We're here to help you keep moving forward, no matter what your plans are.

Serena
Devoted October 2020

$222 later, would you be disappointed? Hair

Serena, on March 14, 2020 at 8:30 AM Posted in Hair and Makeup 0 24
Saved Save
Reply
Hello Al



I need opinions here. So last year I had a hair/makeup trial at my DW Salon. I thought I looked beautiful, but my curls went flat within 1.5hrs into my engagement session. Fastforward to this year. A few months ago, I booked a perm with the same salon so my hair would hopefully hold curl on wedding day. I just had my perm yesterday and Idk how to feel. FH is disgusted! For the cost, he said I do my own hair way better and he hasn't been impressed yet with this salon. Hes not being mean, just honest. I asked him about my hair and makeup trial last year. He said it was okay, but he prefers how I do my makeup. Lol, people. All I wear is eyeliner! Anyways, tell me what you think and what you would do?After hearing such disappointing reactions from my mom and friends, I reached out to the salon asking if this is the result I should of had. I know theres nothing they can do, they warned me during booking that perms are tricky and they can't guarantee the results. Its a bummer because I had a perm years ago and I had no issues. Anyways, thanks for reading! Pic below is after air drying.$222 later, would you be disappointed? Hair 1
After getting back to the house, I misted my hair and used a ton of their curling product they recommended. Better, but idk. I feel I could of achieved the same look without spending the money..$222 later, would you be disappointed? Hair 2

24 Comments

  • Serena
    Devoted October 2020
    Serena
    • Flag
    Suppose to say **Hello All, lol
    • Reply
  • Jeni
    Dedicated July 2020
    Jeni
    • Flag
    I wouldn't return to that salon ever again. Take it as a lesson learned.


    If a stylist says your hair or your desired style is "tricky," immediately walk out. Honestly, your hair doesn't look permed at all. In the future, research questions to ask a potential stylist, and don't sit in the chair until you feel comfortable with the styist's answers and experience.
    I'm so sorry that you had poor results.
    • Reply
  • Serena
    Devoted October 2020
    Serena
    • Flag
    View Quoted Comment
    You're on the same page as FH. He doesn't want me going back on wedding day. I feel terrible not to though. If my hair would of held the trial, I would of been more than satisfied. I'm 59 days away from wedding. Idk who I'd even go with, plus no time for another hair and makeup trial since we won't be visiting the area again until wedding week. I really don't want the stress of doing my own hair on wedding day, plus I'm not actually good at it. He just dislikes this perm so much that it makes my styles look good lol. It stinks because their salon is 5 stars across the board and they're the most recommended shop in the area. This is super unfortunate. Such a loss financially. Not to mention these things are suppose to hold for like 4 months. Def not happening. I know asian hair can be tough, but my mom never had an issue and my last perm. Oh god. I was a poodle. It was awful! Haha!
    • Reply
  • Jeni
    Dedicated July 2020
    Jeni
    • Flag
    View Quoted Comment
    I've had some poodle experiences, too, haha! 馃槅


    I get it because stylists are always quick to say that my hair is "difficult" or "tricky" because I'm black. But I've learned that it just means they're not truly experienced. Which unfortunately means that I can't frequent the supposedly 5-star salons.
    Buy my current sylist said to me the first time I met her, "A good stylist can do anyone's hair," and I knew I hit the jackpot! I hope you can find your jackpot, soon!
    • Reply
  • Tia
    Savvy April 2021
    Tia
    • Flag
    I wouldn鈥檛 be using their services for my big day. I feel like they should have put more of an effort in to get your desired look. I鈥檓 sorry you had such a bad experience. I would maybe do some more research and try to reach out to other stylists who would work with you the week you return to the area. Good luck!
    • Reply
  • Jeni
    Dedicated July 2020
    Jeni
    • Flag
    Also, how far away from you from your venue? See if there are any stylists who would be willing to travel. Go on a hashtag search for sylists in the area, check out their photos, and reach out! You never know what you'll find!
    • Reply
  • Ally
    Dedicated June 2021
    Ally
    • Flag
    I agree with the others. I definitely wouldn鈥檛 go back. Your hair doesn鈥檛 look permed at all. I鈥檓 so sorry for your bad experience!
    • Reply
  • Charity
    Devoted December 2020
    Charity
    • Flag

    Refund!!! Don't go back ever!

    • Reply
  • Perla
    Dedicated November 2020
    Perla
    • Flag
    Hello there, normally after you get a perm done your not supposed to wash or wet or do anything to your hair I think if I remember right for like the first couple days so it doesn't ruin your curls. Did the stylist not tell you that? I'm sorry that you paid that much and the outcome wasn't what you liked. I would at least either go back and speak to someone maybe they didnt use a tight enough rod.
    • Reply
  • Serena
    Devoted October 2020
    Serena
    • Flag
    View Quoted Comment
    I've been waiting for this comment lol. I was told a light misting is okay, but not to actually wet it or shower for 48 hours so the curls can set. After seeing the disappointing results, I figured it was worth a shot to mist it just enough to add the curling product to see if it would give some life. They used curling balm and salt spray in the salon, but we see how that turned out.. I did email the owner last night asking if this is the result I should have expected. Unfortunately I haven't heard back. As others say about a refund, I'm SOL. I was told the results weren't guaranteed, but I proceeded anyways because of my hair taking a perm so well in the past. Def a disappointing experience. I'm not sure what to do for wedding day now since this was suppose to be my fix for my hair holding curl
    • Reply
  • Perla
    Dedicated November 2020
    Perla
    • Flag
    View Quoted Comment
    Something you could do also is have someone wrap your hair the night before in perm rods and just use a setting spray you will end up with some kinky curls but you can comb them out. But of course try it out before the wedding that's at least something that's not a chemical process and it will definitely hold 馃槉
    • Reply
  • Jessica
    Devoted February 2020
    Jessica
    • Flag
    Start looking on Instagram or googling wedding hair and makeup. I just did a hashtag search "outerbankswedding" on Instagram. I looked (stalked 馃槅) at a few pictures and then saw who they tagged in their pictures. Some people will tag the hair and makeup people in their pictures. Salty Hair Salon popped up as an option. I would do a similar search and look at their body of work on IG and then reach out to them pronto. If they aren't available maybe they can direct you to someone who is.



    My stylist were invested in me, my day, and making me happy. You and FH don't seem happy with their service, so don't feel bad in taking your business and your money elsewhere where they will give you what you want and treat you like the princess you are!!!
    • Reply
  • Serena
    Devoted October 2020
    Serena
    • Flag
    View Quoted Comment
    We thought about doing this! But I think itd be tough to find someone to travel 7 to 8 hours, plus we would have to pay for them a hotel room since our houses are full. Between their lodging and gas, we would be better off paying the 400+ for someone down here. Was def a thought though!
    • Reply
  • Serena
    Devoted October 2020
    Serena
    • Flag
    View Quoted Comment
    That's a really great idea! Thank you!
    • Reply
  • Serena
    Devoted October 2020
    Serena
    • Flag
    View Quoted Comment
    Part of me wants to look around, then the other part feels so bad. The girls are super cool and I loved my makeup last year. I feel like if I cancel their service on wedding day, I would have to cancel my haircut the day after as well. I'm too nice, ugh. I didn't want to use names, but that's the salon. I just don't think they're as experienced with my type of hair as what they are with others. Not that they're not a good salon. It feels like I'm the only one not having luck lol
    • Reply
  • Serena
    Devoted October 2020
    Serena
    • Flag
    $222 later, would you be disappointed? Hair 3
    Trial last year before the curls fell
    • Reply
  • Aida
    Devoted August 2020
    Aida
    • Flag

    Yeah, I wouldn't go back to the salon either. That's too much for almost no results. I'm sorry this is happening to you. i hope you can find resolution quickly and stressless.

    • Reply
  • Serena
    Devoted October 2020
    Serena
    • Flag
    The owner replied to my email yesterday. She said she was afraid of this happening which is why she said results weren't guaranteed. She told me to try curling it with heat protectant to see if my hair holds any better. Besides that, she said keep using curling product and to scrunch my hair. Well. Lesson learned..
    • Reply
  • Shana
    Savvy October 2020
    Shana
    • Flag
    View Quoted Comment

    If they were even iffy about this, they shouldn't have done it! OR at least give your money back. This isn't cool. I would find a different salon--there are plenty out there.


    Also for makeup, consider booking an appointment at MAC cosmetics or Sephora. they do a glam of a job, and you can't go wrong!

    HAve you tried considering a different hair style?! or are you set on curls?

    Best of luck dear!

    • Reply
  • Aimee
    Expert July 2021
    Aimee
    • Flag
    Nope, $200+ for that鈥檚 result is not good. I spent $200+ for highlights and the salon I went to damaged my hair. If they were not certain about the results they should have been upfront or try to fix it now
    • Reply

Comment on this discussion

×

Related articles