Megan
Dedicated September 2018

License Vs. Ceremony Anniversary

Megan, on April 29, 2015 at 8:33 PM Posted in Etiquette and Advice 0 31
Saved
Reply

I had a friend get married this past weekend, but they got their marriage licenses like 3 days before so they didn't have to worry about it on their honeymoon. This caused an uproar in her family and caused panic about having "two different anniversaries" and prompted an aunt to have a meltdown because she had made a whole bunch of memory art things with their wedding date on them and "will have to attempt to alter the dates since you actually got married on a different date". I was wondering if this was common and how people handled it? I never really thought about it before.

Do you celebrate the day on your marriage license or the day of your ceremony?

31 Comments

Latest activity by Mary Beth, on December 2, 2021 at 12:20 PM
  • Megan
    Dedicated September 2018
    Megan ·
    • Flag

    Well that's convenient. She lives in Texas so I'm not sure of their laws, it just got me thinking about dates and apparently how much it send others into a panic.

    • Reply
  • Heather A
    Master September 2014
    Heather A ·
    • Flag

    I think what rachel said is how most states are. You're supposed to get your license one day and then get it signed at the ceremony which makes it official.

    • Reply
  • Angel_D
    Master October 2015
    Angel_D ·
    • Flag

    Marriage license is NOT the same as marriage, you arent married until your officiant signs it. why is that even an argument?

    you can get a marriage license which is valid for a short period of time 60 or 90 days, if you dont GET married in that time then that license expires and u were never married.

    • Reply
  • Beth
    Master May 2015
    Beth ·
    • Flag

    In PA, you have to get it at least 3 days before but no more than 60 days before. The date you get it really has no significance. Not sure why her family was freaking out.

    • Reply
  • Angel_D
    Master October 2015
    Angel_D ·
    • Flag

    People need to get educated, before they start wilding out about silly stuff

    • Reply
  • Megan
    Dedicated September 2018
    Megan ·
    • Flag

    Ok thank you, that's what I thought but was suddenly second guessing myself when that whole fiasco erupted.

    • Reply
  • AndixLyn
    Master June 2015
    AndixLyn ·
    • Flag

    Getting the license doesn't count as a marriage date. It's the date you let the state know you'd like an application to get married. Who the hell gets confused by that?

    Vegas let's you apply for the license and you have a year to use it. Nobody is confused by wedding date.

    • Reply
  • TwoPs
    Super July 2015
    TwoPs ·
    • Flag

    We're getting the license before the wedding but we aren't signing it until the day of the wedding, after the ceremony.

    • Reply
  • Katherine
    Super May 2015
    Katherine ·
    • Flag

    From Texas here. The marriage license isn't valid for 72 hours once you get it. After that you have 90 days before it expires. So she has 90 days until the pastor/minister/whomever signs it the day of the wedding. So no, she isn't married. She only got the required document like everyone else has to get. That's funny though that everyone was flipping out.

    • Reply
  • Chrissy G to Chrissy P
    Devoted May 2015
    Chrissy G to Chrissy P ·
    • Flag

    I wonder if they had the marriage license mixed up with a courthouse wedding - I have heard similar "your wedding ceremony isn't a real wedding" comments when people go for a courthouse wedding ahead of time.

    • Reply
  • Crystal L.
    Master August 2015
    Crystal L. ·
    • Flag

    A marriage license is only "permission from the state to get married". You are not actually married until the license is signed and dated by the officiant! =)

    • Reply
  • KitandKaboodle
    Master November 2016
    KitandKaboodle ·
    • Flag

    In California, your license is valid for 90 days. The state recognizes your marriage date as the date you, your spouse and the officiant sign the certificate.

    • Reply
  • Celia Milton
    Celia Milton ·
    • Flag

    You HAVE to get your marriage license before, or you can't get married. Getting the license is not getting married.

    She should just slap her aunt upside the head for being so ignorant and troublesome.

    • Reply
  • annakay511
    Master July 2015
    annakay511 ·
    • Flag

    In Maryland you can get your marriage license up to 4 months before your wedding. Your marriage license isn't actually valid until an officiant signs it. Her family is nuts!

    • Reply
  • Megan
    Dedicated September 2018
    Megan ·
    • Flag

    Lmao yea I think her family thought they got a courthouse wedding instead of just a license. Like there were people refusing to come to the wedding because it "wasn't a wedding". People are so weird.

    • Reply
  • Samantha
    Devoted August 2016
    Samantha ·
    • Flag

    I don't get the whole court house thing. My cousin had his wedding a day before because they wanted their friend, who is not yet ordained, to do their ceremony. It is really strict in Ontario, but I know there were a few people who thought it was just blasphemous.

    • Reply
  • S
    Master June 2015
    Sara ·
    • Flag

    That's how everybody does it. How does her family not know this? Have none of them ever gotten married?

    • Reply
  • Jeleebeenz
    VIP September 2015
    Jeleebeenz ·
    • Flag

    I am wondering if there is a symantics issue going on here. "they got their marriage licenses like 3 days before so they didn't have to worry about it on their honeymoon" - you NEVER have to worry about picking up your marriage license on your honeymoon. I am wondering if they actually JOP'd 3 days before so they didn't have to worry about their license getting file with the county clerk. That is the only thing that makes sense based on them not wanting to worry about it on their honeymoon.

    Wouldn't be the first time I've seen that happen.

    • Reply
  • Emily
    Master May 2014
    Emily ·
    • Flag

    My guess is they actually got married at the courthouse and you are the confused one OP. No one would be freaking out about them simply get a license. Picking up a license does not make you married and everyone has to do this, so it makes no sense that family would be freaking about that.

    • Reply
  • FutureMrsWalton
    VIP August 2015
    FutureMrsWalton ·
    • Flag

    That's weird! Did they get married at the courthouse and get the license signed? Or was she just picking it up?

    • Reply

You voted for . Add a comment 👇

×

Related articles

WeddingWire celebrates love ...and so does everyone on our site! Learn more

Groups

WeddingWire article topics