Rev. Mary-Rose Engle
Be wed. Be brilliant. Be brilliantly wed.
    63 Reviews
New York, NY 10027  | map
Services: Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious...
Religious affliliations: Agnostic, Baha'i Faith, Buddhist, Christian (no...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (63)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I worked with Rev. Mary Rose closely over a 6-week period. We had a smaller ceremony/event (about 45 people), and pulled our wedding together rather quickly. We were still eager, even with that tight window and smaller group size, to mark the occasion with a memorable and meaningful ceremony, and with Rev. Mary Rose at the helm, it was orchestrated beautifully and exactly as we had hoped for.

She was an absolute pleasure to work with throughout the entire process; patient, attentive, and always demonstrating great attention to detail. We wanted to incorporate some more unusual neopagan aspects into the ceremony, including an invocation of the elements, and a "handfasting" ritual. Rev. Mary-Rose didn't bat an eyelash at the request, was familiar with the concepts, and helped us to find the right words and means of incorporating both rituals into the ceremony.

Her presence was consistently soothing, and we instantly felt comfortable with her approach, working with her remotely via Skype on several occasions, and going through several drafts as we fine tuned the ceremony and wording.

​​She even came an hour before the ceremony was scheduled to start to ensure that our bridal party was comfortable with the ceremony flow and more unusual ceremonial aspects. Many of our guests complimented the ceremony, and how different and moving it was.

Rev. Mary-Rose is a standout professional, and there was never any doubt that our ceremony would go off without a hitch, with her leading the way. She is also a genuine and kind human being, and somebody who was a delight to have along for such a special time in our lives.
Wedding: 04/12/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Rev. Mary-Rose was the perfect match for us! She was attentive to our requests, and very flexible to our wishes. We can't thank her enough for taking our last minute request, and transforming it into a loving and memorable experience. Rev. Mary-Rose went out of her way to assist us in finding the perfect location to recite our vows. She personalized the ceremony with just the right amount of detail to make it a memory to last a lifetime.

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!
Glynn & Alejandro

Wedding: 02/01/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Suite à une recherche approfondie sur internet d’un officiant sur NYC, nous sommes tombés sur le site du révérend. Ses valeurs nous ont paru correspondre aux nôtres. Il fut très simple pour se mettre d’accord sur les détails de la cérémonie. Le professionnalisme dans l’organisation, la grande disponibilité pour nous aider dans nos choix nous ont rassurés. Le révérend a répondu a toutes nos attentes. La cérémonie s’est déroulée merveilleusement dans central park. Nous souhaitions quelque chose de très intime et de très personnel, nous avons été comblé !
Un grand Merci au révérend et à son mari pour nous avoir accompagné dans cette fabuleuse aventure qu’est le mariage.
Wedding: 01/09/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Mary-Rose exceeded our expectations in all regards. My husband and I planned our NYC wedding while living in Singapore. She was immediately responsive to all our questions and arranged to Skype us before we made any commitments. It is obvious that she took notes on our conversations and managed to incorporate special details into our ceremony which made it unique. We even said our vows in English and Maori! Throughout the planning and on 'the big day' Mary-Rose was calming, knowledgable, and someone you would want to be a part of your wedding. Her smile is warm and represents her caring and compassionate spirit. We were unable to have all of our family with us but Mary-Rose found ways to honor them. She is flexible and will craft a ceremony according to your level of spirituality and needs. She even helped us find an amazing photographer. The ceremony was so lovely that our moms cried all the way through. It felt as though she knew us for much longer and was able to capture exactly how we wanted our wedding day to be. I would recommend Mary-Rose to anyone looking for a wedding officiant!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
For our wedding, we wanted our own personalized ceremony, incorporating some of our heritage, but also incorporating elements of what makes us unique as a couple. For that reason, we searched long and hard to find officiants who took the time to understand us as couple. We read countless reviews and met/interviewed 3 officiants before choosing Rev. Mary-Rose.

Rev. Mary-Rose is warm, personable, and truly took the time to get to know us during our initial two hour casual meeting. This was very important to us, as we didn't want a random person standing up in front of our friends and family, talking about how great of a couple we are. At our meeting, she asked us many detailed questions, took detailed notes, and made sure we had all of our needs met.

Once we committed to her, we collaborated on a unique ceremony from start to finish, including a unique rock ritual that we created together. Mary-Rose wrote the drafts and we edited and modified to our liking. We met with her a second time in person for almost two hours, and also skyped a third time, in addition to exchanging countless emails and phone calls; Rev. Mary-Rose was very responsive, professional, and treated us as friends; we never felt as if we were burdening her.

It is clear that Rev. Mary-Rose loves what she does and takes a great deal of pride in both the writing and performing of each ceremony. We especially appreciated her willingness to be flexible with what we specifically wanted; if we wanted to modify, add or delete her writing, or deviate from her plans, she smiled and welcomed our changes with open arms.

On the day of the wedding, Rev. Mary-Rose was early, organized, and comforting. Rev. Mary-Rose performed a ceremony that brought our friends and family to tears. Countless attendees told us this was the best ceremony they had ever gone to. They said the ceremony was truly "us".

We cannot thank her enough for choosing to marry us. We love Rev. Mary-Rose!

Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a wonderful experience. She exceeded our expectations. We got married in Central Park on a day when it was raining outside and she was a professional about the weather. She helped us find a covered spot in the cold and rain and she was positive about everything. She delivered pictures and a video to us as promised following our ceremony.
Wedding: 12/06/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Let me say from the start that we had an amazing experience with Rev. Mary-Rose. If you're looking for a compassionate and professional officiant, I really don’t think you can do better that Mary. She was not our original choice, but at the last moment, when things unexpectedly started coming apart with our original officiant, she stepped in and essentially saved our day. I will explain…

Like most, our wedding was in the planning for quite some time. It is not easy pulling off the quintessential NYC wedding, but we had done everything that we had needed to do, and we were ready to go on our wedding day. We had previously selected an officiant, had met with him for the usual pre-wedding counseling, and everything was fine. Without getting into the crazy details, a series of highly unexpected events occurred during the day, which required major time changes. To make a long story short, the original officiant refused to accommodate our time changes. One year spent in planning was about to go down the drain. In desperation we considered our options, none of which were enviable, as we were suppose to leave town for our honeymoon soon after the ceremony. Doing a ceremony down at City Hall early the next morning, after all that planning, would have been a terrible alternative, but it had started to look like our only viable option. Then our photographer suggested Rev. Mary, and in one phone call she was on her way. She met us and our wedding party at our venue, which was 21, and there she performed a beautiful, heartfelt ceremony. In the end everything ended up being perfect, (and actually better than the original plan), and it was all because Rev. Mary was gracious enough to perform a ceremony for us at a moment’s notice. We owe a lot to her, and we’re so very thankful to her. In closing, if you need someone who is genuinely a nice person, who takes great joy in joining couples in matrimony, and who is a consummate professional, then seriously…you cannot do better
Wedding: 11/12/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Rev. Mary-Rose Engle was fantastic.
We had searched for an officiant that was non-denominational and Mary-Rose was perfect. Working with her was great, she was easily accessible through all forms of social media- we held meetings through Skype and all of our emails and phone calls were answered or returned immediately. We completed a few questionnaires regarding our relationship and Mary-Rose used them to craft a beautiful, personalized ceremony. Leading up to the day, she checked in with us often, to make sure we were aware of how and where to obtain our marriage license and that there were no hiccups.

On the day of the wedding, which required her to travel, she arrived an hour early to meet with us and go over any final arrangements. The ceremony itself was lovely- she is an eloquent speaker and her "sermon" was heartfelt. She is a true professional, while she spoke at our wedding, we were completely captivated and aware that our guests were hanging on every word. Following the ceremony, she explained to us the next steps in getting our marriage license and then she stayed longer, in case we had any questions.

Many of our guests commented on how beautiful the ceremony was and we owe that to Mary-Rose. Her level of expertise and personal touch truly exceeded our expectations. We recommend Mary-Rose Engle to anyone in need of a fantastic officiant.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mary-Rose was a pleasure to work with from the very first meeting. She made us feel very comfortable and was very knowledgeable about all the little aspects that make a ceremony great, she brought up ideas we haven't even thought of which we of course incorporated into our ceremony!! We did not want a religious ceremony and wanted something a little bit more personal and unique and with all of her suggestions and insights that was made a reality. We loved everything about our experience with Mary-Rose and have gotten nothing but compliments about how great and touching the ceremony was from all of our guests. We highly recommend Mary-Rose for anyone's wedding ceremony.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mary-Rose at Engle-Heart Weddings was such an incredible person to work with. We worked very hard with her for over 9 months to create the most perfect and personal wedding ceremony. While her method of creating a personalized ceremony can be quite tedious, the end result was worth it.

Our initial "meeting" with her was a three hour Skype call to understand her process and meet her, but also for her to start to understand our relationship and how we wanted to express our love. The conversation was intense, intimate, and made my husband and I think deeply and hard about what we wanted in our wedding ceremony. That call was truly what made us fall in love with Mary-Rose and her process, and made us hire her at the conclusion of our call (she was the one and only officiant we met with).

Upon our decision to hire MR, we were given a lengthy questionnaire to fill out - some parts separately, and others together. I'm not going to lie, it was long and rather exhausting, but it really is an amazing tool for Mary-Rose to use to start building the ceremony. She gives you lots of different options to really ensure she finds each couple's unique voice. We were given multiple drafts to read through and edit via email, which made the process of sharing information between the three of us very easy. We had some specific traditions and readings we wanted to incorporate and Mary-Rose helped us to ensure everything flowed seamlessly and appropriately. She really custom builds every ceremony so no two are alike and she is such a professional about it.

After the ceremony, we had a number of our guests go out of their way to tell us how they had never been to a wedding with such an amazing, personal, and intimate ceremony. Everyone couldn't stop raving about Mary-Rose and how fantastic she was. In the end, we knew that all our hard work was well worth it, and that choosing Mary-Rose as our officiant was one of the best decisions we had made throughout all of our wedding planning.
Wedding: 10/11/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough good things about Rev. Mary-Rose! She worked very closely with my husband and I to create the most perfect, customized ceremony of our dreams. She spent hours refining it with us and made sure we were 100% satisfied with every single detail. Our ceremony was unlike anything anyone had seen or heard before. People cannot stop talking about it! Hiring Rev. Mary-Rose was easily one of the most important decisions we made and we could not be happier with how everything turned out!
Wedding: 10/04/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Reverend Mary-Rose was my wedding officiant on 9/28/2013 at Glen Island Harbour Club in New Rochelle, NY. After reading her excellent reviews on Wedding Wire, we contacted her through her website. She reached out immediately and scheduled an initial meeting. Upon meeting her, we both were very impressed by her professionalism, way with words, organizational skills, and general spirit.

We wanted our ceremony to be short, simple, and meaningful. We wanted it to be spiritual but not too religious. She was very open to our ideas, and offered many suggestions to incorporate those aspects into our ceremony. Throughout the process, we felt very comfortable with her. After reading the initial draft of our ceremony, we were in tears!

On the day of the wedding, she arrived promptly and reviewed the schedule with all our vendors. She delivered the ceremony beautifully. Our guests have commented that our ceremony was extremely sincere and meaningful, and many were moved to tears.

After the ceremony, she immediately got our signatures on the wedding license. She mailed in the signed wedding license to City Hall and sent us an e-copy as well. Shortly after returning from our honeymoon, we received the official marriage license in the mail. Thank you Rev. Mary-Rose for taking care of business so quickly!

I would highly recommend Reverend Mary-Rose as your wedding officiant!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I were married at the Boathouse in Central Park last month and had the privilege of working with Rev. Engle. From our very first meeting with her, we were thrilled with her professionalism and attention to detail. She was an absolute dream to work with - very responsive whenever we had a question and helped us to craft the ceremony of our dreams. Our friends and family who were at the wedding continue to tell us how terrific the ceremony was and that they loved its many personal touches. We could not be happier with how everything turned out!!
Wedding: 09/27/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We contacted Rev. Mary-Rose less than a month from our wedding date. We were really getting concerned that we would not find the right officiant for us. She sent me back a very nice and detailed email very quickly and her website explained the different type of ceremonies. We spoke over the phone shortly after and she was very detailed, went over the whole traditional program with us, answered all our questions, gave us some ideas of things we can incorporate to make it unique and made us feel very comfortable. Rev. Mary-Rose was always very responsive to all my emails and always followed up with a call which made me feel that we had chosen the right person. We worked together to create a program that was special to us. We met her for the first time the day of the wedding. Rev. Mary-Rose was very warm and was there to give my now husband advice when he got really nervous about not having his vows ready. She checked in with me to make sure I was ready and gave me a few reassuring words. We are extremely happy that we chose Rev. Mary-Rose to officiate our special day. She truly cares about her couples and it really showed through with a most wonderful ceremony. We couldn't have been happier with our decision. Thank you!

Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We chose to meet Rev. Mary-Rose Engle for the first time, 3 months before our wedding, because of her reviews. After a beautiful ceremony we wanted others to know about her wonderful work with us.

We found her to be warm, professional, and very enthusiastic about our wedding. While drafting the ceremony, she welcomed any suggestions and ideas making us feel this was really our celebration and we were in control. My wife is from Germany and I’m from Haiti, we ended up exchanging our vows in each other’ languages. Our families and friends loved how we peppered in different parts of each other’ culture into the ceremony.

Rev. Mary-Rose was absolutely the best officiant for us, and we can’t thank her enough for making our experience memorable, joyful, and unique. She exceeded our expectations and we believe she will do the same for anyone lucky enough to choose her
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From the moment we met Rev Mary–Rose Engle , we were made to feel at ease and welcome .The words read during our service were perfect and although the service may have lasted about 15 mins, it was fantastic and we wouldn't change a thing.
Rev. Mary-Rose Engle responded with the following comments:
Thanks!! So happy to hear that my “Sweet & Simple” ceremony was perfect for you and your new wife – I designed it just for elopements in places like Central Park.
Wedding: 09/10/2013
Services Used: Officiant
 646-872-6085
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0