Hilton Alexandria Old Town Reviews

23 | Alexandria, VA
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Recommended by 89%

23

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.3
  • Average response time 4.4
Sort by:
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Some people go above and beyond to make your day special and easy- Craig is one of those people. He was there for us every step of the way (and even steps I didn’t know about!). Apparently my family was calling him with requests that I had no idea about and he took care of everyone. He made the day so special for me and my husband. Every time I had a question he would promptly respond. He let us in early to set up center pieces, was present at the tasting with the head chef, and coordinated day of and day before events. The space is beautiful. The bridal suite is everything I could have wanted in a space to get ready. I cannot day enough about the Hilton!

    Sent on 10/09/2018
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used the Hilton Alexandria Old Town as one of my wedding hotels and my experience with the Hilton group was nothing but positive. My contacts were Rommel Loja, Cathi Kuziw and Rhonda Holt. Each one was very professional and helpful. Their properties include Hilton Garden Inn, Hilton Alexandria and the Embassy Suites - this provides a lot of flexibility depending on your needs, and their location can't be beat in terms of convenience for your guests. Rommel met my needs for a suite of an appropriate size for me, my mom and sister to get ready in the morning of the wedding.

    Sent on 10/12/2016
  • User6620133 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had both our wedding and ceremony at the Hilton. We worked with Craig L. and he was great! The staff was great, the space was beautiful, and it was a wonderful location since most of our guests came from out of town. It's walking distance to metro and walking distance for our guests to enjoy old town. Unfortunately, we didn't have the best weather (it snowed in April!) but the venue was able to provide us with great spots to take pictures. If you're considering having your wedding in the DC area you should absolutely give them a call at the Hilton!

    Sent on 04/20/2016
  • C

    Christine · Married on 08/14/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Lindsay at the Hilton made our day perfect. She answered all of my questions during planning and was very accommodating. The day of the wedding she made sure everything was running smoothly. The Hilton staff was great and worked with us from parking to breakfast and holding luggage and tuxes. The food at the reception was outstanding and many guests commented that they couldn't believe how good it was.

    Sent on 10/26/2010
  • Dita

    Candita · Married on 05/02/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I really enjoyed working with the folks at the Hilton Old Town throughout my wedding planning process. Lindsay was extremely helpful, and was always able to answer the multitude of questions I threw her way. She always found a way to make my special requests work. The entire staff is extremely professional, and friendly as well. The service is top notch! The space was very comfortable for the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception, and the facilities are neat and clean. Lindsay worked with us all the way through the planning process, and when the big day came, it seemed effortless, which is a testament to Lindsay's organization skills! And one more thing - the food was excellent!!

    Sent on 05/21/2009
  • S

    Karin · Married on 01/02/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE them.
    From start to finish, every single staff member at the Hilton is amazing. Lindsay Kahler and her entire crew are SO attentive, and do everything in their power to make your day extra special. Our food and set up was spectacular, and it was all thanks to the staff there.
    The location doesn't get any better either, especially if you have out of town guests since it's literally right across the street from the King Street metro.
    Definitely suggest using them!

    Sent on 07/07/2009
  • M

    Martha · Married on 05/11/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Hilton Old Town was the PERFECT place for my reception. Courtney (the in-house meetings planner) was completely awesome. The process of planning the room space, menus, and lodging was so easy compared to the packages I was presented by other hotels in the area. The hotel has a variety of options for the reception, we used both the outside terrace for a cocktail hour, the foyer for our bar, and the salon for the sit down dinner and reception. The serving staff were very professional and made their work seem like it was easy (even though we all know working a room of 100 plus people for dinner and desert is quite hard!). The hotel offers a "brides room" in their restaurant where you can slip away for a moments peace, your guests can quiet a cranky child, etc. A biiiiiig plus for me was how clean the facilities are from the floors to the restrooms to the serving areas. The chef did an excellent job with our menu selections, and was willing to work with us on small details. Perhaps the best part of the experience was how easy the contract, billing, and payments were. There weren't any sort of "extra" charges on the bills (which I have had happen at other business meetings) only the agreed upon services and charges. Our guests who stayed there in our room block, especially those from out of town, were just awed at how nice the staff and accomidations were. Because of the location of the hotel we were also able to offer "green directions" to our events through metro, dash, and local trails. All in all it was an excellent experience and my day was made that much better for having chosen the Hilton Old Town.

    Sent on 11/30/2007
  • Maria

    Maria · Married on 04/28/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my ceremony and wedding reception at the Hilton Alexandria Old Town in April 2012 and I was so happy with how my wedding turned out. The food was really good (we had a buffet with two entrees), the service was awesome, and the venue was beautiful. The bridal suite/wedding suite was gorgeous as well with a full kitchen, bedroom and living room and plenty of room to get ready for your big day. It rained on my wedding day so the ceremony had to be moved inside. The staff was really great about this and worked with my vendors to make sure that everything was perfect.

    These are the top 5 reasons why I would recommend this venue:
    1. You can have your ceremony & reception in the same place and have the option of having an outdoor ceremony or cocktail hour or a really small reception. The outside ceremony space included the arbor as well.
    2. The menu price included a 4 hour openbar.
    3. The venue is really pretty and is right in Old Town Alexandria so you can walk to take wedding pictures.
    4. The venue is right across the street from the King Street Metro which is very convenient for out of town guests that want to make a mini-vacation out of your wedding and visit the touristy parts of DC.
    5. The bridal suite is gorgeous! I took a bunch of pictures in there and it was also very comfortable for the bridal party to change and eat. We left for our honeymoon the next day so it was nice to have the space to put our big suitcases. The fridge also came in handy for storing the top layer of our wedding cake.

    My only complaint was that pieces of my wedding puzzle guest book were misplaced and lost by the hotel staff. I contacted the hotel and they graciously offered to replace my puzzle. The puzzle was unfortunately irriplaceable because each piece was hand-cut but the hotel was able to credit my Hilton Honors account with extra points to compensate for the loss.

    Overall, I would recommend this hotel to any bride in a heartbeat.

    Sent on 06/06/2012
  • K

    kelly · Married on 04/21/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything at the Hilton was fantastic! Such an amazing venue, it was absolutely beautiful. All of my guests raved about the prime location. Everyone who helped with my wedding was so accomodating! It was great!

    Sent on 05/17/2012
  • R

    Molly · Married on 10/10/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This hotel is fabulous. Lindsay Kahler is amazing. I had trouble with responses from her at first, when the initial planning of it all. But the decision days and the day of the wedding, she was amazing. She had answers for everything, accommadated my requests, and made things run amazingly. She even noted with the cocktail hour started early and people were getting a little too toasty, to recommend moving on to the reception early. It was great. We had the courtyard for our ceremony and the big ballroom for the reception. I was so hesitant to have a wedding at a hotel, but Old Town is a dream, and where my husband and I went on our first date, where he proposed, where we lived, it was perfect. They take of everything and I was so happy with it.

    The food is good, but the appetizers were the highlight. Everyone raved about the cocktail hour. perhaps we picked good ones, but they were delicious. They also delivered our presents to our room and the top of the cake and left overs for us to enjoy. It was amazing. Care free and wonderful service!

    Sent on 03/17/2010
  • Devon

    Devon · Married on 08/11/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    On the day of our wedding we were very impressed with all of the attention to detail. Over the last year, we have worked with several different wedding cordinators at the hotel. We had become very frustrated with the responsiveness of the wedding cordinatlor this last spring, however for our wedding we had the priveladge of working with Bob Nevile who was amazing. We had wanted the room set up in a pattern that was not normally done and they worked with us to make it happen without interupting the servers' enterance. When our wedding party went through all of a particular h'orderve, the staff maid a point to bring more out from the kitchen for us. We had a wonderful evening, thanks in no small part to the staff at the Hilton.

    Sent on 08/20/2012
  • M

    Anne · Married on 12/31/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our daughter's wedding reception was held there on New Year's Eve and we were delighted. Julie Williams the coordinator was very professional, easy to work with, flexible, attentive to all needs. The only issues are that you do have to order in your own cake, up grade to nicer chairs or get chair covers whiich we did through Be Seated (excellent). The extra room upstairs is definitely worth renting for cocktails and the food was delicious and plentiful. The one issue was over the room block as you must guarantee use of a certain # if rooms but it all worked out. We had 200 in the ballroom which was a little tight on the dance flloor but noone seemed to care. A very good value in a lovely town.

    Sent on 01/02/2012
  • B

    Bronwyn · Married on 12/06/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Hilton was very easy to work with. They have done a ton of weddings so the process is very easy. The price is reasonable for a place in the DC area. The food was fantastic.

    Sent on 12/23/2008
  • K

    Kailee · Married on 08/22/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I knew we wanted to have our wedding in Old Town Alexandria. We also wanted to have an outdoor ceremony. The Hilton in Old Town fit within our desires, as well as our budget. They were extremely flexible in designing a menu for us. We requested some things that weren't even on their standard wedding catering packets, and they had no issues creating something to fit our tastes.

    On the day of our wedding, the hotel's fire alarms went off at least 5 times while I was getting ready for our evening ceremony. It was extremely stressful as all I could think about was the alarms going off during our vows or during the reception. The hotel's wedding coordinator, Lindsay Kahler, did a great job of keeping me informed and calm. The situation was resolved about 30 minutes prior to the ceremony, and they did not go off for the remainder of the night.

    We were very happy with our reception. The food was nice, the service staff was attentive, and the ballroom was beautiful. I would recommend the Old Town Alexandria Hilton to any bride. Super conveinent to the metro and beautiful facilities for out-of-town guests.

    Sent on 08/24/2009
  • G

    Genessis · Married on 07/04/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We worked with Craig during our wedding planning and execution. He was very responsive, and professional. He truly cared about our experience and was very flexible with our needs.

    Sent on 11/22/2015
  • C

    Cindy · Married on 01/10/2009

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Lindsay the coordinator was great to work with, very responsive and helpful. Never felt like she was trying to up sell us, very upfront about pricing. Hotel staff was great to work with and very helpful. The room was like most big hotel ball rooms but we had a big wedding and it certainly worked fine. Food was quite good. I've heard there were a few mix ups with entrees, but most people seemed to swap around at the tables if they even cared.
    Great Honeymoon suite for that night and I was able to get ready in it before the reception. Two bathrooms and tons of room made it great.

    Sent on 01/27/2009
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 11/06/2010

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The Hilton was an ideal spot for our reception with its proximity to the Metro and our ceremony site and the warm atmosphere. We had originally wanted a DC venue but the prices were astronomical. Old Town offered the same scenic and tourist friendly location with a much better price.

    We wanted a hotel for our reception since they would be able to provide everything necessary from linens, tables, food, servers, clean up, etc all in one place. The Wedding Coordinator, Lindsay, was very helpful when we met and/or emailed her. There was a small miscommunication about our menu tasting but Lindsay was able to accommodate us and she did so with a smile and a pleasant demeanor.

    The food is pretty good. We did salmon and steak entrees and added on extra dessert trays. Their prices were pretty reasonable. The main thing that saved us money was they included the bar in the menu prices and they didn't charge for the bar if anyone was under 21. A big money saver. Any little adjustments we wanted to the food or drink menu were taken care of at no additional charge.

    In the end the food and drinks were great, service was excellent, and all of our guests had an amazing time.

    Sent on 12/02/2010
  • C

    casey · Married on 06/14/2009

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Working with the Hilton was relatively easy. We were able to tell Lindsay what we wanted for the decor, and not have to worry about it again. We picked our menu and everything came out perfectly. The service was excellent. We had a gorgeous complimentary suite the night of the wedding. Although we went over budget, it was a good value for a reception site, catering, staff, and decor. We're very glad we decided to hold our reception here and can't find a single negative thing to say about the reception. The menu choices were a bit confusing for a party our size, but we were able to get everything worked out and have everything we really wanted.

    Sent on 08/17/2009
  • User3764380 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The Hilton was an ideal spot for our ceremony and reception with its affordability and proximity to DC.
    We wanted a hotel for our reception since they would be able to provide everything necessary from linens, tables, food, servers, clean up, etc all in one place.

    The Wedding Coordinator left 3 months before our wedding and I was freaking out because she was one of the main reasons I booked with the Hilton. The trunover was a little rough, but Kristi, the new coordinator did a great job. She honored everything the previous coordinator promised so long as I had it in writing and was very accomodating with all my requests for additional items.

    The food is pretty good and the prices are reasonable. Any little adjustments we wanted to the food or drink menu were taken care of at no additional charge. In the end the food was great, service was excellent, and all of our guests had an amazing time.

    Sent on 12/30/2013
  • Danielle

    Danielle · Married on 07/30/2011

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We used the Hilton for our wedding block hotel and I think I expected things to go a little bit smoother than they did with this hotel. I had a lot of trouble with the room block and the guests trying to get their rooms booked. Apparently, I had 'run of the house', but when guests called the number they were given they were being charged a higher rate for certain rooms. So I always had to call the hotel and fix it with them and the guests, which was a big embarrassing headache (even my grandmother didn't want to stay at the hotel when this happened). When it was our wedding weekend, one guest got to the hotel that had 5 rooms blocked and thought he had booked all doubles, and they were all kings, so they had to re-arrange all that (and the hotel was at capacity). Then I kept trying to arrange cabs to be out front for everyone with the front desk and with the booking agent and they would never show. Somehow communication was lost every time......... So people had a tough time getting to the rehearsal and wedding, thanks!

    Nice hotel, just poorly organized!

    Sent on 09/01/2011
  • C

    Daniel · Married on 05/22/2010

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    This place is the best place to have your wedding if you wanted to have your wedding held in Old Town Alexandria with a medium (max 150 ppl) sized wedding which is what we wanted. The other locations, Hotel Monaco and the Westin, were either too small or too big. The Hilton was a great site that offered both indoor and outdoor areas. We were originally going to have the cocktail hour outside but unfortunately due to the weather it got pushed indoors. This alternative plan was one of the main reasons that we decided to go with the Hilton. It was very beautiful inside after everything that was done with it. I am not critiquing the building or the location itself. We absolutely loved everything about the hotel and the amenities it provided. The issue we had was with the hotel wedding event coordinator. She was no where to be seen the day of. I didn't see her until we were walking in and she was dressed in sweatpants. There were issues all day and I couldn't get a hold of her which was extremely frustrating. Also her response time to my questions and emails was very slow. We just did not like working with her.

    Again, the hotel is great. Great food. Great decor. Great location. The hotel coordinator leaves a lot to be desired.

    Sent on 06/30/2010
  • C

    Cynthia · Married on 12/31/2009

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The Hilton Old Town was the site of our New Year's Eve reception and I was generally very pleased with their services. Amanda and the event planning staff were very helpful and responsive throughout the process. Amanda especially was very patient in responding to many requests for more information and was very calm and professional at every turn. The wait staff was excellent during our reception and I received compliments on their service. The front desk and entire staff were very helpful and made us feel very special and well-attended for our special day. The bridal suite that they provide is beautiful and spacious and a wonderful perk.

    My only reservations about the event were regarding the food. We wanted to have stations and a mix of foods for our New Year's Eve wedding, and we had to press the catering staff a bit to come up with menu ideas "outside the box" of their set menus, which I felt were a bit stodgy and unexciting. They responded with some great ideas and were very willing to accommodate my requests. We had one tasting and the food then was wonderful. But, in the end, while some of the food items were just as good as they had been at the tasting, some of the food at the reception was less than thrilling -and a few approached unsatisfactory. I understand that preparing food for 2 people is different than for 150, and I assume that this explains the lesser quality of some items. And the presentation of the stations were not particularly lovely or pleasing. So, I have to say my reviews on the food are mixed. I have a feeling that sticking with their regular menu might result in a better product.

    But, all in all, I was happy with the event and would recommend the Hilton for receptions.

    Sent on 02/17/2010
  • A

    Arden · Married on 11/18/2017

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Worst possible event coordinator, making it incredibly difficult and time consuming to plan our event here. He almost never responded to my questions or requests, requiring that I (and then my planner, who I eventually paid JUST to try to deal with him) send him the same information over and over. And even then, he disregarded our instructions about food allergies and menu items. The General Manager dismissed my plea for help getting answers/responses, telling me that the coordinator "always gets 9's and 10's in reviews," and that should be good enough for me. While he did comp us a room for the weekend and uplighting, what I really wanted was an event coordinator that would do his job!
    All that being said, we ended up having a fabulous event with fabulous food, but it was in spite of him, and not because of him. Considering what we spent, I expected him to act professionally. Once we started having problems with him, I learned that every other family who had held an event here had found him equally difficult. AVOID THE HILTON AT ALL COSTS!

    Sent on 11/29/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review