attentive and professional. We were able to take advantage of a special "open house" rate which saved us a considerable amount of money. We were married in June and the grounds were simply gorgeous. The venue is so gorgeous that you don't need much for flowers and decorations. It was perfect! Plus, we are both Catholic and were able to get married in the Catholic chapel. We had 136 guests. It was a little warm and humid, the air conditioner wasn't doing the trick in the Great Hall. We were a little warm. We went to one place...and booked it the next day!
Wedding: 06/20/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 410-514-6437
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1
out of 5.0