ROIA Restaurant Reviews

24 | New Haven, CT
See photos, pricing and details

24 Reviews for ROIA Restaurant

Recommended by 100%

24
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

3 User photos

ROIA Restaurant 1
ROIA Restaurant 2
ROIA Restaurant 3
Sort by:
  • Stacey

    Stacey Cala · Married on 05/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    ROIA provided the perfect wedding with a romantic ambiance and amazing food

    While researching a location for our wedding, we knew we did not want a traditional wedding hall. Excellent food and ambiance was also a must. Deciding on ROIA was such an easy decision and they delivered! We had a small, family only wedding hosted on the upstairs balcony on the Saturday during Memorial Day weekend. The care and attention provided to us as a couple through the planning process was exceptional. As small as our wedding was, the details and time ROIA put into making sure our day was perfect, did not go un-noticed. We felt a great connection to married owners Avi and Meera, and they understood the importance of making our night so special. The restaurant itself is so visually stunning with the grand high ceilings, original columns, and molding throughout, with a true feeling of romance. There is no comparison of this kind to any other spot in New Haven. ROIA made sure that we were cared for and that the whole evening flowed seamlessly. Our family was blown away by the beauty of ROIA, the food, and the drinks. We will forever be grateful to the ROIA team for making our special day so perfect. We can’t wait to come back for anniversaries, special occasions, or any random day to reminisce of our wedding night.

    Sent on 06/11/2019
    ROIA Restaurant 4
    ROIA Restaurant 5
    ROIA Restaurant 6
  • M

    Melissa Branco · Married on 12/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautifully Unique Wedding Venue

    We are thrilled with how our wedding turned out at ROIA. As soon as we saw the space, we were in love! The architecture, marble and gold chandeliers added to the romantic feel of our wedding. Our guests raved about how delicious the food was and how attentive the servers were. Everyone felt cared for. Aside from the beauty of the venue, the event coordinator, Shannon, is out of this world! Shannon was very responsive, helped us with so many decisions and was super patient and supportive throughout the process. She understood our vision for the wedding and executed it magnificently on the day of. ROIA is a gem in the heart of downtown New Haven and I would recommend it to anyone looking for something other than a traditional banquet hall!

    Sent on 01/05/2019

    ROIA Restaurant's reply:

    Hi Melissa! It was an absolute pleasure to work with you and Robert! You're an amazing couple and wish you the best. Come visit us soon!
  • M

    Margot · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Roia's was amazing from the beginning ( first started the process in January of 2018 ) to the end ( dinner August 2018). As the Mother of the Groom, I wanted to help relieve as much stress as possible for the couple so I volunteered to find a variety of venues for the rehearsal dinner. The couple gave me an idea of what they were looking for: romantic vibe, great food, private and easily accessible but most importantly they needed a place that would cater to the needs of the bride ( shellfish allergies) and the needs of the flower girl and ring bearer Severe Gluten allergies with no possibility of cross-contamination! After contacting a variety of restaurants in the New Haven area asking them a plethora of questions regarding our allergy concerns I felt most secure and confident that Roia's was our choice! Shannon English, Roia's event planner was amazing from day one in helping us plan the event and meal, communicating via email, phone calls and text any time there was a concern or question. I can't say enough about the care that was taken by both Shannon, the second event planner Meera, and the entire staff from the kitchen to the servers. Now about the evening. We had reserved the upper level for the dinner which allowed us to have our own bathrooms, an elevator ( which was needed by a guest) our own bar and our own kitchen where the meal was prepared( lessening the chance of cross-contamination) There were a total of 30 attendees for our dinner. Not 15 minutes into the cocktail hour I was approached by many of our guests how incredible the hors d'oevres were. The favorite of all the guest, including the 5-year-old ring bearer was the lamb chop lollipops. As the evening progressed the food and the service continued to be outstanding, meeting all of our needs and expectations! From start to finish everything we asked about and for was provided with the utmost care and professionalism, we were never disappointed!

    Sent on 08/30/2018
  • Sierra

    Sierra · Married on 08/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful!

    We were so happy to celebrate our wedding at ROIA, and we would recommend it 1000 times over! First, the restaurant is absolutely gorgeous. It has style and class all on its own, which meant that we didn't have to worry about decorations or small details and were able to focus on the aspects of the wedding that meant the most for us (the food). Once we walked into ROIA at the start of our cocktail hour and saw the art deco lights on, the linens laid out, and bud vases on the tables, we were stunned at the beauty of the space. It looks great in pictures, but even better in person. Second, the food was fantastic, and the chefs and events manager worked with us to create a dining experience that satisfied vegans and meat-lovers alike. We had some high-level ideas for the menu and let the chefs at ROIA guide us from there. This turned out to be an excellent decision, because if you are having your wedding at a restaurant, you obviously care about the quality and creativity of the menu. As it turned out, the tasting was one of our best memories from the entire wedding planning process. The chefs had listened to our ideas and what was important to us (sustainable meat choices, vegan options, etc.) and prepared several options for us to enjoy and choose from. We walked away from the tasting confident that we had made the right decision about hosting our wedding at ROIA. Finally, the staff is expert. When we had a goal or problem that we didn't know how to achieve or solve, the events manager always had a solution for us. ROIA was organized, responsive, and helpful as we planned our party. During the reception, our guests were treated with respect and care. They walked away at the end of the night so impressed with the food, the space, and the service. We have high expectations in all areas of life (seriously, really high expectations), but we didn't have a single complaint about the planning experience or the terrific party we had at ROIA.

    Sent on 10/26/2018
  • David

    David Norman-Schiff · Married on 06/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Venue, Terrific Staff, and Amazing Food

    ROIA was the perfect spot for our wedding, and we can’t say enough good things about this wonderful restaurant/venue and its incredible staff. There were 100 guests at our wedding, and we did the whole affair at ROIA: ceremony, cocktail hour, plated dinner, and dancing with a live band. It all flowed smoothly and worked well for our needs, but the space would be equally good for a bigger or smaller event. And did we mention that the space is jaw-dropping?! From the ornate ceiling to wood-and-marble bar to the original tile flooring, the whole space is classy and beautiful (makes for great photos!). You don’t need anything more than simple flowers to make the space “wedding ready”; it has so much character and beauty on its own. The team at ROIA—Avi, Meera, and Shannon—is truly a pleasure to work with. They are professionals who are creative, organized, kind, attentive, and responsive. We wanted a pescatarian wedding, and Avi (Executive Chef) and his team did wonders within those confines. They created several delicious appetizers and three terrific main dishes: one fish, one vegetarian, and one vegan. Each dish was a true work of art. A number of guests said it was the best food they had ever had at a wedding (even some people who would normally order a meat dish!). We could go on and on, but bottom line is that ROIA is an extraordinary restaurant and a wonderful venue for a wedding or other event.

    Sent on 11/11/2018
  • N

    Nick · Married on 12/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Avi and Meera, the owners of ROIA, provided an absolutely perfect experience from start to finish. We met Avi when we came in for our first dinner at the restaurant, and he was lovely to talk to even before we mentioned we were looking for a wedding venue. Throughout our planning process, ROIA's experience hosting five star weddings was evident. They always offered us options to make the event exactly the way we wanted, but they also always provided a recommendation from their personal experience to help guide us to planning a great event. Besides the fabulous owners, the stars of ROIA are the gorgeous space itself -- it's the elegant bar of the historic Taft Hotel -- and THE FOOD. We knew how good the appetizers and entrees are when dining on a regular night at ROIA, and Avi provided our 130 guests with exactly the same quality meal right on cue at our wedding. Our friends and family were raving about the quality of both the meat and fish dishes, saying it was a true fine dining, restaurant experience, which is so uncommon with big weddings! We could not be happier with our experience hosting our wedding ceremony and dinner at ROIA Restaurant, and we look forward to visiting the restaurant regularly in the future.

    Sent on 01/05/2018
  • Rachel

    Rachel · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding reception at ROIA was absolutely fabulous - If my fiancé and I did this all over again, we’d honestly do it exactly the same!! Being New Haven locals and dining at ROIA on a regular basis, we already knew about the fantastic food and impeccable service. So when it came to choosing a reception venue, ROIA seemed like the perfect choice.
    Not only is the décor breath-taking but, more importantly, our guests have not stopped raving about the food! Chef Avi is amazing to work with and helped us create an unforgettable six course dinner menu with a wonderfully complementary selection of wines. And let’s not forget the array of hors d'oeuvres (all of which were amazing!) or the late-night house-made fries passed around after dinner (a delight to many guests).
    The event package and pricing options are very reasonable, and as we learned, completely customizable. Whether you’d prefer an intimate dinner in the balcony or rent out the entire restaurant for a lavish celebration – the choice is yours. Working with Nicole, the restaurant’s event manger, is a dream! From the beginning of the planning process right up to the end of the big night, she was always there for us – whether it be answering one of our million questions, or helping to bustle my gown when my MOH couldn’t be found. If you want to spoil your guests (and yourselves) ROIA really is the natural choice. Thank you ROIA for such a perfect celebration!

    Sent on 06/29/2017
  • S

    Scott · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    ROÌA provided a truly wonderful setting for our wedding reception. The food was delicious, the space was the spectacular, and the staff were warm, professional and efficient. Leading up to the event, the owners Avi and Meera and the event manager Nicole were incredibly helpful and responsive to any questions that we had. We're grateful to have had ROÌA host such an unforgettable evening!

    Sent on 08/03/2017
  • S

    Sara · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nicole was absolutely wonderful in helping plan our wedding. The venue is beautiful, and many guests commented that the food was the best food they've ever had at a wedding. https://www.chensleyphotography.com/blogz/2017/6/12/s-ks-yale-roa-new-haven-wedding

    Sent on 06/14/2017
  • E

    Emma · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't imagine a more perfect wedding reception venue than Roia! We had it in our heads that we wanted some kind of outdoor-barn-type wedding, but I'm so glad that we came upon Roia instead--it was magical, and completely unique. The space is incredible (especially when filled with flowers and candles and string lights), with an open second floor (where we sat our friends) that looks down onto the first floor, where we sat the "grown-ups." The dance floor was upstairs, bars on both floors, and we comfortably fit about 170 guests. Nicole and Avi and their staff were incredibly helpful and attentive to detail throughout the whole process, from our super fun tasting, right through to the specialty cocktail they came up with for us. And the food was AMAZING--our guests were raving about it! I wish we could relive this day--but we'll settle with returning to the restaurant for anniversary dinners to come. Thank you, Roia!

    Sent on 06/07/2017
  • W

    William · Married on 04/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a post-wedding supper at ROIA and couldn't be happier with the service, the food, and the venue. Their event staff made planning a 60-person dinner an absolute breeze. I was particularly struck by how kind and hospitable their employees were. Previously, my wife and I enjoyed having dinner and cocktails at ROIA and we look forward to seeing them again soon.

    Sent on 04/26/2016
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My daughter and her husband were married in New Haven, CT last weekend at Yale University and the reception was held in the elegant ROIA Restaurant, nearly adjacent to the campus.

    This sophisticated venue exceeded all of our expectations! The setting is both romantic and elegant and the Balcony is the ideal venue for an intimate wedding reception. Exceptional!!

    The owners, Meera and Avi, are most gracious and exhibited the utmost care and concern throughout the entire process. Meera had wonderful ideas for the reception and was in constant contact throughout the planning process. Avi created the perfect menu for our celebration. The hors d’oeuvres, the wines, the entrees and desserts were superb! The entire planning process was smooth and seamless.

    Thank you to Meera and Avi for EVERYTHING they did to make the wedding such a wonderful success! The Bride and Groom have not stopped talking about “their absolutely perfect wedding”. The guests have been raving about ROIA -- the food, the exquisite venue and the outstanding service. You two made the newlyweds so very happy and they leave New Haven with special memories that will last a lifetime!

    Sent on 10/14/2015
  • T

    Taber · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I met in New Haven and we knew that we wanted our wedding reception to be in a special place somewhere in the Elm City. We also knew the location needed to accommodate a fairly large group for dinner (we had 180 guests). After considering several other options in New Haven, we quickly realized that we had overlooked one of New Haven's most treasured buildings, the old Taft Hotel, which is now ROÌA restaurant. The space is gorgeous with its high ceilings and restore architecture. It immediately spoke to the type of reception that we were looking to have to celebrate with our family and friends.

    Working with the owners of ROIA, Meera and Avi, was such a pleasure because they were so genuinely invested in making our day so special. They were instrumental in helping us come up with a delicious menu that accommodated a range of palates. Meera also played a key role in helping us keep the evening running smoothly. She and the ROÌA staff were all so attentive to our needs before and during the reception. It was truly an unforgettable evening for my husband and I as well as our guests. To this day our family and friends rave about our reception at ROÌA. Some stating that it was by far the best wedding they have ever attended.

    I highly recommend ROÌA ! Meera, Avi, and the ROÌA staff are top notch!

    Sent on 12/15/2015
  • User4912922 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough great things about ROIA and the amazing wedding reception we had there! The "private dining balcony" is just exquisite. The food was amazing and our guests are still raving about it! The staff were incredible -- so professional and accommodating. I would highly recommend ROIA for your wedding!! It was a truly unique experience for our guests and we couldn't be happier with how everything went. Thank you Meera and Avi!

    Sent on 07/16/2015
  • User4017050 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Roia is an amazing spot for a rehearsal dinner in New Haven. We had the entire top floor which overlooks the restaurant on a Friday night. It's so beautiful inside. The upstairs has a private bar, bathroom, and elevator. It was not noisy at all which I was originally afraid of experiencing. They allow us to go in early to set up gift and little table favors prior to our guests arriving. Also, they gave us different meal options and even other options when we asked. The staff was spot on and really catered to our family and friends. The food and drinks were perfect and everyone enjoyed themselves. My husband and I plan on visiting for dinner next time we are in town.

    Sent on 07/07/2015
  • J

    Jaclyn · Married on 09/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Service and dinner was impeccable. I will go back again and again. I highly recommend this location for any event big or small. You can find street parking or park in nearby lots.

    Sent on 09/28/2014
  • User4574589 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our rehearsal diner for 140 people at ROIA this fall. It was a huge success! the event could not have gone more smoothly. The professionalism and competence of the staff was outstanding. Not only did everything we planned happen as planned, but the staff stepped in whenever an unanticipated need arose. For example, in giving toasts the Master of Ceremony kept putting down her champagne glass to hold the microphone. The staff made sure when it was time for the actual raising of the glass, they handed it to her at just the right time.

    From the beginning, the passing of the hors d'ouevres and bar service were excellent. Everything went according to plan and required no supervision. The food was excellent - everyone raved - the beautiful fresh salad, the lovely pasta, and chicken and grilled vegetables, and the scrumptious chocolate pave dessert. In planning this event, the restaurant's event planner was exceptional - organized, detail oriented, pleasant, flexible, responsible and wonderful to work with. She made the planning process fun and as low stress as possible. When we wanted an audio/visual capability, she arranged it and found very competent people to provide it. When we wanted a videographer, she put us in touch with someone who gave us a referral. It was such a pleasure to work with someone who was so responsive to our questions and needs but who also thought of details that we would have missed.

    Obviously, we give ROIA the highest recommendation - for our party,the food, the staff and the service all lived up to the special and extraordinary beauty of = the space itself.

    Sent on 11/27/2014
  • User4122625 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am shocked that more people are not considering Roìa for their wedding day. In my mind, there is no better place to have a wedding in New Haven--especially if you are going for a smaller-sized wedding (ours was about 50 people, although the space can accommodate many more).

    Here are the two big reasons why:

    1) The space! It screams wedding. The owners of Roìa restored many of the architectural details from when it was the lobby of the old Taft Hotel. These historic details are front and center in their private space. Overall, it creates a sense of elegance and class that you are not getting at your typical reception hall (I am looking at you Union League Cafe and Lawn Club). When I look at our photos from the day, they are like something out of a movie. Truly incredible.

    2) The people! What better way is there to get married than have a married couple lead you through the process? Meera and Avi (director of operations and head chef) are perfect together in both their personal and professional lives. Roìa is their project together and when you come to them to have your wedding there, they are fully and personally invested in making your wedding perfect. We immediately felt that we could trust them--and that feeling of trust is something that is so important, but is often discounted or goes unmentioned. I say this because our comfort with them really carried through to the whole experience. Before our wedding, I kept being asked by friends, family, and co-workers if I was stressed, and I had to admit (with some embarrassment) that no, I wasn't! I knew that they were going to make sure that every detail was as we wanted it from the food and drinks to the menu design and flowers. They fulfilled 100% and their wait staff was professional and did an excellent job.

    The sum: we had a perfect wedding day at Roìa, the planning process was smooth and easy, and I cannot recommend them highly enough.

    Sent on 07/21/2014
  • T

    Tom · Married on 05/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently held our wedding reception for approximately 150 guests at
    Roia in May of 2014, and could not have been happier. We were looking
    for a venue that was unique, but also classic and timeless. We also
    wanted to work with a venue that was flexible and accommodative. Roia
    and its staff went well beyond our expectations.

    Meera and Avi (events coordinator and head chef, respectively) were
    both incredibly helpful throughout the entire process. They were
    extremely receptive to all of our ideas and requests, and worked with
    us to set a menu of incredible dishes that fell within our budget.
    They also helped us with all aspects of planning, helping us design
    menus, seating charts, and all of the little things you never think of
    before planning a wedding. Meera also proved invaluable throughout the
    night, coordinating each stage of the reception and helping us keep
    track of time.

    We received nothing but good feedback from all of our guests. Everyone
    was impressed with the food, the service, and the overall atmosphere
    throughout the night. We highly recommend Roia as a wedding venue and
    encourage anyone looking in the area to have the same great experience
    as us!

    Sent on 07/19/2014
  • J

    John · Married on 04/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a small ceremony at a nearby venue, followed by a luncheon at ROIA. There was a larger reception that evening. As soon as we got engaged we knew we wanted to hold our wedding luncheon at ROIA. The staff could not have been more gracious, responsive, and helpful. They became members of our extended family. The setting of the restored dining room of the Taft Hotel--with its elaborate moldings and soaring windows--made a perfect backdrop. Chef Avi worked with us to craft a menu that expressed our personalities. He was thoughtful enough to ask what would be served at the evening event, so his meal would seamlessly mesh with the larger event. General manager Justin worked hard to select the perfect wines. Our friends are foodies and my family is involved in the restaurant world, so we warned Avi and Justin that they had their work cut out for them, but they rose to the occasion and were inventive in their selections. Chef Avi even concocted a non-wedding cake: the most extraordinary apricot and blackberry galette. Event coordinator Meera made sure that the event kept to our budget and that every detail was attended to. The luncheon at ROIA remains a highlight of a day filled with highlights.

    Sent on 08/05/2014
  • User4180822 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the honor of being the first seated dinner wedding reception hosted at ROIA. Meera and Avi were great planning partners and were fully invested in bringing our vision for the cocktail hour and reception into reality. They took time to meet with us on numerous occasions during the planning process and to respond to our questions via email.

    The interior of the restaurant is stunning and strongly played into our decision to have our winter wedding reception at ROIA. The restaurant layout yields a non-traditional approach to seating and we (and our guests!) loved the unique nature of it.

    As foodies, we wanted to provide a special culinary experience for our guests. We agree with the New York Times - the food is "excellent!" Avi and his team did not sacrifice any quality in their preparation of hors d'oeuvres, appetizers, entrees, and desserts for 175 guests. In the weeks following the wedding, we received fantastic feedback regarding the food at our wedding reception.

    The food, waitstaff, and space were all spot-on and helped make the reception a unique and incredible event for all attendees. Many thanks to Meera, Avi, Justin, Christina and the entire ROIA staff for helping make our reception such a great success!

    Sent on 07/29/2014
  • L

    Liz · Married on 10/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    ROIA is a thoroughly modern restaurant in a beautiful, carefully renovated space with restored historic details. And, of course, the food is excellent.

    We hosted our rehearsal dinner here with a party of about 30 on the second floor mezzanine which overlooks the main dining area. After a delicious dinner, the space was easily converted from an intimate setting for dinner to a larger pre-wedding get-together of about 100 additional guests for drinks and dessert. It was a beautiful way to begin enjoying the wedding weekend!

    Planning for the event went very smoothly; Meera and Avi helped us find the perfect combination of entrees, desserts and wine that would meet our budgetary and celebratory needs! The space is also very impressive, and many of our guest commented on how beautiful it was and how it added to the celebratory feel. The staff did an excellent job setting up our different small tables of gift bags, guest book, and other odds and ends. We didn't even have to think about it, and it looked great!

    Thanks so much to ROIA for helping to create wonderful memories on the night before our wedding. This space should be used by anyone wanting to have a wedding celebration in New Haven! The owners are professional and passionate about their restaurant, their food, and provide the highest quality service. We couldn't offer a higher recommendation.

    Sent on 01/03/2015
  • User4302800 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There were so many incredible parts of hosting our wedding reception at ROIA, it's hard to know where to start.

    We chose ROIA because we couldn't find a caterer that we thought could create a farm-to-table dining experience for our nearly 200 guests that was EXTRAORDINARY... and VEGAN:) After all, in our experience, the bigger the party, the lesser quality the food. Our community is a foodie community - they care about the quality of food, wine, beer. Avi and Meera were able to exceed all our expectations in every food and drink category, from homemade sorbets to crunchy and juicy bruchetta, full bodied wines and local beers. We couldn't have been happier with the food and drink.

    The venue itself is stunning - high ceilings, classy tables, a perfect combination of romantic and exciting. We were able to have the dance party upstairs for our wild friends, and the conversations downstairs for our older friends and family. Folks danced for a while upstairs, then took a break downstairs and then went up again to boogie some more. The venue was a perfect mix of relaxing and partying.

    The servers and staff treated all our guests like royalty. And Avi and Meera treated my then fiancee and me like the most important and special guests they had ever had. Everything we dreamed of, Avi and Meera helped us achieve, and within our budget. We had numerous tastings and meetings the year before the wedding so that when the day arrived, we were clear about our vision and able to realize it fully at ROIA.

    I cannot recommend ROIA highly enough for a classy and remarkable experience all around. The best part is that our family and friends go back and eat at ROIA all the time now - and every time we are reminded of the exhilarating evening and are grateful to have had it there.

    Sent on 08/05/2014
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 11/04/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    What an amazing venue that provided us with a spectacular wedding! My husband and I were married at ROIA in November 2017. As locals, we had visited the restaurant a few times for brunch and absolutely loved the classic, Gatsby vibe it gives. After booking ROIA for a full buy-out, we experienced the best care in the hands of Avi, Meera, Nicole, and Shannon. From the insanely impressive tasting, to the communication, to the day-of attentiveness and seamless organization, ROIA certainly helped us and our guests enjoy an evening full of class, professionalism, fun, and, most importantly, unforgettable food. Our friends and family traveled from London, New Orleans, NYC, San Francisco, and locally to celebrate with us. Months later, we're so happy to still hear our family and friends rave about the amazing food and ambiance at ROIA. We will definitely be back for dinner! Highly recommended for a unique experience, especially if your tribe is a group of foodies!

    Sent on 05/19/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review