Chicago Lighting Design Reviews

52 | Oswego, IL
See photos, pricing and details

52 Reviews for Chicago Lighting Design

Recommended by 95% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

52
Order by:
  • L

    Laura · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Chicago Lighting Design through our wedding planner and she handled all of the details (other than picking a particular bulb style for the cafe lights -- which we did via email) in dealing directly with them but here are the key facts that I can attest to if asked under oath:

    1. They have great pricing -- totally reasonable for what we asked for
    2. Things looked totally awesome at the wedding.

    Chicago Lighting Design did exactly what we hired them to do -- make the space beautiful by lighting up all the right spots in all the right ways. The output was gorgeous. Would recommend using them. And let's be honest, the fact that I"m writing a review about lighting design should probably indicate how happy we were with the end product.

    Sent on 09/11/2015
  • C

    Carrie · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chicago Lighting and Design was incredible. They literally transformed a drab room into a literal wonderland for our wedding reception. They were creative and cost-effective. Len was wonderful to work with. He was always responsive and help us realize a vision for our wedding. Truly phenomenal service!!!

    Sent on 11/08/2013
  • R

    Rory · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Len was very easy to work with and flexible with times on making final decisions. He was exactly what I needed to deal with during wedding planning.

    Sent on 10/02/2013
  • T

    Tracey · Married on 09/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Len made sure the lighting idea I had would work in the space by first looking at the space before giving an opinion or price. Once he looked at it, I had total confidence in the plan he said would work. He arrived with the lights on time on a holiday weekend and was there to retrieve the lights exactly when scheduled.

    Sent on 09/06/2013
  • A

    Aviva · Married on 08/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Len was super easy to work with, helpful and provided integral and beautiful decor for our wedding.

    Sent on 09/03/2013
  • User3526411 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The lighting that was supplied was perfect. The warm white can lighting for dinner that changed to purple lights for dancing and the twinkle lights above the dance floor were great.

    Sent on 09/11/2013
  • S

    shalonda · Married on 05/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Len was extremely easy to work with. He provided images of his work, which was helpful in deciding what I wanted. It also gave me an idea of how it would look in the tent. On the day of the wedding everything came together, and the room looked amazing! Everyone loved the paper lanterns. It was such a nice touch.

    Sent on 07/05/2013
  • User2600538 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would strongly recommend using Chicago Lighting Design on your wedding day. Len is very helpful, professional, and easy to work with. The prices are perfectly reasonable. The lights were beyond beautiful and sparkled in every picture.

    Sent on 08/15/2012
  • K

    Katie · Married on 05/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Used Chicago Lighting Design for the lighting at our wedding at Architectural Artifacts on 5/27/12. Len was so easy to work with and they did a great job. I never had to worry about a thing. The lighting was exactly what I wanted at a reasonable price.

    Sent on 05/31/2012
  • S

    Stacy · Married on 10/15/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I recently got married at Galleria Marchetti which while the tent and everything there is beautiful I truly believe that without the lanterns that Chicago Lighting provided it wouldn't have looked nearly as beautiful as it did. We were so impressed with how beautiful the room looked and the lanterns were just the most perfect touch. Chicago Lighting was so easy to work with, by far the lowest maintenance of all vendors I worked with. I highly recommend working with Chicago Lighting.

    Sent on 11/01/2011
  • P

    Patty · Married on 10/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chicago Lighting Design did a phenomenal job highlighting our entry to the building, which was a table wtih family photographs on it, lighting up a plain looking stairway, and spotlighting the centerpieces. I highly recommend them! They were reasonably priced and SO worth it!

    Sent on 10/31/2011
  • J

    Jeremy · Married on 07/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were very responsive to emails. We got a great deal because they were having a new year's sale. Len setup for us, changed the color at the right time, made sure everything went great, and took it down. They didn't give us any problem about changing the light color halfway through. The lights looked awesome and made the wedding reception look really awesome!

    Sent on 07/28/2011
  • J

    Jada · Married on 05/28/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Len was super easy to work with and the lighting looked amazing!

    Sent on 06/13/2011
  • Peta

    Peta · Married on 03/19/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow! Chicago Lighting Design provided lighting, a custom GOBO for our dance floor and a chuppah for our wedding at Hotel Palomar. Great prices, great service. It totally transformed the ballroom room into a dream venue.

    Sent on 04/05/2011
  • D

    Debbie · Married on 10/09/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found Chicago Lighting Design on line, and was delighted with their service, prices, and flexibility. Len listened to what we wanted, made a few suggestions, and did not try to "up-sell" us. The design he implemented turned a rustic outdoor pavilion into a romantic beautiful space. I recommend him highly.

    Sent on 10/12/2010

    Chicago Lighting Design's reply:

    Thanks again for the kind words. I'm glad your daughter's wedding was a success. It was a pleasure working with you.
  • D

    Dana · Married on 09/24/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    True profesional. Used his ideas to make my wedding have that sliver lining. Thanks, Dana

    Sent on 10/05/2010

    Chicago Lighting Design's reply:

    Thanks, Dana. We're glad your wedding day was a success. Best wishes for the future!
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 09/11/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Len Woelfel was an absolute pleasure to work with. He listened to our lighting needs and thoughts, and shared with us very unique, interesting lighting solutions. During the three-day event he was on-site at all times, in the event there were any issues -- there were no issues, but we appreciated his dedication.

    Sent on 09/17/2010
  • R

    Kelly · Married on 06/19/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chicago Lighting Design was the best lighting service we found in Chicago! Their prices kill the competition for the same, if not more in services. Everything went smoothly and looked fabulous! I would recommend them to anyone and everyone! Thank you Chicago Lighting Design for all your hard work!

    Sent on 06/22/2010
  • A

    ashtin · Married on 11/13/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The company is great with turning anybodies vision into a reality!

    Sent on 11/15/2009
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 10/24/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Len lit our wedding in Galena last weekend. The room looked absolutely gorgeous and the price was so reasonable. Len is incredibly personable and very flexible. His lighting gave the room the ambiance we were looking for. So many people commented on what a difference it made. So worth it!

    Sent on 10/28/2009
  • M

    Evelia · Married on 10/16/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The lighting was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding! Our venue was an already beautiful white atrium, but the uplights made it truly magical! Our guests are still commenting on how beautiful our venue was. The lights created an intimate ambiance and completely set the mood for the night. Len was always responsive and very professional. We would definitely hire him again in a heart beat!

    Sent on 11/23/2009
  • S

    Shelane · Married on 09/12/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Len was absolutely amazing! We had a bit of a crisis when we found out that we didn't have enough power and he made it happen. People commented on the lighting at our event all night. It was stunning!

    Sent on 09/16/2009
  • T

    Tanya · Married on 09/12/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Len was wonderful to work with and did a wonderful job on our lighting. We received so many compliments from our guests and many of them said the lighting really made the room. Thank you to the entire staff of Chicago Lighting Design!

    Sent on 09/29/2009
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 08/08/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Len was great to work with and even came to our venue before the event which was 3 hours from his home in Chicago. Our event was amazing with his lighting he's so flexible to work with and I would recommend him to anyone.

    Sent on 08/31/2009
  • ba

    blue · Married on 06/27/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We definitely recommend Chicago Lighting Design. We looked at some bigger companies, but you get more personalized service from Chicago Lighting because of the owner, Len. He came to meet with us multiple times to plan out details. He was also at our event the whole time, changing the colors of the lighting throughout the night. Our guests loved the custom logo projected on the wall, they took lots of pictures in front of it. We had him do additional draping as well, but his real specialty is in lighting. We had pinspots on the tables, uplights along the walls, and a moving truss for the dance floor and gobo projections. Payment was very smooth, he's one of the few vendors that takes PayPal as well as other forms of payment so it's easy to manage. Overall, we were very happy with Len's work.

    Sent on 09/08/2009

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review