Craig Griffin Photography Reviews

19 | Ithaca, NY
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Craig Griffin Photography

Recommended by 91%

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.6
Sort by:
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 06/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiance and I hired Craig because of his technical expertise, experience, and fearless approach to photography. He has a profoundly rich understanding of what will make or break a photograph and how to take something ordinary and make it look extraordinary. His photographs were full of depth and dimension, and his ability to combine shadows with light is amazing. He knows how to take a dull moment and make it look dramatic and full of life. He's not afraid to place his camera on the shoulder of a hairstylist in order to get a unique point-of-view photograph of a bridesmaids hair. He's not afraid to stand on a chair in the middle of a packed dance floor in order to get unique, birds-eye photos of the reception while everyone is wildly dancing around him. He's not afraid to take the microphone and get everyone to start a dance circle in order to get more lively photos. This is exactly the type of photographer we got and we couldn't be more happy.

    We hired Craig 14 months before our wedding day and through dozens of emails he never took longer than 2-3 hours to respond. His second photographer was a pleasure to be around and their chemistry as a professional duo was magnificent. They showed up to the venue an hour in order to look around and determine good spots for photographs, and then they spent 20 minutes lounging around with the entire wedding party in order to introduce themselves and become acquainted with everyone. After a bunch of laughs they started to photograph at their start time and the rest of the day was a breeze. I honestly can't rave enough about him. My photographs are amazing and the compliments I am receiving are non-stop. Everybody LOVES them. Honestly. Do yourself a favor and hire Craig. He's second to none.

    Sent on 08/17/2016
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Craig's service was outstanding. Both him and his wife have exceptional chemistry while working together. My Fiancé and I were a little nervous booking a photographer for our wedding because we live in Florida and could not meet with any of the photographers we liked in New York (which is where our wedding was going to be). Craig was the only one who offered to call us on Skype so we could talk to both him and his wife in a (sort of) face-to-face manner. He took the time to visit both the church and reception venue before our wedding day to get an idea of where to be for optimal photos. He met with our wedding coordinator the night before our wedding to see how the reception area was decorated and he took pictures of details that night so he could focus more on us during the actual wedding day. Overall the entire process was smooth and I felt 100% confident that he would do a great job. Everybody loved the pictures, and I had quite a number of friends saying "I wish I knew about him when I got married." I would recommend Craig to anyone. He's a talented photographer with amazing customer service skills. A+++

    Sent on 02/12/2016
  • User5254951 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Craig is such a genuine, funny and outgoing professional. He seemed like more of a friend than a photographer. He was able to put my fiance and I completely at ease, and had the entire wedding party laughing all day.

    Sent on 07/12/2015
  • K

    Kristy · Married on 09/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot rave enough about Craig and his wife Sarah and the exceptional photography services they provided for our wedding day. Craig was easy to get a hold of and always available for questions. He was willing to work with us and personalize a package to fit within our budget. When my husband and I met with them in person nothing was forced. Craig and Sarah genuinely wanted to get to know us and make us feel comfortable. The day of our wedding was a whirlwind and they captured it perfectly. Professionalism while still making you feel like they were just part of your friends was out of this world. They made sure that the day was just about us having fun and they would capture the moments. The turn around time is unheard of. Just over a month and we received our pictures. I cannot say thank you enough.Bravo! Spectacular! Amazing! Wonderful! Thank you!

    Sent on 10/22/2014
  • K

    Kayla · Married on 06/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After using Craig Griffin Photography for our Engagement shoot, we knew we found the right photographers for our wedding.

    The day of the wedding, Craig and Sarah gave us a time commitment that is unheard of in the business; their wedding package gave us 8 hours with them!! From the pre-wedding/getting ready shots 30+ minutes away from the venue through the ceremony and reception, Craig and Sarah proved to be nothing short of amazing, attentive, flexible and professional. They interacted with our bridal party, family members and guests in ways that made them feel comfortable in front of the camera. When dinner service took longer than expected, Craig and Sarah never once made it an issue to let us book them for another two hours.

    There is so much more that can (and should be) said about the work that Craig Griffin Photography does. Without a Videographer to film our wedding, we entrusted Craig and Sarah to tell our story through their pictures. The end result was much more than we ever anticipated; seeing our pictures made us feel like we where there all over again! They captured each major moment perfectly, and we will always be grateful for that!

    Sent on 07/22/2014
  • A

    Amy · event on 11/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Craig did a family photo shoot for us and we couldn't be happier with the results. The best part was that he showed up and just started shooting. He caught some amazing candids, showing the true meaning of our family. We will treasure these pictures for always. It was a playful atmosphere that a just felt right and it shows in all of the pictures. Thank you so much Craig for providing this memento that will live on in our family for years to come!

    Sent on 01/18/2014
  • K

    Kayla · event on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I used Craig for our engagement shoot last October. He was incredibly professional and very polite to work with. We had never done a photo session before and Craig made us feel incredibly comfortable!

    His service was so good that we booked he and his wife to shoot our wedding last Saturday. We can't wait to see what they came up with!

    Sent on 06/19/2014
  • T

    Terri · Married on 07/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Craig and Sarah were wonderful to work with. They took on the challenge of our wedding at a campground on the lake and the results are amazing. I had lots of emails back and forth because I was doing all the planning from 6 hours away, and I always got a very quick response. The pictures look amazing and I've had quite a few compliments already! Craig and Sarah are very easy to work with, and more than willing to try a few new things to get a picture I had requested.

    Sent on 09/23/2013
  • A

    Agnieszka · event on 05/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Craig is a true professional. He was able to put my family at ease during our shoot (not an easy task) and provided us with images that we truly treasure. His services are very affordable, despite being of the highest quality. I have every intent to hire Craig in the future.

    Sent on 01/17/2014
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 12/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Craig and Sarah did a wonderful job on covering my wedding day entirely. We did not have to wonder or worry if memories were being captured, and most importantly they mingled and blended in with the rest of the guest making it feel natural to have them there. They both captured some amazing shots due to the fact they were not obvious and awkwardly placed throughout the wedding and reception. We were more then pleased with the quality and quantity of the photos. The editing was amazing, not too edited allowing the photos to give a natural feel but perfectly enhancing the pictures. We received the pictures on time on a CD and USB Drive. They are both great people, they are easy to work with and a lot of fun!

    Sent on 01/20/2013
  • C

    Catharine · Married on 09/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I cannot say enough about Craig and Sarah. Their professionalism, quality of work and flexibility were outstanding. Even though they worked continuously, we were rarely aware of their presence. Craig met us at our venue a few weeks before the wedding venue to make sure he was aware of the lighting and layout beforehand. In fact, he volunteered to attend our rehearsal so that he was fully prepared for the wedding day. Craig was always quick with answers if we ever had questions. We recommend Craig and Sarah without hesitation!

    Sent on 10/21/2012
  • User4381860 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Craig did a fantastic job (especially given how little info my wife and I gave him before the ceremony)! We were frazzled but Sarah and Craig were calm and professional. Outstanding candids in the gallery put together for us. Easy to work with, would hire again.

    Sent on 09/07/2014
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 01/25/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wedding in Rochester although all of our planning was done remotely, Craig was very helpful and was able to capture our vision without even meeting us in person until the wedding way. We wanted good action shorts versus posed photographs and he captured that perfectly. In addition, he returned our pictures within 7 days of the ceremony, which is very fast given the amount of photographs and editing. He worked very well with the challenging weather, the venue, and our family. Our pictures are amazing and provided us with the memory we were looking for.

    Sent on 02/04/2014
  • A

    Ashleigh · Married on 09/28/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Craig and Sarah do a great job with formal photos as well as photojournalism style photos (candid shots). I should also mention that wedding photographers can be extremely expensive. When I began searching for one for my wedding, I was very disheartened to see that so many who offered the style of photography I wanted were way out of my price range. Anyone less expensive had poorer quality photos. I was so thrilled to have found Craig's company, which offered the best of both worlds. It's a great value. They were wonderful during the planning process. They live and work about an hour away from where we live, but they came to our house for the initial meeting, and even brought us doughnut holes! They made sure we were on the same page with the type of photos we expected. The day before the wedding, they came to our house again for the rehearsal so they could put some faces to names and get a feel for who the important players would be. Before they left, we went through a final rundown of how the next day would go. They were amazing at the wedding, everyone loved them! They were professional, attentive, efficient and friendly. When it came time for the formal pictures, they were great at getting everything done quickly so we could get to the reception. In the weeks after the wedding, Craig would post little teaser photos on Facebook to show us how it was coming along, which was so exciting for us and for everyone in the wedding party. People were practically frothing at the mouth to see the rest of the photos. Craig finished and got me the link to the photos within the amount of time we agreed on, and they were beautiful! Craig and Sarah captured moments that will live on forever for my husband and I, and, we hope, everyone who shared that day with us. They made us look WAY better than we thought we would (we're not terribly photogenic). I would (and do) recommend Craig to everyone I know in need of a photographer.

    Sent on 01/17/2014
  • S

    Sara · Married on 05/18/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    From beginning to end, working with Craig Griffin Photography was an absolute pleasure. Leading up to the wedding, I was presented with a straightforward and concise contract and simple payment procedures that ensured my time was spent on other aspects of the planning process. Craig took the time to answer my questions and even scheduled two Skype sessions to discuss the day's logistics, which was ideal since I was in Massachusetts, Craig was in New York, and my wedding venue was in Vermont. I found Craig to be very responsive, thoughtful in his approach, and clear in his expectations and deliverables. On the day of the wedding, Craig and Sarah arrived early to take stock of the site, determine the best locations for photos, and take photos of the wedding preparations. Following the ceremony, they created a relaxing and friendly environment for the formal photos, which came through in the images that were captured. We were having a good time with unique poses and background music, and even wrapped up quickly to join in the reception fun! Craig and Sarah did an outstanding job capturing the reception, which included amazing action shots of a game of limbo and a time-lapse image of the night sky. Within a couple of days, a photo album was posted for our family and friends to view, and within a few weeks, Craig delivered the final photos. My husband and I are extremely happy with the service, value, and products we received, and wholeheartedly recommend Craig Griffin Photography for anyone on the search for photographers that not only embrace, but capitalize on the uniqueness of you and your wedding to create images that capture those special memories.

    Sent on 02/15/2014
  • User5350985 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We had a really great experience with Craig photographing our wedding. Craig was really laid back and unobtrusive (which at a tiny wedding like ours was super important) and at the same time also knew how to capture the most intimate and beautiful moments. He was both friendly and professional with us and all our guests and he was flexible when we asked him to stay longer than we had agreed and when we were We had asked Craig if he could provide us with 10 photos within a few days after our wedding since we were throwing a larger celebration a week later and wanted to hang some of the ceremony photos in the party venue -- within two days, Craig had us a full album with hundreds of photos from our day! That was great in itself. But the photos themselves were the really impressive thing -- Craig's documentary style was spot on and nothing felt overdone or forced. They truly encapsulated the joy and happiness that we and everyone was feeling.

    Sent on 08/16/2015
  • User3009930 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    I love my pictures! I cannot complain about their services. Would totally use them in the future

    Sent on 01/23/2013
  • A

    Anastasija · Married on 08/01/2015

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Very good photographs but very few of them. We had a 6 hour event and got only 72 photos. Also, he did not direct us to take any pictures, so we do not have staged photos to frame. We had 45 guests only and most of them were not photographed. No pictures from the dinner reception at all. Even though the pictures we did get were very good quality but the only ones of the groom and the bride are the ones that were taken of them walking down the aisle, which is at most 10-15 pictures. During the reception, our photographer spent most of the time talking to our DJ. A couple of times I had to find him and ask to take a picture of us, which he would do and get back to where he was sitting. Again, if you do not need to have more than 10-20 photos of you and you don't want to spend time on staged photos of you and your family, Craig does make qood quality photos for not very high price.

    Sent on 09/07/2015
  • User5314424 · 2+ years ago

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    We booked Craig for our wedding at a reduced rate for 4 hours, and with a contract that stated that our edited photos would be sent to us in no later than 60 days. After our two-week honeymoon, we emailed Craig about the progress of our photos since we wanted to send them out with our thank you cards -- he responded and said that he hadn't even looked at them.

    Once the 60 day deadline had ended, we called Craig to see where our photos were. He said that he'd send them that night. He didn't send them, and we had to follow up with numerous phone calls and messages -- all of which he avoided -- until he finally sent the photos via an online gallery two days later. The online gallery contained few edited images, and some seemingly unedited images.

    Overall, Craig was extremely difficult to work with, could not meet deadlines, avoided communication, and defied his own contract.

    **********************UPDATE******************************
    In response to Craig's comment:

    Craig actually offered to have his "staff" photographer cover our wedding. My fiance and I met with both Craig's "staff photographer" and Craig during our first consultation.

    For proof, here is the first email Craig ever sent me, in response to a question that I left on his website contact form:

    Re: Website Form Notifier - Sky
    Inbox
    x

    Craig Griffin
    Feb 19

    to me
    Hello Sky,

    I am already booked for May 30th, but I can send a staff photographer to cover your event. I will edit your pictures to retain the style that you see on my website. Would you be interested in this option?


    Warmest Regards,



    His "staff photographer" was actually great to work with, and this review in no way reflects his work.

    Sent on 08/03/2015

    Craig Griffin Photography's reply:

    Sky did not hire me to photograph her wedding. Sky hired me to edit images which were taken by an inexperienced photographer not associated with my business. The vast majority of images that I received were either unrecoverable or unusable due to technical flaws made by the original photographer. I did the best I could to salvage the images, but the majority of them were still unfavorable after editing them to the best of my abilities.

    Sky was upset that it took me more than two weeks to look at her photos, but this is a common occurrence during peak wedding season when I have 2 or more weddings to edit before moving on to the next. I give my full attention to one wedding at a time.

    This is unfortunately the first time I have not met a deadline in the 4 years that I have been in business. My father passed away a month after her wedding and I spent a great deal of time getting his affairs in order and tendering to a grief-stricken family. Sky was made aware of this, but ultimately she did not care. I took 62 days to deliver the photos when I promised that they would be done in 60.

    In the end I offered Sky and her husband a free photo shoot valued at $350 and also offered to refund them for the two extra days it took me to finish their photos. I made my best attempt to settle this in a professional manner, but as 8/10/15 I still have yet to hear back from them.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review