The Balcony on Dock
    91 Reviews
33 South Front Street
Wilmington, NC 28401  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 150
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (91)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Balcony on Dock was a little piece of heaven for our dream-come-true wedding! This is the venue that kicked off the beginning of forming our "Dream Team" of vendors! From the moment we met with Jenn directly after our engagement in early 2013 from the minute we packed up the last of our belongings from her the day following our wedding, everything went smooth-sailing and beyond my wildest expectations. Every time, my now-husband and I or my parents who live in Florida communicated with Jenn in person, by phone, or through email, we were always made to feel top priority by her and every need was met with such flair, professionalism, style, and grace! I remember when I called Jenn on the morning of my actual wedding day to tell her of an unfortunate last minute change and instantly, a sense of calmness came over me and I was infinitely assured that we chose the perfect place for us. We gave her all our decorations (minimal because the space is breathtaking alone by itself!) for the day and her team worked to create an ambiance that was so fitting for us, leaving me astounded and amazed! Everyone keeps talking about how delicious the food was and how beautifully orchestrated every last detail was- I could not have envisioned it better! My whole experience wants me to replay that outstanding day over and over again- we cannot thank Jenn and her team enough for the most memorable day of our lives! :-)
Wedding: 07/18/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Jenn did an excellent job on our wedding. She communicated well with us throughout the process of planning and getting through the day of.
We were planning our wedding from Durham, so email and phone were important for the process and Jenn and Bekah always responded promptly. They even coordinated with the rental company for the rentals we used. We dropped off our decorations on the day before the wedding and they took care of decorating everything. On the day of, it was storming, so Jenn called me with a back up rain plan. We didn't want the rain plan layout as our first option, but needed to do it because of the weather. They took care of that layout last minute for us as well. The ceremony and reception were beautiful. I didn't go with much decoration because the venue is so lovely by itself. Throughout the ceremony and reception Jenn coordinated timing and activities. There is no way that the day would have gone smoothly if we had done it ourselves or if we didn't have Jenn there. Her and her group made a huge impact on our wedding day and it will allow us to always preserve our memory of our big day.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ashley 3 Reviews
Jenn and The Balcony at Dock were incredible. Everything was perfect, affordable, and as stress free as it could have been. The compliments I received from my guests where about the beautiful venue, fantastic wedding dinner (which is rare) and the seamless transition between the ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner, and dancing. Jenn took care of everything. I truly felt like I had my own personal wedding planner and that she was there to tackle any problem. I felt like a true princess on my day :).
Wedding: 06/26/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We could not have been more pleased with the Balcony on Dock! Jenn was absolutely fantastic to work with! She was very patient, and egar to make our wedding and reception go off flawlessly. She made accommodations where we asked and made solid recommendations when we were unsure. The venue itself is beautiful with historic charm and great views. The staff was wonderful and the food was amazing! I would highly recommend this venue!!!
Wedding: 06/26/2014
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lesley 5 Reviews
The most stunning venue in the downtown area!!!! WE LOVED OUR EXPERIENCE for our rehearsal dinner!!! I have always loved the building itself, but to have our special occasion here topped the cake!!! Bekah and Jenn are amazing to work with and so very helpful!!! That made our day so special and we are very thankful!!!!
Love,
Sten & Lesley
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Keely 1 Reviews
I had my wedding in May and I can not say enough about how phenomenal the service was from Jenn!! We were from out of town so we had to come in and visit a few times, email quite a bit, and call often. She was so responsive and quick to get back to us, never said NO to a single thing, and would find a solution or give us options for anything we were interested in! She recommended the DJ, hair salon, and picture location, all of which we used and absolutely loved! Jenn you helped make our day amazing and the venue was more than beautiful! Thank you for your hard work and accommodating us on anything we needed!
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We had wedding rehearsal dinner. Perfect venue..great food and service.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Helenmarie 1 Reviews
AMAZING! Everything about The Balcony on Dock was wonderful; the venue, the food, the staff. I had numerous comments from my guests on how delicious the food was. And Jenn and Rebekah were extremely helpful and instrumental in the planning of my day, they definitely went above and beyond with their assistance!
I would highly recommend The Balcony on Dock for any occasion!
Wedding: 03/15/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Christi 1 Reviews
Gorgeous venue. Fantastic People. Great Food. The best night of my life.
Wedding: 02/22/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ruby 2 Reviews
I cannot say enough good things about Jenn, Bekah, and their team at The Balcony. Jenn went above and beyond to make sure my special day ran smoothly and turned out exactly as I envisioned. The space is gorgeous as is, but it is quite stunning when it's all set up with the flowers, table settings, linens, etc. that you want-- the space can really accommodate any variety of themes/colors, etc.
Also, the food is amazing, as well. Everything we chose was delicious, and all my guests raved about how much they enjoyed their meal.
I would HiGHLY recommend The Balcony to any bride!
Wedding: 01/03/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kathleen 1 Reviews
We could not have been more pleased with Jenn at Balcony on Dock.
It was a wonderful rehearsal dinner. Everything ran so smoothly.
The food was great! The room was beautiful and I was completely at ease,
knowing that everything was taken care of. It is a special memory for us!
Thankyou so much!
Wedding: 11/01/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
The venue was an easy choice for Kelly and I. We were blown away by this beautiful and unique venue from the moment we saw it. The exposed brick of the room really gave a feel of being in historic Downtown Wilmington. Our guests also really enjoyed the patio out back for our cocktail hour. We could not have been more pleased with Jen Rayle and her entire staff. Jen was extremely helpful in giving us great vendor recommendations and making coordinating with them seamless. She was also huge on the day of the event making sure everything went off without a hitch. We received many compliments on the friendliness of the staff and the delicious food. We could not be more pleased with the overall experience of this venue.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Great experience overall. Jenn was so accommodating and our wedding turned out great!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Balcony on Dock is hands down the best wedding venue in downtown Wilmington. The exposed brick, hardwood floors, huge windows, and famous balcony (great photo op!) make this place truly unique. We had 100 guests, which is the perfect number for this venue. We had plenty of room. Cocktail hour was outside in the courtyard with the gorgeous string lights that are included with the venue. We had southern eggrolls and crab cakes for apps and everyone loved them! Jenn is so talented, kind and willing to accommodate any requests I had. She planned out the night perfectly, and I didn't have to worry about timing of anything. One note on the dinner, I was not a big fan of the Mac 'n Cheese, but that was partially my fault for not doing a tasting before I selected the menu. Very very minor thing considering the whole night was amazing, and my friends and family kept telling me this was one of the best weddings they had ever been to! I'm so glad I went with Jenn and everyone else at Balcony, they are amazing!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jan 1 Reviews
Jenn and Becca were gems to work with. So competent, professional, responsive and eager to offer creative, sound advice and assurance prior to our event. Day of event was flawless - Jenn guided the pace of events perfectly. The staff was so well trained, pleasant and unobtrusive. The venue site is "take your breath away" magical - the hardwood floors, exposed brick, well maintained and sparkling pristine - its so obvious how much pride the staff takes in making your event special. The courtyard cocktail hour set the tone for the wonderful evening - such a special oasis in the middle of beautiful downtown Wilmington. All our guests had nothing but complements for the entire evening. Wouldn't have changed a thing!
Wedding: 10/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Hands down the best experience we could have asked for. From the moment we stepped foot into the Balcony to view it as a possible location, we fell in love. Our wedding day was absolutely magical. Jenn was always present and was so easy to contact during the planning process. She was flexible and willing to meet our needs and was so professional and fun the night of the reception. To this day, our guests are still raving about the venue and the atmosphere that The Balcony on Dock created. I have nothing bad to say at all. I felt stress free and was able to really enjoy our special evening thanks to everyone at the Balcony who made sure it was picture perfect!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 910-342-0273
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0