Younts Conference Center, Furman University
3300 Poinsett Highway
Greenville, SC 29613  | map
Services: Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 500
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (18)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.6/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.4/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.3/5.0)
Value:
 (4.2/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.1/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jessica 4 Reviews
Younts is such a beautiful place to hold a wedding. We were able to utilize not only all the space inside, but DeSantis Pavilion and the back patio as well. It was the perfect size to hold our 250+ guest wedding, while still having room for a photobooth, DJ, and dancefloor. Parking is easily accessible, which was also a bonus because we had a lot of older guests. My only complaint is that when the second half of our deposit was due, I received a reminder email only 24 hours before it was due. Yes, in some respects I should have kept on top of this, but at the same time, I feel a reminder email a couple months, a month, or even a week in advance would have been nice. The email saying our deposit was due was the first contact we had with the Younts staff in the 2 years since we had booked the venue. Luckily we had the funds set aside, but I feel as if this may cause a problem for brides (or other clients) who may not be as on top of things or have the finances available. Other than that, everything was perfect. The Younts staff that worked our event were extremely friendly and pleasant to work with.
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Joy 3 Reviews
Younts Conference Center was a wonderful host. The Venue staff were absolutely wonderful and more than helpful!
Wedding: 12/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
1.2 out of 5.0
1.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.0
  • Responsiveness:  1.0
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  1.0
  • Flexibility:  1.0

Marci 2 Reviews
So many things were wrong with my experience that I don't know where to start. All of my issues were with catering. The coordinators were great. First off during my first tasting they have us frozen chicken fingers to taste. I was paying $6000 for catering and they were going to serve frozen chicken fingers. When we called them out on how bad they were they stated the could do hand breaded ones for the same price. Really?? We had to schedule a second tasting to try these when they should have been offered first. The night of the wedding the chicken was dry and the bread on our sliders was falling apart like it was stale. So disappointing.

Second throughout the whole wedding planning I told them multiple times that I didn't want to run out of alcohol. It was the one thing I was worried about for the night. I brought in my own alcohol and went above the necessary amount to ensure that we would not run out. During the wedding one bar was busier than the other and they ran through items faster. Instead of directing people to the other bar or, I don't know, waking to the other bar to grab a bottle, they just told guests we were out. They also closed that bar 30 minutes early yet still made me pay for the bartender. I ended up having some of everything left and $400 worth of alcohol to return. Considering it was my biggest concern you would think they would have made sure that this never occurred. I had guests coming up to me saying they were out of alcohol when I knew they were most definitely not.

Overall we paid a lot of money for a not so great experience with the caterers. I would change my entire wedding plan if I could do it over again.
Younts Conference Center, Furman University responded with the following comments:
We are sorry to hear that your experience with catering was not to your expectations. This is certainly not the standard with our clients. In speaking with our catering department, we are able to offer you some feedback in regards to your complaints.
Because of the nature of your reception (buffet), frozen chicken fingers are typically what our catering company uses. The main reason for this is because of the style of chicken finger. The frozen fingers have more breading on them, which hold better when they are going to be out in a chafing dish for two hours. The thicker breading keeps them moist and our clients prefer those over the hand breaded because they dry out. Typically, guests would assemble their own sliders, so the bread would not be placed in a chafing dish. Because your sliders were preassembled and placed in the chafing dish, this caused the bread to appear stale.
There was some confusion on the bars during your reception. The bartenders did not tell guests that you were out of liquor. They did tell them that you were out of a specific kind of liquor. When alcohol is supplied by the client, versus the caterer, they only serve what is supplied. When they run out of a certain kind or brand, they are only able to serve what is remaining to the guests.
We appreciate your feedback on your reception concerning the issues you had with catering. We understand that catering did reach out to you after your complaint directly to them and no response from you was received so we believed the issue had been resolved.
Wedding: 11/16/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Private User 2 Reviews
The staff were very professional and organized. We had an outside vendor bring in chairs and linens and there were no problems with the setup or break down of our event. All the guests loved the food and it was served the way we requested it. The space was perfect for a wedding reception and the dance floor stayed packed due to our awesome DJ from The Party Machine!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
1.8 out of 5.0
1.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  0.5
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  0.0
While the venue provided the size and acoustics we were looking for, that's where it about ended. The catering is separate so will not be covered in this review. Claire, in charge of the venue made agreements that she didn't follow through with, namely collecting the flowers at the end of the night to give to a nursing home. As a result the parents were saddle with the hassle of empting all the flower vessels and lugging them all home. When the vendor had previously picked them up the following morning Obviously she did not care for the glorious florist we had, or she did not get a "kick back" from one of her preferred florists The tables were rarely, if ever cleared of empty glasses, plates, etc. The bartenders did not keep count of bottles "uncorked" or beer removed from cardboard cases==they left it up to us to "trust" their corking charges. At the end of the night, they were very pushy to get out of the venue even though we paid for additional hours. Claire was a phony salesman until she was paid the total fee than she wanted all the control. She had the nerve to tell the bride she wanted to move an outside bar, inside, two days before the wedding. Although it had been raining, in two days it might have been finel.It did not rain. What coordinator would try to change a bride's plans before the date?!
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! Everyone was so helpful and nice. They kept in constant contact during the planning process. Also, they are very up front about their policies and costs, so you never felt like a hidden rule or cost was going to come along! Our ceremony was at the chapel, where everyone was fantastic as well. They made everything very streamline and worry free. A fantastic experience!
Wedding: 04/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
My wedding was amazing. Furman made sure I didn't have to worry about a thing on my special day. They helped me find a wedding coordinator, Amanda Cox, who was amazing! From the food to the reception layout they made sure everything was just how my husband and I wanted it. Our wedding day was a dream come true with no worries, we just enjoyed the day. I would HIGHLY recommend Furman as an event venue for your wedding reception.
Wedding: 08/11/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My experience with Younts was great. They did everything they could to accomodate our wishes for our reception, and Kay was a pleasure to work with. Definitely a worthy vendor :)
Wedding: 07/07/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with the Furman University staff was wonderful! They definitely made our wedding day very special!
Wedding: 05/14/2011
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Younts Conference Center is very nice. I had a larger wedding so it worked for us. The nice thing is you get the whole building so you don't have to worry about a bunch of other people wondering around in the same building. Furman is also a very pretty campus, so there was alot of nice places around the reception site to take pictures. They packed us a to go bag so we got to eat all the food we wanteded to since guests like to talk your ear off. I would recommend them to my friends. The other nice thing is since it is on Furman campus Furman Catering does all the food, so it saves you searching for a caterer.
Wedding: 10/30/2010
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our ceremony at the Furman Chapel, which was beautiful. The reception took place at Younts Conference Center which was everything we needed and looked beautiful! I worked with the event coordinator, Claire Bray and was extremely happy with how helpful she was and how she was always willing to do anything for us. we had 200 seated guests and still had plenty of room to dance. The food was good, but I did not find any menus that i just had to have. My florist, cake baker, band, and professional party rentals (table cloths) had no problem getting in and setting everything up on their own. Claire also organized my slideshow, wedding favors, and a creative guest book; and at the end of the reception she organized everything together again and gave it to my parents to take back home for me. I feel like I didnt have to do any work, and everything turned out better than I could have expected!
Wedding: 07/31/2010
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  2.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0
I loved all the people that worked with us from Younts. However, their caterer, Aramark, was a huge disappointment. I asked for several different canapes. At my tasting, they replaced one of the canapes I requested with a blueberry one. I said several times at that meeting that I didn't want to serve the blueberry one at my reception. The chef told me he would do an apple one instead. When I got to my reception, there were little labels out for all the canapes. One of the labels said Apple, caramel, and boursin. However, there were no apple canapes served. They put out blueberry instead! The director told me that the chef just decided to give us an extra canape, and that there were apple ones at the reception. Well that is a lie. I am a Furman alumni and was truly excited to be back at "home." I would never do business with Aramark again. They just do what they want. They told us we would have two buffet tables. My mother purchased big floral arrangements for both. Then, we only one actual buffet of food. They just made the decision to change without asking me!
Wedding: 04/03/2010
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
We used the Younts Center for the rehersal dinner, and really enjoyed it! They have different menus to pick from, which proved to be really helpful in finding one to accommodate everyone. We chose the Low Country Barbeque buffet option, and everyone who came said it was delicious and that they loved it! Be aware that this is one of only two places where alcohol is allowed on Furman's campus.
Wedding: 01/09/2010
Services Used: Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our daughter and son in law's wedding was at Furman University's Daniel Chapel and the reception was at Furman's Yount's Conference Center and Cherrydale Alumni House's terrace. We also used DeSantis Pavillion (for the photo booth area). The chapel and reception site proved to be perfection. Having graduated from Furman, our daughter felt this was a perfect venue for her wedding. Mary Hearne was our "Furman approved" event coordinator. (Only approved individuals can assist with coordinating details for the chapel and Yount's.) Mary came highly recommended. From the moment we met for our initial consultation, I knew Mary was going to the perfect individual to facilitate all the details a wedding and reception encompass. She is very organized, provided a wealth of information for vendors, attended each vendor-meeting with me as details were planned and communicated via e-mail and phone throughout the planning period. She was a real god-send! I will never forget on the morning of the wedding, I came to her to obsess about some of the details...she gently hugged me and said, "Mom, I've got this...TODAY you are just the mother of the bride...go..and enjoy your daughter's day." I, indeed, took her advice and had full confidence the day and evening would unfold as planned. To this day, I still appreciate her advice and gentle coaxing for me to leave it all to her. She managed the day's timeline with perfection and kept it all running impeccably. I (we) would highly recommend Mary to anyone that wants a professional, Furman-connected, knowledgeable, coordinator to make your wedding day run smoothly and seamless!
Wedding: 09/25/2009
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The staff members at Younts were incredibly helpful and went above and beyond for our reception! They were always willing and available to meet with you to plan and discuss details of the event... My wedding day was completely stress free because I knew they would handle everything so perfectly- down to the very last detail :) I was VERY pleased with this reception venue! And, they send an awesome goodie bag home with the bride and groom after the wedding!
Wedding: 05/23/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The chef at Younts is awesome. He took our request to have food that you wouldn't typically see at a reception to heart and came up with an incredible menu. Although the groom and I didn't have the time to truly enjoy the food, what we did have was delicious. Every single person who I have spoken with about our wedding has complimented the food--I wish I could go back in time and taste it all!
Wedding: 04/25/2009
Services Used: Catering
 864-294-2390
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3
out of 5.0