JMK-Photos
artistic portraiture & wedding photography
Charlottesville, VA 22902  | map
Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
Packages: Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (36)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0

Private User 1 Reviews
While booked in advance with a signed contract, and with a paid deposit, Jamie Kay (JMK Photo) did not show up or even bother to call me on my wedding day. So, we have no professional photos from a one-time event. Absolutely heartbreaking. The fact that I had to contact HER regarding her no-show was the most unprofessional scenario I can imagine. I requested that my deposit be refunded in full and provided the address to which to send a check, and, 6+ weeks later, had not even received acknowledgement, much less gotten my money back. Only once I began contacting websites to post reviews did she bother to contact me (and most websites won't post this review). Zero stars for every category.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I am thrilled with our decision to have Jamie as our wedding photographer. Our wedding day was a sunny, autumn day but it was chilly! Jamie was quick and made sure our bridal party and families were not stuck outside freezing for pictures! Jamie and her team were calm and had excellent, creative ideas for our First Look and photographs. Jamie has an extremely quick turn around time - we woke up the day after the wedding to a blog post containing some of her amazing photos from our wedding! Her pictures are stunning and truly capture the best moments from our wedding. She truly is able to bring out the emotions of the day! I will also be printing numerous pictures to hang around our house. Multiple friends and family have stated the pictures look as if they came from a bridal magazine. I cannot wait for another reason to hire Jamie for pictures!
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jamie did both our engagement and wedding photos. We brought our dog to the engagement photo session, and Jamie was very patient with us and even knew how to get our dog to look at the camera most of the time. We got our previews the next day and the actual disc with high resolution photos in about a week.

It was raining on our wedding day, and Jamie and the other photographer she brought were very efficient at taking outdoor pictures very quickly. And because it was raining, we had to take some of the pictures before the bridesmaids were ready, so she even helped with carrying the train of my dress the whole time.

What I like about Jamie is that she made us very comfortable and told us to sit/stand/look in certain ways without making it feel awkward. Also, she and the other photographer were not intrusive at all during the whole wedding. I didn't even know where they were while taking the photos. We got the wedding photo previews the next day as well.

Overall, I highly recommend JMK photos.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jamie was wonderful to work with. She was receptive to our ideas and gave us exactly what we wanted. She even traveled for us. We just got our photos this week and we absolutely love them. Highly recommended!
Wedding: 07/20/2013
Services Used: Photography
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jamie is great to work with and really makes you feel comfortable and natural in front of the camera so none of your photos come out looking too posed. She does a great job at capturing the love and little moments you would otherwise forget without the photos. We couldn't have asked for a better photographer!
Wedding: 07/05/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jamie is wonderful. Our photos were amazing, so natural, we feel so lucky to have had Jamie as the photographer on our wedding day.
Our family and friends cannot stop talking about how beautiful the photos were.
Everyone was impressed with her talent and friendliness.
It was truly an exceptional day, flawless. We had an unforgettable day and so did our guests. It will be cherished forever.
Thank you Jamie for giving us the best set of photos to remember the best day of our lives.
Wedding: 03/30/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 2 Reviews
Jamie at JMK photos did both our engagement photos and our wedding photos, and I would highly recommend her! She is a doll to work with, and what I love is that she can take beautiful pictures that require very little photoshop, so that they look natural and lovely. At our wedding, she was quick and efficient, but I knew she was getting great shots, and she seemed to be there at all the right moments. Very talented!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jamie and all of the photographers she brought with her were amazing! I was so excited when I first met her because of her amazing eye and portfolio as a photographer, but the images we received were better then I could have ever asked for. Eric and I will have these photographs to treasure for the rest of our lives and we have JMK Photos to thank for that. I cannot wait to work with you again!! <3 So easy and fun to work with too! Such a blessing!
Wedding: 10/06/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jamie and her crew were wonderful. They were upbeat, incredibly positive and easy to work with, and had amazing ideas and insights. The pictures could not have turned out better, I relive the night every time I look at them. Jamie took the time to tell a story through the photos, and I really appreciate that. She was also happy to take suggestions from me, a somewhat micromanaging bride :) And she did so with a smile! I can't imagine going with anyone else and feel I made the perfect choice. JMK Photos made me an incredibly happy bride!!
Wedding: 09/15/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jamie is the best photographer in Cville. She takes beautiful pictures - both stills and candids. She is such a pro to work with - very timely in her responses, very flexible, always attentive to my needs.

The pictures turned out beautifully. Now she is helping to make my album! Can't wait to see how it turns out. I definitely recommend Jamie to anyone in the Virginia area looking for a great photographer.
Wedding: 07/07/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I would like to take this opportunity to let anyone know who is reading this review that Jamie has done such a wonderful job photographing our wedding. First, she came over to discuss the plans and procedures. Even after we signed the deal, we had a change in package, and she did not even hesitate at all to please us! During the days leading up to the wedding, she was sending emails to us to keep us updated. On the day of the wedding, she arrive early before all the major guests, which was great for some groom and best man alone picture taking time! Here's another reason why she deserves the best: Our wedding occurred when it was 106 degrees outside, yet Jamie never complained or showed any signs of discomfort. In fact, she encouraged us to actually step outside and she takes FAST pictures! Snap Snap Snap! You feel like it's an automatic rifle. But don't let the speed fool you, the Photos came out FANTASTIC! Jamie sure knows her equipment, and together with her assistance, they used some fancy tools to edit the sunlight and environment to make the pictures just right. I am EXTREMELY pleased by the photos. Speaking of photo taking, Jaime must have been invisible or something, because when I looked at the pictures from the Ceremony, I have to wonder, how did she manage those great shots? What I'm referring to is that I barely noticed her moving around and about. Somehow she manages to get such great shots without imposing herself or blocking people's view. She got angles that I didn't even think about! Overall I believe there is a reason that she has received the Best Local Photographer in C'Ville award. Between the constant updates, prompt arrival, invisibility approach, advanced equipment, and post-wedding updates, there is no reason to even consider any other photographer. On behalf of my wife and myself, we would like to thank Jamie for creating a vivid memory of a day that will be remembered forever.
Wedding: 07/07/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jamie is AWESOME! She's easy going and fun to work with! She makes you feel comfortable while taking photos of some of the most memorable moments of your life! She's very detailed oriented too (taking photos of your rings on a flower petal etc). She got us our preview pictures the next day- making it easy to share with family and friends. She's also great in the post-wedding phase as well!
Wedding: 06/16/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jaime is awesome!!! She is soo sweet and always happy!! Her attitude is awesome and her love of photography makes every picture a great one. Jaime dealt with my friends and family wonderfully and even helped out with things outside of her job!! She was like a best friend at a wedding and everybody loved her!! I have been to weddings where the photographer is just not that happen and the process seems to take forever. She was very good about getting all the family pictures and bridal party pictures done in a timely and sufficient manner. Her work is magnificent and she is awesome!!! So, for all my friends and family are loving her pictures and thought she was awesome!! She even had a preview done next day for us on her blog and facebook!!!
Wedding: 06/02/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jamie is amazing! She is so down to earth and you will instantly feel comfortable being around her. She is so talented, go to her website and you will see how amazing her photography is. You will not be disappointed with your photos, trust me!
Wedding: 05/26/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Looking for a photographer was the first task on our long list of wedding planning activities. We found Jamie Kay here on Wedding Wire, and are SO happy we did!! Once we saw her work we knew she had a beautiful eye and would capture all the special moments of our wedding - even before we knew how the rest of our wedding plans would shape up and what the day would actually look like. Upon meeting her we knew she would be so easy to work with... she is warm, easygoing, professional, and flexible. We worked with her to do an engagement photo shoot in our hometown of New York City - which she flew up from Virginia for. She did SUCH an amazing job with those photos... these special photos were a great preview of Jamie's work to come! When our wedding finally came around, Jamie did not disappoint. She and her team were seamless, unobtrusive, creative, and a pleasure to have around during our entire wedding day. She captured so many beautiful moments of our day, and we are eternally grateful for these images. We have so many to choose from to frame, to send to friends and family, and to include in an album. Jamie even caught an unexpected moment on camera of one of our wedding guests flipping me, in my wedding gown, upside down on the dance floor!! We are currently working with Jamie to put together our wedding album, and know she will continue to be responsive and a delight to work with. I have already recommended her to friends who are planning their weddings, and would recommend her to any bride in Virginia who wants an exceptional photographer!
Wedding: 05/12/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Hands down AMAZING! Best investment for the wedding!!!!!!
Wedding: 03/31/2012
Services Used: Photography
 434-825-2052
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0