Maci
Dedicated October 2019

Marriage license

Maci, on July 23, 2019 at 3:16 PM Posted in Planning 0 21
Saved Save
Reply
When’s the best time to go get your marriage license? Some say 30 days some say a week before.

21 Comments

  • Jessica
    VIP October 2019
    Jessica ·
    • Flag
    You should look at your specific state laws.. Every state is different.
    • Reply
  • Sarah
    VIP September 2019
    Sarah ·
    • Flag
    This really depends on the state you live in. Some are only valid for a certain amount of time. Some states also having a waiting period. Here in MA the waiting period is 3 days if you apply on a Tuesday, you can’t pick it up until Friday.
    • Reply
  • Kelly
    Champion October 2018
    Kelly Online ·
    • Flag
    It depends on your state. In California the license is good for 90 days but in Oklahoma it’s only good for 10 days.
    • Reply
  • Maci
    Dedicated October 2019
    Maci ·
    • Flag
    View Quoted Comment
    30 days-1/2 weeks before is normal in Ohio lol
    • Reply
  • Maci
    Dedicated October 2019
    Maci ·
    • Flag
    View Quoted Comment
    There’s no wait period & they expire 60days after you get them for anyone wondering
    • Reply
  • Kristin
    Super November 2019
    Kristin ·
    • Flag

    Depends on your are. Some are only good for 30 days. Jump online and just google "justice of the peace - your county" and it will bring you straight to the county page with all the details. Make sure to check the waiting period too. We live in WI but our wedding is in IL. In WI there is a 5 day waiting period and it is good for up to 60 days after you get it. You can also get married in any county. In IL, there is only a 24 hour waiting period, its good for 60 days, but you have to get married in the county you got the license in. Good luck!

    • Reply
  • B
    Devoted July 2017
    Becky ·
    • Flag

    We got ours 10 days ahead - gave us plenty of time for if there was an "oops" or if we discovered we had to go back over to the municipal building but in AL you have to use it within 30 days.

    • Reply
  • Danielle
    Master June 2019
    Danielle ·
    • Flag

    Depends on your state laws I suppose. We went 2 days before our wedding. All we had to do was go to the court house clerk's office, show ID, fill out the form, and pay $30.

    • Reply
  • Futuremrst
    Devoted August 2019
    Futuremrst ·
    • Flag
    It definitely depends on the state. We got ours 3 weeks in advance, we’re in PA.
    • Reply
  • Maci
    Dedicated October 2019
    Maci ·
    • Flag
    Like I said before there’s no wait time in-between and they good for 60 days! I just need a good time to get them lol I was thinking 2-3 weeks before?
    • Reply
  • Nikita
    VIP April 2019
    Nikita ·
    • Flag

    Get the license the earliest you can by your state laws. I was able to walk out of the office with mine, but my co-workers waited several weeks.

    • Reply
  • Maci
    Dedicated October 2019
    Maci ·
    • Flag
    View Quoted Comment
    Thank you for giving me a actual answer to the question lol I’ve already addressed that they expire 60 days after you get them lol
    • Reply
  • Emily
    Expert April 2020
    Emily ·
    • Flag
    View Quoted Comment

    I'm from MA, this is good to know - thank you!!

    • Reply
  • Jazmine
    Expert September 2019
    Jazmine ·
    • Flag
    Depends on your state. Look up laws! We are getting married in Texas and it’s good for 90 days, so we got ours 60 days out!
    • Reply
  • Gen
    Master June 2019
    Gen ·
    • Flag
    We got ours 2.5 weeks out
    • Reply
  • Nikita
    VIP April 2019
    Nikita ·
    • Flag
    View Quoted Comment

    Yup. I saw. But I figured that phrasing works for anyone else who may also be curious and looks at your thread ;-)

    • Reply
  • Angerra
    VIP August 2019
    Angerra ·
    • Flag
    Really whenever you're able to go within the required time frame.
    We're not getting our license until the 29th for our August 10th wedding. It'll be valid for 60 days with a 24hr holding period so we're good to go
    • Reply
  • Nona
    Devoted November 2019
    Nona ·
    • Flag
    Go by your state law where your wedding is being held. I live in Kentucky but we are getting married in Savannah Ga. luckily for us Georgia has no waiting period and there’s no expiration for the license. So we actually got out marriage license back in the end of June and our wedding isn’t until November.
    • Reply
  • Elizabeth
    Expert September 2019
    Elizabeth ·
    • Flag

    Check your state laws. NYS is 24 hours.

    • Reply
  • Mandi
    Rockstar March 2020
    Mandi ·
    • Flag
    If it's good for 60 days, 3 weeks should be fine.
    • Reply

Comment on this discussion

×