Skip to main content
Weddings

Southern City Lights Reviews

Southern City Lights

Southern City Lights

Heflin, AL
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 55 Reviews
View more information

55 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 55
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

23 User photos

  • C
    Caten M. Married on 10/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely made our night!

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND David and Southern City Lights! David was extremely communicative from the beginning and was always available to answer any questions we had as we customized the right fit for our wedding. Southern City Lights was the absolute hit of the reception, they learned a few songs especially for our wedding which made the night all the more special! Our guests are still raving about how good the band was. Thank you SCL for helping to make our day absolutely perfect!
  • Alexis
    Alexis S. Married on 09/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The band of my dreams!!

    The band of my dreams!! I wanted my wedding day to be a complete fairytale! Southern City Lights played a major part in making my wedding dream come true! They covered everything! They sounded amazing!! We had so many compliments on how great the band was and the fun atmosphere they created!! We will be using Southern City Lights for all of our future events!!
  • K
    Kelly M. Married on 09/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great way to pick a vendor is to read the reviews

    David and his group went way beyond our expectations! We didn’t have to worry about one thing. David came in set up and when the ceremony was to begin, they were in place and ready! During the reception it was AMAZING! This group is the best I’ve ever heard any will be who I use in our next event!
  • M
    Matthew Married on 09/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Southern city lights - 10/10!

    BOOK THIS BAND!!! We had Southern City Lights for the wedding/reception and they will not disappoint. For the weeding, we had a guitar/violin and then for the reception it was a 5 piece band. Wedding was very sweet with violin and they kept the dance floor rocking all night long at the reception. David and his crew are phenomenal musicians. They have many different packages to choose from small to large pieces bands. David is easy to work and will help you pick the right one for what you are looking for. We have already recommended them to other friends that are getting married so. Can't wait to see them again at one of our own events or one that we attended. 10/10!!!!
  • Josh
    Josh L. Married on 07/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding Reception

    Southern City Lights were by far the most professional and responsive group out of all vendors at our wedding. They didn't just provide a great show throughout the reception, they also communicated throughout the process and put us both at ease when it came to the entertainment part of the night. Our guests still talk about the band! I strongly encourage anyone looking for a great band to reach out to David and Southern City Lights, you will not regret it!

    Southern City Lights's reply:

    Hey Josh, Thank you so much! That really means a lot to us.

    We've talked about your wedding several times since as well. For us, it was truly one of the best we have played. There was just such a nice atmosphere that allowed the night to really come to life naturally.

    I sincerely enjoyed meeting everyone and for the opportunity to play a small part of that amazing day!

    I wish y'all a Happy "First" Thanksgiving as a married couple and many more indeed!

    Very Sincerely,

    David Winkles.
  • Jena
    Jena H. Married on 06/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Wedding Band Ever

    Wow! I cannot speak highly enough of David and his team at Southern City Lights. I reached out to them to play at our wedding reception for June 2021. He was very good with communication and was always available to answer any questions my husband and I had. Even with us having to change dates because of the pandemic, David was very flexible and understanding. His team did an amazing job of setting up their stage area at the reception. We received so many compliments from our guests of how great our band was! Southern City Lights is an awesome band! They made sure the music matched the mood and kept everyone entertained the whole night! Book them for your next wedding or event…. I promise you won’t regret it! – Jena & Cameron Hooper
  • Alexandra
    Alexandra Married on 06/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Music and dancing all night long!!!

    If you want to have THE BEST TIME at your wedding, Southern City Lights is your band!!! Our dance floor was packed for the entire reception, everyone had a blast and wanted to know where we found David and his band! Being a musician, I was thoroughly impressed by their sound and their ability to sound consistently great in every different genre they played (not an easy feat!). David was very kind and responsive as we went over plans for the big picture down to all the important, little details. Despite the fact that my husband's and my song was not in their repertoire, they took the time to learn it and totally rocked it, which officially made the night for us, it was absolutely wonderful.
  • Tyler
    Tyler H. Married on 05/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Hire this band for your wedding now!

    Look no further...this is absolutely the wedding band you want to hire. My wife and I got married 5/8/21 and while there many highlights of the night, our guests couldn't stop raving about the band afterwards. The mix of songs (both old school and new), the energy, the performance itself...it was all outstanding.

    David was a pleasure to work with leading up to the event and truly went above and beyond with our coordination.

    Thank you SCL for playing a very large part in making our day so special!
  • Ruthie
    Ruthie Married on 05/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    This is the band you're looking for!

    When my now-husband first told me he wanted a live band instead of a DJ, I did not think it would be within our budget. It turns out Southern City Lights offered many different options for all price points and instrument preferences. We were able to pick and choose exactly what we wanted for our big day. David and his team were the epitome of professionalism, personalized touch, and SO much fun! David talked us through every step of the process, so communication and expectations were crystal clear. We opted for instrumentals during the ceremony and a five-piece band for the reception. Our friends and family are still talking about how much fun our wedding was - and we all know the music makes the party. SCL had everyone on the dance floor from Grandma Bebop cutting a rug to our toddler niece showing off her moves to all the uncles singing together. The only sad part was when it was over! The saying goes "where words fail, music speaks". Music has played a huge part in our love story, and there is no one we would recommend more than David and Southern City Lights. Reach out and get in touch. I promise you'll be glad you did!
  • Zachary
    Zachary N. Married on 05/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    10/10 would recommend again!

    10/10 and would recommend again! David was very professional from the very first conversation and throughout our entire wedding process. He worked with us and his team learned a few songs just for our wedding. He showed up on time and they were the absolute hit of the reception. It has been 5 months since our wedding and we still have guests raving about how good our band was. Thanks again David for being apart of our special day!
  • Hannah
    Hannah F. Married on 02/20/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent band!

    Southern City Lights was amazing! They did a great job, and were so easy to work with. They took into account what we wanted played and what we didn’t want played. Their enthusiasm was great. All of our guests really enjoyed their performance. I highly recommend them!
  • Tabitha
    Tabitha L. Married on 01/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best band for weddings ever!

    David Winkles was very professional in all aspects of working with us to schedule performances for our Friday night Welcome Party and Saturday evening Wedding. I can not explain the delight of having David perform solo at our outdoor Welcome Party where he entertained everyone during the dinner and afterwards. The next evening, he and his band were set up in the wedding pavilion where they played before and after the ceremony. Then they really rocked out and got everyone up and dancing for the rest of the evening! This made our wedding so special and fun that we can't thank them enough. From the ease of scheduling the band to coordinating our playlist and then to the final note, Southern City Lights was the perfect band for our wedding and will be for yours as well. Thank you, David & Southern City Lights!
  • C
    Courtney M. Married on 12/12/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely phenomenal.

    I cannot recommend Southern City Lights more. They are professional, easy to work with, and phenomenal musicians. We received SO many compliments during our wedding and still have people asking for their contact information a week later. David went out of his way to help me figure out what kind of vibe we were going for and it exceeded all expectations. We definitely couldn’t have picked a better band for our reception!
  • Suzan
    Suzan G. Married on 10/24/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing!

    BOOK THIS BAND!!! They were amazing at my daughters wedding !!! We had them play live with the acoustic guitar and the violin for the ceremony and it was absolutely beautiful !! The entire night was full of energy and the musicians were awesome !! David was great from beginning to the end and we talked several times before the wedding . You will not be disappointed they are incredible and I wish I could give 10 stars !!
  • Leah
    Leah Y. Married on 10/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Do yourself a favor and book Southern City Lights!

    Southern City Lights did SUCH a wonderful job at our wedding! I wanted to keep things mostly upbeat and they achieved the exact reception vibe I was looking for! People were on the dance floor all night, and we got so many compliments about the band! There were so many flexible options to choose from (4-piece, 5-piece, female vocalist, etc.) and they are affordable and easy to fit whatever your needs are! They sent out a questionnaire prior to the wedding date which made things super easy. They also let our ceremony musician borrow an extra speaker, which they didn't have to do but was much appreciated. David was easy to communicate with and very accommodating. Highly recommend!
  • Grace
    Grace F. Married on 01/25/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Such a great band!!!

    David and his team were phenomenal!! We used them at our wedding reception in January. David was so great to communicate with and made the whole entire process run smoothly. They did a great job at keeping the atmosphere up beat but knew exactly when to keep it low key as well. Truly want to help you make your vision come true! Highly recommend!
  • T
    Townley P. Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent experience! Beyond Expectations!

    Southern City Lights Band was right on target for our wedding. Communication was easy, always responsive and David helped us create a timeline to fit our plans for the evening. The band was engaging and fun for everyone. Their music and performance was exactly what we wanted. They also assisted another fire performer by pulling out a mobile speaker and hooking her music up for her show. Truly a great decision on our part to hire Southern City Lights for our daughter’s wedding reception.
  • W
    Will B. Married on 06/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommend!

    The band was fantastic! David worked well with us fitting the songs that we wanted in to the wedding reception. Perfect touch to cap off a wonderful evening. Highly recommend!
  • K
    Kayla G. Married on 05/25/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazingggg!

    BEST BAND EVER! They made our wedding one big party and played exactly the kind of music we loved! DEFINITELY will use them again hopefully in the future! 100/100 recommend. If you don’t have Southern City Lights to play at your wedding or special event you aren’t doing it right!
  • J
    Jennifer J. Married on 05/18/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Magical Night

    My guests are still complimenting us on the band a month after our wedding. They had an amazing time rocking out to them all night! They can play any genre you need and they performed our ceremony too. It was beautiful!
  • C
    Caitlyn B. Married on 05/18/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Bride - they were amazing! I would recommend.

    They were amazing! I would recommend them to anyone! They played any suggestions you gave them and were very energetic!
  • Hannah
    Hannah M. Married on 04/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Southern City Lights brought the party!

    Southern City Lights was the BEST wedding band! The most important characteristic I valued in all of my vendors was communication and David Winkles was a great communicator! I think only ten minutes must have gone by from when I inquired about their availability and when I got a response! He was always so fast to respond to emails, dumb questions, texts, and calls! Other bands we had talked with charged extra fees for emceeing the wedding (literally just for saying “here’s the first dance, now there’s cake cutting, let’s throw the bouquet, it’s last call”), for DJing between breaks, for special requests, for providing sound for the ceremony.. David so eagerly helped us do all of this at no extra cost! We had Southern City Lights do our ceremony music (guitar and violin) and reception (we got the 5 piece band) and it was amazing! The ceremony music was the perfect, volume, was clear, and was exactly what I had hoped! We asked David and the violinist to learn “let it go” by Passenger and “Ho Hey” by the Lumineers for our ceremony and it was better than any instrumental youtube cover we could find! They also learned Skinny Love by Bon Iver for our last dance in addition to doing a special request for our first dance and transitioning to a different song part way through! They were great about taking special requests throughout the night! Our wedding had 180 guests and the band and dance floor were set up under a 30 by 30 tent. They set up the sound system and lights and it lit the tent up like a party! Southern City Lights was such a great value and we are so appreciative of David and his bandmates! Hire them today, you won’t regret it!
  • A
    Anna Y. Married on 03/29/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great sound and excellent service!

    My husband and I could not speak more highly of David and his team! From the very beginning, he was on the ball and attentive to our style and song preference. He helped us plan a detailed outline of the music and made the time to do a run-through over the phone before the big day as well. He even changed up ALL the words to the Mother/Son first dance to accommodate us! We used only three band pieces but they made it sound like so much more, I can't even imagine how great their full set would be! David also played instrumental for our ceremony and learned all new songs to play while we walked down the aisle! Our friends and family had the BEST time and I've already gotten so many requests for his contact information from our guests! You can't go wrong with Southern City Lights!
  • Caitlin
    Caitlin W. Married on 03/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Kept the party going all night long

    Absolutely amazing!! We were so happy with Southern City Lights and would choose them again a million times. They kept everyone on the dance floor and always chose the perfect song to fit the mood. They can play an incredible variety of songs, and if they don't know it, they will attempt to learn it for you! My husband and I wanted a song that wasn't on their normal list. They took the time to learn it, and it sounded perfect. We wanted a live band and we are so happy with our decision. Our guest couldn't get over how wonderful they were, and neither could we! Not to mention, we had to change our wedding date several time (my husband is in the Army) and they were so amazing with working with us and our coordinator. Hands down would recommend for any event!!

    Southern City Lights's reply:

    Thank you so much Caitlin! We truly enjoyed being a part of your special day. Your wedding was absolutely beautiful and your friends and family were so much fun. Your father’s speech was one of our favorite parts. So genuinely original. We hope you do choose us again in the future for another special event. We would be delighted. Thank you again and we wish you both the very best!