New Leaf Restaurant & Bar
1 Margaret Corbin Drive
New York, NY 10040  | map
Services: Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 150
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (32)   Photos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
We had our wedding at New Leaf Cafe a few weeks ago. The actual event was spectacular. Everything fell into place, the venue was gorgeous, the food delicious, and every single person at our wedding loved the entire experience. For the day of experience, I would give the venue a 5.0 out of 5.0. (Note: The staff working the event are the epitome of wonderful service. They handled every detail with care and professionalism.)

The planning process, however, was very frustrating and characterized by "miscommunication" and curt - if any - responses from the Event Manager. We secured the venue right before big staff changes (Event Manager and Restaurant Manager), and often felt like our event had slipped through the cracks. With that said, everything came together during the last two weeks of planning and the night went off without a hitch.

I would highly recommend the venue to anyone looking for a beautiful and affordable location in NYC. Just be prepared to deal with some delays and frustration during the planning process.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
New Leaf Restaurant was everything we wanted in a reception venue - great food, seamless service, beautiful setting, and unique for both out-of-towners and New Yorkers alike. Several of our guests commented that the food we served at our wedding was the best wedding food they've ever had. Steaks came out medium rare. The bass was perfectly cooked. The risotto was piping hot. Wine and water glasses never went empty. Everything was great.

The whole night went really smoothly. The kitchen was very communicative with our DJ to coordinate when courses would be served and time everything out with the toasts, dance sets, everything.

Unfortunately, planning the reception was not always a smooth experience. The restaurant experienced a changeover in staff members during the months we were planning our wedding, and the new event coordinator took some time to transition into her role. She was not always easy to get a hold of via phone or email, which made for some stressful lapses in communication. Her demeanor was not always the most professional and she dropped the ball a couple times, but in the end, the whole staff pulled everything together and made for a really great party. Hopefully once the event coordinator and the new GM are better acquainted with the restaurant, the planning process will be less stressful for future brides. I know the last event coordinator (Tiffany... who is mentioned in every review) was really fantastic, so it looks like there are some big shoes to fill :-)

Overall this place is a real neighborhood gem. And affordable by NYC standards for a seated dinner.
Wedding: 09/14/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
We just had our wedding hosted by New Leaf Restaurant and Bar in Fort Tryon Park. The night was magical and a lot of what made it so special was New Leaf. The setting is absolutely beautiful. It truly cannot be beat. It accomplishes a true "al fresco" atmosphere. The tent is gorgeous as is the twinkle lighting they adorn the tent with. The restaurant has a rustic charm and elegance that is hard to come by. For those wishing to have a "different" kind of wedding in NYC, it is a great bet. We did have a few hiccups with communication with the event coordinator, and some miscommunication did occur, leading us to some stressful moments in planning, but when the actual night came everything was wonderful. Joel Tauzin, the hospitality manager was fantastic, very helpful, knowledgable and professional. Service was top notch. The price, will not exactly low, is fair and actually much lower than many other NYC venues. The food is tasty and elegant. Overall, the New Leaf is a wonderful option for those looking for an intimate, elegant and different NYC wedding.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Laura 7 Reviews
My husband and I had a truly special wedding at New Leaf Restaurant in Fort Tryon Park in early May. The weather held for us and we were lucky enough to have the ceremony outside in nearby Linden Terrace, followed by cocktails, dinner and dancing under the clear tent at New Leaf. The setting was gorgeous and easily accessible, which were our two main criteria when finding a site, but the food turned out to be phenomenal! Portions were generous, service was attentive, plating was gorgeous, and we're still getting complements. My friend put it best, that New Leaf is "Stone Barns, for people in the know". I totally agree, and my husband and I could not have been happier with how the evening played out.
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Joe 1 Reviews
We had a fantastic wedding experience at the New Leaf. Tiffany and team were unbelievable, and the venue is spectacular. Setting is gorgeous, and the food and staff are first class. I'd recommend 100 times out of 100.
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
The venue was beautiful, the service and staff second to none, the food did not disappoint and the Director ensured it all came together without a hitch. I would highly recommend!!!!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Private User 1 Reviews
New Leaf was a beautiful place to have our reception. The food was excellent and the staff was always helpful.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was skeptical to see most vendors on this site rated 5 stars. New Leaf, however, deserves no less. The value is above what any other vendor could have offered. Tiffany took care of our piecemeal questions efficiently, doing her best to work with the Parks Department when we learned the permit for our date was taken, and entirely gracious in changing our date to accommodate permit availability.

While inconvenient for staff, New Leaf was also accommodating when I wanted to wait until the last minute to decide if the wedding would be held indoors (a free option for rainy days). Unfortunately, the rain kept us inside, but it could not have been under better management. Tiffany required vendors to work directly with her on setting up (rather than approaching me). Our DJ showed up with extra equipment...the band was late...all was managed professionally without adding questions, decisions, or stress to our day. Tiffany knows her venue and truly takes command - exactly what we needed.

I was told I should have seen my aunt's face when she realized there was a full meal after numerous, exceptional, appetizers. You select three entrées on top of a vegetarian dish, and guests choose what they feel like that evening. We received numerous compliments on what guests described as a quality restaurant meal. You would never guess the food was prepared for a large party. The best filet mignon my cousin ever had.

The staff, many working at New Leaf for years, were professional and on top of everything. Upon hearing that my friend had a temporary dairy restriction (it doesn't agree with her little one), the head chef walked out to discuss what requirements she had and which options they could make friendly for her. Who does that? Simply above and beyond.

Only downside is that New Leaf cannot control wedding permits in the park (nor do they have access to the database to see what is or isn't available in advance)...not much they can do about that.
New Leaf Restaurant & Bar responded with the following comments:
Thank you so much for your kind words! It was an absolute pleasure working with you throughout the planning process and a joy to be part of the big day. We hope to see you at New Leaf again soon!
Wedding: 05/24/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
This was a beautiful venue for our wedding reception and ceremony (Linden Terrace in Fort Tryon Park). ALL of the guests were complimenting the food and the amount of appetizers (they just kept coming) and the dinner/service. The food was served in a really timely manner, even considering that they don't take the entree orders until that night and Tiffany kept everything running smoothly and troubleshooted everything. We did a clear tent on the patio and so many guests complimented the venue space. Everyone commented that they had never been there before and can't believe that it's in Manhattan --- they all loved the space.
New Leaf Restaurant & Bar responded with the following comments:
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was our pleasure working with you!!
Wedding: 05/18/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My overall experience with New Leaf was excellent. Their venue coordinator Tiffany was extremely helpful throughout the whole process: she was always calm, responsive, patient, and nice. Booking Process: make an appointment with Tiffany and she'll show you all the possible ceremony sites within the park, the cocktail hour, reception areas and answer all your questions patiently. Book early! Food Tasting: unbelievably good. All yummy and they give you a doggie bag in case you can't finish (most likely you won't, b/c they give you so much. Planning Process: Tiffany is very responsive and the venue is very relaxed and laid back (they let us borrow some of their furnitures, our dogs..) Wedding Day: All the staffs were willing to help with the set up. It's still a restaurant so each table had a wait staff table service (guests were able to order drinks with their waiter without having to go to the bar).
New Leaf Restaurant & Bar responded with the following comments:
Thank you for the review of your overall experience at New Leaf, from the first meeting to the wedding tasting and finally the big day! It was wonderful working with you and we hope to see you soon!
Wedding: 05/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Nao 8 Reviews
We are extremely happy that we chose to have our wedding at New Leaf! The location was beautiful, the venue/set-up (we had a clear tent) was gorgeous, the food (especially the duck!) was amazing, and the service impeccable! Tiffany and her team were truly professionals and catered to us and all of our guests. We are so thankful, because of them we had an amazing time and truly enjoyed our once-in-a-lifetime day with our friends and family. All of our guests, from the young to the old, enjoyed the evening - especially the atmosphere, drinks, and food! We got nothing but great feedback and compliments.

From the start Tiffany was very friendly, easy to work with, and responsive. We had to pick from a few venues and we knew New Leaf was the one immediately after we met with her. Tiffany was also very assuring and patient, which helped made the planning process easier and smoother.

We 100% recommend New Leaf, both as a restaurant and definitely as a wedding venue, to anyone and everyone. But book early, a place like this gets booked up quickly! You will not be disappointed!
New Leaf Restaurant & Bar responded with the following comments:
Thanks, Nao and Tom! It was a pleasure working with you both in creating the wedding of your dreams. It means so much to our service staff, kitchen team and myself to read about the highlights of your wedding reception with us! Hope to see you again soon.
Wedding: 04/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This is a review for New Leaf, but especially for Tiffany Hogan, the event coordinator at the New Leaf. I would love to see Tiffany organize everything in my life. Nothing is a problem. She is calm, professional, charming and one of the nicest people I have ever met. She has been at New Leaf for over 5 years and it shows as the whole operation runs like clockwork. It was the first venue that we visited and we basically wanted to write her a cheque five minutes after meeting her. I would wake up in the night with a million questions, shoot her an email, and a few hours later have a calm email back with everything answered.

We had a smaller wedding with 56 people and the venue was perfect size. We did our ceremony on Linden Terrace and then the reception in New Leaf. Every guest, and I mean, EVERY guest, commented on the food and this was a pretty good foodie crowd. We literally had people running up to us when we walked in saying that it was the best food they have had in ages, not just the best wedding food, the best food, period! Since it is a restaurant, everything is made to order and deliciously fresh.

Aside from the food, the service is impeccable. The same staff work at the restaurant, so there is no problem training or coordinating the staff. They were charming, unobtrusive and really elegant in their work. Lovely little touches like having waiters wait outside for all the guests with cocktails and wine (including the groom and myself, who came in much later) or my FIL asking about the wine and the waitress offering to steam the label off for him were done with no fuss, just perfect style. Not a drink glass was empty for a minute, or a napkin accidentally dropped to the floor before being replaced by this stellar team.

I honestly have woken up every day since my wedding and been so grateful that I met Tiffany and her team at New Leaf and feel so blessed that we were able to have our wedding there and have nothing but good memories of that day.
Wedding: 03/29/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had the best wedding ever, and our guests thought so too. If you go to the New Leaf for dinner and can envision your wedding there, you should do it. Fort Tryon park is one of the gems of New York City, and this restaurant is the perfect compliment to the setting. The food there is amazing, and the food at the reception was no different! The quality of food was a major deciding factor for us in selecting our venue. Again, our guests are still talking about how delicious all the menu items were. We opted for a cocktail-style reception with passed hors d'oeuvres, a pasta station, an antipasto table and a carving station, but I'm sure a sit-down dinner would be amazing as well. Our welcome drinks were lovely and the whole night was a success. Tiffany, the event coordinator is organized, professional and smart, she will make sure your event goes of without a hitch. Her suggestions were always right on and her taste level is really high; she understood our sensibility and aesthetic as a couple, and made sure that was reflected in the venue. You will be in good hands with Tiffany, and you can't go wrong with the beautiful location.
Wedding: 11/17/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Michelle 1 Reviews
Our guests could not stop talking about the quality of food and professionalism of the New Leaf staff. Everyone enjoyed themselves and said it was the best wedding they have ever been to. Tiffany Hogan was professional and prompt in her responses to our many many questions. The space itself is beautiful and would be perfect for your wedding.
Wedding: 10/27/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kim 2 Reviews
The New Leaf over exceeded our expectations for our wedding event, from the beauty of the venue itself to the responsiveness and attention from the staff. They were incredibly accommodating and thoughtful, and they were very transparent during the whole wedding planning. We had complete trust that they would make our wedding day perfect, and they did.. The food was spectacular, our guests are still commenting on how it was the best food they've ever had at a wedding! I highly recommend The New Leaf for a wedding event, and as a regular restaurant for dining.
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Sue 1 Reviews
We had my daughter's wedding reception for 125 people at the New Leaf in early October. Though my daughter has lived in New York City for several years, I was in charge of coordinating many aspects of the reception and ceremony (which was held on Linden Terrace in the park). Since I live in Indiana and could not be on site frequently, I found this to be daunting. However, the New Leaf's event coordinator, Tiffany Hogan, was MARVELOUS. She answered every question I had promptly by email, was available by appointment when I was able to be in the city, was able to suggest reliable vendors in various price ranges, and had helpful suggestions that assured our reception ran smoothly. She also acted as the onsite coordinator during the reception. Both my daughter and I had many people, both local to New York and from out-of-town, tell us that her wedding reception was the liveliest and most seamlessly run reception that they had ever attended -- to say nothing of the most fun! I highly recommend the New Leaf to other brides and grooms (and their parents).
Wedding: 10/06/2012
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0