Gwinnett Environmental and Heritage Center Reviews

16 | Buford, GA
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for Gwinnett Environmental and Heritage Center

Recommended by 91%

16

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.4

1 User photo

Gwinnett Environmental and Heritage Center 1
Sort by:
  • A

    amy · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Gwinnett Environmental and Heritage Center was the BEST place to have a wedding. All of our guest loved how the building looked and all the features of the venue. The staff was super helpful and always answering my questions. This was such a beautiful space to have a wedding. We love GEHC!

    Sent on 07/25/2016
  • H

    hardik · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great place to have weddings at. Our wedding was rained out, so we did not have the opportunity to have the ceremony on the bridge. Although, the IVY room inside, also had similar feel as outside and the event went wonderfully well.

    Sent on 10/05/2015
  • H

    Heather · Married on 04/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a perfect location for a wedding ceremony and reception! Lisa and her crew at the GEHC are fantastic. They are extremely accommodating, welcoming, and take care of the little things. We had so many comments that this was a beautiful setting for a wedding and that the reception was a great party. Thanks so much for helping to make our wedding be so perfect!

    Sent on 04/30/2014
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place is beautiful!! GEHC (We called it "Geek" the whole time) is a diamond in the rough. The buildings are made of stone, have living roofs, and have a beautiful architectural bridge between them. The location is surrounded by beautiful plants, has a running creek between the buildings, and has a large amount of hiking trails; all of which are perfect for pictures.

    Location provided:
    Tables (high tops, banquet, and 60in round)
    Chairs (black fold out for outside & black and gray padded for inside)
    table and chair setup
    Kitchen (unlimited Ice from large machines, and a large ridge)
    Coat closet (very large closet for guests)

    Location allows you to choose all of your vendors!! (hooray, right??)

    The event coordinator, Lisa, is great. She is very easy to get in touch with. She responds to emails very quickly. If she doesn't know the answer to something, she finds out very quickly and get back with you. She helped me figure out the table layout for the seating, dj, bar, cake, sign-in, presents, and food. For the ceremony, she helped me figure out seating and how we would walk to the officiant.

    The place is gorgeous! The inside is easy to work with. They have 8' walls and ~14' ceilings between rooms with windows separating the top wall space. So, you can see the ceiling into the next rooms; which is a peak ceiling with wood beams (photo op!!). The rooms are surrounded by windows overlooking the beautiful place and the creek between the buildings. Even the restrooms are pretty!! They have cork in the entrance from the floor to ceiling and plenty of stalls (so no waiting)

    Sent on 04/28/2012
  • C

    Caio and Lacey · Married on 04/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so lucky to have stumbled across this venue. It was absolutely amazing! We fell in love with it the minute we saw it. The location provides an ambiance that was both beautiful and serene. Not only did we love this facility, but our guests were impressed as well. We received many compliments from our guests, who thought it was the perfect place to get married. Danielle Wunn,and the GEHC staff, were absolutely incredible. Danielle was so accommodating and always catered to our many requests no matter how seemingly outlandish or last minute. There aren't enough words to express our gratitude and appreciation of all they did for us. This venue and staff provided a memorable and outstanding experience for both ourselves and our guests. We were overall highly impressed and would recommend this facility to anyone planning a wedding or event.

    Sent on 05/02/2010
  • M

    M · Married on 05/02/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WE LOVED THIS VENUE!!!!

    Not only is this hidden gem a stunning venue, the staff (Danielle Wunn) is great as well!

    We loved being able to bring in our own F&B and we loved the LCD screen for our slideshow during the reception.

    The GEHC is a beautiful back drop for our photos and for our guest to explore during the reception. Not to mention, its an eco-friendly venue and that was really important to use too!

    WE LOVE the GEHC!!

    Sent on 06/06/2009
  • Renee

    Renee · Married on 04/25/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Gwinnett Environmental and Heritage Center is absolutely beautiful! The building is in the woods, which creates a very natural scene. There are pavillions and gazebos for outside, but we had our wedding inside. There are rooms with three of the four walls all windows, so you can get the feel of outside without having to be in the weather.

    I book the Environmental and Heritage Center about a year in advance. In the time between booking and before the wedding, the person in charge of event rentals left and someone else was in charge. They remained professional and kept their word about the contract I had signed with the previous coordinator. When I went for my final walk through, they were very helpful and helped me figure out exactly what I wanted in each room. The day of the wedding went very smoothly and everyone there was helpful the entire time!


    :)

    Sent on 07/12/2009
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 06/10/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved this venue so much! We really struggled to find a venue that was unique, fit our values and vision, and would allow the flexibility with decor and choosing vendors we wanted. All of my guests commented on the beauty of the venue. It provides an unlimited amount of backdrops and photo-ops! We also loved that it is a LEED Gold certified facility that provides educational services to our community. They can accommodate almost any size wedding. As far as value, their rates were very reasonable for the number of hours and amount of space you get! Definitely consider and take a tour!

    Sent on 07/04/2018
    Gwinnett Environmental and Heritage Center 2
  • M

    Matthew · Married on 04/20/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lancy and I could not have picked a better venue for our wedding than Gwinnett Environmental and Heritage Center. Its natural beauty combined with its ready made party space made it a perfect match. We held our ceremony under the bridge outside. The waterfalls and the rocks made for a perfect landscape for our photographer and a nice setting for our guests.

    The only negative was that in our reception space, the tables were not set up to our specifications. That was quickly taken care of so everything turned out fine. Thank you to Lisa Holloway. She was great to work with.

    Sent on 05/05/2013
  • F

    Francesca · Married on 09/24/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was Married September 24, 2011 at the Gwinnett Environmental Heritage Center. All of our guest were pleasantly surprised when they arrived at the venue. The landscape is so beautiful and it was almost effortless to pull of an elegant ceremony. The GEH staff was attentitive and helpful throughout the whole planning process.

    This venue was the first one I had gone to look at and least to say, I never saw another venue once I saw the bridge below the center. The bridge sealed the deal for choosing this venue. It has a beautiful stream that flows beneath the bridge and an amazing nature backdrop.

    Sent on 10/12/2011
  • Emily

    Emily · Married on 07/27/2019

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We were in love with the Gwinnett EHC before we even parked the car! The grounds are gorgeous and the building almost looks like a cabin tucked into the gardens. The huge and plentiful windows create gorgeous lighting throughout the building and the exposed beam ceilings are incredible. As ecologists, we wanted a place that represented our values but was still a beautiful space. This fits the bill perfectly! The museum exhibits in the main hall are going to be great for our guests to mingle (and maybe learn something!), the interactive displays will help entertain the kiddos, and the LEED certified facilities give us some peace of mind about the footprint of our wedding. They even use reclaimed water for all of their pond features! The only hiccup we had was that the online information is a little bit lacking and we were communicating with multiple people through their rentals email. That just means it took us a bit longer to clarify all of their policies and rental details, compared to other places with detailed rental brochures. However, the affordability (especially if you are a Gwinnett Co. resident!) and flexibility cannot be beat! We are THRILLED to have our wedding here and look forward to the gorgeous backdrop for our big day.

    Sent on 08/16/2018
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/17/2011

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This was a beautiful venue. It was low key, but all the guests loved it. It made for the perfect transition between the cocktail hour and the reception with the exhibit hall open for drinks and light hor dourves. The beautiful windows were such a nice touch and i even loved the backup plan in case of rain. There were lots of grreat places outside for photos.

    Sent on 07/12/2012
  • Allison

    Allison · Married on 02/07/2009

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    This venue is beautiful. It is also very unique for a wedding site. We used the Lecture Hall for the ceremony and easily sat 180 people. We had to provide our own decorations. We used the Blue Planet theater and it provided a great atmosphere. We did not have to rent any tables or chairs for the ceremony or reception. Nor did we have to rent long tables for our vendors to set up on.

    Sent on 02/24/2009
  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 09/22/2012

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    This venue was beautiful and I am so glad I got married here! We worked with wonderful people.. and it was executed perfectly.

    The only issue was the "Rehearsal" it had to be during business hours which caused a lot of issues with work schedules!

    Sent on 12/03/2012
  • B

    Brandie · Married on 05/18/2013

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall loved the center for our big day the pictures are amazing!!!!

    Sent on 06/01/2013
  • A

    Adrienne · Married on 08/03/2013

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    The Gwinnett Environmental & Heritage Center was where my husband proposed. We absolutely wouldn't want to get married anywhere else. We loved the idea of getting married on the bridge with the water rushing below us. Plus, we liked that it wasn't a traditional wedding venue - we liked that our venue money was going to a good cause. We have nothing negative to say about the venue itself. We worked with Lisa Howell, who was less flexible than our other vendors had been.

    Sent on 09/29/2013