Shenandoah Woods Reviews

41 | Luray, VA
See photos, pricing and details

41 Reviews for Shenandoah Woods

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

41

27 User photos

Shenandoah Woods 1
Shenandoah Woods 2
Shenandoah Woods 3
Shenandoah Woods 4
Shenandoah Woods 5
+ 23
Order by:
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 10/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible Wedding Venue!

    Shenandoah Woods was the perfect venue for our wedding. We had such an amazing weekend that we were able to share with our family and friends. Jason was so easy to work with and incredibly helpful. Everything went off without a hitch. I can't imagine anyone not having the best time celebrating their wedding here. All of our friends and family who stayed in cabins loved them (as did we!). The Pavilion itself is stunning with gorgeous views. The fire pits in the fall were everything. We will definitely visit again!

    Sent on 11/10/2019
  • Paige

    Paige Sourbeer · Married on 09/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The dream wedding beyond my wildest dreams...

    Just this past weekend, my husband and I were married at Shenandoah Woods and it nothing short of an absolutely perfect experience! The venue itself provides the most breathtaking views and the coziest accommodations that made every moment of the event feel like a fairy tale. Every one of our guests is still raving about the experience and, if booking this venue, you can expect that each of your guest's FaceBook profile picture will quickly be changed to one with your wedding as it's backdrop! Beyond simply the beauty of the location, the owner, Jason Cave, was more than wonderful to work with. A wedding is no small feat to plan with it's many, many considerations that need to be made, but Jason made it so much easier by always being available to answer any questions/concerns quickly and succinctly, even providing new and creative solutions to needs that may not have been part of the offerings they usually include. Being a family owned business with many years of experience, he is basically an expert on the topic. Not only was he available to my husband and I, he was just as willing to accommodate and assist our guests staying on the resort with any of their needs. With his help, we have ALL made memories that will last a lifetime and we are already making plans to return to stay in the cabins! You will not regret having your wedding at Shenandoah Woods.

    Sent on 09/19/2019
  • M

    Meg Ahern · Married on 06/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic.

    We got married here in June 2019 and rented a bunch of cabins. My husband and I personally stayed in Lost Paddle cabin and it was *so* well-appointed, clean, comfortable, and beautiful. The views were gorgeous and everyone had a great time. Jason, the owner, took great care of us in terms of email responses and helping us with special arrangements ahead of time. Everything went perfectly, and we were so grateful!! Especially love that they have on-site recycling, and the kitchen was really well stocked. We loved the cabins, the location, the lovely picnic shelter, etc. Highly recommended!

    Shenandoah Woods 6
    Shenandoah Woods 7
    Shenandoah Woods 8
    Sent on 07/28/2019
  • Peggy

    Peggy · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Location, Location, Location!

    Shenandoah Woods was the PERFECT venue for my daughters October wedding! The couple wanted a view, and boy, did they get it! Everything was beautiful - from the ceremony site to the rustic/chic pavilion with the most amazing view of the Blue Ridge Mountains! And, the lake pavilion down the road was a wonderful spot for the rehearsal dinner.
    Jason Cave was amazing! He always answered our questions in a timely manner and was quick to offer solutions to whatever problem occurred. His calm assurances made everything easier.
    We loved the shuttle service! The bride wanted everyone to be able to enjoy the reception and the shuttle fulfilled that wish, picking up guest at the cabins and even going into town to get guests staying at local motels!
    The cabins were fantastic! Everyone was very impressed with the luxury accommodations. We loved the hot tubs and fire pits! It made for a wonderful mini-vacation/family reunion!
    Thanks to Jason and his staff for helping to make this special day, perfect!

    Sent on 03/30/2019
  • A

    Annie · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shenandoah Woods is the dream wedding location!

    We can’t say enough wonderful things about Shenandoah Woods and Jason Cave – both the venue and Jason exceeded our expectations. Book Shenandoah Woods for your wedding or other event! The venue and ceremony site are beautiful and offer spectacular views of the surrounding Blue Ridge Mountains. The luxury cabins are unreal – huge private log cabins with gorgeous views. They have modern kitchens, bathrooms, and bedrooms, and most include special features such as hot tubs and/or gas fireplaces.

    Throughout the process, Jason was highly responsive, flexible, supportive, thoughtful and calm. He has been supporting weddings for a few years and has seen it all. His experience and enthusiasm were greatly appreciated, and he offered some great suggestions that improved the wedding. A few days before the wedding, we were working with Jason on the logistics of picking up guests from the cabins and dropping them off at the ceremony site, and realized we had more guests that required transportation than anticipated. Jason was able to rapidly provide a solution – an extra van and driver for a very low cost to ensure our guests would be comfortable. He worked well with our wedding coordinator and our vendors, ensuring the day would be seamless.

    Sent on 03/19/2019
  • H

    Hailey · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason and his venue are amazing! We wanted a full weekend event in the beautiful mountains and that was exactly what we were able to get with Jason and Shenandoah Woods! The entire wedding party and almost all the guests were able to stay on the mountain/property in Jason's cabins. He shuttled everyone around throughout the wedding day and was available via email, text, and phone any time we needed him or had a question. He worked with us to create the wedding weekend of our dreams and we would 100% percent recommend him and this venue to anyone!

    Shenandoah Woods 9
    Shenandoah Woods 10
    Sent on 10/09/2018
  • E

    Elga · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There will not be enough characters allowed here for me to fully express just how insanely happy we are with Shenandoah Woods as our wedding venue!!!!!!! First of all, yeah, they're pricier than some of the nearby venues and we went way over budget by picking them. BUT... WORTH! EVERY! DAMN! PENNY! There's a reason they're booked every weekend a full year out.
    Everything about Shenandoah Woods was perfect, and the main reason for that was the owner Jason. Our wedding planner told us ShenWoods is her favorite venue to work at, because everything is so well thought out. Basically if any couple ever says "we could use X", he'll add it to the package. So not only do you have this amazing beautiful venue with a perfect view, but you have a full kitchen, and sliding barn doors that you can hide food trucks behind, and a super fancy but easy-to-use sound system, and (newly-added!) easy-drop plastic walls for bad weather, and great lawn games, and a beautiful ceremony location mere steps away (so folks don't need to travel between venues OR stand around awkwardly while a venue gets moved around), and a full catering kitchen, and a venue so beautiful and beautifully lit you don't need to bring any of your own decorations or lights, and a shuttle bus and golf cart, and a stocked fir pit, and a classic truck for photos, and an entirely separate second venue by a pond for things like brunches and rehearsal dinners, etc.
    The absolute best thing, though, is the awesome set-up of having vacation rental cabins on hold for guests! I can't stress enough just how much we and our friend and family LOVED this! We wound up hosting an Adult Summer Camp for our guests for several days afterwards, and it was a big hit.
    BEST. VENUE. EVER.

    Shenandoah Woods 11
    Shenandoah Woods 12
    Shenandoah Woods 13
    Shenandoah Woods 14
    Sent on 08/31/2018
  • K

    Krystal · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    STOP! Look no further for the perfect venue...I can’t even begin to express how amazing this place is. First, Jason, the owner, is super responsive, and will answer any questions you may have no matter how small. He is extremely Accommodating and laid back. Every time I checked my email there was somthing new coming to the venue, weather it be a new cabin he’s building, or upgrading equipment. They provide almost everything you need!! Tables, chairs, coolers, freezer, keg coolers, wine barrels corn hole boards ect...They also custom make you a beautiful wooden sign with you and your partners name and wedding date. It was the sweetest gesture and somthing we will have for a lifetime. We had the pleasure of staying at our cabin 2 days before the wedding, which truly allowed us to of some much needed R&R before our big day. We took full advantage of hot tub. Our rehersal was held at Somerset cabin, and unfortunately it rained that evening, however the kitchen and covered front porch more than accommodated our 60+ dinner guests. Our big day couldn’t have gone more perfect, even with the slight threat of a rainstorm, it moved right around the venue only to sprinkle for 5 seconds, just enough for luck. Jason called it, he told a guest, “it won’t rain, I’ve seen this kind of storm many times and that’s going to go right around.” And he couldn’t have been more spot on. The ceremony space offers the most beautiful Mountain View’s, making it the perfect place to be married. And The Pavillion is magical!! It comfortably accommodated my 170 guests. Which my guests couldn’t stop talking about how beautiful the views were!! So many pictures were taken! The mountains, clouds, sunset! It is simply breathtaking. The set up and sound system for the DJ was perfect, my guests danced ALL NIGHT! Jason has put a lot of thought into this place and it really truly shows. We had a fabulous wedding with tons of memories. We’ve already made plans to vist again! So what are you waiting for?!

    Shenandoah Woods 15
    Sent on 07/24/2018
  • D

    Diane · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason was very helpful throughout the wedding weekend. The roads are rough, however, and difficult to drive on unless you have a four wheel drive. The kitchen could use some updating but the cabins are very well equipped and comfortable. It was all in all a great experience.

    Sent on 06/22/2018
  • Sean

    Sean · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason and his venue truly made our wedding weekend everything we wanted and more. He is literally the most responsive person ever. Gets back to you in lightening speed to emails, texts and phone calls making you feel like you are his only client (which clearly isn't true given he is booked out so far!). He is constantly making improvements to his properties and the venue. Most of our family, wedding party and guests stayed on site in the cabins and everyone was so impressed by the quality and condition of them all. Not to mention the GORGEOUS views. We ended up having our rehearsal dinner at the Keaton Ridge Cabin and was just perfect. The view were great and there was TONS of space on the bottom floor to host approximately 60 people. With the weather in flux that weekend, Jason was right there to make a last second ceremony change from the outdoor ceremony site in the woods to the reception pavilion and made it so it was not even noticeable that it was supposed to be different. He shuttled the wedding party around for pictures and guests home at the end of the night along with countless other tasks I probably aren't aware went on "behind the scenes". Overall we can not say enough good things about Jason and Shenandoah Woods. The BEST! We look forward to going back again to rent cabins in the wedding off season. If you are considering Shenandoah Woods, DO IT! It will be the best wedding decision you've made!

    Sent on 07/18/2018
  • A

    Alison · Married on 05/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot say enough good things about Jason and Shenandoah Woods. On the way home from our wedding, as we excitedly chatted about the weekend, we agreed that we would give Shenandoah Woods an 11 out of 5 if we could. Jason is extremely responsive, kind, and an absolute wedding pro -- he felt as essential as our own planner in helping us pull things together, ready to respond to anything that might pop up. It truly felt that he was as invested in making sure that our wedding was a success as we were. We couldn't have asked for more. It is hard to put into words what a unique venue Shenandoah Woods. It will always be a special place for us, and is now the home of many happy memories.

    Sent on 05/07/2018
  • O

    Ona · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Consistent with the other reviews, SW was above our price range but we fell in love with it and decided to splurge. It is a totally gorgeous venue and we loved that so many of our guests could stay in the on-site cabins. Jason was amazingly responsive to all our emails and questions, and went out of his way to make sure everything went smoothly. We had our welcome dinner and Sunday brunch at Somerset cabin, which was the perfect location and Jason offered to bring up extra tables and chairs from the pavilion. Our guests all commented on our gorgeous the ceremony site, Pavilion, and their cabins were. We couldn't have been happier with the venue!

    Shenandoah Woods 16
    Shenandoah Woods 17
    Shenandoah Woods 18
    Shenandoah Woods 19
    Shenandoah Woods 20
    Shenandoah Woods 21
    Shenandoah Woods 22
    Sent on 11/19/2017
  • W

    Wendy · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shenandoah Woods was the perfect venue for our wedding. Jason was very quick to respond to our emails and answer our questions. We had a pre-wedding BBQ at Somerset and it was great that we were able to use to the chairs and tables from the pavilion for that event. For the wedding itself, everyone loved that we had beer and wine available at the ceremony site. =) We had a Sunday brunch at the pond and it was lovely. All of our guests who stayed in cabins had nothing but good things to say about the venue. We highly recommend Shenandoah Woods!

    Sent on 11/29/2017
  • Samantha

    Samantha · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason and his family were amazing, and everyone felt comfortable and relaxed, which meant we had a great party! Among the many wonderful perks of booking Shenandoah Woods were: a golf cart to bring grandparents to the ceremony site, flexibility working with my vendors on a last-minute rain/no-rain plan, heater setup on Labor Day weekend!, extreme flexibility with scheduling the shuttle, and accommodation of special requests. I can't wait until our anniversary when we can visit again!

    Shenandoah Woods 23
    Shenandoah Woods 24
    Shenandoah Woods 25
    Shenandoah Woods 26
    Sent on 10/24/2017
  • M

    Michael · Married on 04/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shenandoah Woods was the perfect place to get married. My wife and I hail from two entirely different areas, one being Baltimore, MD and the other being Princeton, WV. Getting married in the middle in Shenandoah (where we got engaged), seemed to be a perfect compromise - so both sides of the family could complain equally about the 3 hour drive.

    Jason and his crew were amazing. During the day of we had access to Jason anytime we needed him, access to an electric cart, and he even stayed late to drive us back to the cabin from the wedding site. We ended up having to move the venue inside under the cabin because of potential poor weather, but the photos were amazing and my wife and I couldn't be happier for how things ended up turning out. The scenery is par none, and the cabin rentals were awesome for the bridal party to hang out in.

    Jason even hand engraved a wooden plaque with our wedding date that we have on the wall in our house!

    Jason even has a hidden list of vendors that they frequently use as well as their contact information. Moreover, they're all local and he knows how to work with them all.

    The overlook from the wedding venue was amazing, if you combine this wedding site with a good photographer you'll have photos to last a lifetime.

    Thanks again Jason, I'd recommend you to anyone.

    Sent on 08/14/2017
  • A

    Ann · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would not believe there is a better venue anywhere! We were the last wedding of the season and it could not have been better. Cabins are well equipped in the kitchen and bathrooms. I cannot say enough good thinks about the space and the staff - ALL TOP NOTCH!!

    Sent on 11/10/2016
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 06/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shenandoah Woods was an amazing venue for our wedding 6-29-16! Jason was so easy to work with and the venue is absolutely top notch! My guests were blown away by the beauty that these spaces offer and how perfect it was for a wedding. Somerset cabin for the welcome dinner, the chapel in the woods for the ceremony, the Pavilion for the reception, the picnic area by the pond for a breakfast send off, and the additional cabins available for guests truly offered the perfect experience for our wedding! I was blown away with everything that was included in the wedding package and how much and for how long we had access to it all. I had so many people tell me that the venue could not have been more amazing. The view from the Pavilion doesn't even look real it is so beautiful! There are so many special details like the old truck, the beverage canoe, the fire pit, the brick paver aisle, the pews in the woods, the corn hole boards, etc. that help make the scene without the extra expense, planning, or rentals. It was picture perfect and even though it was insanely perfect weather on our day-it was really nice knowing that if it had rained the Pavilion still offers an outdoor experience that would have been covered. It was insane to think that my rain plan was many people's first choice as ceremony site. That's how awesome and picturesque this place is and how many ceremony site options there are! It really was amazing and we are so thankful to have found it!

    Sent on 08/15/2017
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 06/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we got engaged in December 2015, our criteria for picking a wedding venue were: rustic but still capable of being elegant and memorable, within 2 hours of Washington DC, and had availability for a 2016 wedding. Shenandoah Woods was one of the first places we looked at because it seemed perfect – except for the availability. The calendar was completely booked for 2016. We looked at numerous alternatives but in the end we decided that – just like future spouses – the right venue is worth waiting for. We booked our wedding for May 2017, and could not have possibly been happier with our decision.
    First of all – the venue was ideal for us. The outdoor ceremony site was rustic, and perfect for vows and photos, and yet was still accessible for elderly relatives. Then it was a short walk to the Pavilion for cocktails and reception. We knew that we loved it from the first time we visited, but our guests were also impressed, describing it as “storybook,” “straight out of a movie wedding,” and “one of the nicest places I have seen for a wedding,” with the last comment being from an older member of the large Irish extended family and therefore a veteran of many many weddings. Also, the large field below the Pavilion was a perfect staging area for our surprise fireworks show!
    Second – you could not possibly ask for a better partner in planning (other than perhaps your future spouse) – than Jason Cave. He was unbelievable in facilitating the perfect day – helping with vendors, fireworks, and many other details. And in addition to being great with the laid-back bride and groom – he also impressed the bride’s less-than-laid-back Long-Island it-has-to-be-perfect mother.
    There are a few other unique things about Shenandoah Woods that made it the perfect place. The on-site lodging options, assistance in making wedding night childcare arrangements, and being able to use the Pavilion for multiple events on multiple nights all made our day memorable for all guests.

    Sent on 08/13/2017
  • C

    Colin · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    For anyone considering Jason and Shenandoah Woods, please, be smart, and book it. We were just married over Memorial Day weekend, and everything--from first emails, to the first visit (we live in Chicago) to the final day, went perfectly. Jason is just as responsive when you're considering him as he is the weekend-of to you and any guests of yours that may be staying in his cabins. He responds so fast, so often, it's hard to not take it for granted and find yourself stressing just because it's been an hour or so and you haven't heard back. But he always responds, always quite fast, and usually with good news. He's so accommodating and has such experience, that even just asking him a question about the best way to accomplish something comes with a constructive answer.

    As for the venue, it's beautiful and so easy to make into whatever you want. We loved that there are no mandatory vendors, we loved all the things that came with it (the fire pit, the canoe, the ceremony site, the shuttle service) and most of all, we loved getting the chance to spend the whole weekend with friends and family. We had a welcome dinner at Somerset as people arrived, the reception at the pavilion, and since it was a long weekend, had one more night of the venue to host some pub trivia with everybody before they all said goodbye on Monday morning. The cabins were all gorgeous, our friends and family all said how much they enjoyed getting to spend time with each other even when they couldn't be with us. Let's be clear--there was a lot of planning involved, and you can make it as much a DIY affair as you want. It's not a wedding out of a box. But if you're the type of couple who thinks their friends and family would love the chance to get together regardless of the reason, and are comfortable sharing houses with each other, then you couldn't pick a better spot.

    Sent on 06/12/2016
  • K

    Karen · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just got back from my daughter's wedding weekend at Shenandoah Woods. She and her fiance had gone to college at JMU which is closeby and they wanted to get married in the Shenandoah Valley. It wasy incredibly beautiful. We looked at three sites and Shenandoah Woods was the best hands down. First, the Pavilion where the reception was held has an incredible view of the valley and the mountains behind. It is open air but has a state of the art sound system, bathrooms and kitchen. The 3 sides are open but you can close them off if it rains with clear panels (we had to do this during the reception). The ceremony site is down a wooded path and ends in wooden benches with an arbor and another great view. How romantic! We used the Somerset cabin for the rehearsal dinner and it provided a casual venue and a large kitchen. The basement is a gigantic game room with a pool table and big screen tv. We used that for a kids party during the reception since our reception was adult only. We stayed at an 1800s restored farmhouse on the property, the Joseph House, and the bride and bridesmaid got ready for the wedding in a large dressing room there. It was so much fun to have breakfast there that morning and spend the day getting ready there. And the pictures of the bride walking down the long wooden stairway for the first look are incredible. Most of our guests stayed on the property at the cabins, which are very deluxe and feature hot tubs, full kitchens and great views. Tey were thrilled with the accomodations. To end the weekend, we had a picnic at the Pavilion which included a hayride and lawn games. It was a leisurely way to end the weekend.

    Jason Cave is the manager and owner of Shenandoah Woods. He is very responsive to emails and texts. And very accomodating. Working with him was a delight and we cannot recommend this venue highly enough.

    Sent on 05/03/2016
  • A

    Ariele · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shenandoah Woods set the perfect backdrop for our October wedding weekend. My family and friends stayed in the cabins nearby, our ceremony was in the woods, and the reception was in the pavilion. I felt like an autumn woodland fairy walking down the path to the ceremony aisle. The long gorgeous wooden benches blended perfectly with the forest and the trees were in full fall color.

    The reception pavilion has everything you need! Jason thought of every detail. We were considering a venue that was just an old barn (for a similar price!), but we would have had to rent bathrooms, heaters, kitchen, tables, chairs, DJ, etc. But once we saw Shenandoah Woods (only the second venue we checked out), we knew it was the one. Jason provides an incredible sound system, nice clean bathrooms, a kitchen, heaters, walls in case it gets chilly, and so much more. The pavilion is more than a pavilion--it's a masterpiece! The architecture is gorgeous and it looks over the best decoration of all; the mountains.

    And Jason was so kind the whole weekend; he helped us if we didn't have time to find/do something and was always just a phone call away. This slice of heaven in Stanley, VA will always hold a piece of my heart. We'll definitely be coming back to stay in a cabin to soak up the wonderful memories we have there. Here is our wedding video that hopefully shows you how perfect this venue was for us: http://dougstanford.com/work/ariele-justin/

    Sent on 01/28/2016
  • T

    Taylor · Married on 10/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was a dream venue! Jason was so accommodating, so nice, very flexible and easy-going - but very prompt, professional and organized. He was super responsive to all emails and phone calls. I know he had plenty of other weddings going on throughout the season, but you could never tell, he really took his time to cater to my family and our wedding. What sealed the deal for us on this venue was the unparalleled views and the ability to start setting up Friday and tear-down on Sunday - this allowed all our vendors to be able to take time to load-in and load-out without being rushed out by a venue coordinator which they greatly appreciated! Part of a great wedding is having happy vendors - and this venue was so easy for them to work with! The cabins nearby to rent were so great and convenient. All the amenities that came with renting the venue made life way easier so there weren't additional vendors to pay and everything could just be left on site. Did I mention the views?! THEY ARE AMAZING! So many guests raved that this was the most beautiful wedding and location ever. I couldn't agree more. :)

    Sent on 12/15/2015
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shenandoah Woods is an EXCELLENT place to get married!!! The owner, Jason, is just about the nicest guy and he's super accommodating. We booked the wedding pavilion because we were looking for a rustic location that overlooked mountains and we just LOVED that our guests could stay in log cabins near the venue!! We had our rehearsal dinner at Somerset cabin and it was gorgeous, and gave the perfect environment for our "woodsy" wedding. Our groom and groomsmen spent the night in that cabin, and the bride (me!) and the bridesmaids stayed in another the night before the wedding. My groom and I spent our wedding night in Kalmia cabin and it was perfect! The wedding itself required several last minute changes because it ended up raining. We were hoping to use the outdoor ceremony area, but ended up getting married under the pavilion and our guests couldn't stop talking about how beautiful it was. He made sure our guests were comfortable, warm, and dry, and allowed us to do everything we were hoping to do. Jason is awesome, the Pavilion is beautiful and I would definitely recommend it!!!

    Sent on 12/14/2015
  • D

    David · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason, Cindy and I can not thank you enough for the incredible Pavilion and cabins, but more importantly all of your support for our daughter's wedding. From our early planning meeting in January (staying at the Joseph House), through the rehearsal dinner, the wedding and reception, to the Sunday Brunch following the wedding, you were there to meet all of our wants and needs. You exceeded all of our expectations! Your help with the trellis, rain walls, heaters and shuttle service made the ceremony and reception under threatening skies exceptional. We HIGHLY recommend Shenandoah Woods to anyone considering an event in the Shenandoah Valley. Thank you, again. It was great!

    Sent on 12/15/2015
  • B

    Beth · Married on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shenandoah Woods was the most perfect place for a our wedding! My husband and I live by the beach and with all the beach weddings around here we wanted something different and stumbled across this absolutely beautiful venue! Our guests were floored by the views and we loved the freedom of making the pavilion our own. It was also so nice to have a lot of our guests stay on the mountain with us, it made for the perfect weekend that still chokes me up when I think about how much fun we had. We are approaching our 1 year anniversary and we are going back to Luray just to get the same feeling. I don't think you'll find better views or more accommodating staff, Jason was absolutely the best. Extremely responsive and open to our ideas and helped us with every step. Especially finding the perfect vendors since we are from out of town. Can't say enough about Shenandoah Woods! - The Edwards

    Sent on 06/18/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review