Skip to main content
Weddings

Kicks Band and Entertainment Reviews

Kicks Band and Entertainment

Kicks Band and Entertainment

San Diego, CA
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 11 Reviews
View more information

11 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 11
  • Melanie
    Melanie L. Married on 06/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Hire Kicks!

    My husband and I greatly respect the lead of the band, Gary. We hired Kicks over a year ago for our wedding in April after seeing them perform at two functions - once at a bar as a showcase and once at a cooperate event. We were very impressed both times. They are a fun group, and all of the band members are very talented. We "interviewed" a few bands prior to choosing Kicks, but we felt most comfortable with Kicks, largely because we felt that Gary seemed honest, real, and nice to work with, compared to other bands that treated us more like a number and just wanted to get our business. We never felt that way with Gary.
    Unfortunately, our wedding fell in the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic, and we were forced to cancel our reception. Despite the band's lack of business and income during COVID-19, Gary was so understanding and empathetic and promised that he would provide us a full refund. He is a class act guy, honest, down to earth, and easy to work with! Prior to canceling our event, we had spoken with him on the phone multiple times, and he even met us at our venue to review logistics and set up. Although we were unable to have Kicks for our event, we highly recommend them for the reasons above.
  • Melissa
    Melissa Married on 10/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired Gary to be our DJ/MC for our wedding and we were extremely happy with his work. I had previously seen him in action at my cousins wedding 5 years ago and knew that he would be perfect for our wedding as well. He helped us to create our reception timeline and answered all of our questions. We were able to 100% customize our ceremony music, including video game sound effects in the middle of our ceremony. Gary didn't miss a beat and kept our families on the dance floor all night long. Our reception was a fantastic party thanks to his experience and professionalism.
  • B
    Brian Married on 06/14/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gary and his band were fantastic to work with! All of our guests were on the dance floor the entire night thanks to them. We received numerous compliments from guests about how wonderful the music was. They played a variety of classic and contemporary songs that appealed to all of our guests. My bride and I were also very happy with our first dance song. Most importantly, Gary communicated extremely well with us throughout the whole process. We would highly recommend Kick's for any event!
  • S
    Sam Married on 07/20/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    At this point, Kicks has performed at both of my daughter's weddings and also my nephew's. Each time has been amazing. Their music keeps everyone dancing through the evening with a great music selection, killer harmonies and overall musicianship. The time between music for cake cutting, garter throwing, etc. is all handled smoothly and professionally. In addition, dealing with Gary in advance of the wedding is a real joy. I really can't say enough about Kicks and recommend them without hesitation. Thanks gang!

    Sam and Phyllis.
  • N
    Nancy Married on 07/06/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kicks band was professional and extremely talented. They MADE the wedding for our daughter. All our guests of ALL AGES were dancing ALL night. No one left early. Kicks played songs for all age groups and knew just the right ones to keep everyone dancing. Many of our guests asked us about the band and took their business cards. Dozens of our guests said the band made this wedding one of the best they've ever attended. We HIGHLY recommend Kicks for any event requiring music and FUN.
  • User1255428 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We just loved the Kicks Band!! They made the entire wedding day run like clock work, from the ceremony music, to MCing the entire day, to the amazing sound of their band during the reception. Some of our guests made the comment that they were so good that they sounded like the original recording artists. We made several special requests, including a New Orleans style Second Line dance song with horns, and they pulled it off perfectly. They can play just about anything you would want to hear or dance to. I would highly recommend them for any event. You will just be thrilled by their professionalism, and performance!
  • S
    Shae Married on 04/30/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I insisted on live music at daughter's recent wedding and Kicks didn't let us down.... what a great time we all had.... Gary was the mc for the whole day, and provided all the equipment and entertainment. The live music was the hit of the wedding and they played the best songs that everyone of all ages could dance to or just sit and enjoy. Support your local musicians and get "Kicks" to play for your next event....
  • T
    Tammy Married on 09/11/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had the Kicks play at our wedding and we couldn't have been happier. We knew we wanted our guests to have the best time on their feet dancing all night and the Kicks really performed! It can be hard to please the various ages of wedding guests but every single one of our guests (from teenage, to my grandma) enjoyed the music. Even to this day, we still get compliments on our band and asked how we found them and we are SO glad everyone had a great time dancing. Also, the band did a great job of sounding authentic and a couple times, I had thought the songs were DJ'ed but when I looked up on the stage, I noticed the singers were singing the songs!! They sang our father/daughter dance and my dad kept saying how he great the band was. Also, Gary did a great job as an MC for the whole night. Also, a bonus is the price we payed- what a great band for your buck!!! You will not be disappointed with The Kicks!
  • S
    Karen Married on 07/17/2010
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kicks played at our wedding and our guests couldn't stop talking about how amazing they were! They are a fantastic band and had everyone on the dance floor! Gary was also a pleasure to work with. Highly recommended.
  • K
    Kristen Married on 03/21/2005
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gary and his band was amazing! They worked with our budget and made our reception a hit. Everyone -- both young and old -- took the floor during our wedding. Kicks does a pretty large variety of songs, and Gary was emcee for our event as well. We were thrilled with the band!
  • C
    Cheryl Married on 06/22/2003
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Our four-piece band was great and had everyone dancing all night!