Michaila
Dedicated November 2020

Money issues...

Michaila, on February 25, 2019 at 12:29 PM Posted in Family and Relationships 0 27
Saved Save

So let me start by saying that I'm a teacher (para) so I made about $20k last year from my full time job (insert rant about teacher salaries in Arizona here and how I'm doing a teacher's job but paid as a para). My FH made about $24k last year from his full time job, so needless to say, trying to figure out how to pay for the wedding was a struggle - we're shooting for $5k or less.

My dad has Alzheimer's, so I can work as a caregiver for him to make a little extra money. I recently took on 8 hours a weekend watching him to put that towards our wedding. He and I were both going to donate plasma as well. I went in and tried, but my veins are too small, so I can't. He still hasn't gone in once. Between those two things, we figured we could cover our wedding.

He proposed without an engagement ring (as we'd discussed - I have a Claddagh ring I bought in Ireland 3 years ago that can be worn as an engagement ring and I'm very picky about jewelry so we decided we'd pick a "proper" sparkly ring later).

We started marriage prep for our October wedding in January and after our first meeting, we went out to lunch and stopped at a pawn shop. We found a beautiful princess cut solitaire ring, 1/5 carat, yellow gold, super sparkly and simple for $350 or so. Screaming deal. They let us put it on layaway and he put a small down payment on it (which basically covered taxes) and was planning to pay a little bit each month towards it.