Skip to main content
Weddings

The Penthouse Hyde Park

Chicago, IL View map Visit website
3.3 out of 5 rating
2 reviews

About

A rooftop ballroom and open-air terrace, The Penthouse Hyde Park offers Art Deco-inspired design with expansive views of the Chicago skyline and Lake Michigan. Sleek, sophisticated, and simple, our venue acts as a blank slate to make your dream event come to life. Whether you’re planning a seated reception for 150 with dinner and dancing or a cocktail-style gala for 250, The Penthouse Hyde Park provides the perfect setting.

A Century in the Making

The Penthouse Hyde Park, located atop the former Piccadilly Hotel & Theater, offers an air of refined elegance that nods to its 1920’s roots. Our north and east walls feature 20’ arched windows that showcase skyline and lakefront views, unlike anything you’ve ever seen. Intricate crown molding has been restored to its original glory to provide just a touch of character. The space has been outfitted with modern lighting and a sound system to provide guests with a high-end experience they’ll remember for years to come.

Contact us today to start the conversation!

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you have a site fee for wedding receptions at your venue?

Yes

What is the starting site fee for wedding receptions during peak season?

$7,000

What is the starting site fee for wedding receptions during off-peak season?

$7,000

Do you have a site fee for wedding ceremonies at your venue?

No

What is the starting site fee for wedding ceremonies during peak season?

$9,000

What is the starting site fee for wedding ceremonies during off-peak season?

$8,000

Which of the following are included in starting site fee?

Bridal Suite
Chairs
Clean Up
Tables

What is the starting price per person for bar service?

$17

Which of the following are included in the starting price for bar service?

Champagne Toast
House Beer
House Wine

How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?

2

Describe your venue:

Ballroom
Banquet Hall
Historic Building
Rooftop

What kind of settings are available?

Indoor
Uncovered Outdoor
Scenic Views

Which of the following wedding events does your venue service?

Ceremony
Reception
Bridal Shower
Engagement Party
Elopements
Rehearsal Dinner

What event services do you offer?

Bar Services
Get Ready Rooms
Preferred Vendors Only
Wifi

What bar services do you provide?

Bartender(s)
Champagne Toast
House Liquor
Liquor License
Open Bar
Premium Liquor
Signature Drink

What event items are available?

Chairs
Tables

What transportation and access is available?

Wheelchair Access

What months are included in your peak season?

April
May
June
July
August
September
October

What months are included in your off-peak season?

January
February
March
November
December
illustration question

Any other questions?

Message vendor
Rated
3.3
out of 5.0
Recommended by 66% of couples
  • Quality of service
    3 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    3 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    3.5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    3 out of 5 rating
  • Lori
    Lori V. Married on 06/19/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent!!!

    One of my favorite venues to work with!! I felt in love with the venue since the first time I saw it. Incredible views, super organized, and flexible.

    I 100% recommend this venue if you are looking for an elegant venue with incredible views of Chicago.

    The Penthouse Hyde Park's reply:

    Lori, thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure working with you, and we greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave such nice words.
  • Fred
    Fred G. Married on 06/11/2022
    1.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Poor Customer Support

    The only reason this is not a 1 star review is because the space is breathtaking. Unfortunately, the support staff is unable to match the beauty of the venue.

    The original team we were working with seemed to be let go, and we had several changes to who we needed to work with. Getting a response from the team was difficult, and took several days to a week to get a response. In the days leading up to our wedding, the venue attempted to drive up our costs by adding items that were never in our original contract. It was extremely frustrating to make concession after concession, while the venue refused to meet us in the middle on ANY item.

    On the day of the wedding, we had a lot of issues getting people up to the space. There is one, semi-working elevator. This is inadequate for 135 guests plus vendors. Beyond that the bar ran out of mixers and wine multiple times throughout the evening. Since it is an unlimited bar package, this made our experience much worse, and allowed the venue to cut cost.

    Overall very disappointing experience. Might recommend the space itself. But only if you have a strong Wedding Coordinator to handle all of the inevitable issues that will arise from working with the Penthouse.

    The Penthouse Hyde Park's reply:

    Fred, I'm really sorry to see this review. From our time working together, it was clear that there was a very specific vision you both had in mind. We as the venue were not aware of this vision until about 4 months before your wedding. I wish this had been shared with us earlier so we could have opened conversations prior. With earlier communication, I feel that this could have allowed more time to process ideas and would have made the experience feel less rushed and frustrating. Again, I do share my sincerest apologies for that.

    From our perspective, we spent hours on Zooms and phone calls with you, your caterer, and your planning team. Collectively, we offered several different options for layouts, but they did not fit what you were wanting. The longest wait time for a response from our team was when our Sales Manager went on vacation 5 months before your event.

    I do want to clarify that we did not require any last-minute purchases or try to charge last-minute fees. There were some add-ons that you opted for at the suggestion of your planning team. Since this is a public response, I do want to make sure that any readers viewing this understand that the last-minute add-ons in this situation were at your discretion and in no way a requirement from the venue.

    Your wedding and reception were beautiful events. We hear and understand your frustrations, and we will use that as lessons learned for future events. We wish you and Jennifer nothing but the best in your new path together.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Message vendor

Pricing

Preferred Vendors

Map

illustration visit

Would you like to visit?

Request a visit
5107 S. Blackstone Avenue Chicago, IL, 60615
773-831-3000
Location of (The Penthouse Hyde Park)

Other vendors in Chicago for your wedding

Wedding Venues