Skip to main content
Weddings

The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City Reviews

The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Arlington, VA
4.4 out of 5 rating, 13 Reviews
View more information

13 Reviews

Rated
4.4
out of 5.0
Recommended by 87% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.2 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.4 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 13
  • N
    Nabil Married on 08/05/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We used the Ritz Carlton for part of our wedding weekend and were blown away by the staff. Zaidee Sarip Macmod, Director of Meetings and Special Events, helped us coordinate our events and was very thoughtful. The hotel arranged for a special rate for our guests, and people loved how close the location was to the mall and the Metro. The staff were so friendly and helped us with many special requests. The chef did an amazing job creating a custom dinner menu for our reception, and our guests raved about how good the food was. It was such a pleasure to stay at the hotel and have part of our wedding there.
  • C
    Christina Married on 08/27/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Say whatever you want to say about Ritz Carlton. They have the image of being "snobby" and "high class" but they are far beyond that. The price that you pay, Ritz Carlton will deliver 100% and more. Throughout the planning process, Kristin Grady was always there every step of the way to help out. Within a week of the wedding there were a few items that was forgotten to ordered and Kristin was able to find the vendor for the items. The food - every single one of my guests enjoyed the menu selection and of course, the drinks selection. The staff was very responsive. The hotel staff was very accommodating.
  • L
    Lauren Married on 04/30/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City was the BEST choice we made for our April 2016 wedding and welcome reception!! Kristin Grady and everyone at the Ritz Carlton did an amazing job. It was the most wonderful magical weekend!! They were highly responsive and attentive to all the details that we discussed for the Welcome Reception on Friday and the Wedding Reception on Saturday. Kristin Grady was so attentive to every detail that we discussed and took the time always to listen and put into motion the vision I had for my wedding day and the welcome reception. They made our wedding dreams come true!! The Ritz Carlton made us feel really special and our guests too! The food, the service, the decor, the ballrooms, and the location are absolutely perfect. Most of our guests were from out of town, so the location was incredibly convenient for them when they flew into DC as well as the location for sighting-seeing. Thank you again Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City for the most wonderful dream wedding weekend!! Brides to be, book this location now for your wedding!! It will be amazing!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • User2488919 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The absolute best choice for our December 2015 wedding! The staff was so attentive, the service was phenomenal, the food and cake were outstanding (we've received so many compliments on the food!) - the Ritz-Carlton staff ensured that our wedding day was absolutely perfect. They truly go above and beyond to make their brides and grooms happy. So, so, so happy that we picked this hotel for our big day! Highly recommend!
  • Astrid
    Astrid Married on 01/18/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    AMAAAAAAAAZING!!
    Loved the new lobby decor... but more importantly the service was outstanding. Nothing is perfect in this world, however, this hotel simply went out of their way to make my dream wedding come true. My husband and I truly had the best wedding we have ever been to. Plus, location and value was beyond perfect and we had the most delicious wedding cake EVER. Friends and family continue to say it was the best cake they have ever tasted...even people who are not cake eaters were raving about it.
    I was not a bridezilla because I had complete trust in this magnificent hotel which is only a 5 minute drive into DC and 5 minute drive to Reagan National Airport, plus, metro is just outside the entrance to the hotel which made it supper easy for our guests, who came from all over the world, enjoy the city as well as our wedding.
    Thank you ladies and gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton for making our special day MAGICAL!!!!!
  • C
    C Married on 12/15/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Carleigh was amazing to work with-- so professional, friendly, and able to work with my budget. My initial consultation with her was an amazing experience, and she customized everything with me and my fiance's name on it so we could get a feel of what it looked like on the actual day. Carleigh was great at answering emails and calls, and I think it is extremely important to have such a responsive and helpful wedding coordinator! Although we did not end up going with the Ritz Carlton for location reasons, I definitely look forward to working again with her in the future and will recommend Ritz Carlton Pentagon City to all my friends.
  • J
    Jessica Married on 08/06/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Pentagon City Ritz Carlton did a spectacular job on my wedding. The service and the final product delivered was more than I could have ever expected. I had my wedding reception and my bridal shower at the Ritz Carlton. I worked with Vanessa and she was available to answer any questions I had. I loved my experience so much with the Ritz Carlton that I know I will be having other life events at the Ritz in the future. I would recommend this venue to any bride because of the spectacular service.
  • S
    Sara Married on 08/14/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I wish there were more stars to give!! Everything about my reception was perfect! Lauren Barham was amazing.. so patient with me and my million questions. the organization of the evening was unbelieveable! if you want an unforgettable, stressfree reception I HIGHLY recommend!
  • D
    Dinah Married on 08/08/2015
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City was a perfect venue for our wedding. The staff was extremely responsive and attentive to every detail. They were very helpful throughout the planning process. Everything was seamless and we were able to enjoy and not worry at our event. Our guests had a wonderful time and raved about the superb food and service.
  • User2458107 2+ years ago
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everything was perfect. The staff listened to us and the attention to detail was incredible. We were able to enjoy the wedding as if we were guests The food was amazing. Our guests were taken care of. We have only wonderful things to say.
  • C
    Cheryl Married on 04/05/2008
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We chose this site for our wedding of about 100 guests. We had the ceremony in one room and the reception in another. Besides providing a venue, they also of course were the caterers for the food & beverage and we also used their florist. The short version is that overall, I would recommend this venue and its various services with only a couple of minor suggestions for things to keep in mind.

    To give more details, I'll break it down into the various components:

    Service and Planning:

    Pros & Cons: The person who booked us (before we were turned over to the coordinator - I still don't really understand the whole process) was quite unresponsive. Very friendly, but didn't really seem to listen to us - e.g. - would forget meetings that she had requested and would react to our conversations like she hadn't heard of these things yet, so it felt like a waste of time to talk to her. (I was not one of those brides who wanted to spend long hours in meetings and planning - I had hoped for efficiency.) Every meeting with this first person felt like the same conversation over and over, so I wasn't really sure what the point of them was. We had to ask her several times to fax the contract so we could pay the deposit and then get transferred to the coordinator, with whom the actual planning would take place. I eventually took to emailing her a day in advance to confirm our meeting so I wasn't sitting there waiting for her to finish with whatever she had done instead. She did end up throwing in some nice extras for my parents and in-laws regarding their accomodations - extras in the rooms, room upgrades, and room comped for the paying party.

    Pros: The coordinator was absolutely wonderful. Completely on the ball and a great sense of humor. We wanted a long party filled with a wide variety of little tastes of food and dessert and our guests are still talking about how wonderful everything was and the wedding was over half a year ago. They have a set menu with different options, but they are also willing to customize your offerings however you want them to be. Their chef is well-versed in vegetarian cuisine (we had some meat offerings for our non-veg friends, but the veggie options were spectacular - not the usual stuff that you have to settle for) and is also trained in macrobiotic food preparation for whoever might be interested in that. They gave us prices for the various ideas we had and even tried offering a few suggestions to cut costs based on the number of people we were having. (We were lucky enough to not need to worry about that, but it was nice to know they weren't trying to milk us for whatever they could.) They even put a selection of things that we had asked for in advance into our little "chill out room" so that we could relax after the ceremony and have a nibble before going out to the party. The coordination with the pastry chef there was incredible. We got our cakes elsewhere, but they did other desserts for us including gorgeous little French macarons and (yes, we are Harry Potter geeks) chocolate frogs. Everything was a total hit with us and with the guests. Delicious and plentiful and wonderfully presented and arranged throughout the room. The brunch the next morning was fabulous. Also, they let you choose which rooms your venue will be in - we liked the grand ballroom the best for our ceremony for its elegance and simplicity. They seemed to try to talk us out of it and into a different (and uglier, I.M.O.) room, but we kept saying that we wanted that one so they booked us for it. (It can be sectioned off for however large your group is.) I loved the old world pale silk wall coverings and huge classic crystal chandelier. The service was impeccable.

    Cons: There was a misunderstanding about the time the food should be removed. We thought it would be out for the duration of the party but they whisked it away after a few hours and wouldn't let us give leftovers to guests or to a shelter, citing food safety requirements. Based on several pre-wedding discussions, we were very surprised and disappointed by this and she felt really bad that we were disappointed about it. Also, the alcohol selections seemed a bit bottom-shelf for the kind of establishment they are. They modified their selection according to our requests (e.g. imported beers instead of Bud and Miller Light...!!), but it naturally added quite a bit to the price tag. I think the only other thing that kind of caught us off guard was that NO ONE TOLD US WHEN TO GO INTO OUR WEDDING!!! I went into the hallway because I was wondering what was taking so long... and the music was already halfway through the song that our family was supposed to enter with and they finished entering about halfway through what we had intended to be our bride & groom song. Oh well. No huge deal to us in the grand scheme of things, but if that kind of thing would bother you then be sure to remind them of this in your meetings! Oh, one more thing - I wish we'd had more to eat. If I'd thought of it ahead of time, I would have had them either give us more in the chill-out room or have a plate sent to us in our room later on. Being good hosts, we barely got a bite to eat at the party - it was kind of cute because a motherly waitress noticed this and kept asking me what I wanted and giving little plates to me. Unfortunately, every time I started to take a bite, someone came over to congratulate me and the efficient waitstaff whisked my plate away during the conversation. The few bites I had were SCRUMPTIOUS!!!!!

    Accomodations

    Pros: They are the Ritz Carlton - the rooms are comfortable, clean, and elegant. This site also has the advantage of being near other lower-priced hotels and is easy to get to from the airport and from the highways (vs. downtown DC). Our guests also liked the proximity to metro, shopping, restaurants, and entertainment. Also, when you have your reception there, they include a bridal suite for you for the wedding night. They also included champagne and chocolate covered strawberries.

    Cons: They don't offer a discount for wedding guests unless you offer them a guarantee (read: you pay for rooms that don't get booked). Also, my sister got stuck in their elevator for about 15 minutes and the alarm bell didn't work. Probably a chance occurance, but very uncomfortable for her and when she mentioned it to the desk staff they seemed to be pretty "whatever" about it.


    Flowers

    Pros: Their florist is incredible. Her eye for visual design, cooperativeness, and impeccable taste were exactly what I had hoped for. My previous experience with florists was that I'd ask for a bouquet of just one kind of flower... and then get something that was stuffed with fillers. Jean at the Ritz was not like that at all - she actually made our things look even better in person than they were in my mind. The biggest worry I had about a professional florist doing our flowers was that they would come out looking "too arranged." (As a frequent guest at the Ritz dining room, I already knew she could do great arrangements because they are on display throughout the common areas of the hotel.) (We wanted a much more unstructured, aimple, and outdoorsy springtime feel.) She also made a chuppa for our interfaith ceremony that was simple and elegant and exactly like what I had described for her. ("Just drapey and flow-y white cloth with no embellishments.") When we entered the rooms for our ceremony and reception, I was on cloud nine and could have cared less about flowers, but I was still blown away by how incredibly gorgeous they were. On either side of our chuppa, she had placed a large Victorian-looking urn filled with branches and branches of cherry blossoms (luckily in season) that were as tall as we were. I had provided dark metal trumpet vases and she filled them with pussy willows arranged in some kind of discreet moss filler. She had also potted live miniature rose bushes for us in complementing pots that I had provided and they looked perfect with the moss pots I had done myself.

    She was prompt and courteous for all of our meetings and checked with me via phone and email if she wasn't sure what I meant about something.

    Cons: She left our box of bouquets and boutineers in the pre-ceremony room without letting us know they were there and without staying around to help fasten the boutineers. She also didn't deliver them in time for us to have them for our pre-wedding photos. Our Ritz wedding coordinator knew what time our photos started and I assumed that she would have arranged times accordingly with the florist, but that was not the case. Also, we wouldn't have expected otherwise there, but the flowers and chuppa did add quite a bit to the total bill - not the florist to go with if you're trying to cut costs.
  • B
    Bianca Married on 11/03/2018
    2.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating

    Think twice before booking here.

    Unfortunately, our experience with the Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City in the fall of 2018 was not what we expected. Our wedding coordinator was impossible to get in touch with via phone and email, which led to a ton of confusion regarding almost every detail including pricing. That led to *so* much unnecessary stress for me and my family. It's a huge venue, which is unique for the DC area, but I encourage anyone considering this venue to REALLY consider all of your options before paying all the money at the Ritz in Pentagon City.
  • User1557473 2+ years ago
    • Quality of service
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    Stay far away and do NOT have your wedding ceremony or reception here. I chose to have both my ceremony & reception here because of the smaller room downstairs (we had 100 guests), convenient location to the airport, and entertainment for our guests being that the hotel is attached to the Pentagon mall. However, I am filled with regret & disappointment and they ruined our wedding. I don't even know where to begin but here are a few highlights of our terrible experience:

    1. Our BEOs (Banquet Event Orders) were sent to us a WEEK before our wedding. This was a 20+ page document to go through. Our wedding was on January 4 so the week they sent this to us right right after Xmas but before the New Year Holiday. I had to scramble that entire week to look over these details to make sure everything was correct.

    2. Our BEOs were anything but correct. The timing of events were incorrect, several AM/PM mixups, incorrect napkin fold, dish selections, guest valet pricing rate.... The list goes on. I spent that entire week going back and forth with our coordinator making these ridiculous corrections.

    3. They booked another wedding the same day as ours without making it clear that the space we were going to use for pictures would be unavailable. I then had to change our start time from 12noon to 9AM so we could take pictures then sit around until our ceremony began at 6PM. The other wedding started at 5PM so we had to completely rearrange our wedding schedule the week of due to their decision. It was very stressful and they could care less.

    4. The room block was a mess. I requested everyone be on the same floor with only 2 rooms together. The 2 rooms together were on different floors and my 82 year old grandmother had to switch rooms 3 times because they didn't accommodate her.

    There isn't enough space to write out the rest but this gives you an idea of how awful the service is. Our meals never made it up to our room, decor drama the day of... Just stay far away!