Pacific Grove Museum Of Natural History Reviews

4 | Pacific Grove, CA
See photos, pricing and details

4 Reviews for Pacific Grove Museum Of Natural History

Recommended by 98%

4

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

5 User photos

Pacific Grove Museum Of Natural History 1
Pacific Grove Museum Of Natural History 2
Pacific Grove Museum Of Natural History 3
Pacific Grove Museum Of Natural History 4
Pacific Grove Museum Of Natural History 5
Sort by:
  • K

    Keith La Marr · Getting married on 06/05/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rain forced a last minute change to our wedding ceremony

    Imagine this, historically there was only a 7% chance of rain on the date we picked for our wedding. 48 hours before our event we were told there was a 70% chance... Thats when we scrambled to find an alternative location. Enter Julia from the Pacific Grove Museum of Natural History. At the 11th hour, not only was she able to provide a fun and unique location but she was incredibly accommodating and saved us money! The museum proved to be an interesting place for our guests to take time before the ceremony to view the exhibits. The room we held the ceremony in had high ceilings which opened to second story wrap around balcony (perfect for my bride to use for her entry down the grand staircase). The room easily accommodated the 65 chairs we needed for our guests. Most fun was the 8' Bear which became the backdrop for our ceremony. Admittedly our Pastor Don was a little intimidated by the massive claws just above his head. Julia and her team were great hosts. Our photographer had so many angles and interesting backdrops for his photos. We even took advantage of the gardens at the museum for some photos under our umbrella... It was raining after all!

    Sent on 06/06/2019
    Pacific Grove Museum Of Natural History 6
    Pacific Grove Museum Of Natural History 7
    Pacific Grove Museum Of Natural History 8
  • Kara

    Kara Mcmullen · Married on 09/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    simply wonderful

    After looking and looking for a venue that wouldn't break the bank, we stumbled across the museum. Since both my husband and I grew up visiting the museum often, we thought it would be perfect. At a stunningly inexpensive price, we got the whole museum and garden for 5 hours, plus setup and break down. Julia, the event coordinator, is amazing. So nice and helpful, she truly helped us have the perfect wedding. The displays are a great addition to the vibe and they meant we didn't have to decorate inside really at all. We had our ceremony in the back garden (it was bit windy and cool, but sunny) and we had lights and decorations. All in all it was as perfect as we could have wanted it. I would highly recommend the museum for your special event.

    Sent on 10/01/2019
    Pacific Grove Museum Of Natural History 9
    Pacific Grove Museum Of Natural History 10

    Pacific Grove Museum Of Natural History's reply:

    Thanks so much, Kara! It was a beautiful wedding, and we are so grateful you chose us as your venue! Congratulations to you both
  • A

    Ashley Schreiner · Married on 04/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A local favorite!

    Growing up in Monterey county we all visited the Pacific Grove Natural History Museum and sat on Sandy the Whale. Encourage your guests to feel like a kid again, exploring new and familiar exhibits, dancing under the moonlight. The Museum has great staff who are helpful and accommodating, Julia the event coordinator really stood out and shines so bright!

    Sent on 05/20/2019

    Pacific Grove Museum Of Natural History's reply:

    Hi Ashley,

    Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! It was a pleasure working with you and your family, and getting to watch your ceremony was truly beautiful. I'm glad the museum could be a part of your special day, and has made such a lasting impact on you since childhood! Wishing you all the best in your new chapter of life.

    -Julia B.
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 04/21/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We had our rehearsal dinner at the PG Museum of Natural History, and it was perfect! The atmosphere is so cool - very minimal decorations needed because many exhibits are permanent and remain in place for guests to browse. Beautiful market lights are already in the space. We rented mostly standing cocktail tables with some sit down tables and had a "roaming" dinner. Sit down tables and chairs supplied by museum with a membership. We rented the kitchen for easy access for the caterer. Museum has very reasonable pricing for rental of glassware and water dispensers. Overall it worked wonderfully.

    Maya was very responsive and accommodating throughout the planning process and had really good ideas for the details of the night (music, speeches, etc.). She met with our caterer in person beforehand which I really appreciated (and they did too). Maya and the museum staff do make it very clear that they are completely "hands off" in regards to any set up or breakdown. My volunteer family and friends were on their own to set up an empty museum space (I was squeezing in our rehearsal ceremony at the ceremony site). So, get a good team of helpers and map out a detailed plan for them! Clean up of kitchen is done by museum staff for a reasonable fee, which was helpful since we were swooped off to an impromptu after party.

    I really LOVED this space and our guests keep raving about the event! It was almost a wedding before a wedding :) Highly recommended for a memorable event. (I will add photos soon- so beautiful!)

    Sent on 05/24/2018

    Pacific Grove Museum Of Natural History's reply:

    Thank you for the lovely review, Nicole. It was our pleasure to host your rehearsal dinner at the museum, and we are thrilled that it was all you imagined and more. I absolutely loved your pink tablecloths, and the strolling supper layout! We wish you all the best in your marriage, and hope to see you the next time you are in our area.
    Best, Maya

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review