Skip to main content
Weddings

I do weddings & events Reviews

I do weddings & events

I do weddings & events

Honolulu, HI
4.9 out of 5 rating, 69 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.9 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
4.9 out of 5 rating
69 Reviews
99% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

69
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • C
    Chris C. Sent on 04/15/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Wedding Coordinator

    We are excited to write this review for Sun and her team. When my wife and I started the planning process to get married, we were super overwhelmed with the whole planning process, didn't know where to start, and really wanted to include our dog to be part of our wedding as she is part of our family. We decided to hire a wedding coordinator and we got referred to Sun from my friend who had a bad experience with a coordinator before he hired Sun who came in clutch for him. We hired Sun, selected her full wedding planning service, and she made sure that we will have an amazing wedding and to be able to enjoy it with our dog. This was one of the best decisions we did as part of our wedding planning. We do have to admit, it did take us time to ramp up with all the planning once we hired Sun, but Sun and her team was very patient knowing our wedding date and did not rush us or force us to make decisions. However, once we found our rhythm, the process was fun and we couldn't believe we selected all of our vendors well in advance of our wedding date. Each vendor Sun provided us, matched what we envisioned for our wedding, worked with our budget, were very professional, they were caring, made sure my wife and I were not stress, and assured us our wedding was going to be perfect. What also made the planning process easy, was that Sun and her team contacted the vendors to reach out to us or share our decisions. The day of the wedding, my wife and I were blown away how amazing everything looked and felt. My friend who referred Sun to us, did mention Sun is known to be the best from what he heard and through his research the day of wedding. He was absolutely correct. Sun took care of the setup, dealing with the vendors, the clean up, and many other things. All we had to do was just enjoy the day and that was exactly what we did. As busy as we were that whole entire week leading up to the wedding day and the wedding day, my wife and I called it a success where we did not feel exhausted or stress after the wedding day, everyone had a great time, and we miss planning with Sun as we had a lot of fun. Big thank you to Sun and her team!
  • Mona
    Mona Z. Sent on 02/20/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Day-of Wedding coordinator

    We booked Sun as our day-of coordinator for our destination wedding in O’ahu. From the initial consultation to the day of the wedding — Sun was friendly and easy to talk to. Since I planned our wedding and had the vision of how I wanted the wedding to be, I provided Sun with all the details and she was able to execute everything to the T on our big day. Our wedding was so beautiful and all our guests complimented us about it all day and weeks to come after—thanks to Sun for listening and following through with all the details!! So even if you are planning your own wedding, trust me when I say you need to hire a professional to coordinate everything on your big day. Your wedding day should be a time where you and your bridesmaid/MOH/family member relaxes and enjoy the day. Thank you Sun we appreciate you and will remember this day forever!
  • T
    Tna Sent on 11/17/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly recommended

    From start to finish, our destination wedding in Hawaii was an absolute dream thanks to our incredible wedding planner Sun. Her attention to detail, local expertise, and seamless coordination made our special day unforgettable. The unique touches and flawless execution surpassed our expectations. Highly recommend for anyone seeking a magical destination wedding experience!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Kristen Sent on 09/26/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend!!

    I can't imagine our wedding day without Sun. She helped make the wedding process so seamless and on the day of the wedding, she was on point. She is very well organized and executes every detail perfectly. I was blown away when we entered our reception. She and her team worked tirelessly behind the scenes so that we didn't have to worry about anything on an already busy day. Sun also has a great relationship with a lot of different vendors and we were very happy with all of them. Would highly recommend going with Sun and I Do Wedding.
  • J
    Jeff W. Sent on 08/27/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sun & her team is incredible to work with!

    Planning a destination thousands of miles away is challenging and stressful, and we truly would not have been able to do it without Sun and her team. Sun is extremely organized and easy to work with, she kept us organized and on track through the entire planning process and took care of every big & small details on the day of. She was also able to introduce us to every vendor, and they were all equally amazing. Would highly recommend Sun and her team!
  • A
    Ashley Sent on 08/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Planned the most amazing day!

    My husband and I had the BEST day of our lives because of Sun and the I Do weddings team. Our wedding day wouldn’t have been anything without them. From the very beginning, Sun has been keen to listening to Tommy and I’s priorities during the wedding planning process. Once we discussed the overall theme we wanted for the wedding, she lined up the perfect team of vendors that would match what we wanted. She was also open minded to us using vendors that we preferred or chose based on recommendation of others! I appreciated the constant communication throughout the planning process and also loved that I could literally text her about any wedding questions, at any time, and not feel like I was asking silly questions. She was professional, made us feel heard, and planned an amazing wedding. During the wedding, every team member was so sweet to me, ensuring that I was fed and feeling good. After the ceremony, one of the team members even grabbed my husband and I a chair while we waited for the grand entrance to begin. Literally so sweet. Stress-free and enjoyable weddings are their specialty! I am forever grateful for them all! Thank you Sun!
  • Sarah
    Sarah S. Sent on 08/20/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best wedding planning team ever!

    My husband and I had the best destination wedding we could have ever dreamed of thanks to Sun and the I Do team! We were worried how we were going to do it all from abroad, so we are so glad we had Sun to help us figure out all of the details for the last year and a half! She checked in with us frequently to make sure we were on schedule for all of our deadlines and was very quick to respond whenever we had a question. She even helped us out with some of our more unique asks without hesitation. As people who were not as familiar with the wedding planning process, Sun was very patient with us in explaining the options and a timeline for us. We HIGHLY recommend Sun and the team as wedding coordinators.
  • J
    Jordan S. Sent on 07/22/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommended!

    Sun was an amazing wedding planner/coordinator. She made my wedding ideas come to life and it was better than I could have ever imagined. We had her for full planning and I could not have done it without her throughout the entire planning process. The vendors she suggested were all amazing and she was so helpful in getting them all confirmed for our day. I was completely stress-free on my wedding day, even family and friends commented how relaxed I was, all thanks to the planning of Sun and her team. I cannot thank Sun and the I Do team enough for everything they did to make my wedding day so amazing! I would highly recommend hiring her for your planning needs!
  • Patrick
    Margie Sent on 07/22/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Pat & margie epic wedding

    Sun Kim and her Team did a remarkable job planning and executing our wedding, despite our Last min changes and ideas. They were able to put them into action and coordinate with our vendors to make them happened. We are extremely pleased with all their efforts and the resulting fabulous wedding celebration. Mahalo Sun, you did a fantastic job.

    Patrick & Margie O'Brien
  • A
    Ashley Y. Sent on 07/06/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    THE wedding planner to hire!

    Sun is the BEST wedding planner! We had 6 months to plan a destination wedding in Honolulu and Sun lent her expertise and guidance in the most helpful way. She gave suggestions when we had no clue what to do and she also has preferred vendors you can select from that offer discounts. Sun made our vision a reality - from the welcome coconuts, pineapple cups, shave ice stand, and even picking up Leonards malasadas! Sun was so incredibly helpful with coordinating with everyone on the day of the wedding, especially when it rained and we had to wait it out and move certain vendors under our tent. Thank you so much Sun and your team for making our wedding the best our guests have attended!! You need your wedding to revolve around (the) Sun ;)
  • L
    Lily O. Sent on 06/27/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    2023 Boho Wedding @Turtle Bay

    I can’t recommend Sun and her team enough. After 6 months of struggling to plan our wedding alone, our friends and family made us look for a planner on the islands. I reached out to a friend who worked in event planning in Hawaii and she connected me with Sun, describing her as the “best” planner on the island. Some things that really made a difference having Sun help us:

    1. Sun got “Yes”s from the venue and vendors when we previously got “No”s;
    2. Sun added terms to vendor contracts we definitely needed, but never would have thought to add;
    3. Sun gives you little homework assignments alone the way (like choosing a photographer), but gives you a list of vendors she likes and specifically highlights vendors that she thinks align best with your aesthetic;
    4. The day of the wedding and few weeks leading up to the wedding were a breeze because she’s got everything covered and you can just relax and enjoy; and
    5. She embraced our unconventional vision (morning wedding followed by a sunset afterglow on the beach) and worked with all the vendors/venue to bring it to life.

    Such a beautiful wedding I will never forget.
  • S
    Stephanie M. Sent on 10/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Oahu Wedding on the North Shore

    I don’t know what I would have done without Sun and her team! They did an excellent job helping me plan my wedding. Sun also allowed me to ship wedding decor to her prior to my wedding which was a HUGE help! I highly recommend Sun/I Do! You won’t regret it and will eliminate soooo much stress by booking them to coordinate your wedding/event. Thank you Sun and team!!
  • C
    Charles K. Sent on 02/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sun was amazing!

    Sun and her team were fantastic! Honestly it wouldn't have been possible without her. Sun was with us every step of the way and we've been planning for over a year! Words truly can't describe how appreciative we are of Sun and all that she's done for us. And she was the MVP on the day of the wedding. She took care of everything behind the scenes and the entire wedding went seamlessly really because of her. Thank you Sun!
  • A
    Aaron T. Sent on 01/17/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sun was great, our wedding was stress free.

    Now that I can look back on it and knowing how smooth and stress free the day of our wedding was, I would tell my former self to stop the stress because Sun Kim is running the show. Worth every penny. Highly recommended.
  • J
    Jimmy R. Sent on 02/19/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sun Kim and I DO are fantastic!

    Sun Kim is a fantastic wedding planner! She is knowledgeable, organized, and helpful in creating your dream wedding. On the day of our wedding and the months leading up to it, she was all over every last detail, making sure everything went perfectly for our special day. Especially since we were a couple from Canada it was super helpful to have Sun organize our vendors, coordinate with everyone, and help deliver our vision without us being there before our actual wedding. We got married at Kualoa Ranch, and it turned out to be the wedding of our dreams. Strongly recommend Sun Kim as a wedding planner and her team to make your wedding a magical one!
  • Britnie
    Britnie M. Sent on 10/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    North Shore Wedding AMAZING!

    Sun and her team truly did not disappoint! Every step of the way Sun had a plan to proceed with planning out the wedding of our dreams. Everything was above and beyond what we expected. From the vendors she suggested, to the scheduling of the wedding events everything was so organized and allowed my now husband and I to participate in the planning of our wedding without any stress at all. We are beyond thrilled with the outcome and forever grateful for her attention to detail leading to the most perfect wedding!
  • A
    Ali B. Sent on 09/28/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We love Sun!

    Sun took our pinterest board and turned it into the best night of our lives! She made the planning process so easy, walking us through everything we had to do and what she needed from us. All the vendors she recommended (DJ, caterer, flowers, rentals) were perfect. There was no stress on the wedding day, even when we ran out of some alcohol (oops) and she went across the street to pick up more. Sun and the I DO team were incredible, cannot thank them enough for helping organize our day.
  • Jeremy
    Jeremy B. Sent on 02/19/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The BEST in Hawaii, period.

    Dear Sun,

    We wanted to take a moment to express our heartfelt gratitude for all that you did to make our wedding day at Lanikūhunoa on August 19th, 2022, so incredibly special. We could not have asked for a more perfect day, and we owe so much of that to your hard work, dedication, and attention to detail.

    From the moment we first spoke with you, we knew we were in good hands. Your knowledge of the venue and the island, as well as your vast experience in wedding planning, made us feel confident and reassured. Your suggestions for vendors, such as the florist, the caterer, and the photographer, were all spot-on, and we were thrilled with their work.

    On the day of the wedding, everything went smoothly, and we were able to relax and enjoy every moment, thanks to your expert coordination. You ensured that every detail, from the ceremony setup to the reception decor, was perfect. We appreciated your professionalism, your calm demeanor, and your ability to handle any unexpected issues that arose.

    We have received countless compliments from our guests about how beautiful and seamless the wedding was, and we owe so much of that to you. You went above and beyond to make sure our day was everything we wanted it to be, and for that, we are forever grateful.

    We would highly recommend you to anyone looking for a wedding planner, and we feel fortunate to have had the opportunity to work with you. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for making our wedding day at Lanikūhunoa so unforgettable.
  • Jared
    Jared B. Sent on 07/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best ever!

    Sun Kim & her staff did an amazing job coordinating our wedding! We are so grateful that our wedding was stress-free, everything went smoothly, and we couldn't have been happier. Everything was perfect and down to every detail. We had no worries and had total faith that she and her team would have it taken care of. Our wedding was beautiful, memorable and fun! Sun Kim had so many good reviews and had coordinated friends' and family members' weddings, it was an easy choice. I highly recommend Sun Kim & her staff to all my family, friends, and anyone who needs help!
    Thank you so much!!!!!
  • A
    Aldora B. Sent on 07/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Smooth & Stress-Free

    Sun Kim & her staff did an excellent job coordinating Jared & I wedding! We are so grateful that our wedding was stress-free, everything went smoothly and we’re very happy. Our wedding was beautiful, memorable and fun! Sun Kim coordinated my cousins wedding 5 years ago and I was so impressed that I hired her when I got married on July 2022. I highly recommend Sun Kim & her staff to all my family, friends and anyone who needs help!
  • A
    Angela Sent on 07/25/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stress free

    Sun Kim is truly the best at what she does. I used her as my wedding coordinator. Fast forward 5 years, she helps coordinate my cousin’s wedding and once again, everything was perfect. I was a matron-of-honor this time and Sun made sure everything flowed smoothly and guaranteed a stress free wedding. I can’t praise her enough for all that she does. I highly recommend her!
  • S
    Shauna S. Sent on 05/25/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Soares Wedding

    SUN IS AMAZING!! She made our dreams come to reality and made sure we got everything we wanted. Excellent at communicating through the whole process and outdid herself with her service! Thank you Sun for everything, we’re so grateful to have you as our wedding planner! Definitely recommending you to everyone who is planning a wedding!
  • Keala
    Keala R. Sent on 04/10/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professionalism with Aloha

    Sun Kim is wonderful to work with. Early in the planning process for our destination wedding, we knew we needed some help getting the details right on the wedding day. Even though I was determined to do the bulk of the planning on my own from DC, we wanted to be sure that our friends and family didn't have to take on anything on the day and we could relax without having to worry about schedules, vendors, set up or take down. From our first call, she carefully laid out exactly what month of coordination services we could expect from her. We were put at ease knowing we were in good hands. From 30 days out, we worked together to set up a timeline/ day of schedule, reception program, turned over all of our vendor contacts (a huge relief to me), and managed details like the guest list, seating chart, bridal party contact info, and more. She ran our rehearsal with care and made sure we were completely confident for the next day. On the day of, she was available for everything I needed and handled all of the details, right down to making sure our malasada cake was plated exactly the way I wanted it. I really appreciated how available she was for communication, even though I seemed to be calling her from a different bridesmaid's phone all day! The ceremony and reception program went exactly as planned and on schedule. There were absolutely no hiccups or mistakes on the day. We are so grateful for her professionalism and attention to detail. The entire wedding was executed to perfection. Thank you Sun Kim and Team for making our wedding so special and stress free!
  • Susan
    Susan F. Sent on 03/31/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stress free!

    Sun was amazing to work with! Being the most indecisive person that I am, I knew We needed someone to help us plan our dream wedding. And Sun Kim did just that. She gave great recommendations and gave her professional input on things I was unsure of. From start to finish, we had no stress. We can’t believe how beautiful and seamless everything turned out. She’s the best at what she does. I mean it!
  • J
    Jessi T. Sent on 04/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    AMAZING Wedding Planner!

    Sun and her team helped us plan our wedding for nine months, and also were there on the day of our wedding. We were not living in Hawaii at the time, so it was essential for us to have a wedding planner that was located on the island of Oahu, which is where we got married. Sun had many wonderful recommendations in terms of venues, vendors, decor, and budgeting. On the day of the wedding, we showed up at the venue and were so pleasantly surprised at how the venue was set up and how the decorations were displayed! All she had was my Pinterest board for decor inspiration, and she made our wedding dreams come true. It went above and beyond our expectations. She also was able to alleviate all the stress points that a wedding can potentially present, and we were able to enjoy ourselves and visit with our guests, which was one of our biggest desires for our special day. With her headset, her wedding emergency tools strapped to her waist, and her operational efficiency, she definitely reminded us of Wedding Planner J-Lo :)

    We would highly recommend hiring Sun and her team for all your wedding planning needs!!

    Thank you so much Sun, Sunny, and the rest of the I Do Wedding team! We are so happy with how our wedding turned out and we hope to see you all at the weddings we attend in the future :)
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours