Weddings

The Watergate Hotel Reviews

The Watergate Hotel

The Watergate Hotel

Washington, DC
Rating 4.6 out of 5, 10 Reviews
View more information

10 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 91% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.5 out of 5

Awards

  • 10
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

27 User photos

Sort by:
  • Justin
    Justin Married on 02/29/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fun Venue and Great Team

    We booked the Watergate Hotel as our wedding venue in 2020 just a few weeks before the DC lockdown for COVID-19. We were lucky both due to the timing of events as well as having a professional and attentive team at the Watergate. Sarah Nester was our main point of contact, and she had an incredible entourage that worked with us to make our wedding day the best it could be. They were very transparent during contract negotiations and included no hidden fees. They were also incredibly flexible and allowed us to bring in a horse for the Baraat (Indian Wedding). If you haven’t seen the Watergate since the renovations, do visit. Also ask to see the Moretti ballroom with the glittering starlight ceiling. One of the best parts of the whole experience was that our out-of-town guests were simply dumbstruck that they were at THE Watergate Hotel. We highly recommend pursuing the Watergate as a potential wedding venue due to the team, the style, and the history. Thank you for making our wedding possible!
  • T
    Tiffany Married on 09/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Stunning, unique, modern hotel venue for wedding

    My husband and I both have very busy jobs and knew right off the bat that we wanted a hotel wedding for the convenience of having everything for the day-of in one place (catering, lodging, ceremony, reception). We chose the Watergate Hotel because we wanted an iconic, modern and elegant venue and this hotel blew us away. It is absolutely stunning with PLENTY of photograph opps for the 'gram (rooftop, whiskey bar, grassy terraces, watergate entrance sign, library, moretti ballroom with the starry night lights), and located conveniently in the Georgetown/Foggy Bottom area. The bridal suite is AMAZING, with a wrap around balcony overlooking the Potomac River. It is also big enough to accommodate getting ready for large bridal parties (I had 10 bridesmaids plus my mother and mother-in-law, and 4 hair/make-up people). I had both my ceremony and reception there and the entire process was seamless.

    One point of frustration that I do need to make is that there was a lot of turnover in our main point of contact. We had 5 different venue coordinators between the time we signed our contract and the day of our wedding (over a span of one year). This was particularly frustrating because there was not always sufficient transition between coordinators, so I had to schedule multiple meetings to ensure the details of our contract and remind them of exceptions that had been agreed to which may not have been captured in writing. That being said, I believe that high turnover is unfortunately common in this industry, and it does not seem that any of these coordinators left for reasons due to the venue itself. My final coordinator, Sarah Nester, was absolutely amazing, professional, and extremely attentive to our needs. She made sure to remember little details like my husband's request to have his own slice of red velvet cake (the actual wedding cake that everyone else had was chocolate). The hotel was also very accommodating in allowing early check in for a majority of my wedding party, and provided us and our parents with complimentary treats the day of. The actual wedding ended up running very smoothly and exceeded our expectations. It is a bit pricy but was pretty on par with other luxury hotels in DC.

    The Watergate Hotel's reply:

    Dear Tiffany,

    This is so wonderful to read. It was truly my pleasure to be there for you and Gabe on your day. Your guests and family were a true delight, and your speeches made even ME tear up! You both are so loved and it was a delight to witness.

    Thank you so much for choosing The Watergate Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for your anniversary and other life celebrations!

    Sarah Nester
  • S
    Sugar Married on 10/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Perfection at every level. Michelle and the entire Watergate team were attentive to our needs and no detail was left forgotten. We had the party of our lives and continue to receive compliments from our guests about how much fun they had. Rooms were great, food was great. Recommend the filet for dinner. This is the place in DC to have a 5 star wedding.
  • C
    Catalina Married on 09/09/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When I first toured the Watergate Hotel, the reception room was filled with boxes; the hotel was undergoing extensive renovations. All I could see were the marble slabs at the front of the room and the beautiful ceiling. But I was hooked, and we reserved a date with the hotel - June 3, 2017. A few months before our wedding, my fiance (at the time) became ill, and after months of doctor's visits and treatment, we weren't sure we could have everything ready by June 3. Everyone at the Watergate was so understanding and we moved the date to September 9, 2017 - just recently! The staff was so friendly and so professional. They were all committed to keeping an open line of communication with me, my now-husband and my family. If we had a question (no matter how silly), they would answer it. They granted almost every single request we had - I say "almost" because the handful (and I mean I think I can count it on one hand) of requests that weren't possible were for reasons completely outside of their control. One of my good friends who used to work weddings said that my wedding at the Watergate was one of the smoothest, effortless, well-planned weddings she had ever experienced from the guest side. I couldn't agree more. It was a beautiful day and one we'll remember for a lifetime!!!
  • K
    Kimberly Married on 09/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If I could give 10 stars I would! My Husband and I hosted a cocktail party Labor Day weekend at Kingbird celebrating our elopement. Words cannot describe how pleased I am with the service provided by the Watergate Hotel. I planned the party from Florida and working with Michele Dure-Chavis (Catering Sales Manager) was an effortless experience. Michele, together with Michael Oakes (Banquet Manager) and their team flawlessly took care of every detail. The only thing we had to do on the day of our event was show up and have a good time. And that we did! My guests are still reaching out to me about the wonderful service, delicious food, strong drinks (wink), and exquisite ambiance. I cannot thank this hotel enough for bringing our vision to life and far exceeding our expectations. One word to describe my experience with the Watergate Hotel---perfection. If you're looking for an upscale, modern venue that will have all your guests in awe, this is the place!
  • L
    Leonard Married on 08/05/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Michele Duré-Chavis and her staff at the Watergate were phenomenal!!! She took over planning our wedding in just the last 3 weeks prior to the event but quickly instilled in us confidence with her organization and attentiveness. The event went off flawlessly and we were thrilled the guests had as much fun as we did. Her staff of chefs and bartenders were professional and charismatic. My wife and I truly appreciate the effort, thought, and time she put in to ensure out day would be perfect.
  • L
    London Married on 08/12/2017
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    The Watergate Hotel made my dream wedding come true! Michele Chavis, Jeff David and the staff were very accomodating to my needs and very pleasant to work with. I would recommend this Hotel to host any event! The Presidential Suite was to die for! Thank you Watergate!
  • Anthony
    Anthony Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Unique Venue, Amazing Event!

    After looking at several other luxury hotels in DC, we landed on the Watergate because we loved the unique and modern spaces paired with the historical DC vibes and knew it would be the perfect place to welcome our mostly out-of-town guests to the city. If you've ever stepped foot in the hotel, you know it is stunning!

    We hosted our ceremony in the Cecchi Ballroom, cocktail hour in the Moretti Foyer, and reception in the Moretti Ballroom. We loved being able to use the different spaces because it gave a different experience and vibe for each part of our wedding. The food was incredible (seriously - we keep getting compliments on how delicious the hors d'oeuvres and main courses were), the signature cocktails and bar package were top-notch, and the service throughout the event was impeccable (shoutout to Sammi and his stellar team!). The Watergate had so many beautiful photo ops (both for our professional photographer and our guests' Instagrams) and the bridal suite was insane (huge + wrap around balcony views of the Potomac!). As the couple getting married, we felt very special throughout the wedding weekend and it was so much fun getting ready and celebrating in all of their spaces.

    Since July 2019, we worked with Sarah Nester as the venue coordinator and she is wonderful! She is so personable and really cares about her wedding clients and delivering a great product that exceeds expectations.

    Unfortunately, before Sarah stepped in, the experience we had did not warrant a five-star review. From the time we signed with The Watergate until our wedding, we worked with four different coordinators (and additional management turnover) and faced countless communication challenges. The transitions between coordinators were rough and often left us feeling unvalued as clients, especially as a bride and groom. We had many meetings with different staff at the hotel to try to make sure details didn't fall through the cracks but we always felt like we were back to square one and were left with little confidence in how our event would turn out. It was clear that internal communication between teams was strained and we were often told different things by different people. To say the least, it was challenging.

    Fortunately, when Sarah stepped in she did her best to turn things around immediately and, as expressed above, our event was incredible! We are really excited about what Sarah brings to The Watergate and believe that future couples will have an amazing experience that is five-star all around. We are confident in the staff at the hotel to pull off a great event, but we would also highly recommend anyone choosing the Watergate to hire a full-service planner/coordinator (shoutout to Sarah Kazemburg Events!) to help pull everything together.

    The Watergate Hotel's reply:

    Dear Anthony and Wendy,

    We thank you so much for your review, for your hard work and patience, and most importantly, for putting your faith and confidence in The Watergate Hotel. I Needless to say, I am thrilled your special celebration was everything you and your family had hoped it would be!

    It was a genuine pleasure welcoming both families, Anthony and Wendy. I sincerely hope we see you back for more celebrations soon!

    Sarah Nester
  • A
    A Married on 08/07/2021
    Rating 1.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    0/10 Would Not Recommend.

    We had an amazing wedding despite selecting the Watergate hotel as our venue. We were so excited when we first signed and booked our wedding here. We signed a contract when the hotel was shut down and got a good deal since we were paying a non-refundable deposit and again signing while the hotel was closed in confidence that they would work with us to make our wedding happen due to covid. Once the hotel opened back up and we could have our wedding there they did everything possible to try and squeeze extra (non-discussed) costs to our main account (despite us specifically stating we did not want these additions). They agreed to a contract and then gave us an issue with even the smallest details, even saying "no" to us on certain occasions like when we asked if we could feed our vendors our wedding plate at the cost of the dinner itself. They even went as far as to say margaritas were not part of the open bar and would be charging extra per cocktail at our wedding during the open bar. We had to argue with our main point of contact at the hotel (Martin Keeney) to remove this charge as he was trying to spin it into a "specialty drink" after we mentioned wanting the tequila (that was included as part of our contract) highlighted at the wedding. Putting a charge on our master account after we specifically said we did not want it was not only unprofessional, but also shady and a poor representation for the hotel. This is an example of the type of experience we had with the hotel, and keep in mind these conversations were happening up to the week of our wedding. It was stressful, unprofessional, exhausting, and at the end of the day just resulted in us being frustrated with the hotel where we celebrated our marriage which should only hold positive memories for us. There were countless other issues including that most of our guests somehow never received our welcome gifts (bottles of Patrón) and they "went missing" in the hotel, champagne was never poured for our toast and our wedding coordinator (Martin Keeney) told my mother that this was not his responsibility, etc. I've never worked with someone like that who was rude, unprofessional, unresponsive, and unhelpful to a client. The positives are that the food at our wedding was well done, and the ballroom looked lovely, but it doesn't make up for the poor treatment we received. It truly is a shame between the location, venue, etc we were so looking forward to being at the hotel, but after working with them on our big day we overall (unfortunately) would never recommend the Watergate hotel to any couple.

    The Watergate Hotel's reply:

    Hello,

    Please accept our sincere apologies for failing to deliver the luxury experience you expected of us and that we pride ourselves for! We always want our couples to have nothing but fond memories of their time here at The Watergate Hotel and we take your feedback very seriously. We look forward to the opportunity to regain your trust and speak with you further regarding this issue.

    Thank you!

    The Watergate Hotel