We're here to help you keep moving forward, no matter what your plans are.

Liz
Savvy October 2021

Who pays?

Liz, on April 11, 2020 at 1:41 AM Posted in Etiquette and Advice 1 68
Saved Save
My FH and I have been having the discussion about how we will pay for our wedding. We want to keep it simple and fairly cheap. I am a teacher and he is a support manager at Walmart. We don’t make a ton of money. His mom made a comment to him that it’s traditionally the brides father who pays. A bit of background on both our family’s, they are not rich by any means. Both middle class family that get by. I was a little off out with her comment. I for one didn’t really want to do the whole wedding thing. I lost my mom a few years back and thinking of planning a wedding without her breaks my heart. So I am all for a quick trip to Vegas and be done with it. He wants a big wedding and reception. He is all about going 50/50 from both of us but his mom is not. Has anyone else had this issue? Any ideas on how I can possibly handle this tactfully?

68 Comments

• Pirate & 60s Bride
    Champion March 2017
    Pirate & 60s Bride ·
    • Flag
    That’s ridiculous. In this day & age, it’s the couple who pays. If there’s a financial gift from either side, that’s a bonus, but not expected.

His mom has no say. But you & your fiancé need to discuss because I could see you resenting contributing for a bigger wedding than you want. You need to both agree on the budget. And commit to sharing the planning/stress.
    Congrats & welcome here! We’re here to help (or listen). 👋
  • Liz
    Savvy October 2021
    Liz ·
    • Flag
    View Quoted Comment
    Thank you so much! I figured that is how it was but wasn’t sure. We compromised on doing big ceremony and a bigger reception. To me that is the true celebration of a wedding to be with everyone. I’m hoping his mom won’t be an issue.
  • Brie
    Savvy July 2021
    Brie ·
    • Flag