30 Reviews for Helio Sun Photo

5.0
out of 5.0
User Photos
todo alt text
todo alt text
todo alt text
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Engagement Shoot (2)
Digital Files (2)
Prints (2)
Second Shooter (1)
Destination / Travel (1)
High-Res Images (1)
Liability Insurance (1)
Wedding Portraits (1)
Albums (1)
Proofs (1)
26 Helio Sun Photo Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

My husband and I got married about one month ago on Long Island. We live in Rochester and worked with Helio Sun Photo for our engagement photo shoot and we knew we wanted Josh to do our wedding photos too! Luckily, Josh was willing to travel for our wedding and we were so happy to have him capture our special day. Josh has an outstanding eye for photography--we really liked how he captures moments that sometimes go unnoticed--smiling guests in the background, a child dancing with a grandparent or all of the little details that go into the big day. Josh was easy to work with and overall a really nice presence to be around on our wedding weekend. There is a lot going on during a wedding, and Josh's calm and professional demeanor was really nice to be around. We highly recommend working with Helio Sun Photo and we look forward to taking more pictures with him in the future.

Profile Picture User7684083, Recently Married, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

I should probably preface this review by saying that I have a very particular style when it comes to photography. I searched through probably about a hundred different photographers until I found Helio Sun Photo. I was instantly in love with Josh's work. After searching through his photography packages, I saw that he included all of my extra wants in his photography packages for no additional cost. When I contacted him, he was very professional and quick to respond. He also was very accommodating with traveling out to Buffalo and was open to price negotiations.
For both my engagement shoot and my wedding day, my husband and I felt completely relaxed. Josh's passion for what he does really shines through. His second shooter he had on our wedding day was fun and engaging and made sure our groomsmen felt relaxed and happy when he was taking the pre-ceremony photos. Even when there was a big change in our wedding timeline, Josh was flexible, accommodating, and even offered alternatives to what we could do instead.
I cannot say enough good things about Helio Sun Photo. My husband and I will definitely be coming back to Josh for all of our future photography needs.

Photo for Helio Sun Photo Review
Photo for Helio Sun Photo Review
Photo for Helio Sun Photo Review
Profile Picture Cara, 9/16/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

We were very happy with our wedding photography services from Helio Sun. Josh was easy to work with throughout the planning process and made us feel comfortable during our engagement photo shoot. He and his 2nd shooter, Alan were professional and made the wedding day photos go smoothly. Our photos came out beautifully with a nice mix of creative and traditional shots. They captured so many great moments of the day that we are thankful to remember for years to come.

Profile Picture Lisa, 8/11/17, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Josh was very professional and easy to work with through the whole process. He captured all the important moments and everything we wanted. He was flexible and did an amazing job!

Profile Picture Colleen, 7/29/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Second Shooter, Engagement Shoot, Wedding Portraits, Digital Files, Prints
5.0

Helio Sun shot our wedding at St. Joseph's Park in downtown Rochester, NY followed by the reception at Restaurant Good Luck in June of this year. The photography is incredible, and the photographer was a dream to work with. Very easy to work with, very personable, and as I look at the photos we got back I find myself marveling at the shots he got without being intrusive in the slightest. We had a very small, simple wedding and we appreciated that he had a flexible 4-hour package for us that perfectly fit our needs, instead of the usual 6 or 8 hour shooting sessions. You can't possibly go wrong having Helio Sun shoot your special day. Professional, experienced, beautiful artistic sense, it's the whole package.

Profile Picture Joshua, 6/24/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Josh was patient, creative and passionate about his work. He captured our event perfectly and we couldn't be happier with the photos that truly tell a story of our magical day. Thank you for capturing our day and allowing us to relive it through the photos!!

Profile Picture Jana & jon, 10/1/16, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

My husband and I were beond happy with Helio Sun Photography. They were engaged and organized throughout the entire process.
It's hard when there are a lot of people in the wedding party, including family, but they captured all of our greatest moments that we will have forever! High recommended! :)

Profile Picture Kasey, 8/20/16, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Josh was an amazing wedding photographer! I could not have chosen anyone better! He takes amazing and beautiful photographs. He is worth every penny! Josh and his assistant had the perfect balance of professionalism and a great sense of humor. I will definitely recommend him for your future event.

Profile Picture Danielle , 7/16/16, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Josh and his assistant Alan were a favorite part of our wedding. The minute we came across Helio Sun's portfolio online we were sold- their photos stand out as they play with lightning and perspective and find some amazing candid moments to capture. Josh is a true professional and has been a photographer for many years, earning a local degree in graphic arts. During the planning process Josh was always just an email or phone call away, even speaking with us while he was on vacation! He was also extremely flexible with the photos we wanted and was able to capture our rehearsal dinner on a canal boat for us. On the day of the wedding, Josh and Alan were great at keeping us relaxed, corralling the family, and getting some unique shots of our bridal party in different settings around the park we were married in. Josh had even scoped out our venue beforehand to find the best locations! Helio Sun's photos made our whirlwind of a wedding day something we could slow down and enjoy for years to come. Thanks Josh!!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Kira, 10/11/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

It was pure luck that we found Helio Sun Photography, and my husband and I are so grateful that we did! Simply put, Josh (the Owner) was incredible to work with. He not only provided guidance throughout the entire pre-wedding months, he was professional and knowledgeable during the entire wedding event. He has a great eye and we are so pleased with our photos.

What I appreciated the most was Josh's flexibility with our contract. My husband and I had a scheduled an early afternoon city hall ceremony, followed by a late evening reception. The result was a large amount of time between the two events. Josh did not charge us for the down-time, and we were so grateful for that flexibility. Additionally, my husband and I were surprised to find out how lax and poorly written some wedding-related service contracts are, and Josh's contract agreement is clear, precise, and details exactly what the end deliverables are.

Everything - from the formal photos at the early ceremony, to candid dancing photos at the end of the night - was perfect.

Thank you Josh - The hard part is, which ones, out of the hundreds of great shots Josh captured, get printed and hung on our walls?

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Heather, 10/2/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Josh and his assistant were wonderful and so professional during our wedding! Some of the teaser photos we've received so far were just beautiful and we can't wait to see the rest! We've already recommended Helio Sun Photography to three other couples!

Profile Picture User4396884, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Destination / Travel, Engagement Shoot, High-Res Images, Liability Insurance, Albums, Digital Files, Prints, Proofs
5.0

Josh did the photos for our wedding and we couldn't be happier with them. I was very nervous as a bride because I don't like to be the center of attention, and he made me comfortable and we ended up getting great shots as a result! We def plan to use him again for future photos.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Jessica/Mark, 5/2/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Josh was professional, personable, and awesome to work with. He had great suggestions in the earlier stages of planning when we were trying to figure out what moments were most important for us to capture. Josh and his partner were great with wrangling our crazy family during portraits and made everyone present feel very comfortable. Our pictures turned out beautifully and were a perfect reflection the love and happiness present on our wedding day. Josh cares deeply about what he does, and cares about keeping good relations with his clients long after their events have ended. I feel very confident recommending him to others and working with him again in the future.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Lindsay, 10/18/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Josh was great- he photographed our engagement session and wedding! He is very professional and very friendly! He has great ideas and takes the time to go scout out the area prior to the photo shoot. The quality of his photos is amazing and he definitely captures the moment perfectly. I highly recommend him!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Emma, 10/4/14, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Amazing work! Al and Josh did a great job. They are fun and professional

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Kim, 9/20/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Pictures turned out SO beautiful & they were super patient with our rowdy group on the big day! Wonderful experience - highly recommend!!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Megan, 7/19/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Josh was very easy to work with, and very flexible. He was incredibly professional and accommodating on the day of our wedding. The pictures came out beautiful, and his prints look amazing in person. He gives everything a personal touch and really spends the time with you to make you feel comfortable. Overall it was well worth the money and I would highly recommend him.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Michael, 6/28/14, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

We had Josh do our engagement photos and the photos are absolutely amazing! My fiancé and I felt very comfortable around Josh and he had even done a pre-scout of the area so he knew exactly what spots to take us to for our beautiful photos! I can't wait for the wedding because I know the photos will be just as gorgeous!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture User3850743, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

I couldn't have felt more comfortable in anyone else's hands then Josh and and his crew. He captured every emotion and moment exactly like we knew/wished he would. I was beyond nervous and vulnerable before the wedding but he came in and actually made me more at ease. One of the biggest fears i had with the photography was that they would be all in our faces and taking away from the intimacy of our wedding. Even though i know they were all working, at every moment, I didn't even feel like they were there during the ceremony or the reception and that is how i prayed it would be. Also the final results are breathtaking! He captured the little moments that touch our hearts with laughter and tears. He put together a photographic story of the moments leading up the the ceremony right through to the end of the night.
I promise you would not be disappointed!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Colleen, 8/4/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

He was great! I'd recommend him. It took a few months to get pictures back, but it was worth the wait!

Profile Picture User3556233, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

My partner and I learned about Helio Sun through two couples in the same social group. We saw their photos on Facebook and could see their personalities captured in the images.

Josh made a great effort to get to know us -- not just what we wanted our wedding to be like, but also who we are as people. Before the wedding, he scouted for good locations for bride/groom photos at the location and came up with really unexpected, lovely options.

On the day of the event, he and his assistant Alan made everyone feel comfortable and relaxed. I'm not particularly photogenic or comfortable having my photo taken, but the end results are beautiful. The images, particularly the candids, really capture how we felt on our wedding day and the excitement of our guests.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Liz, 6/29/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Josh was absolutely AMAZING! His work was SO above and beyond!
He showed up at the ceremony site before I did to take pictures of the venue! Not only was he there, but he had brought a phenomenal assistant for free! He took all the pictures, and the assistant worked on the lighting/getting people to focus! He got INCREDIBLE getting ready shots of me with my family.
The ceremony pictures are STUNNING, and he was NEVER in the way! We got great pictures of the first kiss/rings/our exit... He was everywhere at once, and he never missed a single great shot! I gave him a shot list of formal family/bridal party pictures (it was long) and he got multiples of EVERY shot to make sure they were perfect!
He also did an AMAZING job at the reception! He got every picture we could have ever hoped for! We got multiple STUNNING shots of the cake, tons of pictures of us cutting it!
We ended up leaving the reception at 4:30... Josh gave us an extra hour of coverage, and we didn't even realize we were over because he didn't rush us at all!
He was masterful and dedicated to getting the best shot possible!
He gave us 10 or so proofs in "trendy" washes and the other 200 proofs (so just the best of the best) were digitally enhanced but classic pictures!
For our 8 hour wedding, we got 237 enhanced proofs, and we get a CD with full reproduction rights for ALL pictures taken at the event!
Like I said, Josh is a STEAL for a photographer, insanely brilliant, and I would HIGHLY recommend him!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Samantha, 5/11/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

I can't express how happy we were with Helio Sun Photography! Josh was amazing, as were his photos! He was extremely professional and was awesome with me and my guests. He made everyone feel comfortable and at ease, so much so that he seemed to disappear into the background while getting amazing shots. They were the only vendor who worked with us around our specific requests, all at an extremely reasonable and competitive price. I truly can't express enough how pleased we were with the final product. Nothing short of spectacular.

Profile Picture Michael, 6/10/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography
4.9

Josh and Adrian were extremely easy to work with and very accommodating. Pricing was discussed in a comfortable upfront way, no surprises. The quality of the photography is outstanding. We just printed a few for gifts for those that helped and were very impressed with the finished product. You can tell Josh worked on each one diligently. Josh was easy and available for communication from the minute we expressed interest all the way through post wedding follow through.

Profile Picture Melanie, 1/28/17, 1 Review
Category: Photography