Rev. Mary-Rose Engle
Be wed. Be brilliant. Be brilliantly wed.
    69 Reviews
New York, NY 10027  | map
Services: Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious...
Religious affliliations: Agnostic, Baha'i Faith, Buddhist, Christian (no...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (69)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Rev. Mary-Rose was wonderful to work with. We went with a custom ceremony for our wedding since we had a smaller group, and she left almost everyone in tears. Many people came up to me after the ceremony and commented on how thoughtful and beautifully written the ceremony was. She was very responsive to our feedback and quick to make revisions. Overall she was a great person to work with and I would recommend her to anyone who wants a truly memorable ceremony that makes everyone attending feel special.
Wedding: 06/08/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We spoke with 3 other officiants before we found Reverend Mary Rose. From the very moment I heard her voice on the phone, I knew she was the one for us. She spoke clearly, had a very soothing and pleasant tone in her voice and helped answer all our questions with ease. On our wedding day she arrived on time, which was all I could ask for considering it was Memorial Day weekend! She did a quick rehearsal with our parents and bridal party prior to the ceremony and made sure everything would go off without a hitch. The ceremony was absolutely beautiful. It was emotional, touching, funny, everything we could've asked for. There was a moment I had to read my personal vows and started getting choked up. Rev. Mary-Rose told me to take my time and helped me through the moment. I cannot thank her enough for her professionalism and support. I highly recommend her. In fact one of my bridesmaids will be working with her for her October wedding as well :)
Wedding: 05/23/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My now wife and I are from the UK and thought it would be amazing if we could get married in NYC... After a bit of research on Google we realised one of the things we needed to do was get a wedding officiant... We found Rev. Mary-Rose and boy are we glad we did! Rev. Mary-Rose went so far out of her way to help us, and give us advice right from day one. Over the seven months between initial contact and the ceremony itself any calls text or emails were answered straight away or very soon after. The ceremony itself was amazing and exactly what we had discussed. Rev. Mary-Rose was early for the ceremony and that was even after having to reschedule the time due to park permit restrictions... Mary-Rose even stayed around a while after the ceremony to make sure we were happy and didn't feel rushed or pressured. If we could rate her 10 out of 5 we would. I would highly recommend Rev. Mary-Rose for anyone anytime. 100% happy. Thank you Rev. Mary-Rose! You helped us fulfil our dream!
Wedding: 05/08/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
My husband and I are extremely happy we found Rev. Mary-Rose during our online search for a wedding officiant. She is the first officiant we met with and we knew from our first meeting that she was perfect for us. She is amazing!! She married us on May 3rd, 2014 in NYC and totally exceeded our expectations. What a pleasure to work with from our first meeting one year ago. She is so kind, genuine and calming. What a beautiful soul. She is also extremely professional, organized, timely and thorough. You can tell she spends a lot of time and effort to put together a perfect ceremony which she did for us. We are forever grateful for that. Our ceremony was so touching. We added a "circle of love with rose petals" in our ceremony and Rev. Mary Rose executed it so beautifully after giving us several suggestions for this piece. Our friends and family were completely moved by her beautiful words in our wedding ceremony. Thank you from the bottom our our hearts for make our wedding so special.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Rev. Mary-Rose was great, we couldn't have picked anyone better. She was one time and also followed up periodically till our wedding date. She did the ceremony exactly how my husband and I wanted it done.
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I worked with Rev. Mary Rose closely over a 6-week period. We had a smaller ceremony/event (about 45 people), and pulled our wedding together rather quickly. We were still eager, even with that tight window and smaller group size, to mark the occasion with a memorable and meaningful ceremony, and with Rev. Mary Rose at the helm, it was orchestrated beautifully and exactly as we had hoped for.

She was an absolute pleasure to work with throughout the entire process; patient, attentive, and always demonstrating great attention to detail. We wanted to incorporate some more unusual neopagan aspects into the ceremony, including an invocation of the elements, and a "handfasting" ritual. Rev. Mary-Rose didn't bat an eyelash at the request, was familiar with the concepts, and helped us to find the right words and means of incorporating both rituals into the ceremony.

Her presence was consistently soothing, and we instantly felt comfortable with her approach, working with her remotely via Skype on several occasions, and going through several drafts as we fine tuned the ceremony and wording.

​​She even came an hour before the ceremony was scheduled to start to ensure that our bridal party was comfortable with the ceremony flow and more unusual ceremonial aspects. Many of our guests complimented the ceremony, and how different and moving it was.

Rev. Mary-Rose is a standout professional, and there was never any doubt that our ceremony would go off without a hitch, with her leading the way. She is also a genuine and kind human being, and somebody who was a delight to have along for such a special time in our lives.
Wedding: 04/12/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mary-Rose MADE our ceremony. WE loved it, our family and friends loved it. It was perfect. We had people come up to us during the reception and were like "we absolutely loved how personal you made your ceremony" & "this was the best wedding ceremony that we've been to in years!" We wanted something fun, interesting & upbeat. We had all these ideas that we wanted to include & Mary-Rose made all of it happen. She was so friendly to work with & I recommend her to all of my friends/family & coworkers. She was worth every penny & made the whole process so much easier. She took the time to get to know us & it made all the difference. Thank you Mary-Rose.
Wedding: 02/22/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Rev. Mary-Rose was the perfect match for us! She was attentive to our requests, and very flexible to our wishes. We can't thank her enough for taking our last minute request, and transforming it into a loving and memorable experience. Rev. Mary-Rose went out of her way to assist us in finding the perfect location to recite our vows. She personalized the ceremony with just the right amount of detail to make it a memory to last a lifetime.

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!
Glynn & Alejandro

Wedding: 02/01/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Suite à une recherche approfondie sur internet d’un officiant sur NYC, nous sommes tombés sur le site du révérend. Ses valeurs nous ont paru correspondre aux nôtres. Il fut très simple pour se mettre d’accord sur les détails de la cérémonie. Le professionnalisme dans l’organisation, la grande disponibilité pour nous aider dans nos choix nous ont rassurés. Le révérend a répondu a toutes nos attentes. La cérémonie s’est déroulée merveilleusement dans central park. Nous souhaitions quelque chose de très intime et de très personnel, nous avons été comblé !
Un grand Merci au révérend et à son mari pour nous avoir accompagné dans cette fabuleuse aventure qu’est le mariage.
Wedding: 01/09/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Mary-Rose exceeded our expectations in all regards. My husband and I planned our NYC wedding while living in Singapore. She was immediately responsive to all our questions and arranged to Skype us before we made any commitments. It is obvious that she took notes on our conversations and managed to incorporate special details into our ceremony which made it unique. We even said our vows in English and Maori! Throughout the planning and on 'the big day' Mary-Rose was calming, knowledgable, and someone you would want to be a part of your wedding. Her smile is warm and represents her caring and compassionate spirit. We were unable to have all of our family with us but Mary-Rose found ways to honor them. She is flexible and will craft a ceremony according to your level of spirituality and needs. She even helped us find an amazing photographer. The ceremony was so lovely that our moms cried all the way through. It felt as though she knew us for much longer and was able to capture exactly how we wanted our wedding day to be. I would recommend Mary-Rose to anyone looking for a wedding officiant!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
For our wedding, we wanted our own personalized ceremony, incorporating some of our heritage, but also incorporating elements of what makes us unique as a couple. For that reason, we searched long and hard to find officiants who took the time to understand us as couple. We read countless reviews and met/interviewed 3 officiants before choosing Rev. Mary-Rose.

Rev. Mary-Rose is warm, personable, and truly took the time to get to know us during our initial two hour casual meeting. This was very important to us, as we didn't want a random person standing up in front of our friends and family, talking about how great of a couple we are. At our meeting, she asked us many detailed questions, took detailed notes, and made sure we had all of our needs met.

Once we committed to her, we collaborated on a unique ceremony from start to finish, including a unique rock ritual that we created together. Mary-Rose wrote the drafts and we edited and modified to our liking. We met with her a second time in person for almost two hours, and also skyped a third time, in addition to exchanging countless emails and phone calls; Rev. Mary-Rose was very responsive, professional, and treated us as friends; we never felt as if we were burdening her.

It is clear that Rev. Mary-Rose loves what she does and takes a great deal of pride in both the writing and performing of each ceremony. We especially appreciated her willingness to be flexible with what we specifically wanted; if we wanted to modify, add or delete her writing, or deviate from her plans, she smiled and welcomed our changes with open arms.

On the day of the wedding, Rev. Mary-Rose was early, organized, and comforting. Rev. Mary-Rose performed a ceremony that brought our friends and family to tears. Countless attendees told us this was the best ceremony they had ever gone to. They said the ceremony was truly "us".

We cannot thank her enough for choosing to marry us. We love Rev. Mary-Rose!

Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a wonderful experience. She exceeded our expectations. We got married in Central Park on a day when it was raining outside and she was a professional about the weather. She helped us find a covered spot in the cold and rain and she was positive about everything. She delivered pictures and a video to us as promised following our ceremony.
Wedding: 12/06/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Let me say from the start that we had an amazing experience with Rev. Mary-Rose. If you're looking for a compassionate and professional officiant, I really don’t think you can do better that Mary. She was not our original choice, but at the last moment, when things unexpectedly started coming apart with our original officiant, she stepped in and essentially saved our day. I will explain…

Like most, our wedding was in the planning for quite some time. It is not easy pulling off the quintessential NYC wedding, but we had done everything that we had needed to do, and we were ready to go on our wedding day. We had previously selected an officiant, had met with him for the usual pre-wedding counseling, and everything was fine. Without getting into the crazy details, a series of highly unexpected events occurred during the day, which required major time changes. To make a long story short, the original officiant refused to accommodate our time changes. One year spent in planning was about to go down the drain. In desperation we considered our options, none of which were enviable, as we were suppose to leave town for our honeymoon soon after the ceremony. Doing a ceremony down at City Hall early the next morning, after all that planning, would have been a terrible alternative, but it had started to look like our only viable option. Then our photographer suggested Rev. Mary, and in one phone call she was on her way. She met us and our wedding party at our venue, which was 21, and there she performed a beautiful, heartfelt ceremony. In the end everything ended up being perfect, (and actually better than the original plan), and it was all because Rev. Mary was gracious enough to perform a ceremony for us at a moment’s notice. We owe a lot to her, and we’re so very thankful to her. In closing, if you need someone who is genuinely a nice person, who takes great joy in joining couples in matrimony, and who is a consummate professional, then seriously…you cannot do better
Wedding: 11/12/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Rev. Mary-Rose Engle was fantastic.
We had searched for an officiant that was non-denominational and Mary-Rose was perfect. Working with her was great, she was easily accessible through all forms of social media- we held meetings through Skype and all of our emails and phone calls were answered or returned immediately. We completed a few questionnaires regarding our relationship and Mary-Rose used them to craft a beautiful, personalized ceremony. Leading up to the day, she checked in with us often, to make sure we were aware of how and where to obtain our marriage license and that there were no hiccups.

On the day of the wedding, which required her to travel, she arrived an hour early to meet with us and go over any final arrangements. The ceremony itself was lovely- she is an eloquent speaker and her "sermon" was heartfelt. She is a true professional, while she spoke at our wedding, we were completely captivated and aware that our guests were hanging on every word. Following the ceremony, she explained to us the next steps in getting our marriage license and then she stayed longer, in case we had any questions.

Many of our guests commented on how beautiful the ceremony was and we owe that to Mary-Rose. Her level of expertise and personal touch truly exceeded our expectations. We recommend Mary-Rose Engle to anyone in need of a fantastic officiant.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mary-Rose was a pleasure to work with from the very first meeting. She made us feel very comfortable and was very knowledgeable about all the little aspects that make a ceremony great, she brought up ideas we haven't even thought of which we of course incorporated into our ceremony!! We did not want a religious ceremony and wanted something a little bit more personal and unique and with all of her suggestions and insights that was made a reality. We loved everything about our experience with Mary-Rose and have gotten nothing but compliments about how great and touching the ceremony was from all of our guests. We highly recommend Mary-Rose for anyone's wedding ceremony.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mary-Rose at Engle-Heart Weddings was such an incredible person to work with. We worked very hard with her for over 9 months to create the most perfect and personal wedding ceremony. While her method of creating a personalized ceremony can be quite tedious, the end result was worth it.

Our initial "meeting" with her was a three hour Skype call to understand her process and meet her, but also for her to start to understand our relationship and how we wanted to express our love. The conversation was intense, intimate, and made my husband and I think deeply and hard about what we wanted in our wedding ceremony. That call was truly what made us fall in love with Mary-Rose and her process, and made us hire her at the conclusion of our call (she was the one and only officiant we met with).

Upon our decision to hire MR, we were given a lengthy questionnaire to fill out - some parts separately, and others together. I'm not going to lie, it was long and rather exhausting, but it really is an amazing tool for Mary-Rose to use to start building the ceremony. She gives you lots of different options to really ensure she finds each couple's unique voice. We were given multiple drafts to read through and edit via email, which made the process of sharing information between the three of us very easy. We had some specific traditions and readings we wanted to incorporate and Mary-Rose helped us to ensure everything flowed seamlessly and appropriately. She really custom builds every ceremony so no two are alike and she is such a professional about it.

After the ceremony, we had a number of our guests go out of their way to tell us how they had never been to a wedding with such an amazing, personal, and intimate ceremony. Everyone couldn't stop raving about Mary-Rose and how fantastic she was. In the end, we knew that all our hard work was well worth it, and that choosing Mary-Rose as our officiant was one of the best decisions we had made throughout all of our wedding planning.
Wedding: 10/11/2013
Services Used: Officiant
 646-872-6085
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0