Skip to main content
Weddings

Kimpton Sawyer Hotel Reviews

Kimpton Sawyer Hotel

Kimpton Sawyer Hotel

Sacramento, CA
5.0 out of 5 rating, 6 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
6 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Awards

6

7 User photos

  • Katy
    Katy L. Sent on 11/16/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stunning fall wedding at the Sawyer

    My wedding was amazing at the Sawyer Hotel. Harmony was responsive along the way and was flexible when we wanted to change a few things with our menu. The guests even made note of how great the bartenders and service staff were. Our guests had an amazing time!!
  • Cherie
    Cherie Sent on 12/31/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hosting my wedding at the Sawyer was one of the best planning decisions!

    Before choosing the Kimpton Sawyer Hotel, the venue for my wedding was one of the decisions I stressed out most about. I knew the location and look of my venue would really dictate how the day went, as well as how the rest of my budget would be impacted. Luckily, after many, many venue searches throughout Northern California, I found the Kimpton Sawyer Hotel. I was already familiar with Kimpton hotels after staying at a few for other trips, so I knew that I liked their aesthetic, in addition to how comfortable their rooms were. Thus, I was really impressed with how accommodating and flexible their wedding package was (perhaps because I booked during the height of the pandemic). The lobby, ballroom, and terrace made for a great ceremony, cocktail, and reception location. Finally, being located right in the heart of downtown Sacramento meant that lodging and transportation options were abundant for our guests, who came from all over the world.

    I would highly recommend anyone getting married look into reserving the Kimpton for their wedding! One of the best decisions I made.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • A
    Ashli G. Sent on 11/25/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Intimate Micro Wedding for 13

    Planning a Wedding: The Sawyer was only the 2nd venue in January 2020 we toured and we knew it was the place we wanted to invite our friends and family to celebrate our wedding.

    We worked with Leslie Martin in the beginning. From walking us through our tour, answering our endless questions via email and settling on the date and talking through our payment plan. The process was pretty smooth and seamless! She was friendly, responsive and volunteered so many vendors for us to reach out to.

    Flash forward to March 2020, things are shutting down and the whole wedding is in question. We spent the summer on pins and needles communicating via a different Kimpton representative, Claire Kapp, Director of Catering, who filled Leslie's shoes wonderfully. While I wouldn't wish wedding planning during a global pandemic on anyone, the Kimpton went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable moving forward. As we chipped down on our guest list from 120, to 60 to ultimately 11 they were ready and willing to pivot to every new plan.

    Hotel Stay: On our wedding weekend in October, everything fell into place beautifully. The safety protocols in place never made me or my guests feel uncomfortable. From the valet staff to the front desk staff--everyone we interacted with was incredibly kind. I liked that once you check in you can communicate with the front desk via text and they'll do contact-less drop offs to your room for any request from extra towels to a coffee station. Most of the amenities, like room service, were inactive due to COVID but I did get notifications Revival was open and serving food.

    Wedding: The food was top notch and the bar staff ensured no one ever had an empty drink. Wedding food is usually pretty subpar and since we never had a food tasting we went into it blindly. My family is still talking about the soft shelled crab and the tempura prawns appetizers. Hands down their food service felt like a 10 star restaurant with very generous portion sizes!

    We hosted both the ceremony and dinner on their outdoor terrace and rented an Arbour structure to create an intimate dining experience. We were grateful for the perfect weather to host outside.

    Looking back on our wedding weekend after a month, I am so pleased we went with our micro-wedding at the Kimpton. It was exactly what we needed and I'm already planning our 1 year anniversary staycation there! My family all agree they could use another weekend stay at the Kimpton as well!
  • A
    Annie M. Sent on 06/02/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A dream wedding come true!

    We had our wedding reception at the Kimpton Sawyer in May 2019 and this review is long overdue! From the moment we walked into the Kimpton Sawyer and met with the coordinator, we knew that is was the perfect place for us! Not only is it beautiful and in a wonderful location for out of town guests, they really know how to put on a seamless event! Leslie (the wedding coordinator) was extremely responsive and her coordination skills were incredible! I felt like we really scored when it came to getting her as part of our wedding experience (and included in our package)! The venue was beautiful- we had an open bar cocktail hour on the outdoor veranda and in the upstairs area then dinner/dancing and reception occurred in the ballroom. The ballroom looked a little plain to me on initial touring of the venue, but let me tell you, Leslie helped us with our vision and we transformed it into a beautiful wedding reception and I was blown away to see it all come together the day of. The food was delicious, bar was great, service team was amazing and hotel staff was really helpful to all guests. I had a bridal suite in the hotel as well and our room was incredible with a view of the cathedral (where we had our ceremony). Our room block also worked out great for all of our guests! We brought in a lot of decor, etc for our wedding and the entire Kimpton team was so helpful loading and unloading everything from the moment we arrived at the venue to the moment we left! I also loved that I was able to pick all of my vendors (florist, cake decorator, photographer, live band) and Kimpton handled a lot of the details with them and that made my life a lot easier during the busyness of planning! All my vendors were very pleased with the organization and coordination by Leslie. I truly cannot say enough good things about our experience with Kimpton Sawyer in Sacramento and would do it all over again exactly the same! In fact, my husband and I look back on it and felt Kimpton really made us feel like we were the "guests of honor" our entire stay there! Thank you Leslie and Kimpton team for helping make our wedding reception a dream come true!
  • A
    Allyson F. Sent on 05/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous venue with amazing service!

    We got married at the Kimpton Sawyer Hotel on April 27, 2019 and it was the perfect venue! My husband and I had a few "must-haves" when it came to our venue. We wanted a venue that had an outdoor ceremony location (with an indoor backup in case of bad whether) and an inside reception space. We also wanted a venue that was close to a hotel so we wouldn't have to worry about transportation after the wedding knowing that most people would drink. We wanted a venue that had good food. And lastly, we wanted a venue that lent itself to creating a fun, party atmosphere. The Sawyer Hotel checked all these boxes and more! The beautiful thing about getting married at a hotel is that a lot of the work is done for you. You don't have to pick an outside caterer or hire a day of coordinator. The food at the hotel is SO DELICIOUS and there are a lot of options. We chose to be unconventional and have a variety of "action stations" such as a taco bar, slider bar, and mac n cheese bar. The food was a huge hit! Leslie Martin, the event coordinator at the hotel, is truly amazing and was a big reason we chose the venue. We got along with her from the second we met and totally trusted her to help us make our dream wedding a reality. On our wedding day, she dealt with all the set up and vendor coordination so I didn't have to worry about anything. And since the venue is also a hotel we didn't have to worry about transportation at all. We got a large hotel room block with a great rate, so most of our guests stayed at the hotel after the wedding. We were even able to book a table at Revival for the after party which was super fun! Overall, the venue was beautiful, the food was great, the staff was amazing and helpful! We can't recommend the venue enough!