The Sunset Restaurant
Simplicity is More at The Sunset
    22 Reviews
6800 westward beach road
Malibu, CA 90265  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 250
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (22)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Katie 5 Reviews
I loved the Sunset! Could not have picked a better place to get married! Everything was great, they were very easy to work with and very accommodating! The package deal was perfect for us, everything was simple and easy to take care of. The location is beautiful, the food was fabulous, and the staff were wonderful! Made our day and wedding perfect!
Wedding: 07/28/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We could not have imagined a more beautiful setting for our wedding. It was a clear, perfect day and we exchanged vows with the waves crashing beside us. And luckily, we walked in on a plank so I could wear heels! The event room is beautiful, and the sunset really does create a gorgeous backdrop with the windows facing the ocean. Mara, the event coordinator, was just great. She was responsive and flexible, and truly loves her work, which really shows. The food was great, the service was impeccable....we loved every minute of it. We will be back every year for our anniversary.
Wedding: 08/19/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 3 Reviews
There is really no comparison if you are looking for a beautiful beach ceremony in the Los Angeles area. I searched and researched for awhile, and visited a few other comparable venues and found the Sunset to be the BEST by a long shot. First off, all the people you will deal with are extremely professional, helpful, responsive, and know what they're doing. I dealt with Annie pre-booking, and booking, and Mara leading up to the event. Mara worked it! She made so many last minute changes that I was even starting to get irritated with all of the changes but she (if she was) never lead on-just rolled with it and did it! They set up everything for you on the beach, beautiful wood chairs, wood platform and deal with all insurance, permits, clearing the beach (to the best of their abilities-I do have a few photo bombers but who can blame them!). The reception/cocktail hour is in their beautiful banquet room, one of the nicest originally we saw. Many venues will charge you extra for something like draped ceiling but Sunset has that in their room anyway. You also get the patio which is gorgeous and set up with heat lamps and beautiful patio furniture. Their basic inclusive meal is great, but you can switch out for a bit extra if you wish. Open bar (beer and wine) is included, well liquor is extra but very reasonable. On the day of the event, they were amazing to us and all our guests, and made everything run so smoothly, on time, and we got so many compliments from our guests at how wonderful everything was. The Sunset is an ideal beach wedding location for an actual affordable price-it's pretty amazing!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We could not have asked for a more wonderful venue for our wedding earlier this month. Working with Annie and Mara at the Sunset was a breeze. We live out of state and so planning can/could have been a big headache. They made it so easy. All the planning was done via phone/email/internet. They accomplished everything we were hoping for. We went with the all inclusive package and are so pleased with how it all turned out. The ceremony was right on the sand and was so lovely. The reception in the banquet room was beyond words. We had a very small intimate wedding and therefore chose not to have a lot of decorations but simple flowers and candles and let the room itself be our decorations. It was so beautiful. The white draping adds so much to the room you really don't have to do a lot to it. It overlooks the beach and the ocean that the scenery adds so much to the ambience. The dolphins swimming by are just an added bonus. We can not say thank you enough to Mara for all of her help the day of the wedding. Working with Mara was so easy. She helped make our wedding as wonderful as it was.
Wedding: 05/09/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This place is gorgeous, right by the beach. Convenient, simple, elegant and met every expectation. The price is also reasonable for a venue by the beach! My wedding was absolutely beautiful!!
Wedding: 04/21/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We just had our wedding at the Sunset restaurant and we cannot recommend the venue enough. Everyone was easy to work with and our day was increadible!!! Many of our guests even commmented that it was the best food they had ever eaten at a wedding. The beach is amazing, one of my favourites, so much so that we travelled from the UK with 70 of our friends to have our wedding there.

The organisation was impeccable and the value increadible. I would not change a single part of the day it was amazing and that was mostly due to the increadibe venue and staff.

Thanks again Mara and Annie and all the staff :)

x x x
Wedding: 04/11/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Tomeekha 6 Reviews
The entire staff at this venu is AMAZING! They are very flexible with EVERYTHING. Our wedding was on 7/811 and ALL of our guest LOVED the location and the food. I'm glad we had our wedding here and look forward to going back there for dinner each anniversary.

Only drawback: They require a professional & certified day of coordinator. This was kind of a headache for me. If or once they bring in their own planning services, this will TRULY be the BEST wedding venu in all the world.
Wedding: 07/08/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Annie and the staff were amazing!! We had such a great time and the food was delicious:)
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We got our beach wedding just the way we wanted. The staff was so helpful and nice. Everyone at our wedding raved about the location and the food!
Wedding: 06/10/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Sunset Restaurant was the dream backdrop for our big day. Choosing this location was a no-brainer. The beach is pristine, the event room has beautiful fabric-draped ceilings, and the food is amazing. Once into the negotiation process, we were given room to really voice every opinion we had. The event staff made sure we were always well-informed and made so well in advance. The day of was handled so carefully and professionally, with plenty of people on hand to make sure every detail was coordinated perfectly with our professional coordinator. We wouldn't change one thing about our experience at Sunset.
Wedding: 10/10/2010
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had an amazing beach wedding at The Sunset in August of 2010. The day turned out perfect. The Sunset was great at explaining everything to us, planning the event, providing the food and drinks, setting up the ceremony. We even had our rehearsal dinner there as well. From start to finish the Sunset was easy to deal with and the wedding turned out perfect. Our guests loved the location! They also loved the food... the Sunset is a very good restaurant. They were very accommodating. We highly recommend the Sunset if you want a beach wedding.
Wedding: 08/07/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
They did a great job on everything NOT one thing went wrong!!!
Wedding: 10/17/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Wow!!! That is all I can say and it doesn' even fully discribe the experience. I would totally give it the best location award, best customer service award, and best venue award. not only is it beautiful, the staff makes you feel like one of the family. Even if you go back for dinner later that night they all still remember you and make a fuss over you. They are extrordinary people. Very Unique place. You can't beat having dolphins showing up during the ceremony on the beach.
Wedding: 05/25/2008
Services Used: Catering, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Sunset Restaurant is a fantastic place to get married. You can have your ceremony and reception and catering all in one place, and it's relatively affordable. Kelly Ann, the restaurant's event coordinator, is very knowledgeable, friendly and professional. She knows what she's doing and will work with you to make sure you get the wedding you want. Just make sure you go over everything you want first, because there are a lot of rules and regulations to follow, both for the restaurant and the public beach outside. Still, it's not unreasonably strict, and we were able to have the wedding of our dreams.

The location is beautiful and the food and service from the restaurant was outstanding. We can't recommend this venue enough for people looking for a nice little place to have a beach wedding.
Wedding: 10/12/2007
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I absolutely loved the Sunset Restaurant for my wedding. It's classy, intimate, and the food is delicious. Where else can you get married right on the sand in Malibu? My guests all commented that they had such a fabulous time, and plan to come back there for dinner again.
Wedding: 09/29/2007
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Sunset was the absolute perfect venue for my husband and I. The beach where the ceremony was set up had special meaning to Michael and I. It's where we fell in love, where we were engaged and now where we were married. The staff-- Annie, Samantha, and Mara-- were extremely helpful when our plans changed last minute. The food was amazing and with such a beautiful backdrop there was no need for over the top ceremony decor. As for earlier reviews saying no music could be amplified. This isn't the case. You can amplify music and your vows during the ceremony... just not before or after. I highly recommend the Sunset to anyone considering a beach wedding.
Wedding: 08/06/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 310-589-2027
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0