S
Beginner June 2021

Separating siblings

Sydney, on August 15, 2020 at 8:15 PM Posted in Etiquette and Advice 0 9
Saved
Hi everyone!

We are trying to finalize our guest list for our wedding. I am a martial artist and am in class with teens and adults. One of the teens in my class and I train and teach almost every day together and I have grown close to his parents as well. I want to invite him and his family but we are not inviting any children under 13 (unless they’re family). He has a younger brother who is 6 years younger than him. We adore but we don’t want anyone to get mad if we make an exception for him. Is it okay to not invite their younger brother?
Thanks!

9 Comments

Latest activity by Tara, on August 20, 2020 at 11:54 AM
  • Sherri
    Devoted August 2020
    Sherri ·
    • Flag
    You don't owe anyone any explanation. It's your day. You invite those that mean the most to you.
  • Jessica
    Master September 2020
    Jessica ·
    • Flag
    This is why setting and age limit gets awkward. In my experience, no guests under 18 makes more sense to guests than inviting one of their kids and not the other. It’s your day and you absolutely should invite who you want, but try to see it from your guests perspective too.
  • Theadra
    Devoted June 2021
    Theadra ·
    • Flag

Invite people you want to be there. You don't owe anyone anything. You set the rules

• Alisa
    Devoted August 2020
    Alisa ·
    • Flag

Do what feels best for you and your fiancé but prepared for others to feel like you made an unfair exception one way or another. if you don't invite the sibling is it likely that the whole family might not come?

• Tori
    Dedicated November 2020
    Tori ·
    • Flag