Sportsmen's Lodge Events Center
Ten Unique Venues - One Beautiful Location
    18 Reviews
12833 Ventura Boulevard
Studio City, CA 91604  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
Catering: Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (18)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.6/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.4/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.5/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.4/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kathy 3 Reviews
Melissa at Sportsman's Lodge was fantastic. She was easy to work with, despite the numerous times we had to gather and exchange thoughts in order to formulate the Big Day, and always on top of her calendar, making every meeting effective and worthwhile. Melissa extended above and beyond - responding to emails, questions and concerns almost instantaneously, making us feel important and taken care of. The location is also just beautiful, especially for a summer wedding and we were extremely happy with ours just a few weeks ago.

Xoxo,

Mr. and Mrs. Lerner
Wedding: 06/09/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Amanda 3 Reviews
Overall, the experience was great. I wish it was a little less pricy (and I wish that we tried to negotiate a little more), but what we got was better than I could've hoped for. It's funny, because at first I was not really impressed by the pictures of the venue, but decided to look anyway. Once there, I felt like I finally found our place.

The food was FANTASTIC! Although I heard good things, I was a little nervous about it until we were at our tasting. It was so good, we wanted to lick the plates clean. We ended up getting Beef Tenderloin with mushroom sauce, Salmon with citrus sauce, vegetarian lasagna rolls, Chinese chicken salad, and a few appetizers. We got a lot of compliments over the food during and after the reception.

The venue itself is very pretty and the reception room (Starlight) worked very well with our needs. I didn't feel like I needed to dress up the ceremony site (we had the larger site) too much, which saved on costs.

Melissa was super helpful and answered all of my questions (hundreds of questions) with professionalism and promptness. I was very pleased by her helpfulness. You may be able to negotiate more with the other catering managers, but I know that Melissa was very reliable. I only wish that I could have also had her help the day of our wedding to iron out any kinks. But that's why it's necessary to have a day-of-coordinator. For example, if Melissa were available, she might have been able to direct vendors. My fiance (now husband) happened to notice a florist set up our ceremony site with another couple's flowers (Sportsmen's Lodge has two ceremony sites, same day). If Melissa or another staff member were more present, that might not have happened, but again REALLY important to have a day-of-wedding coordinator because once the problem was noticed, it was quickly resolved.

Oh, and if you book here, please ask lots of questions about the contract. It seems more strict than I found the actual practice of the venue to be. For example, the contract may say one meal choice only, but I was allowed to choose 2 plus a vegetarian option, not counting anybody with a special diet for no charge.

All in all, I am very very pleased with how things turned out. All the staff was super helpful and professional. The food was fabulous. The catering manager was a great help. My guests really enjoyed the venue and a few people told me they've never been to such an elegant wedding :) That's a great compliment to the beauty of the venue (without having extremely outrageous prices tacked on).
Wedding: 10/15/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Shandi 3 Reviews
Could not have been happier with the quality, quantity, and taste of the food for our wedding. Everyone still raves about it.
Wedding: 09/05/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

nhaggard21 3 Reviews
My ceremony and reception were both held here.
Melissa- our contact at sportsmen's- was really easy to work with. She was there every step of the way to answer all of my questions and the staff was great.
Our ceremony was outdoors in the North Gazebo. It was everything that I wanted, outdoors, gazebo, draping, it was beautiful and affordable.
The reception was held in the Cascade/Starlight room. Great layout. I especially loved the dance floor.
The food was great. The staff was amazing.
I definitely would recommend this spot to anyone planning their wedding.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
They made everything so easy for us. Having them able to set up everything and take care of planning the meals and everything made it so easy for us to thoroughly enjoy our day without the stress of having to coordinate different vendors. We were in the waterfalls room with a beautiful view on a beautiful day. Joanie helped us a lot.
Wedding: 10/21/2006
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Our reception was beautiful! The food was delicious and the guests had a blast!
The price was amazing and our guests commented that it was the most elegant reception they had ever been to.
Wedding: 03/15/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Amazing job! Beautiful location. Staff was wonderful :)
Wedding: 10/24/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
We are very happy with the service from this venue, our guest had a great time
Wedding: 06/14/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The only problem that we had was with the communication. We had planned on just renting one room to lower the cost, but they had added another room without us knowing until the weekend before and it was already too late to take it out. However, everything else was good. They worked with what we asked them and it went well. Overall, everything was great. The dining hall was just gorgeous. It is an excellent place to have a reception. The only drawback with the ceremony place was that it just was not the season that had many flowers, but over all it was still pretty.
Wedding: 04/20/2008
Services Used: Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Beautiful. Well known. They let me come back in the morning to get my tablecloths and top tier of cake which they froze for me. I didn't like that I couldn't store my stuff here the night before so I ended up carting a ton of my boxes to my hotel room the night before, but I do understand the liability... Still think they could have a small room available or something. They do provide the catering which was actually GREAT, not just at the tasting either. A TON of my guests commented on how good the food was ay my wedding. They also provide linens, (which I didn't use), runners and chair backs (I used the sashes), silverware, 1 complimentary hotel room for 1 night, 1 microphone and speaker for the ceremony, any extra tables you need for gifts, sign in etc and I was able to stop in pretty much whenever I needed to look around etc.
Wedding: 04/06/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5

Anonymous 5 Reviews
The Sportsmen's Lodge had a beautiful patio and reception hall for our wedding. We fell in love with it as soon as we saw it and it was a good deal in comparison to other venues in LA County. The food was delicious and liked by everybody. They were very helpful throughout the entire wedding planning process and the wedding day. During the wedding there was always someone there next ot us, catering to whatever our needs may be. I would highly recommend this venue to everybody.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
In the end I had my Hollywood Dream wedding. I think with every venue you go to has issues, however, when things came down to the wire, the team at Sportsmen's made my dreams come true. Everyone has raved about the food, as the bride of course I did not get a chance to eat :). The setting was wonderful, all of the pictures I have seen so far look amazing. I know it has been a bumpy road for Sportsmen's since they re-opened, but I think they are back on track. The gardens look amazing and my room was beautiful (despite a recent fire).
Wedding: 06/12/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0
I chose this place for my wedding because the setting is absolutely exquisite. Everyone that came continue to rave about how beautiful the place was - from the outdoor garden and swan ponds to the huge glittering ballroom. Since my wedding was an Orthodox Jewish wedding, I was charged a very high fee to have a Glatt Kosher Caterer for the facility, so the cost was not great. However, for anyone who is doing a regular non-kosher wedding, their price is actually very good. Sadly, they will be closing their doors by the end of this year, so if you are getting married before 2009, I would grab the chance to get this place before they are gone.
Wedding: 08/25/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Its too bad that starting in 2009 this place will have new owners but this place is very reasonable for prices and it is a great place for a reception and for a ceremony. I loved this place and I would recommend it to any couple, but I am not sure if things will be different with the new owners in 2009.
Wedding: 07/19/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Overall it was a very nice place to get married.
Wedding: 03/20/2012
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I are so happy we chose such a beautiful venue to have our wedding. I wish I could give it 5 stars all the way across. The only problem had with the venue is that the original event coordinator we worked with went on maternity leave and no one told us! We had finally call someone else before we were given a new coordinator. We also showed up to a scheduled bridal show that got canceled and, again, no one informed us.

Our new coordinator, Melissa, was great! I wish we had her from the beginning! We were lucky enough to book our wedding on a non busy time of year that we got to do our rehearsal on a weekend, we were allowed to practice our flash mob at our venue, and since we had the whole venue to ourselves on our wedding day, they allowed us to have the Starlight with Waterfalls (which had full windows) instead of Cascade (which they usually give you with NO windows). We were also allowed to take the included bottles of wine off the table and use the cost of the wine towards our consumption bar.

I don't know what The Sportsmen's Lodge is like during the height of the wedding season, but in February, we had a wonderful experience despite the debacle with our original coordinator.
Wedding: 02/11/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 818-755-5000
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0