Cappelli's@Comfort Inn & Suites
7701 Reynolds Rd
Mentor, OH 44060  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 600
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (12)   FAQ   Map    
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (3.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (3.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (3.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.5/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
the staff at cappellis was awesome, there were a few small mix ups between the seating chart they gave us and how it was actually set up which led to some family we wanted close sitting in the back, but it wasnt a big deal, we also had some wedding crashers come over from billy which i got to kick out and that was awesome, the staff was very appologetic that it happened i thaught it was fun, made for a good story!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Cappelli's is outstanding!!! We spent a long time picking out the right venue for us and hands down Cappelli's was our #1 choice. Kelsey helped us thru the planning process and was always available to answer questions. She made my job as the bride very easy so I could enjoy our day with no worries. All of our guests couldn't stop talking about how good the food was and how nice the staff was! The guys helping us the day of the wedding/reception were nothing short of AMAZING!!! They made sure that everything was going good and checked in with us throughout the night to make sure everything was on point! We were able to really enjoy our time with friends and family because Cappelli's staff made the evening so seamless there wasn't a single worry! We were so happy with every detail of our experience and evening that all we can do is say THANK YOU CAPPELLI'S you made our night one that we will never forget!!!
Cappelli's@Comfort Inn & Suites responded with the following comments:
Thank you Rachel - Congrats to you and Wayne!!!

We loved working with you and wish you both the best of luck. Come see us in the future!

Kelsey
Wedding: 08/17/2012
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Cappelli's was a wonderful choice for our reception venue. We worked with all three of the lovely event planners, and they worked very hard to be sure they were the best fit for our wedding. We had consistent communication at every step of the planning process, and at our final two meetings we went through a detailed outline of the menu, seating, and special requirements - while we had family style dining, they substituted vegetarian entrees and a gluten-free side at no extra charge, and they gave us the option to adjust our minimum for a smaller guest list.

As for the night itself, what a success! Everything we requested was done to perfection; the tables and decor were fantastic and the food was even better than we remembered tasting (carved beef and chicken parm/eggplant parm, with penne and vegetables). Bar service was fast and friendly, and we received a number of compliments about everything.

We can't wait to see Cappelli's at its new location, and would definitely book another event with them!
Wedding: 06/30/2012
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had my wedding reception at Cappelli's and it was beautiful! We used the Presidential room, the biggest of the three, and Kelsey and Teanna and all the caterers that helped, made it look even better than I imagined!

Both Kelsey and Teanna were very helpful in the planning process! If I emailed them with a question one of them would usually respond in a timely manner, and if they didn't I would wait a few days and then call them to ask my question. I really have no complaints about either of them, they were great to work with!

One of the reasons we chose Cappelli's was because it is attached to the Comfort Inn and suites hotel. We thought that would make things easy for our guests and we wouldn't have to have a shuttle service. Even though my suite for the friday and saturday night of the wedding was fine, I know of at least four seperate rooms of my wedding guests that were not in good conditions. Luckily, they were able to switch rooms and were happy with thier second room.

Cappelli's is a seperate business from the Comfort Inn, so this wasn't thier fault.

The only complaint I can say about Cappelli's is that there was one tray (only one!) of food that wasn't spectacular. They took care of it immediately and we were compensated for the mistake.

Other than that, everything was PERFECT!
Wedding: 08/06/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Before I get into the details, I have to say - this place was SO affordable and our guests had a blast. The room we used (The Rockafeller ballroom) had a great layout, so no matter where in the room you are - you can see everything going on and are close to the bar/dance floor..ect. Its cozy without feeling cramped or crowded. (we had about 100 people)
The negatives:
The staff here can tend to be rather unprofessional - don't be afraid to tell them what you want. For instance for our 2nd meeting Kelsey met w/ us in the bar - with people all around us, it was noisy and we left feeling irratated. She pulled out flowers and vases from the back so we could pick our centerpieces and I felt kind of embarassed because the bar was pretty full and everyone was staring at us. I really wish we would have said "hey - can we please meet in your office like we did before, this is distracting"

Make sure you get there early to look over the reception set-up. The flowers that we chose were all wrong, and it was too late to fix because the guests has arrived already. The cake looked ok, it was sinking a little - I noticed it when I got my pictures back- one of the layers was leaning. The cake was also not what we asked for. Kelsey told us their strawberry filling was a gel, and we chose that becaue it would be lighter than heavy frosting. When we cut the cake I was disappointed to see a heavy frosting with tiny bits of strawberry mixed in that you couldnt even taste.

Another major disappointment was that during all the fuss on our wedding day - we didnt think about getting the top of our cake back, we asumed it would be wrapped up and given to us at the end of the night. We were gone on our honeymoon and realized that we never got it, and they never called us...NOTHING.

We also left a pot of flowers that was very expensive and beautiful, it was something that you don't just throw out. Again they didnt call us to come get it. They could have simply given it to the hotel staff since we stayed there so we could pick it up when we checked out. Unfortuately we were long gone on our honeymoon before we even thought of this.
So my advice is to talk to them about getting these things to you - or designate someone to make sure to ask for these things at the end of the night.
So those were my issues...and just make sure to speak up to these people and make it well known what you expect from them.

And Cappelli's, if you read this...it would be a smart move on your part to send out surveys to your clients afterwards so you can address these problems and not repeat them. It would also give you an opportunity to redeem yourself so you don't get reviews like this one out there.
Wedding: 09/04/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Excellent!! Great staff, great food. I couldn't have asked for anything better. We got so many compliments on the food and the decorations. Centerpieces were included in the package, which was a big help. The staff goes above and beyond to make sure we have everything we want. We had all three rooms, which was nice. It is also attached to a hotel, which is nice. Also, there is a martini bar inside, as well as a Cleats in the same parking lot, where a lot of my friends hung out between the ceremony and reception. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone.
Wedding: 08/01/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our reception was wonderful. The food was delicious, service was top-notch, bar service was great, and the room set-up was beautiful. There were a couple of small things the staff forgot about, but they were so minor, only I noticed. Cappelli's was an excellent value for the money.
Wedding: 06/20/2009
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The service was amazing. The staff takes care of the majority of the details to leave the bride stress free before her event. There is a hotel attached to the venue that is helpful if you have out-of-town guests.
Wedding: 10/11/2008
Services Used: Catering
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  2.5
We had provided baskets with toiletry items that would be needed in the men's and women's bathrooms. These baskets were placed in the main hotel bathrooms instead of the reception hall bathrooms--this is after I specifically stated that they should be in the bathrooms where our guests would actually be able to use them. It took a week for them to "find" the baskets, and when I got them back, they were completely empty. We also never got the top layer of our cake after the reception until the following week after it had sat out w/o being covered so the frosting was like a rock. So instead of being able to box it up and freeze it, we had to pitch it. The food was amazing and the hall looked beautiful--those are two things I can't complain about!
Wedding: 10/12/2007
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.0 out of 5.0
3.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
Food was on average, my cake was a disaster... I don't even want to recall it. They showed us pictures of beautiful cakes & when I brought them a picture of the cake I wanted mine modeled after, they said "no problem" & retained the photo. My wedding came & my precious cake toppers were falling over & the tiers looked like sheet cakes purchased from the local supermarket & stacked on top of one another. I didn't even want photos taken of the thing! It really upset me.
Wedding: 07/28/2007
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
The food was great-- they tailored everything to our every whim. Very willinging to do whatever we wanted! Don't be afraid to ask for what you want! We rented out all 3 rooms and it was perfect!
Wedding: 07/30/2005
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
0.1 out of 5.0
0.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.5
  • Flexibility:  0.0
When we got married, Linda was in charge of the hall. 3 Months before our wedding, they sold the hall we were supposed to get married at (Cappelli's in Wickliffe on Euclid Ave). We had to change our wedding date, change the ceremony, re-arrange all of our plans to accommodate our new date - talk about a nightmare. All while Linda and Billy were AWFUL to work with. The only thing that was good was the food! They turned the lights on early and threatened our dj to pull the plug if he didn't stop playing. Responsiveness, communication, professionalism - HORRIBLE. And, they were very disrespectful - she actually yelled at my father. Save yourself the hassle and don't get married here. You'll be grateful in the long run. So many other banquet facilities out there that are nicer and really respect their clients.
Wedding: 05/22/2004
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 440-585-8815
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0
out of 5.0