Derek Chan Films
Ontario Wedding Cinematography Team
    19 Reviews
Markham, ON L3R 8W6  | map
Style: Cinematic, Storytelling
Packages: High Definition Video, Multiple Cameras, Multiple...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (19)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Thank you Derek and Cece for capturing our special day!!! You guys did an amazing job with our same day edit. We received numerous compliments of how well the video was put together.

Since the very first contact, you have been easy to work with, professional about everything, and responded promptly. We will not hesitate to recommend Oi Studio to people we know!

All the best,
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We recently hired Derek to film our wedding. My wife found his website and upon viewing a few of his videos we decided we wanted to go with him. Derek proved to be very easy to work with. He was readily available for communication, came to our venue several weeks before the wedding to scope it out. He was also at my parents house and my wife's house in the morning to film before the ceremony. They final product is great. My wife and I really enjoy watching and reliving our day.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
My husband and I could not be more thrilled with the service and final product we received from Derek! Him and his team were so professional on the day of our wedding, making sure they got great shots without disrupting our day. They truly took into consideration the details we wanted captured and presented them so beautifully in the video. My husband and I loved reliving our day with the video and are so glad we chose a videographer with such talent and pride in his work. We could not be more pleased with Derek and his team's work and we highly recommend them to anyone!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Both Derek and Cece from Oi studios were very easy going and worked well with all of our other vendors. Their equipments were very professional and captured every important moment. Due to that fact both my husband and I live in Asia, they were very flexible in terms of payment methods, meeting on skype as well as putting a rush on our videos so we could get it before we leave. I was very happy with the end product and surprised how well it turned out.
Wedding: 07/06/2014
Services Used: Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Vince 1 Reviews
Great service, very responsible. would come out on their own time to design the scene, and the plot. Really appreciate their hard work. They are considerate and would listen to the clients request first, and incorporate that with their professional experience making sure the end result is both artistic, and also reflects the clients' feel and value.
Wedding: 06/15/2014
Services Used: Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Calvin 2 Reviews
They did a ridiculously awesome job on our music/wedding video. I couldn't be happier with it! Even our venue was asking for a copy of it!
Wedding: 05/30/2014
Services Used: Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Shaun 2 Reviews
The OI Studio team provided us with excellent service for our wedding. Before the event, they both met with us and sent us plenty of questions to ensure that we were going to have a video that reflected us and would meet our expectations. The day of, they were with us at all times making sure that they captured the important moments of the day and the little moments that we wouldn't want to forget.

Their productions are definitely not your average wedding video: a stagnant diary of the day's events but a cinematic overview of the key moments. It is definitely a video that we love to share (rather than subject my friends and family to!).
Wedding: 03/29/2014
Services Used: Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Roda 1 Reviews
I'm usually wary about giving a perfect score to any vendor because the perfectionist in me always finds fault somewhere, but let me tell you about Oi studio. Derek and Cici were the perfect pick as cinematographers! They were quick to respond every time I contacted them and at our first meeting, I could see that they were very passionate about what they do and they did it well! I was a little anxious about giving away creative power since they told me that they would be doing the editing and deciding the storyline set up for the wedding film but seeing the final product, I have no regrets. They have an artistic sense that 'feeeellls" the emotion on screen and knows how to pull it out in perfect editing. I had met with other cinematographers that also had that touch and would have given me amazing artistry but they came with a hefty price tag; so for value and service, Oi Studio beat out the competition! I was very impressed with their attention to the small things that matter like their song choice for my video; I am a nit-pick when it comes to the perfect lyrics-beat-mood of a wedding song and I loveeed their pick. If you are looking for cinematographers that will give you that high end look of a wedding film with creative filming, value and wonderful customer service, choose Oi Studio:)
Wedding: 11/01/2013
Services Used: Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Alyssa 2 Reviews
We used oi studio for our wedding videography. From the first meeting we had they were professional and really wanted to listen to our story and get to know us as a couple. The day of the wedding was fantastic! they were on time, and worked well with us all day making us feel at ease having them around us all day. The end product we received was excellent, the video really captured the emotions and spirit of our wedding day. EXCELLENT work and thank you again for everything!!! :)
Wedding: 08/10/2013
Services Used: Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Adam 1 Reviews
Anyone looking for an out of the box approach to having their wedding captured, Derek and Cece know exactly what to do, they are young creative minds with great innovative ideas.

On our wedding day both Derek (who followed myself) and Cece (who followed my wife) arrived promptly and readily prepared for their tasks for the day but at no point during my preparations or during the actual wedding and reception itself did I feel even slightly burdened with having ANY issues whatsoever with my videographers. I even just enjoyed having them around as guests at my wedding as they are both wonderfully spirited people!

Upon upload of our short film on the website I was sooooo excited to see it for myself and show all of my friends and family, espically the ones who couldn't be there on the day. And even in that short film they were able to capture the emotions of the day and produce and edit it in such a dramatic fashion that at LEAST 90% of the people I show the video to, cry. And thats a good thing !!

Thank you both so much for the amazing footage and for being a total non-worry for me on a day thats usually filled with worry!
Wedding: 08/10/2013
Services Used: Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I hired Oi Studio as a present for my brother-in-law's wedding gift. Derek and Cece were very professional and the videography was top notch. They did so much more than we expected. The bride and groom were overjoyed with the final outcome.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Instead of doing the traditional engagement photos, my (now) husband and I decided to do a short film in lieu as a prelude to our wedding. Not only are we pleased with our decision to have done things this way, but are thrilled that we chose Oi Studio to help us create our vision. We could not have made a better choice.
Derek and Cece, the Oi Studio team, are absolutely amazing to work with both for their incredible talent and for being the fun people that they are. We presented our vision, and they ran with it - they came back to us with a detailed storyboard enabling us to work together with them to create a project that we were even more excited about to begin with.
We were impressed with their professionalism, their cutting-edge equipment and the ability/skill to use it, their passion and the level of ease they created in working with them. Mostly, we were really impressed with the outcome of the work, the shots are lovely and the editing work is just so well done! They truly exceeded our expectations as well as those of our family and friends. We are so happy to have this piece of work as a keepsake and to share and carry into our future.
Thank you so much Oi Studio.
Wedding: 07/28/2013
Services Used: Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you are trying to decide whether you need/want a cinematographer for your wedding, the answer is YES and you should hire Oi Studio! It's completely true what they say about the day going by so fast that it's all a blur, and we're so happy that we have our wedding film so we can re-live the joy of our wedding day.

Since the first time we met with Derek and Cece from Oi Studio, we had a good feeling about them. They are a relatively new business and at the time we booked them, we had only seen one of their wedding films, but we were really impressed by it. Now that we've received our final product, we are so thrilled that we chose Oi Studio to document our day. Derek and Cece are a young and enthusiastic couple who are so talented and they were GREAT to work with. They are genuinely sweet and take the time to get to know you as a couple so they can build a story around your wedding day. Don't let their gentle demeanor fool you - they are bursting with ideas and are amazing behind the camera!

We met with Derek and Cece several times prior to the wedding to talk about our vision for the day. They were proactive in scheduling meetings with us (and working around our busy schedule), spent an afternoon with us to film some engagement footage, and were also at the rehearsal to get to know our families and wedding party. Every time they have been professional, punctual, and focused. On the day of the wedding, they showed up ahead of schedule and stayed with us late into the evening, and were pleasant and non-intrusive.

Our wedding feature film was completed and delivered to us in a very timely manner. Overall, they have exceeded our expectations! We've seen the feature film several times now and it gets better every time.

To sum up, we are really really happy with Oi Studio's work and we would highly recommend them. They are so great at what they do and have gone the extra mile for us on more than one occasion. Thank you so much Derek and Cece!
Wedding: 07/20/2013
Services Used: Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
It’s true what they say - video captures things that photos simply can’t. And Derek and Cece capture it all so beautifully.

I wasn’t planning to hire a videographer, but I am SO glad that I did. I keep re-watching my videos and it brings back all of the memories and the emotions of our special day. Seeing the laughter, the giggles, the tears, and the heartfelt words brought back to life – incredible.

Oi Studio created the most amazing keepsake and they managed to do so while working within my budget.

Firstly, the end product is beautiful, professional, and artistic. Fantastic quality. The imagery is crisp and smooth, the sound is clear, and the editing brings everything together so well. Derek has a real knack for pulling video clips from throughout the day and piecing them together in a seamless, easy-flowing, emotional story, set to great music.

Secondly, they capture the small details just as much as the big moments. Cece is wonderful at taking note of all of the little details that you’ve spent months pulling together. Our video included many of the DIY decorations that our photographer didn’t catch. I’m so happy to have this documented.

Thirdly, these two are so easy to work with. They are laid back, easy going, flexible, and take great pride in their work. They are really responsive to emails and texts as well – never keeping you waiting. Derek and Cece went out of their way to come to us for both our initial meeting and to deliver our video. They also included filming my bridal shower and our rehearsal dinner in addition to being at our wedding ALL day. These two don’t restrict their services to a certain number of hours – they work so hard to create something special, and it shows.

They also manage to get great shots without ‘getting in the way’. It never felt like we had cameras in our face – they worked around us.

I could go and on about these two, but at the end of the day their videos speak for themselves!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When I was wondering how to make my wedding reception entrance, a friend of mine recommended Oi Studio to me.

Derek and Cece were very professional. We tell them our story, then simply followed their arrangement, did some individual clips, and coordinated interviews with friends. The outcome was amazing and way over our expectation! It was definitely a very wonderful entrance video. It told our story and summarize our relationship in a fun way. All my guests love it and asked who did the entrance video for me. It was definitely one of the highlight of my wedding night!

One thing I must mention here - they even incorporate my wedding ceremony in the entrance video (only a few hours apart)... this also gave the guests who have missed the ceremony a chance to see it... Moreover, I actually have another videography crew (Amore wedding) to cover my wedding day and they WERE NOT able to provide me with the same day video of the ceremony to be shown in my wedding night (even later on in the evening). Anyhow, Derek and Cece made up for it and did it perfectly. I really wish I have also used Oi Studio to cover the whole wedding day instead!

I highly recommend Oi Studio for your wedding event. Derek and Cecei are so easy to work with. The most important of all, they are very talented and professional and gave you such an amazing video. Marriage is once in a lifetime, and a good video and the memory are priceless! My husband and I still watch the video from time to time. Every time I watch the video, I tear. Moreover, whenever we fight, remembering of the sweet video, remember of why we get married, help renew and strengthen our relationship day after day.
Wedding: 06/01/2013
Services Used: Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Looking back, we didn't know we wanted a videographer, let alone a Cinematographer (big difference)! but we absolutely fell in love with all the videos by Derek and Cece on the Oistudio.ca's website. The team was referred to us by our wedding planner - Love by Lynzie. What I loved about their videos, I immediately felt a strong connection and emotion. They were able to capture a certain lightless, modern and romatic take to weddings.

We're so glad we decided to work with Derek and Cece. They are true professionals from start to finish. From our initial meeting of signing the contract to post follow-up ideas, being involved to capture our engagement photoshoot to researching the reception venue. They scouted out the venue to gain ideas and were curious about the location since they've never been... like a true Director! Both my husband and I lead very busy work schedules but they accommodated and radiated this certain energy that made us even more excited to be part of their artistry.

They captured exactly the feel and look we were looking for, no cheesy video with slideshows but the beauty, warmth, emotional, fun and lightness to our day. Very easy to work with and had professional equipment. I think I've watched my video dozens of times. Our same day edit video received a standing ovation at our reception! http://vimeo.com/66535802

They are an excellent team, extremely hard working, great listeners and really are looking after our needs. Our family kept praising their work ethic. The outcome of their film making and editing is completely breathtaking, emotional and memorable. I'm very thankful to have them to be part of our very special day!

Thanks very much Derek and Cece!
Wedding: 05/19/2013
Services Used: Videography
 416-464-0370
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0