Skip to main content
Weddings

Bahia Resort Hotel Reviews

Bahia Resort Hotel View more information

38 Reviews

Rated
4.5
out of 5.0
Recommended by 91% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 38
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

6 User photos

  • S
    Sonali Y. Married on 11/13/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    It was the best wedding ever

    Wonderful it was wonderful and the best day of my life
  • G
    Genea T. Married on 10/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Place for the Perfect Day!

    The grounds, Perfect! The staff, Perfect! The food, Perfect! Melody Corvalan (Director of Catering & Conference Services) was our hero! She took care of every little (or big) request and made sure everything went FLAWLESSLY! We thank all of you, from the bottom of our hearts!! We'll definitely come back to visit!!!!
  • Natalie
    Natalie D. Married on 06/05/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best weekend of my life

    Amazing and best day of my life! Bahia was perfect
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Shaina
    Shaina M. Married on 08/03/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Wedding

    My husband and I, Ozan, had our wedding with the Bahia last weekend on August, 3rd, 2019. We had our ceremony in their beautiful garden and reception on their famous William D. Evans Boat. To this day, we are still talking about how perfect the wedding was! We are still receiving compliments on every detail of the wedding and venue itself. We had the pleasure of working with Jenna Nickl and Monique Milan. I still remember the day Monique gave us the tour of the venue, and we were sold! I cannot thank Jenna enough for her quick responses to my big and small requests throughout the planning process. I will, especially, never forget her helping to bustle my dress on top of the William D. Evans boat while experiencing a beautiful sunset! We were also very lucky to work with one of their planner/coordinator vendors, Blissful Weddings & Co., as well as their florist, Artistic Flowers. The entire team gave their best efforts and paid close attention to all of our detailed requests which was more than we could ask for. If you want an unforgettable experience, the Bahia is the venue for you!
  • Alicia
    Alicia Married on 06/21/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible

    If I had an extra million dollars to spend on my wedding I would have still have chosen the Bahia to host it. It was an absolutely perfect day. The beach was perfect for my ceremony. The William D Evans sternwheeler was perfect for my reception. My guests had what I can only call an EPIC time. It was absolutely perfect. Kelsey was amazing, the flowers were incredible, the cake was beautiful - everything was just perfect. Oh and the food! My guests said it was the best food they had ever had at a wedding, and some of my guests said it was the best salmon they had actually had in their entire life. I can not say enough good things about this venue. And the hotel gave my husband and I the most gorgeous honeymoon suite! What a perfect weekend - I could not have asked for anything more. I’m sitting outside my honeymoon suite to write this review right now - 2 days after my wedding - and I’m still having a great time enjoying this beautiful place.
  • John
    John Married on 08/20/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We absolutely loved having our wedding at the Bahia! We looked at almost every venue in San Diego before deciding on the Bahia for its beautful scenery and location right on Mission Bay! The Bahia also made the choice easy because they have a package for both the wedding ceremony and reception that was hard to find anywhere else for a great price! Holly Nelson helped us plan and made sure our special day was perfect. The food was amazing and the venue is the best in San Diego in my opinion. All of our guests loved the rooms the staying in and got to explore the whole venue. Overall, we highly recommend Holly and the Bahia Resort to anyone wanting a perfect wedding venue that offers beautiful views and an amazing ceremony and reception!
  • C
    Chelsea Married on 12/30/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    While I did not get married at the Bahia, they did provide our wedding room block and we took our first look, family, and bridal party pictures in the garden. I truly want to recognize the Bahia for their excellent service, quality, flexibility, and kindness. First of all, we nearly doubled the number of rooms in our assigned block and the Bahia continued to extend the discounted room rate even though they didn't have to do so. Second, all our guests LOVED the hotel!! Everyone was extremely pleased with the service and we heard no complaints. The hotel even sent champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to our room which were waiting for us after the wedding!!
    We had planned to take first look, bridal party, and family photos in the tropical garden at the Bahia before we headed to the ceremony but two days before the wedding we were worried about rain and our photographer was concerned about being able to take photos if it was drizzling. I was starting to worry and get a little upset since I didn't want all those photos to be squeezed into our hotel room so I walked over to the catering department and knocked on the door of two women having a meeting (I feel so so bad for forgetting their names!!). I was going to ask if there was any way we could do photos in the Bahia ballroom in case it rained and started to cry a little...I really didn't think I was that upset but it just all came out at once. The two women we SO KIND AND UNDERSTANDING. They got me tissues and listened to me blubber a little before telling me not to worry and ensured that it if rained we would be able to take photos in the ballroom (even though we weren't having our wedding at the Bahia or paying to use the ballroom). Their kindness came at the perfect time and truly exemplified the qualities of the Bahia staff. I would also like to thank the front desk staff who ensured we had parking for all our cars and the restaurant staff which managed our rotating cast of family each morning.
  • User2675958 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing venue! Holly (catering manager) was great and made us feel like ours was the most important weeding on her schedule, even thought there were several the weekend we were there. The William D. Evans is a stunning reception venue and the pond makes for a lovely and intimate ceremony space. Highly recommended!
  • J
    James Married on 11/14/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Fantastic venue for a wedding. Ours was a destination wedding for us and all our guests. Such a beautiful location, great service, unbelievable value (for both lodging and the ceremony/reception), all our guests loved the resort, the wedding went smoothly and we were able to enjoy it along with our guests. Special thanks to our planner Yinka (Freeman) and day of coordinator Jamie (Rury)... they helped us get everything right, from helping with vendor lists, setting the menu, getting the decorations up, moving people between the ceremony and reception... everything went smoothly and we were able to relax and enjoy our day. I also need to mention the food served at our reception was delicious and got rave reviews from all our guests... the event went so well, our guests enjoyed it so much, that many are already planning return trips to the Bahia just because it was so good.
  • M
    Mark Married on 10/13/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Kadi Duff and the Bahia Hotel provided the most amazing experience for our wedding. We walked down the Isle in the sand. We celebrated our reception on a boat. The food... Amazing. the atmosphere, perfect. The experience... WOW. but there is one thing that easily stood out to us, and that was the service, not only from Kadi, but the entire staff. We truly felt like the resort was ours, like there was no one else there. Our wedding was so perfect, and we can not thank the Bahia enough for making this fairytale real!!
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 09/21/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I just had my wedding at the Bahia on 9/21/13. The venue was amazing! We got married on the beach and had our reception in the mission ballroom. It is one of the few places in San Diego that you can get married on the actual sand through a resort. At the Bahia the resort owns the beach and therefore the only people roaming around is limited to guests. I highly recommend the Bahia for a beach ceremony. Most other places you can get married on the grass of the bay, but not the sand.

    The mission ballroom is gorgeous and has an amazing view of the bay. The floor length windows truly let you and your guests enjoy it! The chandeliers are also gorgeous! Also the area is pretty private ... You have an elevator going up directly to the ballroom and your own bathrooms for the floor.

    The packages at the venue are super inclusive, which we loved!! They were inclusive, but allowed for a lot of personalization and a lot of choices. It was perfect because we had a lot of choices to make, but I was not overwhelmed because the package came with certain things and it was a matter of choosing the color or between a few types or a few different vendors. There were several things you could upgrade to and the fees were not significant.

    Beth Hunt is an amazing Catering Sales Manager! We loved working with her. She is easy going and super responsive and extremely helpful!! We also appreciate all the hard work of Cheryl (Banquet Captain), Event Elements (anything and everything for the tables at the reception), Edelweiss Bakery and all of the wait staff as they made our wedding amazing as well. The food was really good!! We got lots of compliments on the dinner, desert & appetizers.

    I highly recommend the Bahia. There are so many perfect photo locations. For us the Bahia was perfect, it is very reasonable priced and one of the few places you can get married on the beach. Also the staff is easy to work with and very accommodating and helpful!
  • C
    Cherie Married on 05/04/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I planned my wedding from over the phone since I live in NyC and the staff was just amazing. They met all my desires and more. Also compared to other vendors you get so much for what you pay for. All my guest had a blast and talked about it for days. Since many guest had to travel from all over the US it made a mini vacation for everyone. I'm so happy we picked the Bahia!!!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 09/22/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I were married here on September 22,2012. Lindsey B from catering was very helpful, accommodating, professional, and perfect leading up to the wedding. This venue offers a lot more than what the package says. My guest loved the ambience of Bahia Resort and the Del Mar Room. We had our ceremony in the pond area, and it was the most special moment of my life. Doug the bartender was amazing for catering to our group during the reception. We had such a great time.

    Also I was planning this wedding from Nebraska, and Lindsey is def a go to girl to help get stuff done. The food was amazing and everyone raved over the desserts.
  • A
    Alena Married on 06/30/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Bahia was great to work with. We came in with a very large group to start of 450 guests. The Bahia was very easy to work with and they took there time will all my questions and requests. The room was absolutely gorgeous and the food was spectacular. Our guest could not stop ranting about the food and how great it was. The wait staff was incredible too, the fact that all 350+ guests were eating exactly at the same time was amazing and I was so impressed! I highly recommend The Bahia
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 02/18/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The staff at the Bahia were very responsive and helpful. The venue was beautiful
  • M
    Missy Married on 09/17/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Bahia was awesome! Well worth the money! Kristin was amazing and helped me all the way through the end. And I got rave reviews from our guests about the food.
  • J
    Joanne Married on 06/04/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our overall experience was fantastic. Our coordinators Kristin, Lindsay and Jocelyn all went out of their way to keep us on track, resolve problems we had with our florist and were professional and easy to work with.
    The appetizers, bar and dinner were fantastic. Not one complaint from our guests. We cruised on the Sternwheeler-not one person mentioned feeling the boat moving.
    Everything was great!
    My only suggestion is to be sure to have arrange for someone to help take your items from the boat. After partying this task was not easy.
  • Future Mrs. W.
    Melinda A. Married on 10/10/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everything was great. The wedding consultant was helpful and staff was accommodating. Could not have asked for a better place to have the wedding and reception. The boat cruise was the highlight of the event!!
  • K
    Kym Married on 09/17/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I wish I could give them more than 5 stars! We had our ceremony on the beach and then the reception was on the William D. Evans sternwheeler. The entire event was beautiful and the venue was stunning! We loved the idea of having the reception on a boat and had looked at several other options before finding the Bahia. The other boats were much smaller, less impressive (the William D. Evans is truly a sight to see...huge, stained glass ceiling, lots of seating, has an elevator and much more!) and more money! This was a real deal for the price! Our coordinator, Kristin, was superb through the whole process answering all of my questions quickly and offering advice when needed. She set everything up (tables, centerpieces, flower arrangements, etc) better than I was even expecting! The food was excellent, bartenders were great and all the staff were professional and eager to please.
    Overall the wedding went off without a single hitch and I would recommend the Bahia to anyone looking for a worry free day!
  • CarolineNsd
    Carolyn Married on 04/11/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We booked the Bahia Resort Hotel for our wedding night and the night after. We wanted to stay somewhere close to home but that would still give us the feel of being on a little honeymoon...we definately chose the right place! What more could you ask for really? We had a nice sized room that you couldn't help but want to cozy up next to your new spouse in! We chose a bay front room with a king bed, we had a private patio that opened up onto the Bahia's private beach. We could walk from our patio to the sand/water within 15 seconds! When I booked it, I NEVER thought it could possibly be so close to the water...it was amazing! One entire wall of the room was glass windows and a sliding glass door...so we could just sit back in the room and watch the beautiful water...it was very romantic :) We felt like we were in our own little cottage on the beach! My husband and I are very much animal lovers so when we awoke in the morning to find little ducks out on the patio we were in heaven! We grabbed some cookies and pizza crust and sat outside feeding the birds for about an hour...there's nothing we could have chosen that would have been better to wake up to the day after our wedding :) We truly enjoyed our stay at the Bahia. The staff was very friendly, we got an awesome deal on the room and everything was just picture perfect! The bed was very comfortable and they provide tons of extra pillows without you even having to ask. The Bahia is very close to so many attractions so it was perfect for our short 2 day honeymoon. We went out to eat, saw a movie, and walked around beautiful Seaport Village. It was a perfect relaxing end to all the months of wedding planning and then the wedding day....a little piece of heaven! We would definately return again!
  • A
    Amy Married on 10/17/2008
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My wedding couldn't have turned out more beautiful. Everything went extremely smoothly and looked amazing. I truly believe without the Bahia's catering staff's detailed attention to our event this would not have been possible. They went above and beyond to make our event special and treated us as if we were the only one's getting married there. We had such personalized attention, support, feedback, and ultimately an extremely successful wedding. We got such a great deal we were exteremly pleased! I would recommend this venue to anyone wanting to get married in San Diego. Our reception was on the William D. Evans Stermwheeler and people just loved it!
  • L
    Laurie Married on 08/08/2010
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our ceremony and reception were absolutely PERFECT. Everything was set up and ready in time and went so smoothly. Our reception was in the Mission Bay ballroom, and we could see the sunset over the beach on one side, then the Sea World fireworks later on the other side! Kristin was our catering manager and she was sooo awesome. I emailed her practically every other day with new questions (because I am crazy about things being perfect) and she was always on top of everything. We also had a complimentary room right on the bay, which was huge and had a grogeous view.
  • Sharron
    Sharron Married on 07/13/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Day!

    We loved our wedding at Bahia, we would do it again in a heartbeat. Jenna did an amazing job communicating with us leading up to that day. Beautiful location, yummy food and tons of fun.
  • B
    Brianne Married on 07/26/2013
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Lindsay at the Bahia is frigin amazing!! she truly made my wedding fun and easy to plan!! she was so accomdomating and never made me stress!! i love her and the food at the Bahia!!
  • B
    Bertha M. Married on 10/02/2021
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    True Fairy Tale

    Not going to lie, started rough with communication being missed from time to time (on both sides) but they made up for it and created a magical night for me and my hubby. We had a Beauty and Beast themed wedding and they were able to create the magic for us that night from the chandeliers to the amazing views of the bay. My only advice for any future bride that books this venue, make sure your wedding coordinator or day of coordinator knows what they need to do and shows up on time... other than that the staff was very helpful to make up for my wedding coordinator not being there on time and helped my family do the set up. :)
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message