Skip to main content
Weddings

Gourmet Desserts & Wedding Cakes Reviews

Gourmet Desserts & Wedding Cakes

Gourmet Desserts & Wedding Cakes

Visalia, CA
4.3 out of 5 rating, 13 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.3 out of 5 rating
13 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.2 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.2 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.2 out of 5 rating
84% Recommended by couples

Awards

13
  • S
    Shelley S. Sent on 02/13/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Shelly makes amazing Cakes! She is able to do ..... anything!

    Shelly has made the tiered cakes for every "fancy" and wedding cake occasion in our family, if I am remebering correctly she has made and delivered 7 Excellent cakes for us. She is flexable and gives good advice. Shelly's cakes are Delicious and Beautiful, she has always been able to bring my cake ideas to "life" with one of her cakes!!
  • Renee
    Renee R. Sent on 12/15/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Cake

    Shelly made the wedding cakes for both my sisters and my mom, so of course it only made sense that she make ours too! Great Service! Beautiful Cake!! Very Professional!!
  • User2457144 Sent on 12/07/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I was so pleased with our wedding cake. It was exactly what I wanted and delicious. I received so many compliments from our wedding guests on how great the cake was. French vanilla and strawberry filling is my favorite but we also had a layer of german chocolate and caramel heath filling which is also great. Shelly is a pleasure to work with and a master at her craft! I will definitely keep Gourmet Desserts in mind for any future events.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • User1936384 Sent on 11/23/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I was so so happy with my cake and cake flavors especially the way the cake looked it turned out so beautiful I was so happy with it and it was so moist and great! I loved everything about Shelley and was there on time with delivering the cake! Thank you so much from me and my husband!
  • J
    Jennifer Sent on 07/14/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Shelly did an amazing job on our wedding cake and cupcakes. They tasted amazing and they looked beautiful. She takes a lot of time for each of her customers really does exactly what what they want. They were some of the best cupcakes that I have ever had. I will be using her in the future for any cake needs that I might have.
  • A
    Amie Sent on 05/22/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Shelly did an awesome job on our wedding cake. I showed her a picture of what we wanted the cake to look like, and she did just that. The cake was beautiful, and delicious. The bottom layer was red velvet with cream cheese frosting, the middle was French vanilla bean with fresh crushed strawberries, and the top was marble with Bailey's and crushed heath bar and Carmel. Everyone loved the cake. It was fresh, and very moist. I highly recommend Shelly and her staff. They are also reasonable. Remember you get what you pay for. We are nothing short of satisfied :-)
  • L
    Laurie Sent on 03/10/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I'm not a big cake lover, but I must say Shelly's cakes are delicious!! She is also very friendly and has fair competitive prices. I would recommend her to anyone.
  • User1146515 Sent on 04/29/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Shelly is a very talented cake maker and she was able to make exactly what I always wanted! The cake was delicious and she is a very nice lady!
  • S
    Stina Sent on 01/12/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Shelly at Gourmet Deserts and Wedding Cakes was great! I only had to explain what I was thinking once and we were on the same page! She got me and my taste perfectly! The end result was the prettiest wedding cake I have ever seen and each layer of the cake had a different and delicious flavor. Our guests commented on how they could have eaten a slice of each! Our wonderful photographer even said the cake picture was one of the prettiest cake shots he's ever taken! Thank you Shelly and I can't wait to taste our top layer on our one year anniversary :)
  • J
    Javonna Sent on 05/03/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had guest tell me they would come just for the cake - once they found out I was using Shelly... she did an excellent job in creating a cake using our topper and photo's, she provided us with several creative ideas to choose from.. and a very moist wonderful tasting cake. In fact I think the cake got more attention then we did..LOL!
  • User2094362 Sent on 04/12/2015
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    The cake was not my most important priority and it bothered me that every cake shop's prices were in the $400 to $600 range for a wedding of about 100. I finally gave in and went to visit Shelley Wade at her downtown shop. We got to try a variety of cakes and fillings on the spot and I fell in love; everything was delicious with the perfect amount of non-overwhelming sweetness. We went with a simple classy design, which kept the cost on the lower end, with a three-tier square cake. We were able to do a cake tasting with our narrowed down flavors and thoroughly enjoyed the experience and could not wait to have this cake on our wedding day. The cost was still more than I would have liked considering that one of the wedding ballgowns I almost bought was similar in price, but overall we loved the beautiful cake Shelley made for us aesthetically and with our taste buds! I highly recommend her for any event.
  • D
    Danae Sent on 02/05/2014
    0.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    Never ever would I recommend Shelly Wade of Visalia , CA to do my wedding cake or anyone's wedding cake !!! She was absolutely unprofessional, did not do my cake how we agreed upon, what we paid for or anything else we wanted. It was very hot the day of my wedding, (100+) her assistant delivered my cake at 10am in the morning unfinished and not decorated. The cake started melting and was crooked and fingerprints in the cake itself. Made several attempts to contact her and ask her to come back and finish my cake, which she did not as she had another more important wedding than mine to attend to. The only reason she got less than half a star was because the cake was delicious, and the flavors were exactly what we had chosen. After trying to get a refund, and/or contact her for apologies, she was too chicken to email/call or return any of our messages. Please contact me BEFORE you hire her to make your wedding cake. I will send you pictures to prove it.
  • User1632474 Sent on 05/26/2014
    • Quality of service
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    Our cake arrived 2 hours late and was PINK! The cake wasn't the right color, wasn't decorated correctly, and the cream filling tasted like lard. The cake tasting didn't have the same fillings. Horrible experience!