Skip to main content
Weddings

Black Bear Inn and Conference Center Reviews

Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Orono, ME
4.8 out of 5 rating, 21 Reviews
View more information

21 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 21
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • Sarah
    Sarah Married on 10/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Great price for the venue! The service was outstanding!! We wanted a different type of menu with food stations and the staff were more than excited to make it happen for us!! Everything was organized and decorated beautifully!! The staff made the stress of the day disappear! I would recommend the blackbear inn to anyone for any type of function!
  • Staslene
    Staslene F. Married on 08/28/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Above my expectations

    I am going to start by saying thanks to Angela,Mandy and Tracey for taking care of us and ensuring that everything was over our Expectations. Thank you for making my fairy tale,our happily ever after ,our special day the best we couldn’t ever dream about. The service we received was great,all the staff were friendly and the food,perfect. If you ever dreamt about a fairy tale wedding and is a bit worried that you may not be able to afford it. Worry no more because your at the right place,with great people which will help you make your day a day you’ll never ever forget. Thank you again.
    The Farley’s

    Black Bear Inn and Conference Center's reply:

    Thank you so much Staslene! It was so nice meeting you and Asa and making your dream come to life. You guys are such a great couple and your wedding was stunning. We feel so fortunate to have been a part of such a magic day! ❤️
  • C
    Christina Married on 12/09/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We' had one of the best Christmas party's ever!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • D
    Donna Married on 10/14/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    very accommodating! amazing tablescaping- we described our theme and were thrilled with their creativity! We were so pleased with everything!
  • M
    Matthew Married on 08/19/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    What to say... working with the BlackBear was one of the easiest things I personally had done. At first we met with the Food and Beverage Director/Event Coordinator and we did not get the best of feeling. Some turnover happened and what we ended up with was the greatest day we could ask for. Angela the new F&B Director / Event Coordinator was a god send. She went over every detail, literally no stone was left unturned. Fast forward many months and the big day happened. The Event was a huge success even though my groom was lost, Tracy the owner quickly found him. The food was excellent and all of the staff were perfect. If anyone were to ask where to hold any event I would without hesitation regimens the BlackBear Inn. Tracy and Angela are a great team, they want every event to be what you picture, they are calm and very accommodating. I promise you will not be disappointed!
  • M
    Michael Married on 08/19/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Angela, Jana and Tracy were all amazing to work with. We started out with one vision, and our wedding quickly grew into a larger celebration and Angela was there every step of the way to help us work our way through the decisions. Even when the stress was almost to the top, she took care of everything and told us to just enjoy our day. The staff at the Black Bear Inn were all excellent! From the chef, to servers, front desk and housekeeping, they were all great! I would highly recommend the Black Bear Inn for any event.
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 08/12/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    They were so amazing. The staff made sure everything was taken care of. I didn't have to worry about a thing once everything started. Everything happened just as I imagined it.
  • G
    Gladys Married on 08/12/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My son's wedding. They were all incredibly amazing. Incredible staff, amazing chef, personal attention. We could not have asked for more. Thank you!
  • J
    John Married on 08/05/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Angela Cocuzza helped us with the planning and arrangements for a 90th birthday party. We were very pleased with the room configuration and the Inn's flexibility in providing additional space the prior day as a gathering spot for participants who traveled from other states.
  • A
    Ariel Married on 06/17/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    They are so accomodating. It is well worth the money. The whole expierence was pricless. They helped with every little detail and made sure everything was perfect. Loved working with the whole staff.
  • T
    Torey Married on 01/22/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We are just so happy we decided to get married at the Black Bear Inn! Abbi was so fantastic from the very start! The first day we stopped to look at the BBI we knew we didn't need to look anymore! Abbi was on top of her stuff and we could tell she would be there when we needed anything. Our wedding day went so smooth! We were able to enjoy every second knowing that Abbi, Tracy, and the whole staff was there! The food was amazing! We went with a pasta bar set up and everyone loved it! So delicious! The staff was so helpful! They really made sure we all had a great time, and I even think they were having a good time!! At the end of the evening someone even loaded up a cart and helped my parents get our gifts to their room. Also, the photo booth they have- a blast! Definitely get the photobooth if you get married there!! I can't thank them enough for making our wedding so special! Thank you, Abbi, Tracy, and the whole BBI staff! You're all so wonderful!!
  • B
    Kristen Married on 10/16/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The staff here is amazing. They went above and beyond to make sure our day was perfect. And Deb at the front desk is a lifesaver!! She's amazing!!
  • D
    Don Married on 08/08/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ralph and the staff did an excellent job of planning and executing the event. The price was reasonable for the service that was provided. the food was excellent and the hall was very comfortable and roomy. Ralph was there during the whole reception and made sure everything went smoothly and without a hitch.
  • O
    Christina Married on 05/31/2008
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The entire staff was wonderful to work with. They were more than happy to go out of their way to accomodate all of our requests.
  • M
    Megan Married on 07/07/2018
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everyone was so wonderful! They all went above and beyond to make our day special! All of our guests complimented how beautiful everything was and we had to keep telling them that the Black Bear did basically all of it!
  • M
    Maine Married on 04/04/2018
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This is the first conference (not a wedding) we've held at the Black Bear Inn. The staff was terrific from the start of planning - very accommodating and responsive when there were little "glitches" during the program. Thank You!
  • K
    Kenneth Married on 08/26/2017
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding at Black Bear Inn was amazing. The staff went above and beyond to ensure we had a great time, even throwing a few surprises our way to enhance our Harry Potter theme (for example, they wore HP costumes). They also provided the sweetest housewarming gift after the wedding. The only complaint I have has to do with how I was billed for the hotel rooms. I had asked to check in to two suites which I had reserved but was actually checked into a suite and a room. My husband didn't realize his room was supposed to be a suite. He ended up sleeping at our home that night so that his groomsman could have a bed since the room they were given only had one bed. I didn't hear about this until after the wedding, and when I asked for it to be resolved after the fact was told that I still had to be charged for the suites because they had them reserved that day and didn't realize we weren't planning to use them. We WERE planning to use them--we asked for them--we weren't given them. Of course, though I'm still frustrated on this one count, something always goes wrong with a wedding. In the end, I still think Black Bear treated us great throughout the process. The reception hall was beautiful, as was the wedding area down by the waterfront. and people are still saying it's the most fun they've had at a wedding in a long time.
  • A
    Ame Married on 08/25/2018
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a great experience with a great team! It was beautiful and ended up being perfect for us.
  • Z
    Zoie Married on 08/26/2018
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a great experience. The team at the Black Bear Inn were awesome. We had so many questions and they managed to answer all of them. They were accommodating and worked with us through every step. They even suggested DJ vendors for us and added things to our menu choices. They really know what they are doing and everyone was on the same page every step of the way. The woman who sets up the dining room even made last minute centerpieces because I didn't make enough. We are very thankful for their help and dealing with our mounting questions day of and with our crazy families.
  • E
    Elisa Married on 11/14/2015
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Black Bear Inn was a great value. Abby and Tracy were easy to work with and if there was a question they didn't have an answer to they found out immediately and answered it for us. They were flexible and even helped us to find a great location (University Inn) for some additional wedding shots after our ceremony.
  • T
    Tianna Married on 05/16/2009
    3.3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    The hall was only $500 dollars but we ended up paying $5500 dollars because you have to use their catering sevice.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message