Cher Horowitz
Rockstar December 2019

Finances

Cher Horowitz, on August 11, 2019 at 6:38 PM Posted in Community Conversations 0 43
Saved Save
My dad wasn’t transparent with my mom about finances. After they were married, she found out he was in loads of debt.

My FH only has student loans. My mom wants there to be no secrets between me and FH regarding money.

FH recently got a new teaching job, so I asked about his new salary. He refuses to tell me and says he won’t disclose his salary until after we marry. He thinks it isn’t my business to know now. I think this is really weird and dishonest. Am I overthinking this?

43 Comments

• Peggy
    Master November 2019
    Peggy ·
    • Flag
    No I wouldn’t like this either. I think you should be able to negotiate finances and how can you plan a life if you don’t know what you’re working with. I’m a teacher though and usually teaching salaries are public information if you look on the website for his district.
  • C
    Dedicated October 2019
    Caitlin ·
    • Flag
    That’s super weird. My FH and I have known each other’s salaries long before we got engaged. These are details you need to know if you’re planning a life together. I’m sure your FH is probably just uncomfortable discussing money, but it seems distrustful and I would probably read too far into it. It’s one of those things where when you don’t have answers, your mind fills in the gaps whether it’s true or not. You definitely need to sit down and have an open conversation about finances. Good luck!
  • Stephanie
    Dedicated July 2020
    Stephanie ·
    • Flag
    I agree that it's something you should be able to talk about at this point in your relationship. I wouldn't like that at all.
  • Tiffany
    Savvy March 2020
    Tiffany ·
    • Flag
    You are definitely not overthinking! Finances are the #1 cause for divorce! And if he is being secretive about where he stands financially now, what could he hide once you do get married?