The Westin Poinsett Hotel
Making Your Dream a Reality
    80 Reviews
120 South Main Street
Greenville, SC 29601  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 500
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (80)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
So far so good- easy to communicate with, extremely responsive....the space is stunning
Wedding: 04/25/2015
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
An absolute dream to get married at the Westin Poinsett! Kelley Moore did an incredible job helping plan and coordinate our wedding. Couldn't be happier with the way the day went!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband used to work at the Westin, so even before we got engaged I knew that this would be our reception location. The beautiful architecture and design provide a venue unlike any others in the downtown Greenville area!

We used the Poinsett Ballroom, Mezzanine and Veranda for our cocktail hour and reception, along with several of the conference rooms off the mezzanine for the band and overflow seating. The space worked perfectly for our 220ish guests, plenty of seating for everyone, and room to maneuver through the room with ease. Linda, the banquet captain was amazing. She had plates made for us and set them down at a table, so we were actually able to sit down and and eat a little!! The entire staff went above and beyond to make our night magical for not only us, but for our guests as well.

We did have a few issues with the event planner, Kelley, that I feel could have been solved easily with better/more consistent communication on her end, but overall it was such a great experience that I don't want to leave any sort of negative comment/feedback for the hotel! My husband's knowledge of the hotel and events (he used to be a banquet captain) came in very handy and made planning the layout and picking the food and other details a breeze. We did the "action stations" on the mezzanine, and had everything from reverse shrimp and grits (my husband's favorite), to a variety of mac and cheese, crab cakes and quesadillas. We brought our own wine, and did the bar by consumption rather than a package.

We also used the Francis Marion room for our Bridal Brunch that morning, and the wedding party stayed in the Presidential Suite the entire weekend. Before making our entrance to the reception, we used the Coffee Shop downstairs where they had a sample of all of our cocktail hour food, and gave us enough time to bustle my dress and relax before starting the party!

Overall, such a perfect event and we had so much fun!
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Our wedding at the Westin Poinsett was one to remember! In the months leading up to the event, Kelley was responsive to all of our requests, responding within 24 hours to phone calls and emails. In addition to responsiveness, the team was able to work with our budget for 130+ people, making menu suggestions that were more budget-friendly. Kelley also worked with our wedding coordinator to confirm the details/timeline of the day. Upon our guests' arrival to the venue the night before, the staff at the Westin provided wonderful service. At the end of the wedding night, the concierge manager left a hand-written thank you note along with an assortment of chocolate-covered strawberries for hubby and I to enjoy. If you are looking for a wedding venue with high quality customer service, I highly recommend the Westin Poinsett for your special day!
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kerry 1 Reviews
Kelley Moore made planning my son's rehearsal dinner a pleasure. From the beginning of our interactions she was professional, responsive, and innovative. She thought of so many details that had not occurred to me. The Spoonbread Restaurant was the perfect venue for our dinner, and provided an intimate space for our 50 guests. The lobby area and piano bar provided an excellent area for our guests to congregate and relax as they waited for the wedding party to arrive. Yola, the event captain, anticipated and fulfilled our every need, and her staff was extraordinarily attentive. The chef provided a delicious meal and the filets were prepared exactly as I had instructed. Our guests' comments were a testament to the quality of the meal. From start to finish the process was a pleasure and the memories we share are precious! All of the Westin staff were delightful.
Wedding: 05/30/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony Music, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Maria and... 1 Reviews
We were thrilled by the service and professionalism at the Westin Poinsett. The staff was more than willing to accommodate any of our needs during our weekend for the wedding of our daughter and son in law. We had a great time with friends and family at the Poinsett because they went the extra step to make our occasion as memorable as it was. We would highly recommend an event at this venue..




Wedding: 04/12/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Andrew 5 Reviews
Kelley Moore and The Westin Poisett staff were wonderful! Truly a fairy tale wedding, the ceremony and reception were amazing!
Wedding: 04/12/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
The Westin handled the wedding and reception almost perfectly. We spent the entire weekend there and are sorry it is over. Kelly Moore and the rest of the staff worked extremely hard to make our daughter's wedding very special.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Our daughter's wedding ceremony was in the Gold Ballroom and the reception was in the Poinsett Ballroom. It was a weekend we will always treasure. Kelley Moore was our event planner and did a fabulous job. Thank you for a perfect wedding at the Westin-Poinsett!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Adele 1 Reviews
The Westin Poinsett was the perfect setting for the wedding and rehearsal dinner...I only wished we had used it for the reception as well. This was the most courteous and professional staff. From the moment we arrived on site and checked into our rooms, we were treated as if we were the only guests in the hotel. Everyone in every department of the hotel was extremely helpful in making the rehearsal, wedding and overall stay a fantastic experience.
Wedding: 02/22/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Gina 1 Reviews
We had our daughter's wedding ceremony at the Westin - it was very beautiful and the staff was great to work with. We would highly recommend this venue to anyone
Wedding: 02/22/2014
Services Used: Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Westin made our wedding day go so smooth. Our wedding planner, Kelley was incredible and so helpful! She bent over backwards to make sure we were happy with everything. At the reception my husband and I were given our own table with a waitress assigned to us, all night she brought us our drinks and a few people brought us food so we were able to eat. The room was very spacious and everyone has plenty of room to move. The food was incredible! Our favorite part was going up on the roof for pictures! It was such an amazing experience! We loved having our reception at The Westin!!!!
Wedding: 12/07/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Westin Poinsett was a beautiful venue for our wedding and reception on September 21st. Kelley did a wonderful job of working closely with my husband and I to ensure that our day went off without a hitch. We were very pleased with the quality of service and general professionalism of all of the staff. Because we are not native to Greenville, we know that the Westin is a value and you can count on them to work hard to meet your needs. Even with two weddings going on at the same time, Kelley was able to make us feel special and remained flexible on a rainy day. Many thanks to the Westin for valuing our concerns and providing the perfect place for our wedding.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Cheryl 1 Reviews
The staff was exceptionally helpful, polite and always available to answer questions or provide assistance. The food at the reception was very good, cold food was cold and hot food was hot. We had several family members and close friends stay the weekend at the hotel and all had a wonderful time. Sarah Locke is terrific to work with and was always available to answer questions. She responded to all my emails in a very timely manner. We did have some issues with central reservations but Amelia sorted everything out for me the day before the event. She did a great job. Our family and friends had a wonderful time and it was the perfect venue for our daughter's wedding. Kudos to The Westin Poinsett!
Wedding: 03/10/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with the Westin Poinsett was wonderful! Sarah Locke was extremely helpful and responded to all of our emails promptly. She even helped some of our guests with complicated room requests (adjoining rooms, needed a refrigerator, etc). When we sent her our final guest and meal list, she pointed out that we were below our food and beverage minimum and gave us the option of adding other things to our reception so we would actually be getting something for our money. The food was amazing, we got many compliments from our guests. On top of that the Gold Ballroom is gorgeous and gave our reception a very classy atmosphere. Overall it was a great experience, and I would definitely use them again!
Wedding: 01/12/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
Sarah Locke very fun and easy to work with. Very quick to reply to email questions. Coordinated the evening problem free.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 864-250-7901
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0