Weddings

Buddy's Bar-B-Q Reviews

Buddy's Bar-B-Q View more information

18 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 94% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 18
Sort by:
  • Kara
    Kara H. Married on 09/12/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Lisa was amazing

    We used Buddy’s for our wedding catering, cake cutting services, and for bartending services. Lisa was our bartender and I cannot say enough great things about her!! She was so kind and poured great drinks. We did a taco bar and it was a huge hit with our guests! Buddy’s showed up on time and provided all of our cutlery and tableware, bar supplies, and cake cutting supplies. I would highly recommend them!
  • Makenzie
    Makenzie Married on 06/11/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best wedding food ever!!

    YUM! We had bbq pork, smoked chicken, baked beans, panko crusted Mac and cheese, and sweet potato casserole, and every single thing was DELICIOUS!! We were told by many guests that it was the best food they’d ever had at a wedding. It was very safely served with new COVID protocols but was still very nice and professional. I wish we would have been able to take the left overs on the honeymoon because they were so good. From the beginning of planning and communication with Buddy’s, they were very accommodating and responsive. They made changes easily when we had to move our wedding date, and they made it stress free for us. They called the day before the wedding to make sure all of the details were confirmed, which I appreciated. The China was beautiful and added an upscale feel to a more rustic style wedding. Very affordable for everything that is included! Great staff too. Couldn’t recommend enough!
  • Shanna
    Shanna B. Married on 10/27/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great food as always!!

    We wanted to treat our northern family members do some traditional southern style food and my fiancé has been obsessed with Buddy’s ever since moving to Tennessee from Boston. All of the food was delicious. Everyone enjoyed everything. The caterer and the bartender were so kind and pleasant.
  • Patti
    Patti Married on 05/18/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best food at a wedding ever!

    I can’t say enough great things about Buddy’s. The menu was grilled chicken, rice pilaf, green beans, panko crusted mac & cheese and rolls. They also supplied drinks.
    Everyone is still talking about the food! I figured the chicken would be a typical “rubber chicken” but the chicken flavorful and moist. The staff was courteous and kind.
    If you are looking for a caterer, call their catering division, you will not be sorry!
  • Kyrsten
    Kyrsten Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing food

    We wanted a southern style meal and decided to go with fresh fried catfish and pulled pork! The food was soooo amazing, everyone loved their tarter sauce. It has a unique dill flavor. The pork was amazing as well along with our sides! They took great care of us! We also hired a bartender through them and had them cut our cake which was a great help!
  • J
    Jade Married on 06/28/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I selected Buddy's BBQ for our catering for our reception. This was a wonderful decision! The food was great, the price was very reasonable, they met all my requests and the workers were great to work with! Following my wedding, my maid of honor also selected them for her wedding because of how great they were at mine! They were perfect for my rustic, country, outdoor wedding this summer.
  • User1685324 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great for weddings on a budget! The food was awesome, and you definitely get your money worth. They were very accommodating, and quite flexible. They allowed multiple menu changes to be made, and did not create a hassle. They also kept my multiple drink dispensers fully stocked throughout the reception for my guests. The servers were very friendly and helpful. Pat and Jay at the catering office were beyond helpful and nice as well!
  • User1411492 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great food, great service, very nice!
  • L
    Laura Married on 05/11/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Buddy's BBQ did a fantastic job on our wedding reception dinner. They set everything up and even came around and cleared tables off so even though it was a buffet, it felt like a seated dinner. Excellent service!

    ~Laura & Jason
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 08/06/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    WORDS CAN NOT EXPRESS HOW GREAT THINGS WERE!!! STAFF WAS EXCELLENT!
    SPECIAL THANKS TO MARTHA!!! SHE'S THE BEST!!!
  • A
    Allison Married on 10/13/2007
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Buddys Bar-B-Q was where our rehearsal dinner was held. It was held in a building called Bearden Banquet Hall. It's an absolutely lovely room. In fact, we wanted it for our wedding reception, but it was already booked. The food at the hall was amazing. You could choose from quite a few options, but we chose the BBQ pork and the Honey Pecan chicken, which was out of this world. You get vegetables and dessert as well, plus coffee, water, and tea. It was beautifully decorated and very reasonable in price for the whole package. I recommend this for anybody's rehearsal dinner AND reception, and also for other events, because the food is to die for.
  • User1445378 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They called and kept in contact with my parents. They were helpful in planning what I wanted and were flexible. They arrived promptly to the wedding and had everyone going through the line and keeping everything organized. They did forget dinner rolls to go with the chicken, but they did cut the final cost for it.

    They also did a good job in cutting our wedding cake and placing it out for people to take. I felt like they really did a tremendous job with everything.
  • S
    Samantha Married on 09/04/2016
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Buddy's did an amazing job catering with our wedding. They provided amazing food for our outdoor wedding. The service they provided at the venue was great. We were pleased with the overall look of the hors d'oeuvres and reception buffet. We found their meal options to be very reasonable and delicious. We would recommend them for any large scale catering event.
  • K
    Katrin Married on 07/19/2014
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I had a hard a few communication issues during the reservation process, but overall we loved Buddy's. They allowed us to have a free tasting, and we modified the set menu to meet our needs. The day of the wedding they were timely and professional. The food was delicious and the servers were very nice. The price was awesome for the amount of food we had! I would definitely recommend buddy's!
  • A
    Aislinn Married on 10/28/2006
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I was on a budget when planning my wedding, so this was the perfect reception location for me. Of course, I would have loved a fancy ballroom and all those expensive details, but if you can't afford much, Bearden Banquet Hall is perfect. Despite not being the most beautiful reception location, they did an excellent job at decorating and setting the mood. The price of catering is basically what you're paying for with them, and they allow you to use their event room.
  • User1492678 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    The value for what we got was very good. They showed up on time and looked professional. If I had to criticize one thing it would be that I wish the menu would have been a little more flexible in changing items in and out. Over all I was very satisfied with our catering from Buddys.
  • Donnell and Monica
    Monica Married on 05/22/2016
    Rating 3.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    My wedding was awesome! My only issue was being told Ms. Debbie would be acting as my coordinator but I didn't see her the entire time. The food however, was great.
  • User2375095 2+ years ago
    Rating 3.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    There were so many things about Buddy's that I loved. I loved the range of options they had. I loved that all of it was at very reasonable prices. I loved that they look money off of the price for us because we didn't need certain things and they let us customize the menu perfectly to fit what we wanted/needed. But, communication was a little difficult in the days leading up to the event. I had originally booked them, and we hired a planner to take care of everything the month of. So Buddy's kept contacting me instead of her which was extremely frustrating. Also, there was a miscommunication between us and them about one of our side dishes and I had no idea, because we didn't receive confirmation, until the night before the wedding that they had changed the error. The guy who came to serve also wasn't dressed very nicely which was disappointing. Everyone else, vendors and guest, were dressed in cocktail attire as we had requested and the Buddy's guy showed up in khaki shorts and a stained tshirt. We also paid (only like $50 extra) for an extra hour of service, to total 2 hours of service. And that guy was closed down and packed up in barely over an hour. All that being said, the food was AMAZING. We had the holiday dinner package and I couldn't eaten that stuffing for the rest of my life and still been in love with it. The guy sought me out when we were just hanging around after pictures to introduce himself to me which I very much appreciated. All in all, I would actually recommend them to others and I would book them again. I am just a more aware of what to expect. I know that they are better for a more laid back/casual affair, I wouldn't spend the extra money for the extra hour of service, and I probably would just order the food and go pick it up and serve it ourselves. None of these are bad things, just kind of a "know what to do better and differently next time" situation.