Sel
Just Said Yes December 2021

Work, pregnancy & wedding.

Sel, on November 24, 2021 at 9:09 PM Posted in Community Conversations 0 2
Saved
So, this is my second pregnancy. During my 1st I had severe nausea. To the point I threw up about 3-4 times a day. It was the worst experience. At that time I wasn’t working, so I was able to just get support from my family at the time. As for this pregnancy I am starting to get the serve nausea again. My wedding is next month and I’m afraid it’s going to get bad. I have work & my fiancé said I could leave if need be to finish with the wedding & dealing with my nausea, but I’m not sure how to come about it to my job if it gets bad enough. I’ve been working here for about 7 months & not sure how to approach. I can barley make it through the day as is and so worry about finishing everything for the wedding day since I already put in a lot of time & money. Has anyone else had to leave a job due to nausea, how did you go about it? And any tips on dealing with nausea during wedding day?

2 Comments

Latest activity by Cece, yesterday at 7:40 AM
  • J
    January 1895
    Jessa ·
    • Flag

If you need a medical leave from work, you will need to request it through the process your work has in place. At my work, this would involve going out on FMLA. A doctor would have to certify that you need the time off due to your medical condition. If you have hyperemesis gravidarum, there are treatments that sometimes work so I would begin with a visit to your doctor.

My work would not give time off just because I asked even if I was unwell. I would need to follow the process. Planning my wedding would be of no consideration to them at all. Only the medical condition.

• Cece
    VIP November 2022
    Cece ·
    • Flag