Weddings

Oliva on the Hill Reviews

Oliva on the Hill

Oliva on the Hill

Saint Louis, MO
Rating 4.7 out of 5, 9 Reviews
View more information

9 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 9

2 User photos

Sort by:
  • Martha
    Martha A. Married on 09/09/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Day! Wish we could do it all over again!

    My daughter and her now husband had their wedding at Oliva on the Hill in September 2019. Being a typical MOB, I wanted to make sure the wedding was everything the bride and groom wanted. The professional staff at Oliva totally understood this and went out their way to make the wedding a perfect day. The staff responded to each food, decoration, and program request (and I had many) quickly and positively. Every wedding is special and unique and Alaynne, Lennis, Chef Lisa, and Ed made sure this special and unique day was memorable from the first day of planning to the carrying the gifts to the car at the end of the evening. Renting the Oliva Lofts above the venue was the icing on the cake - giving the family a place to celebrate before and after the event. And the most important part of the experience - truly I have never seen my darling daughter and her sweet husband happier!
  • User2209514 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We just had our wedding reception here in May. Oliva did an amazing job. It was stress free. All we had to do was pick out the menu and everything else was pretty much taken care of. The food was amazing and so was the staff. May guests commented that the staff was very friendly and helpful. Couldn't have asked for a more perfect venue!
  • S
    Andie Married on 09/18/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Absolutely beautiful venue! The food, catered by Catering St. Louis, was fabulous! We received numerous compliments on both. We had our ceremony and reception at Oliva and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for the perfect, intimate setting.
  • N
    Nicole Married on 11/06/2011
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Oliva on the Hill is an exquisite venue. They give you the option of having an outdoor or indoor wedding. You get to book the entire building and they have a huge brides room. They are somewhat pricey but it is worth it. We got so many compliments on the place and our photographer was in heaven!
  • M
    Mary Married on 05/19/2012
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What a perfect venue! We had an event coordinator who was flexible and kept in touch during the planning process. The venue feels like a small vineyard in Nappa. We had the ceremony outside and the reception indoors and out. Everyone raved about the food and venue. Couldn't have asked for more!
  • L
    Lynda Married on 09/09/2017
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    The most amazing and romantic venue for a wedding!
  • T
    Allison Married on 10/02/2010
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    We absolutely loved Oliva. It may look a little rough on the outside because it's right next to the Kingshighway bridge on the Hill and accross from a large warehouse type building, but it's really gorgeous on the inside. Like a Tuscan villa tucked away in the heart of St. Louis. The colors and decorating are wonderful. We hardly had to bring any decorations in apart from a few flowers for the dining tables! And, actually, I loved the combination of its industrial outside and cute inside. It made for some really neat photos.

    The space has a dining room, a sort of all-purpose indoor gathering room with a bar, and an outside courtyard also with a bar. We held our ceremony in the courtyard, which was the perfect size for our small-ish 100 person wedding and really beautiful. The photos on Oliva's website are really accurate in how sweet it is. (Also, every photographer we interviewed got really excited when we told them we were using Oliva. They all really wanted to shoot there!) We then had a buffet dinner inside in the lovely dining room and people mingled both inside and outside after dinner. Oliva made the music really easy. We had a live band outside and a iPod playlist going inside, but we could have hooked up an iPod playlist for both areas. Oh, also there's this cute little suite of rooms upstairs that the wedding party can use to change or whatever throughout the night.

    I would say that the only issue with Oliva is that they weren't very flexible on when you can get into the venue before the event. So if you are a DIY bride and planning on putting up a lot of your own decorations, you might run into trouble getting in early in the morning to set up. Also, this venue is run by Catering St. Louis, so you have to use them as your caterer in order to book the venue for the reception. We were fine with that, but Catering St. Louis can be a little bit more expensive than some of the other catering companies in St. Louis and it could certianly be a factor the decision. However, here I am revieweing only the venue, not the caterer (which definitely affects the value for cost rating).

    Basically, we fell in love with this gorgeous little venue. For a smaller wedding (150 or less probably) it's just perfect. It's so intimate and cozy. Everyone loved it and the photos came out wonderfully.
  • LaurenKatz
    Lauren Married on 05/22/2010
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Excellent experience!
  • N
    Nicole Married on 09/02/2012
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Oliva on the Hill was the most beautiful venue I could've asked for. The staff was helpful especially the wedding planner and wedding coordinator.