Dark Roux Photography Reviews

16 | New Orleans, LA
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for Dark Roux Photography

Recommended by 99%

16
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • M

    Mike · Married on 03/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heather and Jamie were great. Our bride and groom were Special Needs adults and Dark Rouge was so patient and caring. They were able to realize the kids limitations and moods. Heather was able to convince the couple to take photos I never thought they would cooperate in doing. I can not recommend these people enough. Our reception was at Latrobes which is stunning but dark. They were able to light the guests and couples in photos without making the lighting look forced or too bright. The one thing we learned with this wedding is that you get what you pay for. They were only a little more than other photographers but we got a couple that gave us piece of mind during the planning and they produced excellent service on the wedding day.

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 03/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heather and Jamie are the best!! We first did engagement photos a few months prior to our wedding to get comfortable with the whole thing, and Heather couldn't have been more supportive and helpful!

    Our wedding was probably the most fun we've ever had, and Heather and Jamie were right along side to document it all. Our family photos were quick and easy, and they seemed to capture it all in just a few frames. Part of why we wanted Dark Roux to be a part of our day was because we LOVE capturing things that aren't staged, those moments that we'd want to remember - and I have no doubt that Heather and Jamie did just that.

    They are SO nice to work with, I can't recommend them highly enough!

  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jamie & Heather were absolutely amazing! They managed to wrangle together our wedding party for the staged photos and it only took a few snaps each time to get the shot (which is truly impressive); they also captured all of our special, tender moments when we didn't even know a camera was near us. Those shots are the ones that we'll cherish for years to come! They were true professionals, lovely to work with and the photos were perfection. I would hire these two again in a heart beat! My only regret is that I didn't have them shoot our rehearsal dinner as well :)

  • J

    Julie · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jamie and Heather make an awesome team! Our photos are breathtaking. They captured everything perfectly! They are simply the best! Thank you!

  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 03/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heather at dark roux is fantastic. Her pictures speak for themselves-- artistic, not forced,very cinematic, amazing use of light. But also, her energy and personality is who you want to spend the day with. The day went by so quickly, and I lost track of Heather and later wondered if we got enough pictures because she was so stealth about it. But the pictures are wonderful. She got every moment, some I forgot about. Yes, these guys are expensive, but this is something you need to splurge on. These guys are worth every penny.

  • User3842924 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Jamie at Dark Roux to shoot our March 2014 wedding in New Orleans and our pictures turned out lovely! He captured really amazing shots in a very artistic way. We had a Hindu wedding and Jamie did a great job of keeping up with the action even though I'm sure many of the rituals were new to him -- sign of a good photographer that he got great shots. Highly recommended!

  • User3997701 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jamie and Heather are an adorable team and were an absolute delight to have at our wedding! Not only are they individually so pro and talented behind the lens, but they have amazing energy and kept the process really fun and stress free. We were impressed from the start with a skype meeting and consultation, they were very thorough and wanted to get a genuine feel for who we are and whats important to us. We were also very appreciative for how generously flexible they were and willing to work with our tight budget. I just got the feeling being married and going through it themselves, they get it. Heather shot the ladies pre-festivities, keeping us relaxed and letting us do our thing and Jamie shooting portraits of the guys as they got ready. During the ceremony and reception they were a seamless team, shooting from different perspectives and getting full coverage of the night. As the bride, I had no idea how overwhelming and out of body the whole thing would be, so having the pictures to soak in the details is everything. I also had no idea as the bride there are moments where its just me hanging out by myself - because Im the last to walk down the aisle. I was SO grateful to have Heather there to keep my mind off my clammy hands and trembling bouquet. She was so awesome, relaxed, and completely on her toes to help. Unfortunately I don't live in New Orleans anymore so I cant use them for other events but all y'all in New Orleans I definitely would recommend working with these two gems. Plus, the proof is in the pudding (or in the roux?)! The pictures came out better than we ever imagined!!

    http://darkroux.com/new-orleans-wedding-photographer/page/9/

  • User2638475 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was just married in New Orleans a week ago and had a wonderful experience working with Heather and her assistant, Samantha. I'm sure I will do another post when I get the actual photographs but I just wanted to do a post based on how incredible they both were. My husband (plus our entire wedding party) felt so comfortable with both of these girls and thought they were both so easy to work with and so much fun. I met Jamie and Heather about three months ago and knew we had made the right decision choosing them to photograph our wedding. They are a fun loving couple with a real passion for what they do. Being an OOT bride everything I chose was based on reviews I read on The Knot and WeddingWire so I had to give a review for Dark Roux in case anyone was unsure whether to go with Dark Roux or not. So do it. :-)

  • M

    Michael · Married on 11/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jamie and Heather are, to put it as simply as possible, amazing! Amazing, amazing, and extra amazing! We honestly can not praise Dark Roux enough.

    Their portfolio, and photography work, is perfection.
    Their personalities are amazing.

    They take their time to really get to know you (in this case for our wedding), and are very personable. When we first met they took the time to chat with us in person, and even offered skype since we were an out of town couple! They treated us to a lovely snack, went over all the details and information they had to offer, and brought plenty of examples to show off not only their work but our final product. Just making us more and more comfortable in our choice.

    They find simple tricks to make you smile, and bring out the best in you for the camera. Making you extremely comfortable. Even the simple "poses" they put us in for our engagement photos didn't feel "posed" at all, nor look it in the end. It shows not only their truly unbelievable talent, but our comfort and personalities in the final pictures.

    During our wedding, aside from a few poses/set-ups we knew we'd have to be in, they were invisible. Blending into the crowd and only appearing during the minor flash of the camera. Making it extremely easy for us, and our guest, to go about our evening of visiting, eating, dancing, and just enjoying "our" night.

    Everything about Dark Roux was perfect, and we couldn't have asked for better photographers for our time.
    I don't care what you're planning, please, seriously... take the time to check them out on FB or via their website and I bet you'll be contacting them for a face to face to book them! We can't WAIT for the final product and after a 'sneak peak' we're already amazed at their talent!!

  • Heather

    Heather · Married on 03/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heather and Jamie of Dark Roux were so extremely awesome, it made me the happiest bride in NOLA! They had questionnaires for me to fill out so they would be well prepared about what exactly we wanted in our wedding photos. They were flexible, attentive, and an all around fun couple! My wedding photos look as though they came straight out of a magazine! These two really have an eye for beauty and they helped complete my vision for the wedding. The photos are romantic and intimate and it was all captured naturally by Dark Roux. Not to mention, the reasonable pricing and extremely quick turn around on being able to purchase and view the complete portfolio of the pictures from all the events (rehearsal dinner, ceremony and reception). We hope to work with them again soon.

  • R

    Russell · Married on 02/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jamie and Heather were AWESOME!!! They were totally helpful, had great ideas, and an amazing amount of talent! Being that we live in Los Angeles and work in the film industry we were more than a little particular about who would do the photography. We consider ourselves supremely lucky to have found Dark Roux... You simply could not get better photographers.

  • kim

    kim · Married on 07/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can I say about Heather and Jamie besides that they are amazing? They were affordable, yet they still took lots of amazing and interesting photos. We weren't restricted to traditional chapel photos. We took photos in the chapel, on the street, in our hotel. on TOP of our hotel, at the Carousel Bar, it was endless. They had lots of amazing ideas of ways to stand, the best angles, the best lighting ideas, and they were able to capture moments we can remember for the rest of our lives.

    They will keep you laughing and not only do they provide a great service at an unbelievable rate, but they can suggest wonderful places to eat and visit while you are in the area. I would change absolutely nothing about my wedding and a large part of that reason is because Heather and Jamie helped make it perfect for both my husband and I. He HATES to have his photo taken and he actually enjoyed it. The photos are priceless.

  • W

    Whitney · Married on 06/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dark Roux is a talented husband and wife team so you automatically get two photographers. They are professional and so much fun to work with. We have not had any professional photography sessions before, but Jamie and Heather made us feel so comfortable in front of the camera. They do such an amazing job at capturing the moment. We felt like we relived the wedding day while looking through the photos. My husband and I agree that this was the best decision we made throughout the planning process!

  • Chloe

    Chloe · Married on 10/20/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jamie and Heather undoubtedly have a gift for capturing the perfect moments! It's funny because our wedding guests couldn't stop talking about how they knew Jamie and Heather were there but they didn't know. Everyone kept joking about how they were ninjas after viewing our photos...lol! There was nothing intrusive about them and it allowed us to forget the cameras were there and to simply be ourselves. Our photographs are not only pictures but they convey emotions that makes one feel as if they were actually there with us. I can't begin to tell you how many people have shared this reality of their work with us. Jamie & Heather were so easy to work with and are absolute professionals. They are hands down the best in the business!

  • E

    Emily · Married on 11/05/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heather and Jamie of Dark Roux are fantastic. They are so friendly and fun that we immediately felt comfortable and had a blast taking our engagement pictures. During the wedding they managed to capture all the important moments and focussed on the fun everyone was having. And best of all, all of our pictures turned out beautifully.

  • L

    Laura · Married on 03/07/2015

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Good company. Unique in all forms. They have a style unlike many I've scene before

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review