Souljam Reviews

15 | Winston Salem, NC
See photos, pricing and details

15 Reviews for Souljam

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

15
Order by:
  • Jess

    Jess Proctor · Married on 11/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our guests danced all night

    Souljam had our guests on their feet dancing the whole night. For days after, we've heard one thing in common from everyone: "That was the best wedding band I've ever seen." We heard everything from Bruno Mars to Tina Turner. And Glenn (band leader) is the coolest person to work with. I told him two weeks before the wedding what the closing song would be and they totally killed it.

    Sent on 11/08/2019
  • L

    Lydia Mattlage · Married on 07/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah and Christians wedding reception

    They played at the granddaughters reception this past weekend and were absolutely awesome. They keep the dance floor crowded with their music and high energy. The price was such a value that they need to up their fee. If you want your guests to have a blast Souljam is the band for you. Thank you for a wonderful evening Souljam.

    Sent on 07/30/2019
  • Sarah

    Sarah Dolan · Married on 07/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Must book!

    SoulJam was our wedding band last month. My husband selected them and he did the BEST job! Glenn was easy to work with leading up to the event and was able to answer any/all questions we had along the way. As we were getting ready for our exit down the hall, I could hear our guests chanting for them to play one more song. Everyone stayed on the dance floor all night. This is an easy book! No need to consider other bands. SoulJam is the one!

    Sent on 08/08/2019
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 11/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Souljam MADE our wedding reception. Not only was Glenn incredible to work with, but they brought the party and played the night away with barely any breaks! HIGHLY recommend!!

    Sent on 12/02/2017
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Soul Jam is THE BEST! My husband and I got married in March and booked Soul Jam for our wedding band. We found them on the Knot, then found out they were playing at a bar in Winston Salem so we went to listen to them - they nailed it to say the least! We love dancing, so music was very important to us for the big day. We actually loved them so much we booked them for our rehearsal dinner too! I would HIGHLY reccommend this band. They have a fantastic time playing and are all so talented. We had about 200 people at our wedding and literally every single one was blown away with how great they were! They were very responsive along the way as well - which is something you don't typically get with a band. I would give them 10 stars if I could!

    Sent on 04/10/2017
  • M

    Marie · Married on 11/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My hubby found Soul Jam through a Google search and we watched the Youtube promo video and we fell in love with them. Glenn responded right away to our inquiry for playing at our wedding reception. Glenn stayed in constant contact with me during the planning process and was extremely helpful. Their performance was outstanding, our guests loved them. We are still getting phone calls and messages about Soul Jam. Soul Jam will not disappoint and they are a wonderful group! We hope to book them again in the near future.

    Sent on 11/22/2016
  • Allison

    Allison · Married on 10/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Booking Souljam was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding.
    Before the day they were always quick to communicate and were very helpful, which really set them apart from most other bands. On the day of, they not only provided fantastic music and unstoppable energy that kept people on their feet at the reception, but the pianist set the perfect mood during the ceremony, even with some unusual song requests on our part. They were professional throughout the entire process and seemed genuinely interested in making our wedding special, even going so far as to learn a new song for our first dance. They also provided announcements throughout the night to keep things moving and an awesome playlist to cover the breaks between sets.
    We cannot recommend them highly enough.

    Sent on 12/03/2016
  • B

    Bob · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Soul Jam really made our daughters wedding party into a PARTY!! They kept everyone on the dance floor with hit after hit and Joy the lead Singer with Glenn and the boys backing her up with a tight beat were phenomenal. Hire Soul Jam for the best time!!

    Sent on 10/05/2016
  • A

    Allie · Married on 09/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What an amazing band! I am still getting compliments from our guests on how fun our wedding was because of this wonderful group! We found Souljam online and after looking at their demo video, we were blown away by Joy's beautiful voice and the whole group's stage presence. We really wanted to avoid the tacky wedding band feel, and we definitely lucked out in finding these guys!

    Working with their band leader Glenn was a pleasure! He was so responsive to all of our questions and made sure all the songs we wanted were played. He really wanted us to get a chance to see them perform before we made our final decision. Unfortunately, we weren't about to, but we just had a really great feeling about them and they did not disappoint! We went with the full band including their horn section and it was well worth it. We had a fantastic night with this group! Highly recommend!

    Sent on 11/08/2016
  • M

    Marah · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We felt like we were in such good hands having Glenn as our wedding DJ. He took care of all of the sound, equipment, loading/unloading, etc. and did a test run to make sure day-of everything was perfect. All of our guests loved the music he played and he was awesome to have at our wedding! We felt lucky to not have to worry about anything music-related (even ceremony wise) because Glenn was so on top of it.

    Sent on 02/02/2017
  • E

    Erin · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mr Soda was the DJ for my close friends wedding, and not only is he a charming peach of a human being, but he played the best music ever. Usually wedding DJ's play boring stuff and if you go to several wedding per year you get super tired of the same stuff, but not with this guy! It's like he tailor made the setlist for the bride and her friends, and everyone had the best time ever. The best soulful, old school, sing-when-you're-drunk dance party of all time. Highly recommended~

    Sent on 01/18/2017
  • D

    Dillon · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I found Souljam online several months before our wedding and decided to watch videos of live performances and rehearsals posted by the band. We were immediately blown away with their talent and presence while performing. That bit of information is just the tip of the iceberg...

    Once we contacted Souljam, we were delighted with their quick response to our inquiry. I communicated with a member of the band for several weeks discussing information about our wedding, and he was very eager for us to meet in person. I admired how willing he was to make time to meet us before we booked them or paid them any type of deposit. Our meeting with Glenn went better than we ever expected. He was very intentional to get to know us personally, our vision for our wedding, and the type of music preferences we had. We met with Glenn in a local coffee shop, and he even drove slightly out of town to meet us at our wedding venue.

    Once we saw the band perform live in downtown Winston-Salem we were definitely sold, but we had no reservations to begin with. They are full of so much energy, professionalism, kindness, and pure talent. They made us feel like special guests at a local gig, and took the time to introduce themselves to us.

    When it came time for the wedding we were just constantly reassured of how great of a decision it was to book Souljam. They provided an extensive, but not overwhelming, list of music that they enjoy playing, and encouraged us to add to the list because they truly wanted to make our event unique and special. We gave them four songs that we wanted as our first dance, father-daughter dance, and mother-son dance, and they learned and performed them perfectly. Our guests LOVED their set!

    All-in-all, we were so incredibly happy with what Souljam delivered to us. They are amazing musicians and performers, incredible communicators, and downright good people to be around! We have zero regrets from hiring Souljam.

    -Dillon R.

    Sent on 07/15/2016
  • B

    Ben · Married on 01/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I get it...when choosing the perfect band for your wedding (or any other special event), the decision can be tough. There are a lot of things to consider: Will they be professional? Will they be courteous? Will they be responsive? Are they a good value for your heard earned money? Most importantly...will the music be appropriate for my special day and will it be a quality performance?

    I can assure you that with Souljam, the decision is not a difficult one! This band is comprised of some of the highest caliber musicians in North Carolina (if not anywhere) - not to mention the caliber of the individuals in the group. Talented, friendly, approachable, and willing to work with you are just few of the descriptors that come to mind when I think of Souljam. However, those adjectives are not the first to come to mind. Funky, soulful, incredible musicianship, fun, and energetic are what I think of when it comes to Souljam and their music.

    If you want the best band and a great party or reception (you and your guests will be unable to avoid dancing...sorry, not sorry) - Souljam is the band for you. So don't worry and don't hesitate - you won't be disappointed! We weren't.

    Sent on 01/20/2016
  • R

    Ryan · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mr. Soda is a fantastic DJ! He kept people on the dance floor the entire time and brought the party! He had every song we requested ready to go and was there on time and with pro gear. I would recommend Mr. Soda highly for anyone looking to give their wedding some musical energy!

    Sent on 02/02/2017
  • T

    teddy · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have nothing but GREAT things to say about the band, Soul Jam. They performed at our wedding (9/2015) and they had our guests on the dance floor all night long. The variety of music was vast and the band was happy to work with us on a set list. The budget was within the industry standards and was very reasonable. The Band showed up early for set-up and sound check. Our wedding coordinator said, “They were a pleasure to work with”. If anyone needs a talented Band, I would highly recommend checking out Soul Jam, you will not be disappointed. - Teddy and Sarah

    Sent on 01/23/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review