Liz Duren Photography Reviews

56 | Charleston, SC
See photos, pricing and details

56 Reviews for Liz Duren Photography

Recommended by 100%

56
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • P

    Julie · Married on 11/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely love Liz and her husband for making our day magical. Liz also did out engagement pictures and they were just as beautiful. Liz is an absolute delight to work with and truly knows her photography! I was very laid back, but I only asked for one special picture of my dad's flag - she not only captured it she made sure it was incorporated in our pictures. It meant the world to me. Just let her creativity go to work and you will be amazed with what she returns. Thank you so much for capturing our day in every way possible!
    Her husband Rob was our DJ! It was nice only having to work with one vendor for both items. Rob had a great play list and kept me on tract to remember what I forgot! He is just as professional and we had a great time with him. They both make it very simple when life can gets a bit hectic! I highly recommend this couple to handle your photography and DJ - you will not be disappointed!!

    Sent on 11/28/2016
  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love, love, love Liz! I chose Liz as our photographer after seeing the completed product from a friend's wedding. After looking at my friend's photos, and at Liz's website, social medical, etc., I thought I had a good idea of what to expect, but WOW - she really blew our expectations out of the water! Our wedding photos turned out better than I could have ever imagined! She captured everything so very beautifully, and was able to photograph details that I completely missed on wedding day - and she did most of this without me even knowing! She was in no way the type of photographer who was constantly pulling us away to get "still shots", but instead, "action shots" of the day truly unfolding. Every time I look at our wedding album, I relive the day over-and-over. Thank you, Liz! We will always cherish these beautiful moments thanks to you!

    Sent on 10/14/2016

    Liz Duren Photography's reply:

    Katie!!!!! You are SO WELCOME. I was so happy to be apart of your beautiful wedding. You and Tom are the cutest couple and I know you have many happy years ahead of you! ..LIz
  • B

    Breana · Married on 08/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Once my husband and I decided on Charleston as the destination for our wedding, we knew instantly that we had to book Liz as our wedding photographer. We first met Liz on a trip to Charleston, pre-engagement, and we took her photo walking tour of the city. In that experience, Liz was so down-to-earth and she made me completely fall in love with the city of Charleston, we also got a preview her photographic work and were thoroughly impressed. Liz was so quick to respond and easy to coordinate with throughout the planning process. On the day of the wedding, Liz showed up promptly with her second shooter, the lovely Daphne, and took creative shots that truly captured the spirit of our event along with all of the small details that us brides spend months pining over. When I look through our photos, I feel as though I'm reliving the day which is great because it all goes by so fast! Liz also gave us a quick turnaround time on the photos, we had them within less than 2 weeks! We are so happy with how our wedding photos came out, we have received numerous compliments on how beautiful they were. For the quality of work and service she provided at such a reasonable price, I would absolutely choose Liz as our wedding photographer again!

    Sent on 10/06/2016
  • B

    Brian · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz and her assistant Steve were beyond amazing! They are local to the Charleston, SC area (bonus for supporting local businesses!), and with our venue in particular, so the logistics almost wrote themselves. While they were there and ready with their own ideas for what would make our photos spectacular, they were also very interested in what WE thought. As the wedding party was getting ready, they made sure to get "before" shots of just about everything and everyone--flowers, rings, attendants, the happy couple. They even helped us get our favors down to the reception site so that we wouldn't have to stop preparations.

    Their coverage of our wedding was pretty seamless--they blended into the background and truly captured what was going on, but they were there for every must-have group photo we requested. They also assisted me with a little surprise for my partner, helping me arrange a surprise prop and group arrangement. Very soon after our wedding we received online access followed shortly by a flash drive with all of OUR (yep, they gave us all the rights of usage INCLUDED photos. The number and variety of shots (some color and greyscale of the same picture) ensured that we had plenty of tangible memories from the big day. We are currently working with Liz to finalize our wedding album, and I fully expect this process to be as smooth and easy as the rest of her service has been. Do yourself a favor: unload some of the stress of wedding planning and execution and book Liz Duren as your photographer!

    Sent on 10/11/2016
  • Kelly Watson

    Kelly · Married on 03/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't even fully put into words how thankful my husband and I are to have had Liz Duren Photography take our engagement and wedding photos. She was always quick to respond to any email requests we had, always super professional and generally she is a great human being. We are so lucky we had the opportunity to have her share in our wedding day. We plan on coming back to Charleston annually with the hopes Liz will be able to continue to document our lives!

    Thank you so much Liz for everything you did! I look forward to seeing your creative brilliance come to life!!!

    Kelly and Asvin

    Sent on 03/30/2016
  • K

    Katie · Married on 03/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the engagement pictures, to the bridal portraits, to the wedding day Liz did an amazing job. She does a great job of truly capturing the moment. I became very discouraged when searching for a photographer because I couodnt find what I was looking for. The minute I met Liz I knew she was the one. Her personality and pictures are wonderful. She is very flexible and easy to work with. All of my pictures turned out great and I would highly recommend her!!!

    Sent on 04/05/2016
  • J

    Java · Married on 01/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz was absolutely amazing when it came to our outdoor dream wedding in downtown Historic Charleston, which is definitely her forte. She was so flexible & willing to photograph for us at a short notice. We actually decided to change our wedding plans to accommodate our busy schedule for 2016. We decided we wanted downtown Charleston on New Years Day. I definitely wanted beautiful shots of all the charm White Point Gardens & the surrounding Battery had to offer. Liz owns a walking tour company & her photos are gorgeous on her site. She met with us on a Sunday afternoon (talk about flexible) at a Starbucks and was very open and energetic about our vision of vintage glam. As our day approached, the forecast took a dramatic turn from 70-80 degree sunshine to a 90 percent chance of rain. She assured me that no matter what the weather would be she was ready to have a great time shooting! On our big day she & her assistant were already in position when my limo arrived at the pavilion. I had expressed a concern in our initial meeting of having too many "posed" shots. You know arm in arm, looking at the camera..1...2...3. Liz said don't worry, I won't know she's there most of the time. That's exactly how it was. She effortlessly wove in & out of our event capturing charming shots of my family & friends around the pavilion. She even had met with Pam of Holy City Doves to coordinate shots of the dove release before the ceremony began, that in itself showed professionalism and desire to make the most of the event for everyone involved. My mother has an illness & hates to be photographed. I worried how she would respond with Liz photographing. When I received my daintily packaged photo flash drive, my mouth dropped. I could not believe I had some of the endearing moments caught on camera. I am 33 years old & Liz is the first person ever to catch my mom & I in photos together & in such a beautiful & artistic way. We love Liz & the 10/10 quality work she did!!

    Sent on 01/20/2016
  • N

    Nat · Married on 12/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Two for two! My first daughter's wedding five years ago, my younger daughter's wedding just before Christmas. Liz Duren aced the assignment again! Absolutely gorgeous and fantastic shots of my daughter Sami and her husband Steve and all the friends, family, and fun! Exquisitely composed indoor and outdoor images based on scouting the perfect spots and getting the best natural light--even on the shortest day of the year! Not only can Liz compose the perfect shot with poses that don't look "posed," she also has the rare talent to anticipate the action and capture that special quicksilver moment in a heartbeat. Her ability to hit the ground running, her spontaneity, and her knack for finding totally unique angles and frames, are what make Liz Duren the best wedding photographer not only in Charleston, but anywhere. She is also one of the nicest people around, with an engaging personality that helps her fit in and mingle with the crowd. Neither bossy nor intrusive, Liz does her homework and makes visual memories that will truly be talked about and cherished. She also gets big bonus points for the photos she snapped that made Dear Old Dad look, well, unusually dashing. Not an easy feat by any means!

    Sent on 01/07/2016
  • User5631872 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz is so wonderful! She did our engagement photos (go on her tour of charleston!!) and we had to have her do our wedding. We were an out of town couple, but Liz made things very easy and stress free for pictures. We did first look and she took us downtown charleston and taking pictures were a dream. She definitely had a plan, which was great because she did not waste any time and she took so many pictures that a selection will not be a problem. She also would have moments when she was inspired by a building or lighting and took spur of the moment shots which were great! You will no go wrong booking Liz! Highly recommend!

    Sent on 11/20/2015
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz was excellent. We knew she was the right photographer for us once we spoke with her and reviewed some of her albums. Our wedding was postponed one day due to the storm but Liz (and her husband Rob as our DJ) were flexible and braved the storm the next day to ensure our wedding happened. We can't thank Liz enough. The pictures turned out great and we highly recommend her.

    Sent on 10/24/2015
  • B

    Brianna · Married on 09/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz, and her partner Steve, were ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! We haven't even gotten our pictures back yet, but I can already say with absolute certainty that we will love them. We have seen a handful and they are perfect. She knew it was important to me to have mostly candid shots, with many different backgrounds, that really captured the emotion behind the wedding. Even when I, the bride, and my bridesmaids were running late getting to the venue, she happily took the time to get the pictures I wanted. Instead of taking a ton of time right after the ceremony to get all of our pictures, she pulled us out a couple times throughout the night to get more variety: sunset pictures, full moon pictures, etc. (I had asked for this.. You could do it any way you'd like (:). She did everything we asked and more! I would absolutely recommend her to anyone looking for a professional yet fun, reasonable, and flexible wedding photographer. Thank you so much, Liz!

    Sent on 10/05/2015
  • C

    Christian · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could have written this review even before seeing all the final pictures. Liz did a fantastic job capturing all the moments and emotions of our big day; the album of photos truly does tell a wonderful story. Liz didn't just capture shots from the day, she captured the feeling behind them. During our portrait shoot out on the beach, I remember the moment when I saw Liz's passionate artistry come out. We really have a ton of artistic shots, some even look like they should be in a print ad for an Armani fragrance. Liz also captured the details of the day, from a shot of our little Yorkie puppy hanging out with the girls to the fine details of the decorations and flower bouquets. The album is truly a work of art.

    I cannot review Liz without mentioning her wonderful second photographer, Steve. I would highly recommend you to add Steve if you can afford it. Steve not only goes around taking complementary shots of the guests, but really helps Liz round up guest. During wedding party and family shots after the ceremony, Steve helps round up the appropriate members that are next in line for the photos. We were amazed how quickly we got through all the shots. And we don't mean that in a bad, rushed aspect, but solely based on a matter of efficiency. Weddings are loaded with things the bride and groom have to do and it's wonderful to get through things efficiently so you can get to what really matters, enjoying the night as the new Mr. and Mrs.

    Liz and Steve, we thank you for your professionalism and ability to blend in as family. We will never forget this day. How could we? Even when we are old and losing our memory, we will have these wonderful wedding pictures that captured the beauty, passion and emotion of our special day.

    100% recommend Liz Duren Photography. It will be money well spent. You cannot put a price on these memories.

    Warmest Regards,

    Christian & Ashley Czentye

    Sent on 10/02/2015
  • User5529680 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz Duren was such a pleasure to work with for our wedding! She made planning from out of state so easy! She was quick to respond to any questions we had, was flexible to meet up with us when we made a quick visit to Charleston, and was so professional and fun to work with the day of the wedding! It can sometimes be awkward to have a camera following you around, but Liz (and her assistant) made it enjoyable and, half of the time, we didn't even realize she was taking pictures! She had our images to us quickly and they all came out beautifully. We could not be more pleased! I highly recommend her for anyone who is looking for a photographer for their event!!

    Sent on 10/16/2015
  • E

    Emily · Married on 08/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz and her team are fantastic! Got some great shots and everything went smoothly! Made for much less stress!

    Sent on 10/13/2015
  • E

    Erin · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would 100% recommend Liz! She was so wonderful. Our pictures are AMAZING! You wouldn't know it was the hottest day in July. She was fantastic in helping to plan out our day as we had a break in between our ceremony and reception. I was referred to her from another photographer in Charleston, and am so glad we went with her. She was always available and had our pictures to us SOOO fast! I am in love with our pictures. She captured every detail of our reception. She also captured so many of our guests which I loved. You will not regret going with Liz Duren!

    Sent on 08/30/2015
  • B

    Brooke · Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz was amazingly efficient and full of great ideas. Everything was perfect with her and Steve both including responsiveness to all questions/concerns and getting our precious photos back to us asap! Perfect job!

    Sent on 09/07/2015
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 04/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz and Steve were amazing and a joy to work with. Everything turned out better than my husband and I could have ever imagined. I planned my Isle of Palms, SC wedding from New York State and Liz made everything easy. She made the wedding day a breeze! Her talent and experience is obvious. She was fun to work with and put my husband and I at ease. Our guests loved to work with Liz as well. She posted photos to social media in less than 24 hours! All of the photos turned out great and our friends (that couldn't travel for the wedding) are all raving about our photos and how much they wish she worked in New York State. We could not have asked for more! Would definitely recommend Liz :)

    Sent on 05/16/2015
  • User4939146 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz was absolutely wonderful!! I was planning my Charleston wedding from out of state and she was willing to do a phone interview so that I could get to know her before I made a decision. From the day we talked on the phone she was there to answer any questions that came up. On the day of my wedding she was a delight to work with. She gave great direction and I was never worried that I wouldn't LOVE all of the photos she shot. All of my wedding photos came out beautifully and I know that I will keep going to back to look at them over and over for the next 50 years.

    Sent on 04/03/2015
  • M

    Mikaela · Married on 01/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz is AMAZING!!!! She truly helped to make our day special. Her personality is a standout perk of her service and she is highly professional. And on top of that, most importantly, great pictures!
    My husband and I felt comfortable with her approach and she was very open to suggestions. She was quick and efficient but thorough. It is well noted that she took legitimate concern in our timing given all the aspects of the wedding.

    Sent on 03/07/2015
  • M

    Mark · Married on 01/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow! When I saw the images that Liz took of our wedding I was blown away by the way she captured the moment. I simply cannot imagine a better photographer for our wedding. She was thoughtful, professional and the turnaround time was incredibly quick. I am someone who does not like his picture taken and she even made me feel comfortable. She deserves every single star of the "5 star" ratings. I cannot say enough how absolutely thrilled that we chose Liz to be our wedding photographer. She is a class act and her photos are of a quality that would be hard to beat. I would recommend Liz to anyone who is looking for a wedding photographer who is friendly, creative and takes unforgettable photos!

    Sent on 01/06/2015
  • V

    Valerie · Married on 11/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz provided superior service and our wedding photos came out beautiful. She was a joy to work with and we felt extremely relaxed and comfortable throughout the process!

    Sent on 12/09/2014
  • User4100582 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz did a wonderful job at the wedding and with our engagement photos. She was very flexible with our time, very organized & professional. She worked with the photos that we wanted and had some wonderful ideas that turned out to be fabulous photos. She is very energetic, easy to spend the day with and I would highly recommend her for anyone looking for a great photographer.

    Sent on 12/09/2014
  • R

    Rachael · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz was an absolute joy to work with! My husband (yeah!) and I planned our entire wedding from over a 1,000 miles away and relied heavily on recommendations from other vendors and friends. We knew Liz would be a great fit for us from the first phone conversation. Liz not only planned our first look in the most amazing locations in downtown Charleston, she gave us an honest and accurate opinion of how long it would take to transport our wedding party to the location and get all the photos we needed. There is nothing better than having someone who knows exactly how much time will be needed to get the job done- especially on your wedding day! We are thrilled to have had the opportunity to have Liz share in our day and will cherish the amazing photographs she took forever!

    Sent on 11/12/2014
  • User4219390 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz is wonderful! She created effortlessly beautiful shots, and we all had fun working with her. She got the images back to us so quickly! We appreciate how efficient she was in getting all the family shots in before the reception. And she was so accommodating when my husband wanted a shot away from the reception. So fun, creative & talented!

    Sent on 07/07/2014
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz is absoltely amazing. So kind, creative, funny, and easy going. She made our engagement shoot, my bridal portraits, and the wedding day so much fun. She made us feel comfortable, like we had known her for years. We plan on using her for all future milestones. Highly, highly recommend her!

    Sent on 06/18/2014